EQ2 Forum Archive @ EQ2Wire

 

Go Back   EQ2 Forum Archive @ EQ2Wire > EverQuest II > General EverQuest II Discussion > General Gameplay Discussion
Members List Search Mark Forums Read

Notices

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 08-18-2010, 07:40 PM   #1
vexation

Loremaster
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Posts: 149
Default

Happened to me 4 times today as I was setting up the UI for different toons. Seemed to be reproducable by doing a /loadui - picking blue - which then wiped all my hotbar settings - so then /load_uisettings - load my character ui - then right click maintained spells and hide text. Wasn't 100% reproducable but did it more often than not.

I wasn't particularly surprised then when I grouped with some guildies, they zoned in to instance on toons they hadn't played since the new GU.. they also tried to hide the text and 2 of them crashed. They said it'd happened on their other toons aswell.

If others have or are experiencing the same thing.. please post!

vexation is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-18-2010, 07:49 PM   #2
Druisagoldengod

Loremaster
Druisagoldengod's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 90
Default

Holy crap yeah, on my particular system the client crashes and the whole rig freezes. Big time bug. A
Druisagoldengod is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-18-2010, 08:16 PM   #3
isest

Loremaster
isest's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 653
Default

Yes and it done it 2 and 3 times on each of my toons, OK I spent 4 hours today trying to sort this mess and Im not a happy camper about it all.

isest is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-18-2010, 08:24 PM   #4
Rothgar

Developer
Rothgar's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: San Diego
Posts: 2,273
Default

Are you using the Default UI when this happens?

Rothgar is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-18-2010, 08:27 PM   #5
Druisagoldengod

Loremaster
Druisagoldengod's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 90
Default

Update: I wasn't even right clicking this time around and had a crash. Very interesting. However, no I use Profit. More info to add is that several of my fellow players who updated profit are not experiencing crashes. Go figure. I'll mess around a bit more to see if I can localize the problem. I'll try reverting to the default UI. A
Druisagoldengod is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-18-2010, 08:28 PM   #6
Xal

General
Xal's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 55
Default

Happens with the default UI blue theme). A lot.

Also you might want to check out the icons. If you have text enabled and have enough buffs to fill a second column, the last icon in the first one will become far too large (the existing image will be stretched, the text vanished).

Another thought on the matter: Add an option to display text only for the buffs where it makes sense. I like knowing how many points remain on my ward. Don't need to have the information that i've cast see invisible on every group member fill up half my screen.

Xal is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-18-2010, 08:31 PM   #7
isest

Loremaster
isest's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 653
Default

Yes this was happnening before I tired to use the defualt blue ui, and after I used it.  It done it on all 3 of our comps here at the house.

The wifes computer it only did it once per toon using the red ui.   She has since admonished me and I have put the blue ui on her comp.

The blue ui would not save. Each time I logged out of game it defaulted back to the red ui.   Well I got around that by copying over the default ui into my eq2 maps library.

good nows is now I got all my stuff set up.  I happy with what i have now. 

isest is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-18-2010, 08:34 PM   #8
Druisagoldengod

Loremaster
Druisagoldengod's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 90
Default

Still doesn't explain why only a portion are experiencing the crashes. What OS are you all using? I unfortunately am using WinXP64bit. This, I imagine is the source for a lot of issues I have. Blood pressure included. A
Druisagoldengod is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-18-2010, 08:39 PM   #9
Druisagoldengod

Loremaster
Druisagoldengod's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 90
Default

Still crashed, without even messing with the UI =( The search continues. A
Druisagoldengod is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-18-2010, 08:50 PM   #10
Druisagoldengod

Loremaster
Druisagoldengod's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 90
Default

Updating vc drivers... crosses fingers... A Also checking out event logger to see if I can't glean anything...
Druisagoldengod is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-18-2010, 08:52 PM   #11
isest

Loremaster
isest's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 653
Default

[email protected] wrote:

Still doesn't explain why only a portion are experiencing the crashes. What OS are you all using? I unfortunately am using WinXP64bit. This, I imagine is the source for a lot of issues I have. Blood pressure included. A

I use windows 7 ultimate 64 bit on this comp, my wifes comp uses 32 bit vista, and the laptop uses xp.

