EQ2 Forum Archive @ EQ2Wire

 

Go Back   EQ2 Forum Archive @ EQ2Wire > EverQuest II > Support Forums > Tech Area > General Tech Support Questions
Members List Search Mark Forums Read

Notices

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 12-30-2011, 12:34 PM   #1
Kyn2

Lorekeeper
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Posts: 8
Default

Good morning,

I'm having severe issues with EQ2. The biggest problem is that I can NOT stay connected. I seriously think it's my cable service, and i do have a tech scheduled to come out & get it fixed. I play EQ2 using the streaming EQ2 setup. Going into a new zone always takes longer using the streaming method, which is understandable. However, I dont think 20 minutes waiting to get into the guild hall falls within the "understandable" time table. Like I said, I really think that's mostly my cable's problem. Hopefully that will get fixed within the next few days. To be perfectly honest though, I'm not holding my breath that they'll be able to figure it out and fix it. We went thru months and months of telephone issues before I finally said to just cancel the dang thing.

Downloading the full setup is causing me headaches. I must've tried more than 20 times so far. I can't stay connected long enough to download the whole thing, and when I lose connection, re-connect and try again, it starts over at the beginning. I'm NEVER going to get it installed that way! Isn't there any way y'all could help me out? Seems like if I download for 3 hours then lose connection, I shouldn't lose those three hours of download - it should pick up from there.

I really hope y'all have some good advice. I await your replies ...

Thank you,

Ky

Kyn2 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-30-2011, 02:11 PM   #2
Therendil

Loremaster
Therendil's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
Posts: 327
Default

Well, it does sound like your 'net connection needs a real health checkup. Hope that works out.

In the meantime, you might just stick with the streaming client. Either way, you download assets once. With the streaming client you at least wait until you need them. Once the assets are on the hard drive, neither client will download them again unless they get patched. So once you have visited a zone, both clients should zone at about the same speed.

Two big issues that can stall zoning are network issues and real-time virus scanning of downloads. Even when you visit a zone you've been to before, there are lots of network requests and lots of files to download.

__________________


Therendil is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-30-2011, 02:41 PM   #3
Kyn2

Lorekeeper
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Posts: 8
Default

So there's no way to force the full setup download installer thingy to start from where it left off? IF it would do that, I could've had the thing downloaded 2 weeks ago. Even a little at a time will eventually get it done, it's the whole thing at once that I'm having difficulty with. That really wasn't the answer I came here to get. lol ......... no way to do it?

Kyn2 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-30-2011, 07:47 PM   #4
kdmorse

Loremaster
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 653
Default

You might be able to get somewhere out of using the streaming client, setting it to download all assets in the background, letting it incrementally get bits and pieces while you're playing.  You'll eventually get all the assets that way, although if your internet connection is truly terrible, I suppose it might never catch up.

As to the full client, it's supposed to do what you want.  It's always resumed interrupted downloads for me in the past.  Not sure why it's not letting you make any incremental progress...

kdmorse is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-30-2011, 11:25 PM   #5
Kyn2

Lorekeeper
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Posts: 8
Default

[email protected] wrote:

You might be able to get somewhere out of using the streaming client, setting it to download all assets in the background, letting it incrementally get bits and pieces while you're playing.  You'll eventually get all the assets that way, although if your internet connection is truly terrible, I suppose it might never catch up.

As to the full client, it's supposed to do what you want.  It's always resumed interrupted downloads for me in the past.  Not sure why it's not letting you make any incremental progress...

Ynnek, thank you for trying to help me with this. When I click "About" on the streaming launcher, it shows me: Launcher 4.0.0.312, Shell 4.0.0.323, Installer 1.0.3.159. I'm running Vista. When I log into launcher, there is only one button that I can see that is anything even close to options. It says Advanced Tools on hover, but I don't see anywhere in there a way to have it download in the background. Am I missing something? Please tell me what to do, I would be happy to do that if I could figure out how. Thanks again!

Kyn2 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-31-2011, 01:54 AM   #6
Therendil

Loremaster
Therendil's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
Posts: 327
Default

Actually, there is no special option for that. If you open LaunchPad for the streaming client and leave it open, it will pick away at downloading the game assets as long as it is open. If you look underneath the big PLAY button, you should see something like "Preloading game assets" while it's doing that. You can tell it to stop, but it will download all the game assets if you let it. You might consider leaving your system running with LaunchPad open overnight and see how far you get.

The full-asset LaunchPad should pick up where it left off, but I have heard a number of reports from people for whom it didn't.

I just noticed that you're running Vista. People have a lot of issues with Vista because the system insists on meddling where it should not. The new installers work around that by putting the game into UsersPublic where Windows can't get its filthy hands on it. Is that where you have EQII installed?

__________________


Therendil is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-31-2011, 02:35 AM   #7
Kyn2

Lorekeeper
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Posts: 8
Default

Yes, that's where the game is installed. I've tried letting it run overnight many times, but it isn't working. I come back in here the next morning to see the error box saying no connection, unplug modem, re-plug, run troubleshooter, fix IP, double click on launcher and PooF - right back to the beginning again. =(

Kyn2 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-31-2011, 04:38 AM   #8
kdmorse

Loremaster
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 653
Default

Kyn2 wrote:

thank you for trying to help me with this. When I click "About" on the streaming launcher, it shows me: Launcher 4.0.0.312, Shell 4.0.0.323, Installer 1.0.3.159. I'm running Vista. When I log into launcher, there is only one button that I can see that is anything even close to options. It says Advanced Tools on hover, but I don't see anywhere in there a way to have it download in the background. Am I missing something? Please tell me what to do, I would be happy to do that if I could figure out how. Thanks again!

When running the streaming client, in game, Options -> Streaming -> check Background Downloading.  This should cause the client to continue to trickle down assets while logged in.

This is different than just leaving the launcher up preloading assets.  Which should also work, but doesn't seem to be for you.  Maybe letting the client do it instead will work better in your case.

kdmorse is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-01-2012, 02:14 PM   #9
Kyn2

Lorekeeper
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Posts: 8
Default

Alright Yn, that was NOT checked. Wish me luck!! Ky
Kyn2 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-01-2012, 06:32 PM   #10
MMORefugee

Loremaster
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 23
Default

[email protected] wrote:

You might be able to get somewhere out of using the streaming client, setting it to download all assets in the background, letting it incrementally get bits and pieces while you're playing.  You'll eventually get all the assets that way, although if your internet connection is truly terrible, I suppose it might never catch up.

As to the full client, it's supposed to do what you want.  It's always resumed interrupted downloads for me in the past.  Not sure why it's not letting you make any incremental progress...

You could try downloading it via Steam - which has resume capabilities and it does download the full client.

MMORefugee is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools

Forum Jump


All times are GMT. The time now is 03:18 PM.

vBulletin skin by: CompleteGFX.com
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.5
Copyright ©2000 - 2021, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
All threads and posts originally from the EQ2 and Station forums operated by Sony Online Entertainment. Their use is by express written permission.