EQ2 Forum Archive @ EQ2Wire

 

Go Back   EQ2 Forum Archive @ EQ2Wire > Station Forums > Fan Faire 2007-2011
Members List Search Mark Forums Read

Notices

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 07-02-2007, 10:18 PM   #1
Auroz

The Quiet Type
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Chicago, IL
Posts: 21
Default

For the people who have been to conventions or fan faires before, have you brought your laptops to play eq2/any games in your room or is it usually too busy or better to use the computers the hotel might have there already? Also, does anyone know the internet policy for the Rio or surrounding hotels? I heard theres one place that gives you the first 30min free and then charges per minute so it gets expensive.

 I am just curious because I have been to a hotel before (in Illinois) where I just opened my laptop and logged onto eq2.

 I am hoping Las vegas/Rio/Fan faire has easy internet access like that also. I am assuming I will have 'down time' when I'm not being at the actual faire and will need my eq fix. But if I need to pay $100+ just to use the internet then I don't see the point of bringing my laptop. Any tips?

Auroz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-03-2007, 01:06 AM   #2
Calthine

SOE Community Council
Calthine's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 181
Default

I know SOE will hav ea game room where you can reserve time to play. But I am also wondering if the hotel has Wi-Fi, I can't find any mention of it.  (My laptop would melt down if I tried to run EQ2, but I'll have work to upload to 'Zam.)
Calthine is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-03-2007, 04:12 AM   #3
Igie

Journeyman
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 95
Default

There are a lot of Wi-Fi spots around the Strip area. I can look into the Rio specifically tomorrow about internet in room. I can't find anything on-line. I would assume they have in room internet access, but I could be wrong, as they may have those annoying kiosk things....
Igie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-03-2007, 02:37 PM   #4
Ashlanne

Project Manager
Ashlanne's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 374
Default

As far as I know wifi will be available in the main hall where all of store and registration is.
Ashlanne is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-03-2007, 04:14 PM   #5
Sarge

The Quiet Type
Sarge's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 14
Default

Thank god for my 3g enabled smart phone..... thats how I'm able to play at work during the "downtime" (which is all the time for me)
Sarge is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-03-2007, 09:30 PM   #6
Calthine

SOE Community Council
Calthine's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 181
Default

Ashlanne wrote:
As far as I know wifi will be available in the main hall where all of store and registration is.
Hope so.  According to this article the hotel does have Wi-Fi, but there's a fee. http://www.destination360.com/north...t-las-vegas.php
Calthine is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-06-2007, 01:12 PM   #7
Eriol_Ancalag

Newbie
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 5
Default

Last year in atlanta, soe put up some of its own wifi that was free/open access, but beyond that, no ideas on the hotel itself. I'd suspect for GAME-playing though, with all of the people on the wifi at once, you'd be much better off going for the good-ol wire at a booked gaming rig they'll have there.  Or book a rig, then pull the cable out and use your own set-up laptop.  SMILEY
Eriol_Ancalag is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-07-2007, 02:47 AM   #8
Calthine

SOE Community Council
Calthine's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 181
Default

Eriol_Ancalagon wrote:
Last year in atlanta, soe put up some of its own wifi that was free/open access, but beyond that, no ideas on the hotel itself.
Ah, that would explain free access in the registration area.  Good.  'Cause I'm cheap, but I will have work to do from Fan Faire, lol.
Calthine is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-07-2007, 09:11 AM   #9
Havocide

Journeyman
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: The Matrix Online
Posts: 104
Default

Well hope there is decent access, as Il have a podcast and a radio show to broadcast. Heh.
Havocide is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-07-2007, 09:43 AM   #10
QforQ-MxO

Happy Camper
QforQ-MxO's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 37
Default

Havocide wrote:
Well hope there is decent access, as Il have a podcast and a radio show to broadcast. Heh.
me too!  zomg Are you with one of the MxO stations?
QforQ-MxO is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-07-2007, 09:55 AM   #11
SG_01

Valued Contributor
SG_01's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 96
Default

Definitly hope there's decent wireless internet as well. Got quite a bit of stuff to post etc SMILEY
SG_01 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-07-2007, 11:39 AM   #12
Havocide

Journeyman
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: The Matrix Online
Posts: 104
Default

QforQ-MxO wrote:
Havocide wrote:
Well hope there is decent access, as Il have a podcast and a radio show to broadcast. Heh.
me too!  zomg Are you with one of the MxO stations?
Heh I own RMC:Terminal  Forums can be found here.
Havocide is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-07-2007, 05:33 PM   #13
Auroz

The Quiet Type
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Chicago, IL
Posts: 21
Default

Just wanted to update I am staying at the Hilton and the website says they have 'High Speed Internet Connection* *Additional charges may apply for the service" But don't say how much the charges are >.<

 Also, do hotels have an issue if you book a room with 2 beds (for 2 people I assume) but actually have 4-5 people stay in the room? Is this "breaking a rule" and we will have to be sneaky when we check in and go to our room, or do they not care?