So that kind of rules out what version of windows is causing the problem.

isest is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-18-2010, 08:55 PM   #12
Kreton

Loremaster
Kreton's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Posts: 222
Default

[email protected] wrote:

Also you might want to check out the icons. If you have text enabled and have enough buffs to fill a second column, the last icon in the first one will become far too large (the existing image will be stretched, the text vanished).

I'm not getting crashes but I noticed this on the default UI (red).  The 19th buff in maintained becomes SUPER STRETCHED for me.  It happens regardless if I display text or not, it's just when I don't display text, I only see a portion of the super stretched icon.  I haven't noticed it on any other spot but the 19th buff for w/e reason.

Kreton is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-18-2010, 09:29 PM   #13
Druisagoldengod

Loremaster
Druisagoldengod's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 90
Default

No dice, still crashing. A
Druisagoldengod is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-18-2010, 09:47 PM   #14
Druisagoldengod

Loremaster
Druisagoldengod's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 90
Default

Stress tested my vid card... apparently crash caused by UI worked in tandem with dying vid card. Faults on me under stress. Must have been coincidence that it finally crapped out on me on release. This I believe is what is causing my rig to freeze. A
Druisagoldengod is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-18-2010, 10:14 PM   #15
Kreton

Loremaster
Kreton's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Posts: 222
Default

Kreton wrote:

I'm not getting crashes but I noticed this on the default UI (red).  The 19th buff in maintained becomes SUPER STRETCHED for me.  It happens regardless if I display text or not, it's just when I don't display text, I only see a portion of the super stretched icon.  I haven't noticed it on any other spot but the 19th buff for w/e reason.

Ok so I did a little investigating and it appears there is a typo in the default maintained xml for the 19th buff. 

should be

ScrollExtent="25,25" Size="25,25" Visible="false" />

The difference bolded out.  I think that's why I'm seeing a super stretched icon for only the 19th buff on the maintained window.

Kreton is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-19-2010, 04:55 AM   #16
vexation

Loremaster
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Posts: 149
Default

Rothgar wrote:

Are you using the Default UI when this happens?

Only mods I have installed are eq2maps.. pretty sure it's happend with the red UI too but the first thing I've been doing is changing to the blue UI so I'm not 100% sure.

Is happening on at least 3 computers that I have access to, all of which have Windows 7 x64 and some form of nVidia graphics card. Windows 7 x64, nVidia GeForce GT220, driver version 8.17.11.9745

As it was happening to other people in the guild hall (that also do not use profit etc) I'm wondering whether I might be better off just taking a UI wipe and starting fresh..... /shudder

vexation is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-20-2010, 10:02 AM   #17
Banditman

Loremaster
Banditman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 7,459
Default

This happens to me if I try to do a "Hide Text" before the zone is completely loaded.

So, it draws my UI and I can get that menu right before the zone is completely loaded.  I can right click, hide text and crash EQ2.

If I wait a few seconds for the zone to completely load, it doesn't crash.

__________________
Banditman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-20-2010, 05:10 PM   #18
DxPreist1

Loremaster
DxPreist1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Sconnie, land of Drunkards and Cheese
Posts: 151
Default

Yup seems to be a mixed bag here.

My system handles it fine (High end newer rig, Piecework UI addons[ Drums maintained, Razc Autoattack bar, EQ2MAPS, ect], mostly default though)

My wifes older system (XP 2gb ram, 3ghz AMD, entirely Default UI + EQ2MAPS) = instant client dump.

All the same Anti-virus/spyware/Firewall and network setup.

__________________
Soloing will always rule until SOE reprograms the majority of their users to not be horrible at playing the game. Pure fact.
DxPreist1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools

Forum Jump


All times are GMT. The time now is 10:41 AM.

vBulletin skin by: CompleteGFX.com
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.5
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
All threads and posts originally from the EQ2 and Station forums operated by Sony Online Entertainment. Their use is by express written permission.