EQ2 Forum Archive @ EQ2Wire

 

Go Back   EQ2 Forum Archive @ EQ2Wire > EverQuest II > Kunark Ascending Beta > Raid Discussion
Members List Search Mark Forums Read

Notices

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 09-29-2016, 12:58 AM   #1
Gninja

Developer
Gninja's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 1970
Posts: 0
Default

We have a good bit of raid content for this expansion and like betas in the past they will be limited availability. When beta first opens there will be no raids available but private raid testing will start right away based on the raid schedule. We will not likely have open beta raids hosted by the developers but there will be at least one raid zone opened to the public sometime during beta (typically after its been tested privately first)

If you would like to offer your services for testing raid content, awesome! But, we will only be accepting guilds/alliances not individual players for testing. Don't have a guild? No problem... Contact a guild on beta and join their test if they will have you. No guilds are being turned away for testing as long as they can bring a full raid of players willing to do some testing and they can remain respectful and constructive.

Some quick basic info:

Number of raid zones this expansion: 7
Number of bosses: 30+
Access quests? Some yes. Some are gated behind killing other encounters, earning specific items, or having specific abilities. The further you get into content the more strict the requirements to enter.

Current Zone list minus one surprise one.

Arcanna'se Spire: Order and Chaos [Raid] - Tier 1-2 (This zone is open to the public for testing!)
Lost City of Torsis: Ashiirian Court [Raid] - Tier 1-3
Crypt of Dalnir: The Kly Stronghold [Raid] - Tier 1-3
Ruins of Kaesora: Ancient Xalgozian Temple [Raid] - Tier 1-3
Vaedenmoor, Realm of Despair [Raid] - Tier 1-4
Vaedenmoor, Heart of Nightmares [Raid] - Tier 3-4
Super Secret Surprise Zone! [Raid] - Tier 4

Resolve values base on Tier:
Tier 1: 375 (This is actually lower than current content's higher difficulty bosses and is intentionally lower to allow casual guilds that cannot bring full raid forces a chance to have raid content at a lower resolve requirement. This value is assuming you have 80% of your gear from heroic KA zones, heroic mount, and at least 18 members in your raid)
Tier 2: 515 (This value is assuming you have 80% of your gear from heroic (tier2/3) and/or raid tier1 gear from KA zones, heroic mount, and at least 22 members in your raid)
Tier 3: 590 (This value is assuming you have at least 50% of your gear from raid tier2 gear from KA zones, heroic mount, and at least 24 members in your raid)
Tier 4: 620 (This value is assuming you have at least 50% of your gear from raid tier3 gear from KA zones, heroic mount, and at least 24 members in your raid)

NOTE: Before complaining about the resolve values please take into consideration how much resolve you get from Kunark Ascending items not current Terrors of Thalumbra items.

Questions? Feel free to post them here!
Gninja is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-13-2016, 12:15 PM   #2
ZUES

Well-Known Member
ZUES's Avatar
 
Posts: n/a
Default

Time flagging incoming...! LOL
  Reply With Quote
Old 10-13-2016, 02:17 PM   #3
Wimble

Member
Wimble's Avatar
 
Posts: n/a
Default

Gninja

Firstly thank you for a clear and open post on this subject. The future sounds exciting!

One minor question out of curiosity: will the resolve buff spell we have be adjusted accordingly to keep pace with the growing significance of resolve?

And for clarification a second question: you mention these zones are being tested privately first, I guess this is a case of you (DBG) inviting the individual, rather than an application process from those wanting in? just for clarity as you know others will pester you on this BigGrin.

Thanks.
  Reply With Quote
Old 10-15-2016, 01:12 AM   #4
Gninja

Developer
Gninja's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 1970
Posts: 0
Default

Those testing have contacted me about testing. If your guild would like to help shoot me a PM and I will try to fit ya in based on the time I have available. there are something like 16 guilds currently on the list to help testing so its not just one or two guilds for sure.

