EQ2 Forum Archive @ EQ2Wire

 

Go Back   EQ2 Forum Archive @ EQ2Wire > EverQuest II > Altar of Malice Beta > General Beta Discussion (AoM Beta)
Members List Search Mark Forums Read

Notices

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 10-18-2014, 02:06 AM   #121
Bazinix

New Member
Bazinix's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 1970
Posts: 0
Default

Dont feel bad Im stuck on the Crashing Cycle as well lol no beta rewards for me sadly.. Frostillicusx is my beta copy.. Sigh...
Bazinix is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-18-2014, 02:29 AM   #122
Maevianiu

Developer
Maevianiu's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 1970
Posts: 0
Default

If the reinstall didn't work for you Glndotto, you should try setting those configs in your eq2.ini file and see if that works.
Maevianiu is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-18-2014, 02:34 AM   #123
Quiarrah

Active Member
Quiarrah's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 1970
Posts: 0
Default

I still cant get into Tranquil . . I have 2 characters stuck there that I can't access
Quiarrah is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-18-2014, 02:36 AM   #124
Buffrat

Well-Known Member
Buffrat's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 1970
Posts: 0
Default


Does this mean all the high-res only textures, flora, and high water effects destroying people's FPS in overland zones are being looked into?
Buffrat is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-18-2014, 02:36 AM   #125
Quiarrah

Active Member
Quiarrah's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 1970
Posts: 0
Default

I haven't been able to play BETA (or do TEST server for that matter ) since the launch of Thurgadin and Halas!
Quiarrah is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-18-2014, 04:22 AM   #126
Lenanu

New Member
Lenanu's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 1970
Posts: 0
Default

Tried uninstalling/reinstalling beta, still crashing at Adding character to zone. Same even after doing the eq2.ini edit, doesn't allow me to zone into Tranquil Sea.
Lenanu is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-18-2014, 04:30 AM   #127
GIndotto

Active Member
GIndotto's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 1970
Posts: 0
Default

Just did a full download of the Beta folder from scratch no shortcuts. Going to edit this post after rebooting my machine and loading into beta! Wish me luck!

Edit: Well it reset everything entirely this time with the UI, even asked which Keyboard Layout I wanted (EQ1 or 2) on load screen in the beginning. This is something it hasn't done before even though I HAVE with CERTAINTY deleted and re-downloaded the ENTIRE Beta folder contents from scratch no shortcuts.

So I'm excited that it appears everything did get reset!

But I still crashed on "Adding Character to Zone". Frown Thanks for the work so far though at least it reset all the settings for Beta!
GIndotto is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-18-2014, 04:37 AM   #128
GIndotto

Active Member
GIndotto's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 1970
Posts: 0
Default

Attempting the .ini strategy.

Edit: There was no .ini file in my Everquest2 folder. So I created a new text document and added the lines in and titled it "EQ2.ini". I'm assuming this isn't even close to what I should have done lol. Either way I rebooted EQ2 after and again, crashed @ Adding Character to Zone.
GIndotto is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-18-2014, 05:02 AM   #129
Blueiris

Member
Blueiris's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 1970
Posts: 0
Default

Same here, I even made a level 1 character and bought a bauble off the broker with a beta copy and tried to zone it just to see if it was a beta copy issue.Nope its not shes stuck now too lol.
Blueiris is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-18-2014, 05:05 AM   #130
Blueiris

Member
Blueiris's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 1970
Posts: 0
Default

Lol I did all that already and still crash at loading character. I have been at this since they opened it for all access players.
Blueiris is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-18-2014, 05:11 AM   #131
Maevianiu

Developer
Maevianiu's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 1970
Posts: 0
Default

we will keep trying to find a solution
Maevianiu is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-18-2014, 05:12 AM   #132
Maevianiu

Developer
Maevianiu's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 1970
Posts: 0
Default

oh and please post character names so i can try to look up the crash logs.
Maevianiu is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-18-2014, 05:13 AM   #133
Blueiris

Member
Blueiris's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 1970
Posts: 0
Default

I have deleted and reloaded the beta so I am trying the EQ2.ini file and see if this helps.
Blueiris is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-18-2014, 05:23 AM   #134
Blueiris

Member
Blueiris's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 1970
Posts: 0
Default

Bubblegirl, Darora, Nagafenia
Blueiris is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-18-2014, 06:24 AM   #135
Blueiris

Member
Blueiris's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 1970
Posts: 0
Default

