EQ2 Forum Archive @ EQ2Wire

 

Go Back   EQ2 Forum Archive @ EQ2Wire > EverQuest II > Support Forums > Tech Area > Voice Chat Support
Members List Search Mark Forums Read

Notices

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 06-03-2011, 06:44 AM   #1
Mattax

Loremaster
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Manchester UK
Posts: 125
Default

Since the server came back up on thursday June 2nd, I can no longer join any voice channels. The channel name will change eg from guild to group etc but my name is not present and I can't see anyone else in channel. This happens on all my characters, and all the characters on my wifes account which she runs off a different machine. All hardware has been re-set but today (Friday) the problem is still there. Any suggestions gratfully received.

__________________
Mattax is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-03-2011, 06:14 PM   #2
TSR-JoshuaM

Customer Service
TSR-JoshuaM's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Posts: 5,609
Default

Are you both using the same version of Windows?  I do recommend always running your client as an admin by right-clicking the game icon, selecting properties, clicking the Compatibility tab, and checking Run as Admin near the bottom under Privileges.

Next, your channel selection is stored in your UISettings file.  This file looks like this __eq2_uisettings.xml

I recommend backing up this file then deleting it from the EQ2 folder.  You may have to re-do your UI settings (but you can revert using the backed up file) but I want to make sure where the problem lies.

__________________
TSR Joshua M.

Technical Support Representative

Sony Online Entertainment



How to Contact Support:

https://help.station.sony.com/app/answers/detail/a_id/28939



How to Create a DXDIAG/MSINFO

https://help.station.sony.com/app/answers/detail/a_id/28973
TSR-JoshuaM is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-05-2011, 04:45 PM   #3
Sisaro187

Loremaster
Sisaro187's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: United states, Michigan
Posts: 46
Default

Alot of people are having this problem on the AB server.

My whole guild does.

I run Win 7 X64, have not patched since last week. 

__________________
Within the Darkness, Lies the greatest Hope, And greatest Light
Sisaro187 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-05-2011, 06:35 PM   #4
Alenna
Server: Guk
Guild: Defenders of the Light
Rank: Count

Loremaster
Alenna's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 1,938
Default

I"m having a different problem with VC

I keep getting kicked out of chat channels this has happened on a couple fo my toons I'd come in fine in guildchat or my special chat for those who are unguilded but when I tried to switch channels I would get kicked out

at least last night if I kept at it 5-10 times I could finaly get it to stick but today nothing I keep getting kicked out this has happened to a couple of my toosn I dare not try it wiht others or will be unable to communicate with my friends in Voice chat what is worse I hvae friends who check my private channel to see if I"m there on one of hte toons they know so we can get together and they won't know I"m on. since they dont' have every one of my toons in thier friends list I have to many and I sometimes create others to try out new classes.

btw if is was just that toons UI settings I think my fixe would have worked I copied the UI settings of an unbroken toon to see if I could at least get back to guild chat but that toon I copied it to still couldnt' get back to guild chat.

I'm on windows XP Pro.  I do have a custom UI Profit UI.

edited to add more of waht is happening i just signed in and got kicked out of guild chat and luckly what i did last night finaly worked 3 or three times and I'm able to get it to stick but I dont know how long that will work this is getting frustrating it either works or it doesn't there is no pattern to it.

__________________
Alenna is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-06-2011, 03:43 PM   #5
Aughris
Server: Antonia Bayle
Guild: Ashen Dawn
Rank: Council Chair

Loremaster
Aughris's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Posts: 8
Default

So I'm having the exact same problem.  I upgraded my firmware on my router to the latest; I disabled my windows firewall; I loaded eq2 on seperate occasions, once with station launcher, once without; and finally I wiped my entire UI settings (grumble, it'll take me days to put that back together) just to make sure it was nothing on my end.  

Every time I try to join a channel it simply goes grey and says that I have left that channel instead of joining it.  Any ideas?

Aughris is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-08-2011, 10:17 PM   #6
Sisaro187

Loremaster
Sisaro187's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: United states, Michigan
Posts: 46
Default

I log into VC Channel and instently get kicked out...over and over again...The problem has not been fixed!!

