EQ2 Forum Archive @ EQ2Wire

 

Go Back   EQ2 Forum Archive @ EQ2Wire > EverQuest II > Support Forums > Tech Area > Voice Chat Support
Members List Search Mark Forums Read

Notices

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 06-16-2009, 03:25 PM   #1
Princess Ariel

Loremaster
Princess Ariel's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 196
Default

Okay I am really trying not to come across as rude but do you people test anything before launch?  Now it isn't working at all and I have my firewall off.  So how do I fix this?

Princess Ariel is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-16-2009, 04:05 PM   #2
Athiter

Loremaster
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Posts: 2
Default

Same things happening to me, voice worked FINE for about two weeks now, (since i first started playing) and now with one patch sony has managed to mess everything up, I can see my guild memebers talking bubbles over their heads and all. All of my other sound is fine, just no voice. Way to go. I mean honestly was there really that big of a problem that it required messing it up entirely? But I'm sure the only response we're going to get, if any, will be "I am currently looking into the problem" or "Open your firewall ports". I have my firewall disabled, virus protection off, windows defender is off. Whats the deal?

Athiter is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-16-2009, 04:52 PM   #3
Wizard_Thoarin

Loremaster
Wizard_Thoarin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 73
Default

Same problem here, I keep getting kicked to channel

Curious thing in the options window it says it could not detect windows mic settings.  But when I hit the record button to test my mic it records just fine.  I'm running Vista X64 on a Core i7 920 with sound through a soundblast X-Fi Fidelity sound card and using Alchemy to get the EAX settings.

Everything worked up until the patch!

__________________
Wizards First Rule: People are Stupid!
Wizard_Thoarin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-16-2009, 04:56 PM   #4
Princess Ariel

Loremaster
Princess Ariel's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 196
Default

I am getting really sick and tired of you all messing with things that worked fine before and constantly changeing everything.....there is an old saying "If it ain't broke don't fix it."   Yet every time we turn around you fix things that aren't broke and then break it with your supposed fix...and you don't fix what really needs to be fixed. 

Princess Ariel is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-16-2009, 08:09 PM   #5
Purplehealer
Server: Runnyeye

Loremaster
Purplehealer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 12
Default

Same thing here.  2/3rds of my guild can access voice channels but 1/3rd of us cant get anything.  I have done as others posted with firewall/defender etc. allowing eq2voiceserver.exe or allowing everything dosnt make any difference.  Everything was fine before the patch.  Please fix this quickly as raiding without voice is making it frustrating.

__________________
Purplehealer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-16-2009, 09:54 PM   #6
Gethani

Gaming Grannie
Gethani's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 61
Default

Voice was working fine for me Sunday and yesterday. Today I am in guild voice channel for less than a minute and then it just boots me out.

Firewall has permission to run voice. Have reset router and restarted. Any other suggestions. I know I was not only one in guild with problem.

Gethani

Gethani is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-16-2009, 10:08 PM   #7
Athiter

Loremaster
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Posts: 2
Default

Thats awesome still no post from someone that could actually do somthing, wheres a dev at? Are we paying 15 dollars a month to play with a broken product? I guess so.

Athiter is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-16-2009, 10:32 PM   #8
Rothgar

Developer
Rothgar's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: San Diego
Posts: 2,273
Default

Athiter wrote:

Thats awesome still no post from someone that could actually do somthing, wheres a dev at? Are we paying 15 dollars a month to play with a broken product? I guess so.

Sorry, the devs are all busy fixing bugs instead of reading the forums.  SMILEY

We are aware of the problems and working on them.  Its an unfortunate side of software that not everything gets found in QA or Testing.

Rothgar is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-16-2009, 11:23 PM   #9
SilkenKidden

Loremaster
SilkenKidden's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 2,039
Default

Rothgar wrote:

Athiter wrote:

Thats awesome still no post from someone that could actually do somthing, wheres a dev at? Are we paying 15 dollars a month to play with a broken product? I guess so.

Sorry, the devs are all busy fixing bugs instead of reading the forums. 

We are aware of the problems and working on them.  Its an unfortunate side of software that not everything gets found in QA or Testing.

Thank you for the response.  We get spoiled so easily.  Voice Chat is so nice to have that once you get it and then lose it you are adrift. 

Hope it's fixed soon.

SilkenKidden is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-17-2009, 01:15 AM   #10
Gethani

Gaming Grannie
Gethani's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 61
Default

Thank you = )

*hugs*

Gethani

Gethani is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-17-2009, 08:10 AM   #11
kelesia

Loremaster
kelesia's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Dayton, Ohio
Posts: 290
Default

I'll chime in as someone whose voice chat worked 2 days ago and now nothing. Voice is now telling me in red letters that my headset isn't windows compatable and it most definately is.