Aaaaand last, if some of us sleep on the floor, will hotels give you extra blankets and pillows if you ask, or is it best to bring a sleeping bag?

I'm such a noob when it comes to this! But I want to be prepared! Thanks

Auroz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-07-2007, 06:03 PM   #14
Sandain666

Happy Camper
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 59
Default

Auroz wrote:

Just wanted to update I am staying at the Hilton and the website says they have 'High Speed Internet Connection* *Additional charges may apply for the service" But don't say how much the charges are >.<

 Also, do hotels have an issue if you book a room with 2 beds (for 2 people I assume) but actually have 4-5 people stay in the room? Is this "breaking a rule" and we will have to be sneaky when we check in and go to our room, or do they not care?

Aaaaand last, if some of us sleep on the floor, will hotels give you extra blankets and pillows if you ask, or is it best to bring a sleeping bag?

I'm such a noob when it comes to this! But I want to be prepared! Thanks

Most hotels list how many people may share a room per person on your reservation. For example you may see a notation of a maximum of 2 people per room and a surcharge for the additional people. But in reality I have never seen anyone charged this unless they were throwing loud parties and disturbing other guests. I would avoid tipping the front desk off by asking for 5 sets of keys to be made. Back in college my buddies and I used to crash 4-5 to a room and never charged extra. And I have stayed at many hotels along the strip. You may want to call the Hilton and find out what their policy is just so you know the rules. And most hotels will not have a problem handing out extra blankets and pillows. But if they are packed they might not have enough to go around. Depending on the hotel there may already be at least one extra blanet/pillow in the room 
Sandain666 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-08-2007, 08:10 AM   #15
QforQ-MxO

Happy Camper
QforQ-MxO's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 37
Default

Havocide wrote:
QforQ-MxO wrote:
Havocide wrote:
Well hope there is decent access, as Il have a podcast and a radio show to broadcast. Heh.
me too!  zomg Are you with one of the MxO stations?
Heh I own RMC:Terminal  Forums can be found here.
Nice, it would be cool to meet up SMILEY
QforQ-MxO is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-08-2007, 01:04 PM   #16
Havocide

Journeyman
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: The Matrix Online
Posts: 104
Default

QforQ-MxO wrote:
Havocide wrote:
QforQ-MxO wrote:
Havocide wrote:
Well hope there is decent access, as Il have a podcast and a radio show to broadcast. Heh.
me too!  zomg Are you with one of the MxO stations?
Heh I own RMC:Terminal  Forums can be found here.
Nice, it would be cool to meet up SMILEY
Time will tell.
Havocide is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-15-2007, 09:44 AM   #17
SG_01

Valued Contributor
SG_01's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 96
Default

I found a website listing the closest free wifi hotspots. One of them is about on the other side of the road from the Rio.

Here's a map!

(I'm not 100% positive the markers are placed correctly though!)

SG_01 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-16-2007, 02:32 PM   #18
Auroz

The Quiet Type
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Chicago, IL
Posts: 21
Default

Thank you! I am saving that.

Another question for you travelers- are you allowed to carry-on your laptop? Or do they want you to put it in a suitcase (I am worried it will be thrown around and/or crushed) But then I worry it may be too large or not allowed for carry-on... tips?

Auroz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-16-2007, 02:47 PM   #19
SG_01

Valued Contributor
SG_01's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 96
Default

Always put your laptop in your carry-on lugage. And don't forget to take it out of your bag when they do the X-Ray scan. If you carry a flat laptop-bag, put it under the chair in front of you, not in the locker above you.
SG_01 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-16-2007, 06:22 PM   #20
Dragl

Newbie
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 11
Default

I live in Canada but have flow to the US and UK this year, both times laptops where fine for carry on. They may want to take a wipe on it to ensure no explosive chemicals have been in contact with it but no worries for taking it on board the planes.  When you hit security they will want it taken out of the bag and in a seperate container to go through the x-ray machine.
Dragl is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-16-2007, 06:29 PM   #21
Auroz

The Quiet Type
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Chicago, IL
Posts: 21
Default

Thank you! Just the advice I needed... didn't know about the x-ray.. guess I would have fried my lappy.

PS Can an xray do anything to a digital camera?

One last super random question. I will look this up on my airline's site but I want some advice from normal travelers too...

is it true they have to open stuffed/plush toys to check if you have anything hidden in there?