What is odd is sometimes it works...and sometimes it doesnt...

__________________
Within the Darkness, Lies the greatest Hope, And greatest Light
Sisaro187 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-09-2011, 03:17 PM   #7
vallean

Loremaster
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Posts: 11
Default

I am on the storm server (french one) and a lot of people have the same problem, cannot join a voice vocal since th GU 60....

I try to reboot my router, disable the firewall (Eset Nod32) nothing change SMILEY

vallean is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-09-2011, 03:38 PM   #8
Alenna
Server: Guk
Guild: Defenders of the Light
Rank: Count

Loremaster
Alenna's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 1,938
Default

[email protected] DLere wrote:

I log into VC Channel and instently get kicked out...over and over again...The problem has not been fixed!!

What is odd is sometimes it works...and sometimes it doesnt...

same here the only thing I've found that works when I get hit by the stupid VC Bug to at least let me in after 10+ tries is to reboot the whole game. I and then I have the chance of having to go through it all again when  I switch toons ingame

I should not have to reboot the whole game when I want to switch toons to get the VC to work.

__________________
Alenna is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-09-2011, 04:52 PM   #9
TSR-JoshuaM

Customer Service
TSR-JoshuaM's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Posts: 5,609
Default

We are aware of several outstanding voice chat issues that are being worked on as we speak.  I will report back with more details.  Feel free to post more yourself if your new to the issue or have anything you feel is relevant.

__________________
TSR Joshua M.

Technical Support Representative

Sony Online Entertainment



How to Contact Support:

https://help.station.sony.com/app/answers/detail/a_id/28939



How to Create a DXDIAG/MSINFO

https://help.station.sony.com/app/answers/detail/a_id/28973
TSR-JoshuaM is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-09-2011, 04:52 PM   #10
Alenna
Server: Guk
Guild: Defenders of the Light
Rank: Count

Loremaster
Alenna's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 1,938
Default

it has gotten worse, it is happening to me everytime i try to switch toons in game I hvae to reboot the game to get it to even work doing the 10+ times to get into a voice channel. I Need to get in I have different toons who are in different guilds but a set of friends I need to keep in contact with who need to know I'm online they check my personal Voice chat channel to see if I"m there.

__________________
Alenna is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-09-2011, 04:53 PM   #11
TSR-JoshuaM

Customer Service
TSR-JoshuaM's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Posts: 5,609
Default

We've seen similar behavior and that is the main focus of the issue.  Again, I do apologize for all of the inconvenience it is causing you.

__________________
TSR Joshua M.

Technical Support Representative

Sony Online Entertainment



How to Contact Support:

https://help.station.sony.com/app/answers/detail/a_id/28939



How to Create a DXDIAG/MSINFO

https://help.station.sony.com/app/answers/detail/a_id/28973
TSR-JoshuaM is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-09-2011, 05:00 PM   #12
Lempo

Loremaster
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Posts: 2,179
Default

TSR-JoshuaM wrote:

We are aware of several outstanding voice chat issues that are being worked on as we speak.  I will report back with more details.  Feel free to post more yourself if your new to the issue or have anything you feel is relevant.

My head was going to asplode if I saw a post saying you guys were unaware as I know it has been reported many times.

This is how we were able to work around it.

  • Press CTRL+ALT+DEL
  • Locate EQ2VoiceService in the processes tab and Click end Task
  • In EQ2 Options disable voice chat
  • Close EQ2 and relaunch
  • Go back into options and re-enable voice chat

 * Edit : and yes have to do this whenever changing toons as mentioned above

__________________
All actions have consequences and repercussions.



Somewhere in Norrath a guild is about to dissolve.
Lempo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-09-2011, 05:29 PM   #13
TSR-JoshuaM

Customer Service
TSR-JoshuaM's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Posts: 5,609
Default

[email protected] wrote:

TSR-JoshuaM wrote:

We are aware of several outstanding voice chat issues that are being worked on as we speak.  I will report back with more details.  Feel free to post more yourself if your new to the issue or have anything you feel is relevant.