Just a follow up, the .ini file didn't work, I just added to the one that was already in the folder as suggested, still crashing at adding character to zone. All 3 still stuck Darora, Bubblegirl and Nagafenia (I made this one its not a copy, shes an experiment to see if its just the copies).
Blueiris is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-18-2014, 08:12 AM   #136
Windstalker

Developer
Windstalker's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 1970
Posts: 0
Default

This is one of our highest priorities right now. We're looking into solutions and trying to gauge how many people are affected. We see corrupted data on some of you. Others we see texture loading issues. Then we have memory requirements. All these things are being looked at. We probably won't get a major fix in before the weekend because we're in the process of investigating.
Windstalker is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-18-2014, 08:30 AM   #137
Blueiris

Member
Blueiris's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 1970
Posts: 0
Default

Windows XP 23 Bit OS
Blueiris is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-18-2014, 08:35 AM   #138
Blueiris

Member
Blueiris's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 1970
Posts: 0
Default

Yes, mine will bounce between saying not enough memory and not connecting to server but that doesn't make any sense, it gets to the adding character to zone and freezes then drops to desktop.
Blueiris is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-18-2014, 08:49 AM   #139
Shonshazzitt

Member
Shonshazzitt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 1970
Posts: 0
Default

Mine crashed for the first time today after the patch, i hit play, it opens the game window, and boom, eq2 error client crash to desktop.
Shonshazzitt is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-18-2014, 08:56 AM   #140
Cefur

New Member
Cefur's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 1970
Posts: 0
Default


Changing memory requirements is a big miss. Something that should have been bought to our attention.
Cefur is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-18-2014, 02:49 PM   #141
Lenanu

New Member
Lenanu's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 1970
Posts: 0
Default

Patched, still crashed zoning into Tranquil Sea. Going to have it try full download and do a fresh beta copy of the effected toon before trying again. Character name is Lenanu
Lenanu is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-18-2014, 03:54 PM   #142
Lenanu

New Member
Lenanu's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 1970
Posts: 0
Default

Yup, still crashing. Did full download, removed the catche foulders, verified files, made fresh copy of my toon, and still crashes at Adding character to zone. Lenanux is the character this time around.
Lenanu is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-18-2014, 06:05 PM   #143
ladyj

New Member
ladyj's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 1970
Posts: 0
Default

names of chars are ladyoftheheals and ladyboxer I think you should let us poor gamers, who are stuck or crashing, a new mount each by way of apology!
ladyj is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-18-2014, 06:25 PM   #144
Rrenee

New Member
Rrenee's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 1970
Posts: 0
Default

Have never been able to zone into Tranquil Sea.Did full download, removed the cache folders, verified files, made fresh copy of my toon, and still crashes at Adding character to zone. Rrenee is toon name.

Some system info (seems like this should be plenty enough system to run this):

OS Name Microsoft Windows 7 Home Premium
Version 6.1.7601 Service Pack 1 Build 7601
System Type x64-based PC
Processor Pentium(R) Dual-Core CPU E5800 @ 3.20GHz, 3203 Mhz, 2 Core(s), 2 Logical Processor(s)
Installed Physical Memory (RAM) 4.00 GB
Total Physical Memory 3.97 GB
Available Physical Memory 2.16 GB
Total Virtual Memory 9.91 GB
Available Virtual Memory 7.60 GB
Page File Space 5.95 GB
Page File C:pagefile.sys

[Display]

Item Value
Name Intel(R) G45/G43 Express Chipset
PNP Device ID PCIVEN_8086&DEV_2E22&SUBSYS_304617AA&REV_033&11583659&1&10
Adapter Type Intel(R) 4 Series Express Chipset Family, Intel Corporation compatible
Adapter Description Intel(R) G45/G43 Express Chipset
Adapter RAM 1.76 GB (1,894,344,704 bytes)
Installed Drivers igdumd64.dll,igd10umd64.dll,igdumdx32,igd10umd32
Driver Version 8.15.10.2302
INF File oem11.inf (iEGL0 section)
Color Planes Not Available
Color Table Entries 4294967296
Resolution 1600 x 900 x 59 hertz
Bits/Pixel 32
Rrenee is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-18-2014, 07:09 PM   #145
Bahzelina

New Member
Bahzelina's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 1970
Posts: 0
Default

Character names Tanasisx and Misc (yeah the random name generator gave this one) crash attempting to zone into Tranquil sea.
Character Bahzelinax zones into Frostfang OK.

I re-checked all files - full download - and put in the suggested lines in the ini file.
I logged in to Bahzelinax still in Frostfang and set the graphics to extreme performance re-checked everything I could think of and tried again. Still crashes.

opsys windows xp service pack 3
Pentium D 3.00GHZ, 2.99GHZ
3.50 GB RAM
Nvidia GeForce 9400 GT
Bahzelina is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-18-2014, 07:40 PM   #146
Maevianiu

Developer
Maevianiu's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 1970
Posts: 0
Default


Thanks this is really helpful!