/confused.

__________________
kelesia is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-17-2009, 08:42 AM   #12
Viethiel

Loremaster
Viethiel's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 77
Default

Rothgar wrote:

We are aware of the problems and working on them.  Its an unfortunate side of software that not everything gets found in QA or Testing.

I'm glad a dev said that!  I was getting a little frustrated since I had never experienced any major VC problem until after the latest patch yesterday...not only did I lose VC, but I eventually lost all sound too!  So I logged.

Hope you guys get it fixed soon.  Thanks for actually posting and being HONEST about it Rothgar.  That's the kind of communication that I would expect from a company of SONY's size and stature.  It is unfortuante that your co-workers who post on how long downtime will be extended are not as transparent as you.  Those folks say 2 hours...it usually turns into 4 or 5 hours!

__________________
Viethiel is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-17-2009, 09:45 PM   #13
Sehk

Loremaster
Sehk's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Australia
Posts: 79
Default

I'll add my name to the list of those with broken voice chat since GU52 (and 50% broken from a few days before).

It may be coincidence, but the North American members of my guild can use VC just fine. Myself (in Australia), and another guild member (in the UK), cannot use VC.

Another anomly that may or may not be related is this: bringing up the Options window in-game freezes everything for about 15 seconds. After the window opens, the drop-downs under Voice Chat for input/output also freeze for 10 seconds when clicked, then show a list of I/O options; clicking on an option results in yet more freezing, but no change in option.

Opening the Options window from the Character Select screen however, results in no freezing. One can also change the VC I/O options here, and doing so (from 'Default' to either the headset or sound card) results in a change of option, and changes the red 'Cannot detect Windows mic settings' text to green 'working properly' text.

Neither of these interactions with the Options window seem to have any effect on VC in-game however.

I'll note that the Options window lag is new for me since GU52, and that my system is powerful enough for this not to be reasonably attributed to any lack of memory issues, etc (other than possible leaks or other issues introduced with GU52). I'll also note that I have tested my sound card, speakers and headset, and that everything is still working as it should, other than EQ2's voice chat. Finally I'll add that the Windows firewall is excepting EQ2VoiceService.exe, and that turning the firewall off does not fix the current VC failure. I run Windows XP.

Looking forward to having voice chat back, and wish you speed in finding a fix.

Sehk is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-17-2009, 10:43 PM   #14
Darwa

Loremaster
Darwa's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 67
Default

Sehk wrote:

I

Another anomly that may or may not be related is this: bringing up the Options window in-game freezes everything for about 15 seconds. After the window opens, the drop-downs under Voice Chat for input/output also freeze for 10 seconds when clicked, then show a list of I/O options; clicking on an option results in yet more freezing, but no change in option.

Opening the Options window from the Character Select screen however, results in no freezing. One can also change the VC I/O options here, and doing so (from 'Default' to either the headset or sound card) results in a change of option, and changes the red 'Cannot detect Windows mic settings' text to green 'working properly' text.

Neither of these interactions with the Options window seem to have any effect on VC in-game however.

I'll note that the Options window lag is new for me since GU52, and that my system is powerful enough for this not to be reasonably attributed to any lack of memory issues, etc (other than possible leaks or other issues introduced with GU52). I'll also note that I have tested my sound card, speakers and headset, and that everything is still working as it should, other than EQ2's voice chat. Finally I'll add that the Windows firewall is excepting EQ2VoiceService.exe, and that turning the firewall off does not fix the current VC failure. I run Windows XP.

I echo this, and add that I'm running Win 7 64.

Darwa is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-17-2009, 11:20 PM   #15
Evilnikki
Server: Guk
Guild: Fallen Angelz
Rank: Leader

Loremaster
Evilnikki's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 57
Default

I as well am having problems with voice chat. Won't connect then 30 secs after try and connect it just says "left group voice chat".

__________________
Evilnikki is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-17-2009, 11:31 PM   #16
raydenwins

Loremaster
raydenwins's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 186
Default

voice not working.  uninstalled pctools, still nada.  this is pathetic.

raydenwins is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-18-2009, 12:52 AM   #17
Pusska
Server: Permafrost
Guild: Unsung Heroes
Rank: Founder

Loremaster
Pusska's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: NSW, Australia
Posts: 130
Default

Sehk wrote:

I'll add my name to the list of those with broken voice chat since GU52 (and 50% broken from a few days before).

It may be coincidence, but the North American members of my guild can use VC just fine. Myself (in Australia), and another guild member (in the UK), cannot use VC.

It might be complete coincidence but just in case it isn't ... Myself and Gushopper, both Aussies cannot use voice chat but the rest of our guild seems to be able to with limited problems. There is one Canadian who also has problems but she had issues before the update as well.