In regards to the resolve buff it will NOT be growing along with items. The current plan to is to keep those buffs at their current levels and make items the majority of the requirement.
Gninja is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-16-2016, 10:13 AM   #5
Raenius

Active Member
Raenius's Avatar
 
Posts: n/a
Default

That is good, since everyone has more responsibility to meet resolve requirements through individual gear instead of just having the manpower to fill a raid.
  Reply With Quote
Old 10-17-2016, 02:22 PM   #6
Mandoblast

New Member
Mandoblast's Avatar
 
Posts: n/a
Default

I have a couple of questions:

1. You stated that on the resolve requirements for 515 that it assumed we had 80% heroic T2/T3 or T1 raid gear. Does this mean that T2/T3 heroic = T1 Raid gear?

2. I did not see the breakdown on which Heroic zones were T2/T3

3. What is the resolve amount for said T2/T3 heroic zones?

4. The super secret raid zone. I know it is a surprise but will it be revealed at launch of KA or does someone have to "Discover" it?

Thank you for all your hard work.
  Reply With Quote
Old 10-17-2016, 05:47 PM   #7
Gninja

Developer
Gninja's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 1970
Posts: 0
Default

No, this means you will need a mix of tier2/3 heroic and a few raid pieces from tier1 raid to meet the requirement. Full tier2/3 heroic will likely not give you enough to put you over the resolve number for tier2 raid bosses. That doesnt mean you can't kill them even if you are a few resolve short its not a hard requirement it just gets a little more difficult.

City of Mist zones are considered tier2 or higher.

T2 Heroic has resolve at 190(ish) but that is subject to change based on difficulty feedback.

It will need to be discovered.
Gninja is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-17-2016, 09:19 PM   #8
CSP84

Member
CSP84's Avatar
 
Posts: n/a
Default

Gninja,
about the Zones, will they be all located in the new overland zone or where they are suppose to be located. For example City of Mist zones in KJ or Ruins of Cabilis Zones in Fens ?
  Reply With Quote
Old 10-17-2016, 09:36 PM   #9
Gninja

Developer
Gninja's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 1970
Posts: 0
Default


The raid zones are located on the same doors as the heroics so if the heroic is in fens so is the raid.
Gninja is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-17-2016, 10:00 PM   #10
Nero

New Member
Nero's Avatar
 
Posts: n/a
Default

Something that may have been brought up before, but chance you would consider making the resolve buff persist though death?

As it currently stands, individuals in well geared raids should have just enough resolve to progress, if anyone in the raid dies, resolve typically drops below the required threshhold, effectively causing a chain-wipe. As it currently stands, on fights with a resolve requirement, we are forced to essentially flawless the encounter in order to progress.

Seems like this would be a good place to inquire,
  Reply With Quote
Old 10-18-2016, 12:49 AM   #11
Gninja

Developer
Gninja's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 1970
Posts: 0
Default


The resolve values for raid bosses in this expansion are built with the rule that you have X number of players. That number of players is only 24 for tier3 and tier4 bosses who you are expected to have a full raid force to defeat. The values for tier1 and tier2 bosses are set with the belief of you having at least 18 players not 24. So losing a few players should not put you under the resolve for the specific boss unless you are fighting something very difficult in which case death should be punishing.
Gninja is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-18-2016, 01:43 AM   #12
Ashandra

Active Member
Ashandra's Avatar
 
Posts: n/a
Default

Some sort of resolve temp adornment bought from the new mission currency would be good for bringing lower geared ppl into a raid with out them being a liability just putting the idea out there.
  Reply With Quote
Old 10-18-2016, 01:59 AM   #13
Gninja

Developer
Gninja's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 1970
Posts: 0
Default


What's to stop everyone for just using the adorns just to ignore the resolve bosses have? The idea behind it is that its a very controlled stat where its not given out all over the place so that it is not as easy as say resists to find 50 different ways to raise it and take the value away from the stat.

I like the train of thought though Smile
Gninja is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-18-2016, 07:54 AM   #14
wazul

New Member
wazul's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 1970
Posts: 0
Default

i am curious to see new gear.
i hope i am not forced to change a 970pot charm rtt (3 month no brain pexe) for a 400pot charm, only for resolve.

because resolve is only for break the wall is not a fun stat. cb,pot,ferver,ab mod yes but resolve is not my dream.
wazul is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-18-2016, 04:20 PM   #15
Gninja

Developer
Gninja's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 1970
Posts: 0
Default


I get what you are saying but in all expansions there were times you had to get gear that wasn't perfect for offense till you got better geared and could replace what you had with something better in terms of offense. This is nothing new, gear should all have upgrades available. That doesn't mean every piece you want to upgrade will be super easy to upgrade.
Gninja is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-18-2016, 04:55 PM   #16
Zephanor

New Member
Zephanor's Avatar
 
Posts: n/a
Default

Yup. It's painful but has been a part of every expansion. After all, this is E v e r q u e s t !