We are just using too much memory loading the new zones. Its nearly double old zones right now. We need to find a way to lower that. I'm really sorry its taking so long, but we are working on it.
Maevianiu is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-18-2014, 08:04 PM   #147
Dmack

Member
Dmack's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 1970
Posts: 0
Default

First off let me say that I know this is frustraing for all of us so giving as detailed information as possible will help speed up squashing this bug.

Reinstalled betaserver - 18,494,541,922 bytes is a bit of time to process. I have every voiceover hehe.

Anyway,

OK so here is a detailed rundown from my end.

created EQ2.ini in C:UsersPublicSony Online EntertainmentInstalled GamesEverQuest IIBetaServer and put in the following lines:

app_cache_never_low_mem false
app_Cache_low_mem true
disable_auto_low_mem_mode false
force_low_mem_mode true

reset the video to extreme so it would function if the char actually made it this far.

1:03 AM CDT (10:03 PM PDT) - Danina (level 95 Shadowknight) tried to enter Phantom Sea from system. Crashed on adding character to zone.

1:11 AM CDT (10:11 PM PDT) - Jasty (level 87 Ranger) tried to enter Phantom Sea from system. Crashed on adding character to zone.

1:14 AM CDT (10:14 PM PDT) - Jaslin(level 95 Coercer) tried to enter Timorous Deep. Success.

1:19 AM CDT (10:19 PM PDT) Jaslin Camp to desktop.

1:25 AM CDT (10:25 PM PDT) - Switched to live server. Beta copied Sefie (level 95 Beastlord to beta.

1:28 AM CDT (10:28 PM PDT) - Sefie tried to enter Commonlands. Success.

1:30 AM CDT (10:30 PM PDT) - Sefie tried to enter Tranquil Sea 2. Success. Sefie flew due north across Death Weave Island

1:36 AM CDT (10:36 PM PDT) - Sefie tried to enter Phantom Sea. Crashed on loading zone resources.

deleted C:UsersPublicSony Online EntertainmentInstalled GamesEverQuest IIBetaServercacheclouds

64-16-1-1-7-200.0000-0-0
128-16-1-1-7-200.0000-0-0
256-16-1-1-7-100.0000-0-0

restarted game.

1:41 AM CDT (10:41 PM PDT) - Sefie tried to enter Phantom Sea. Crashed on adding character to zone.

1:45 AM CDT (10:45 PM PDT) - disabled multi-core and restarted.

1:47 AM CDT (10:47 PM PDT) - Danina tried to enter Phantom Sea from system. Crashed on adding character to zone.

1:50 AM CDT (10:50 PM PDT) - Re-enabled multi-core and enabled reuse Vertex buffers.

restarted game.

1:51 AM CDT (10:51 PM PDT) - Danina tried to enter Phantom Sea from system. Crashed on adding character to zone.

loaded to char select and deleted C:UsersPublicSony Online EntertainmentInstalled GamesEverQuest IIBetaServercacheclouds

64-16-1-1-7-200.0000-0-0
256-16-1-1-7-100.0000-0-0

1:58 AM CDT (10:58 PM PDT) - Danina tried to enter Phantom Sea. Crashed on adding character to zone.

256-16-1-1-7-100.0000-0-0 created.

So it seems to me that the creating of the LODs is failing.
Dmack is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-18-2014, 08:20 PM   #148
Blueiris

Member
Blueiris's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 1970
Posts: 0
Default

OK I am not the only one who has done all those steps as well lol. God I feel like I have been running in circles.
Blueiris is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-18-2014, 08:46 PM   #149
Shonshazzitt

Member
Shonshazzitt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 1970
Posts: 0
Default

Ok so when I got home, i tried to enter beta, hit play, and game insta crash to desktop, I tried the above statement of going into the beta/cache/clouds folder, and deleted all files in there, reloaded the launcher, was able to get to character select, chose Fieria and was able to load into tranquil sea without a problem.
Shonshazzitt is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-18-2014, 09:21 PM   #150
Cefur

New Member
Cefur's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 1970
Posts: 0
Default


Thanks for the feedback.
Cefur is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools

Forum Jump


All times are GMT. The time now is 11:54 AM.

vBulletin skin by: CompleteGFX.com
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.5
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
All threads and posts originally from the EQ2 and Station forums operated by Sony Online Entertainment. Their use is by express written permission.