Is there something we can do to try and diagnose/fix where this problem lies?

I log in, use the drop down box to go into guild voice chat, and have 0 users. Meanwhile everyone else is chatting merrily away. They have tried using /voice invite to get me into channels which has worked with bugged users in the past but after accepting the invite I do not auto join the chan. And when I use the drop down box to get to the channel I get 0 users again.

Gus get an error code when logging in, and voice is ghosted. At this point in time the channel 'Guild' is not even there.

I closed our vent server because voice chat was much easier and now we are voiceless. Please please please fix this asap guys. I am happy to help! Just tell me what to try!

Pusska is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-18-2009, 02:07 AM   #18
Te'ana

Tester
Te'ana's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Texas
Posts: 1,807
Default

It is just coincidence. I have four computers located in Texas not working and my guildies with non-functioning VC are also from North America while our Itallian members are not having a problem.

Te'ana is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-18-2009, 02:25 AM   #19
Darwa

Loremaster
Darwa's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 67
Default

I stopped using my Creative soundcard and switched to on-board sound. No problems since.

Darwa is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-18-2009, 08:50 AM   #20
bumford007

Loremaster
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Vic, Australia
Posts: 19
Default

I'm also playing from Australia, and have the exact same issues as what the others are going through. Game options stall for 15 seconds or so. Cant connect to the channels, can i have a million dollars pm for my details. 

bumford007 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-18-2009, 12:11 PM   #21
Babayaaga

Loremaster
Babayaaga's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 224
Default

While sound card options may work for some, I'm pretty sure this isn't a sound card issue. Reproducing the problem on different machines running different OS's (Vista, XP, Win7) on a home network and all 3 experience identical behaviour.

I am also pretty certain that world location is not related to this issue, as there are no patterns associated.

This is a communications error of some sort, either configuration or hardware oriented. Without knowing how the software works I can't figure out exactly what to do next on my end.

__________________
Babayaaga (81 Fury)

Inaera (90 Berserker)

Porta (87 Monk)

Noir (90 Templar)

Babs (81 Illusionist)

Piia (90 Mystic)
Babayaaga is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-18-2009, 12:40 PM   #22
Wizard_Thoarin

Loremaster
Wizard_Thoarin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 73
Default

Voice chat still isn't working for me.  I try to join a voice channel and keep getting dumbed to the channel.

On a side note though, EQ2 now says it recognizes my Mic in the Options -> Voice section.  Although when testing my mic both yesturday and today it recorded 10 seconds of me talking to myself just fine...

Please fix this, I like everyone else here would like to be able to talk to our guildies and friends in game.

__________________
Wizards First Rule: People are Stupid!
Wizard_Thoarin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-18-2009, 01:02 PM   #23
Avirodar
Server: Oasis
Guild: Tyranny
Rank: Champion

Loremaster
Avirodar's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 2,035
Default

I run two PCs side by side. One runs Vista Ultimate, the other XP Home.  Both legit copies, drivers all up to date etc.VC works fine on the XP machine. VC does not work on the Vista machine. I asked around on level chat. People with both XP and Vista are having problems.And the new patch did not seem to solve jack **** for me.

__________________
Templar of Oasis
Avirodar is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-18-2009, 01:19 PM   #24
Mikkahl

Loremaster
Mikkahl's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Colorado mountains
Posts: 472
Default

Nope, still not working for me after today's update, even though I saw files for vivox and EQ2VoiceService go by on the patcher update.   Still see no one in any chat channel, I don't hear anyone, and I get "You are not in a channel" when I press Talk.

I have rebooted the computers and the router many times.  I have tried turning off the Windows Firewall (in the Security Center).  And I have tried completely bypassing my DLINK 825 hardware firewall/wireless router.  None of this made any difference.

Please, please, tell me what more I can do to fix this!  The rest of my guild seems to be using voice chat just fine, so I'm about to start losing out on raid time unless I can get this fixed!

BTW, I am running XP Pro on 2 computers, AVG Pro (but without the AVG firewall) on the desktop, and AVG free version on the laptop.

__________________
_________________________________

Mikkahl - Paladin. Master Tailor & 400 tinkerer

Mikkent - Fury, Master Alchemist & 260 muter

Mikkaela - Conjuror, Master Provisioner & 400 tinkerer

Morgena - Ranger and Woodworker

Oogana - Master Jeweler

Mikkarrgh - Weaponsmith

Antonia Bayle Server

Vindicator's guild

Mikkahl is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-18-2009, 01:29 PM   #25
Wizard_Thoarin

Loremaster
Wizard_Thoarin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 73
Default

Don't think there is anything you can do.  This is a SOE/Vox issue with this latest roll out.  They need to fix it.  The only thing I can think of that we may need to do is if they changed port numbers in the voice chat system, but why would they do that.  If they did change port numbers it may mean we need to punch new holes in our firewalls and maybe adjust som NAT settings if your NAT box doesn't do automatic port forwarding.