Someone told me they will, especially since I'm not a child and want to bring a large (30 inch) stuffed animal in my baggage (not carry on) anyone ever seen someone get a plush toy cut open when they scan baggages?

Auroz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-16-2007, 06:50 PM   #22
SG_01

Valued Contributor
SG_01's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 96
Default

Hrmm, not sure about the stuffed/plush toys. However, X-Rays can hurt electronics if they're turned up too high. Digital cameras won't be a problem, but laptops are large enough to block the view of everything else. Hence if they are in the bag, they'll up the X-Rays, or do a thorough manual check of both you and your bag.
SG_01 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-16-2007, 08:21 PM   #23
Zegron

Happy Camper
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: St. Clair, Michigan
Posts: 35
Default

The phrase Manual Check scares me... SMILEY
Zegron is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-16-2007, 09:42 PM   #24
Calthine

SOE Community Council
Calthine's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 181
Default

My digitial camera's been x-rayed several times by airport security and has suffered no ill effects.  I think once I was asked to turn it on (this a few years back).  Thanks for the laptop advice!
Calthine is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-21-2007, 01:43 AM   #25
Kela

Master
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 394
Default

In the US the TSA will require you to take your laptop out of your bag and place it by itself in a one of the plastic tubs they have to store all your other stuff. Also I would recomend as you get close to the secruity check point, that you put all your Metal things, this includes coins, watchs and belts into a bag of some kind, I usually leave room in my Fannypack for this, that way you can speed up the process of getting your stuff into the Tubs, also bags don't go into tubs and DO NOT carry on liquids that are over 3oz and those containers should be in a Plastic Ziptop bag in a clear container, yes that means finish drinking that bottled water befor getting to the check point. As for the Carry-on check X-ray I have never had a problem with it hurting either my computer(make shure it is off though and not sleeping) or my Digital camera. However, I did have a trip where I lost all the pictures I took with my Film Camera, however there are bags you can get that will lower the X-ray intencity and protect the film.

One thing you have to worry about with large Iteams, even checking is that some airlines have a size limit on what they will carry without an extra charge.

Kela is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-21-2007, 10:38 AM   #26
Sandain666

Happy Camper
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 59
Default

Auroz wrote:
is it true they have to open stuffed/plush toys to check if you have anything hidden in there?

Someone told me they will, especially since I'm not a child and want to bring a large (30 inch) stuffed animal in my baggage (not carry on) anyone ever seen someone get a plush toy cut open when they scan baggages?

I have never in my life seen nor heard of this happen to anyone, not even during the height of security after 9-11 have I ever heard of such a thing. I would rack that up to a stupid urban legend. Did the person who passed this information on to you witness this himself or did he hear it from " a friend of a friend"? Did this alleged incident happen in the U.S. or another country? Following that logic they would have to slice open every down filled coat ,comforter and pillow that goes onto an airplane. Why in the world would they slice open a stuffed animal when:

1) They have x-ray machines and metal dectors that can identify suspicous objects without "killing" your plush toy. ( i guess if your plush toy is filled with lead it might make them a tad suspicious)

2)Why would the TSA slice open a stuffed toy that may have a explosive, chemical or biological weapon hidden inside it.

for more information see http://www.tsa.gov/index.shtm

Sandain666 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-21-2007, 11:09 AM   #27
Cebot

Happy Camper
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 8
Default

Here's a list of ideas I put out there for those flying in:

http://forums.station.sony.com/stat..._id=11500005424

Cebot is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-21-2007, 11:10 AM   #28
Cebot

Happy Camper
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 8
Default

SG_01 wrote:
Hrmm, not sure about the stuffed/plush toys. However, X-Rays can hurt electronics if they're turned up too high. Digital cameras won't be a problem, but laptops are large enough to block the view of everything else. Hence if they are in the bag, they'll up the X-Rays, or do a thorough manual check of both you and your bag.
Actually, if they're in the bag they'll yell at you and make you take it out and put it through again. They'll never accept a laptop in a bag. And yes, they'll then likely manually check the bag and/or do the wipe test.
Cebot is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-29-2007, 08:55 PM   #29
Kela

Master
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 394
Default

To those asking about Internet service, I called the Rio and they have Wi-Fi in thier conferance halls(not shure if it is free or not) and Wired access in thier rooms for $13.00 a night.
Kela is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools

Forum Jump


All times are GMT. The time now is 05:02 PM.

vBulletin skin by: CompleteGFX.com
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.5
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
All threads and posts originally from the EQ2 and Station forums operated by Sony Online Entertainment. Their use is by express written permission.