EQ2 Forum Archive @ EQ2Wire

 

Go Back   EQ2 Forum Archive @ EQ2Wire > EverQuest II > Support Forums > Tech Area > Forum Help and Discussion
Members List Search Mark Forums Read

Notices

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 08-29-2007, 10:17 AM   #1
Ve

General
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 94
Default

Why is it when I have the forum "log me in automatically each visit" checkbox checked, it never works and I have to manually log in everytime I visit this forum?

Ve is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-29-2007, 03:05 PM   #2
Seagoat

Tester
Seagoat's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Marlborough, MA
Posts: 1,641
Default

I was experiencing this myself the other day (after the last forum downtime), but haven't seen it since.  Make sure you let us (the community, including the forum admin/devs) know if you continue having this problem, since it may indicate that something needs to be looked into.
Seagoat is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-29-2007, 05:30 PM   #3
Zorastiz
Server: Antonia Bayle
Guild: Dressed To Kill
Rank: Prince of Darkness

Loremaster
Zorastiz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 955
Default

So I thought it was just me recently as I haven't seen posts about this BUT.

 I log in, read, leave, close browser come back and I appear to NOT be logged in, I click on ANY forum header then click the BACK TO HOME PAGE link and poof I'm logged in.

So hey I'll just keep doing that for the time being and see what happens.

__________________


Zorastiz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-29-2007, 05:52 PM   #4
Tstorm

Tester
Tstorm's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 314
Default

I haven't seen this issue regularly since we were using the Lithium forums.  I have to re-login once in awhile here, but it seems fairly infrequent.It would definitely help to keep hearing from folks repeatedly having issues with as many details as you can so maybe we can figure it out.
__________________
Tstorm is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-29-2007, 07:19 PM   #5
Zorastiz
Server: Antonia Bayle
Guild: Dressed To Kill
Rank: Prince of Darkness

Loremaster
Zorastiz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 955
Default

So I ran some experiments after I posted this afternoon, I was at work on an XP based system.

I came back to the forums appeared to NOT be logged in, went into a random forum, clicked on the back to home page, I was logged in. I then logged out cleaned all the temp internet files, history, etc, etc, etc, rebooted came back to the forums and logged in. I then closed browser reopened came back to forums and used the method described above and I was logged in. I checked all my security, anti-virus, firewall, permissions etc everything seems in order.

Next I came home and did all of this again on my Vista system but no matter what I log in, leave, close browser, come back I am still logged in so in my case is it specific to the OS or is it random? I'm an engineer so I don't believe in random but I'm no expert as it pertains to forums, software etc.

That's all for now, see you all in game!

__________________


Zorastiz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-31-2007, 11:06 AM   #6
Zorastiz
Server: Antonia Bayle
Guild: Dressed To Kill
Rank: Prince of Darkness

Loremaster
Zorastiz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 955
Default

Still having the same problem, ANY IDEAS??
__________________


Zorastiz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-01-2007, 10:39 AM   #7
Seffrid

Loremaster
Seffrid's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 583
Default

I've been having the same problem for the last 24 hours or so.

Just now I booted up the machine, brought up IE7 (using XP Home) and wasn't logged in although I had set it to "automatic" earlier. I attempted to sign in, but after entering my details I got a MS error page (the one suggesting you may have a connection issue). I hit the back key and found myself on the forum main page, logged in.

All very strange...

Seffrid is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-04-2007, 07:17 PM   #8
-Sentinel-

Loremaster
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 45
Default

this reminds me of a bug we fixed in the past.  Maybe it crept back in somehow.  The bug was just that it didn't show you as being logged in on the header, but under the hood you were actually logged in.  And going to any other page or even hitting the refresh button would show you as logged in.  Next time you see it happen, just hit the refresh button and tell me if that's the case.Sentinel
-Sentinel- is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-06-2007, 01:29 PM   #9
Fringe

Loremaster
Fringe's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 531
Default

This was happening to me continuously at random since the new software went live. I've recently switched to FireFox and haven't had the issue since. Could it be an IE7 issue? Either way, they need to take a look at this since it pretty much renders the auto log-in feature useless otherwise.
__________________
Fringe is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-06-2007, 01:53 PM   #10
Zorastiz
Server: Antonia Bayle
Guild: Dressed To Kill
Rank: Prince of Darkness

Loremaster
Zorastiz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 955
Default

Just as an FYI I for one still have this issue, I just log in everytime it is truly annoying.

Sentinel, sorry I did not see your post originally, I just closed my browser, opened it, came to forums, it showed me not logged in, I hit refresh but to no avail. I was still apparently not logged in, I used my little trick as you see in my earlier posts and poof I was logged in.

__________________


Zorastiz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-08-2007, 05:52 PM   #11
Fringe

Loremaster
Fringe's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 531
Default

Fringe wrote:
This was happening to me continuously at random since the new software went live. I've recently switched to FireFox and haven't had the issue since. Could it be an IE7 issue? Either way, they need to take a look at this since it pretty much renders the auto log-in feature useless otherwise.
Yes, I'm quoting myself SMILEYApparently I've spoken too soon. I was on the boards this morning and yet this afternoon I was forced to once again log back in. This was the first time that it's happened to me all week but it's still rather annoying. Why is this happing and will they ever get around to fixing it for us?
__________________
Fringe is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-12-2007, 08:15 AM   #12
Zorastiz
Server: Antonia Bayle
Guild: Dressed To Kill
Rank: Prince of Darkness

Loremaster
Zorastiz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 955
Default

So, for the last 48 hours everytime I visit the forums I am logged in!