Tongue
  Reply With Quote
Old 10-19-2016, 02:45 AM   #17
Proen

New Member
Proen's Avatar
 
Posts: n/a
Default

Well seeing that there are charms with more pot and more resolve on them, yes i hope you do change that rtt charm
  Reply With Quote
Old 10-19-2016, 04:19 AM   #18
Gigglezzz

Member
Gigglezzz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 1970
Posts: 0
Default

I have seen charms that have over 1k potency already in beta, so yes, rtt charm is replaced
Gigglezzz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-19-2016, 04:30 AM   #19
Uncle

Active Member
Uncle's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 1970
Posts: 0
Default



can you shhot me a link of that charm in beta??
Uncle is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-19-2016, 02:41 PM   #20
Pitta

Member
Pitta's Avatar
 
Posts: n/a
Default

[IMG]
  Reply With Quote
Old 10-19-2016, 04:49 PM   #21
Uncle

Active Member
Uncle's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 1970
Posts: 0
Default


nice
Uncle is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-20-2016, 12:23 AM   #22
Gninja

Developer
Gninja's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 1970
Posts: 0
Default

ZUES I have three answers.

No

Very

Who said we were going back to Planes of Power? There is one zone that requires everyone to have met the entrance requirements. Everything else that has a requirement is one person pulls the raid in.
Gninja is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-20-2016, 02:31 AM   #23
Luzionist

Member
Luzionist's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 1970
Posts: 0
Default

I am assuming that the final zone "super secret" is the one that has to have all flagged for it.

Zues i am curious about that assumption as well
Luzionist is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-20-2016, 05:06 AM   #24
ZUES

Well-Known Member
ZUES's Avatar
 
Posts: n/a
Default

I believe it was said during the live stream. Maybe I misunderstood or, according to my ex, heard what I wanted to hear. Maybe she was right all along. o_O
  Reply With Quote
Old 10-20-2016, 05:51 AM   #25
ZUES

Well-Known Member
ZUES's Avatar
 
Posts: n/a
Default

This is why my ex is my ex. Forward the video to 39:45.

  Reply With Quote
Old 10-20-2016, 06:06 AM   #26
Rondo9

Active Member
Rondo9's Avatar
 
Posts: n/a
Default


Oh the pain I feel of grinding RTT for 400 hours to have nice things for a few weeks, can I have that part of my life back now. LMAO You'd be naive to think that the RTT gear wouldn't be replaced by something in the new expac little disappointing it is solo gear.
  Reply With Quote
Old 10-20-2016, 08:59 AM   #27
ZUES

Well-Known Member
ZUES's Avatar
 
Posts: n/a
Default

Gninja I have three questions.

1. Will there be a X2 raid zone?

2. How close are you to opening up one or two raid zones for open test? Hint hint nudge nudge. BigGrin

3. Since you're returning to the Planes of Power are you going to make it so every member has to be flagged to enter like in EQ? Or will it be one person that's flagged can pull in the entire raid?
  Reply With Quote
Old 10-20-2016, 12:58 PM   #28
Karsa

Member
Karsa's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 1970
Posts: 0
Default



sweet Christmas ...where does that drop?
Karsa is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-20-2016, 03:58 PM   #29
Mohondas

New Member
Mohondas's Avatar
 
Posts: n/a
Default


Well, there is a Zebuxxoruuk shiny collection, so...
  Reply With Quote
Old 10-20-2016, 04:08 PM   #30
Gninja

Developer
Gninja's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 1970
Posts: 0
Default


That would be an incorrect assumption Smile
Gninja is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools

Forum Jump


All times are GMT. The time now is 03:24 AM.

vBulletin skin by: CompleteGFX.com
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.5
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
All threads and posts originally from the EQ2 and Station forums operated by Sony Online Entertainment. Their use is by express written permission.