__________________
Wizards First Rule: People are Stupid!
Wizard_Thoarin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-18-2009, 01:42 PM   #26
Tiegar

Loremaster
Tiegar's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 38
Default

I'll add my 2 cents worth to this string of voice chat not working posts.

Prior to this past update, I had an issue where none of the people who prior to about a week ago, maybe a little longer, those who had Mod status, no longer had those capabilities within guild voice chat.  I did have Mod in group chat though when I was the group leader.

I was on line the morning just before this last patch had the servers going down.  The voice chat was working except for the Mod function part.  When I got home from work, did the patch download and entered the game, I experienced the same thing everyone else has mentioned, i.e. I am unable to enter any voice chat channels.

I did the mic test and recording, and switched from designated sound card to "default" choices, without any change in ability to enter a voice chat channel.

I am fairly certain, the problem isn't with my computer or hardware because I haven't installed anything new, or added different/new hardware or software.  I am running Vista Home Premium on a quad core 64bit system.

I've read some of the most recent posts which don't bode well for this working tonight, unless you do further patching during the day, which frankly, I hope you do so we can once again enjoy the voice chat feature.

Black Burrow Server

Alpha Legion Officer

Tiegar is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-18-2009, 05:48 PM   #27
Sehk

Loremaster
Sehk's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Australia
Posts: 79
Default

The 06/18/09 hotfix did not restore voice chat for those of us experiencing empty channels and the other phenomena listed below.

Hopefully the developers are aware that there is still a major issue, and that EQ2's voice chat is still utterly broken for certain players.

Sehk wrote:

I'll add my name to the list of those with broken voice chat since GU52 (and 50% broken from a few days before).

It may be coincidence, but the North American members of my guild can use VC just fine. Myself (in Australia), and another guild member (in the UK), cannot use VC.

Another anomly that may or may not be related is this: bringing up the Options window in-game freezes everything for about 15 seconds. After the window opens, the drop-downs under Voice Chat for input/output also freeze for 10 seconds when clicked, then show a list of I/O options; clicking on an option results in yet more freezing, but no change in option.

Opening the Options window from the Character Select screen however, results in no freezing. One can also change the VC I/O options here, and doing so (from 'Default' to either the headset or sound card) results in a change of option, and changes the red 'Cannot detect Windows mic settings' text to green 'working properly' text.

Neither of these interactions with the Options window seem to have any effect on VC in-game however.

I'll note that the Options window lag is new for me since GU52, and that my system is powerful enough for this not to be reasonably attributed to any lack of memory issues, etc (other than possible leaks or other issues introduced with GU52). I'll also note that I have tested my sound card, speakers and headset, and that everything is still working as it should, other than EQ2's voice chat. Finally I'll add that the Windows firewall is excepting EQ2VoiceService.exe, and that turning the firewall off does not fix the current VC failure. I run Windows XP.

Looking forward to having voice chat back, and wish you speed in finding a fix.

Sehk is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-18-2009, 08:00 PM   #28
Yiannis

Loremaster
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 6
Default

Having same problems here as the rest of the Aussies it seems. Lets me into channel... shows 0 users, can't hear or talk to anyone.... lame
__________________
AB- Yiannis - Paladin
Venekor - Revant - Paladin/Prov
Yiannis is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-18-2009, 09:38 PM   #29
Cabel

Loremaster
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 74
Default

My issue:

I cannot join voice channels, custom or group, with my Shadowknight.  I can create them all day long, but not join them.

My Troubador can both join and create any channel and I can speak and hear anybody just fine.

Two different characters, two different voice chat outcomes.

My settings:

Windows Vista and no firewall.

Firewall on McCafee has full access granted to EQ2 and all related files, including the voice chat file.

I have a Lynksis router.

What do I do?

Wolffe

__________________
Kabel Ithaca
Cabel is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-18-2009, 10:53 PM   #30
SilkenKidden

Loremaster
SilkenKidden's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 2,039
Default

Voice Chat is not yet working for me.  Now none of it works.  Can't get into or a private channel. 

BTW, it was working fine up until last week.  It got progressively worse over the weekend and with GU52, I can not get VC at all. 

I'm running Vista Home 64 bit.  Please get it running soon.  Thank you.

SilkenKidden is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools

Forum Jump


All times are GMT. The time now is 02:27 PM.

vBulletin skin by: CompleteGFX.com
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.5
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
All threads and posts originally from the EQ2 and Station forums operated by Sony Online Entertainment. Their use is by express written permission.