Did we fix it?

__________________


Zorastiz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-13-2007, 03:13 PM   #13
-Sentinel-

Loremaster
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 45
Default

yes I believe we did.  We disabled a caching thing on live the last couple days, and then we implemented a fix today that should fix it.  Let me know if you still have problems.Sentinel
-Sentinel- is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-13-2007, 04:17 PM   #14
Fringe

Loremaster
Fringe's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 531
Default

Thanks for the update Sentinel...I'll keep an eye out and report back as needed, as I'm sure many others will do the same.
__________________
Fringe is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-14-2007, 08:14 AM   #15
Zorastiz
Server: Antonia Bayle
Guild: Dressed To Kill
Rank: Prince of Darkness

Loremaster
Zorastiz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 955
Default

Still working SMILEY
__________________


Zorastiz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-04-2007, 06:33 PM   #16
Fringe

Loremaster
Fringe's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 531
Default

2 weeks without this problem and now it's back in full force. Even if I leave the browser open and surf to a different site then back I will have to re-log back in. What's worse is that each time I log back in it shows me all of the same topics that were previous Unread as being Unread again.Any help with this matter would be highly appreciated. Thank you kindly.EDIT: Apparently the "Log Me In Automatically Each Visit" isn't remaining checked despite being manually checked upon each login.
__________________
Fringe is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-06-2007, 01:10 AM   #17
Fringe

Loremaster
Fringe's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 531
Default

Well I've tried testing this a bit and no matter what I do I just can't seem to duplicate the issue on purpose. The only thing that I can think of is that it's on some sort of timer to automatically log out. I'm running Firefox if that makes any difference. Anyone else having this type of issue lately by any chance?
__________________
Fringe is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-30-2008, 03:08 AM   #18
Prodigus

Loremaster
Prodigus's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Florida
Posts: 278
Default

This has NEVER worked successfully for me...  Any ideas why?  I use the latest version of FireFox, which I helped to set the most downloads in a 24 hour period lol.
Prodigus is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-30-2008, 02:44 PM   #19
Tstorm

Tester
Tstorm's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 314
Default

[email protected] wrote:
This has NEVER worked successfully for me...  Any ideas why?  I use the latest version of FireFox, which I helped to set the most downloads in a 24 hour period lol.
Do you allow cookies?  The forums set a cookie in your browser and if you deny cookies, you may have problems.In addition, the forum software seems to periodically just plain require everyone relogin.  It only seems to happen once every couple of weeks so I haven't bothered to dig into whether it's the cookie expiring, or something else (it's a minor annoyance).  I had to relogin this morning for some reason, but it was the first time in a week or two.The other issue is since the site relies on cookies, if you happen to use multiple computers (home & work), use dialup where you get assigned different IP addresses, or similar, the site may not like that.  I'm just thinking out loud a bit and haven't done a detailed analysis since I don't have any problems, but if you're changing where you login from the forum software may be getting confused and want you to reauthenticate as a result.
__________________
Tstorm is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-30-2008, 04:16 PM   #20
Prodigus

Loremaster
Prodigus's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Florida
Posts: 278
Default

I do allow cookies, but I do login in from different machines with different IP addresses.  That could very well be SMILEY  Thanks for the info I appreciate it.
Prodigus is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-17-2008, 02:30 PM   #21
Isisalthea

Loremaster
Isisalthea's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: West Coast
Posts: 416
Default

Auto log in not working again.   I allow cookies,  it has worked in the past,  but after last forum update not working again.
__________________
Isisalthea is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-17-2008, 09:51 PM   #22
CrazyHor

General
CrazyHor's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 4
Default

What browser are you using? if it's Firefox their are two options, click the box before you log in, also a pop-up will come up and t will usually say 'Remember password' or alike, click yes for that too.  Hopefully that works, it's always worked for me.. although when I log out sometimes, it'll still say I'm logged in./CH
__________________
CrazyHor is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-18-2008, 03:03 AM   #23
Isisalthea

Loremaster
Isisalthea's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: West Coast
Posts: 416
Default

Using firefox, have been for a long time have the password saved.  This happens often after a forum update.  not the first time, but wanted to report it so they know it is happening again.  It usually works out in a few days for some reason.  without my doing anything other then reporting
__________________
Isisalthea is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-18-2008, 11:42 AM   #24
Isisalthea

Loremaster
Isisalthea's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: West Coast
Posts: 416
Default

Seems to be working again.
__________________
Isisalthea is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools

Forum Jump


All times are GMT. The time now is 11:04 PM.

vBulletin skin by: CompleteGFX.com
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.5
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
All threads and posts originally from the EQ2 and Station forums operated by Sony Online Entertainment. Their use is by express written permission.