My head was going to asplode if I saw a post saying you guys were unaware as I know it has been reported many times.

This is how we were able to work around it.

  • Press CTRL+ALT+DEL
  • Locate EQ2VoiceService in the processes tab and Click end Task
  • In EQ2 Options disable voice chat
  • Close EQ2 and relaunch
  • Go back into options and re-enable voice chat

 * Edit : and yes have to do this whenever changing toons as mentioned above

Yeah I've reproduced and worked around it exactly as you described.  We are working on that specifically.

__________________
TSR Joshua M.

Technical Support Representative

Sony Online Entertainment



How to Contact Support:

https://help.station.sony.com/app/answers/detail/a_id/28939



How to Create a DXDIAG/MSINFO

https://help.station.sony.com/app/answers/detail/a_id/28973
TSR-JoshuaM is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-10-2011, 06:54 PM   #14
Landiin

Loremaster
Landiin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 1,749
Default

We found a work around. We got a vent server. Works great! Maybe you guys should scrap your contract with that crappy SDK you use now and work out one with the Vent or TS people. You know the ones that work 100% of the time? Why you guys whent with the people you did is beyond me.

__________________
Landiin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-10-2011, 10:00 PM   #15
Lempo

Loremaster
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Posts: 2,179
Default

[email protected] wrote:

We found a work around. We got a vent server. Works great! Maybe you guys should scrap your contract with that crappy SDK you use now and work out one with the Vent or TS people. You know the ones that work 100% of the time? Why you guys whent with the people you did is beyond me.

Wow, Vent server you might just have gotten a world first discovery there. Seriously? You think you are shedding any light here that most everyone hasn't know about for years and years?

Neither Vent nor Teamspeak work 100% of the time, knowing nothing about either one of them allowed you to make that silly claim.

__________________
All actions have consequences and repercussions.



Somewhere in Norrath a guild is about to dissolve.
Lempo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-11-2011, 06:55 AM   #16
Peogia

Loremaster
Peogia's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Posts: 928
Default

[email protected] wrote:

[email protected] wrote:

We found a work around. We got a vent server. Works great! Maybe you guys should scrap your contract with that crappy SDK you use now and work out one with the Vent or TS people. You know the ones that work 100% of the time? Why you guys whent with the people you did is beyond me.

Wow, Vent server you might just have gotten a world first discovery there. Seriously? You think you are shedding any light here that most everyone hasn't know about for years and years?

Neither Vent nor Teamspeak work 100% of the time, knowing nothing about either one of them allowed you to make that silly claim.

I'm not much of a pc voice chat person but on ps2 I used it a ton in nascar 2004 and champions of norrath ect

but I must say with my experience with vivoxs on sonys stationlauncher never ever once worked and in everquest II it worked for a very limited time while being extreme bugged and broken and being 100% broken for many many many months at a time

along time ago when I raided and they forced vent it worked with out issue back then

and msn and yahoo ect work with out issue

__________________
The FBI is encouraging users to visit a website run by its security partner, http://www.dcwg.org , that will inform them whether they're infected and explain how to fix the problem. After July 9, infected users won't be able to connect to the Internet.
Peogia is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-11-2011, 12:36 PM   #17
cmnold

Loremaster
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 5
Default

The workaround does not work.  When you close the EQ2Voiceservice app in the task manager it just keeps relaunching over and over and over.

cmnold is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-11-2011, 02:44 PM   #18
Heinzrick
Server: Runnyeye

Loremaster
Heinzrick's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 116
Default

This problem is occuring with me today though...

Anyone else getting bootted today out of VC?

I have a simple settup, the only PC that runs Eq2 on my 3 pc network.

and my IP is DMZ'd

Heinzrick is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-11-2011, 03:06 PM   #19
Eveningsong

Tester
Eveningsong's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 3,844
Default

cmnold wrote:

The workaround does not work.  When you close the EQ2Voiceservice app in the task manager it just keeps relaunching over and over and over.

The workaround worked fine for me and some friends last night (we didn't even have to restart EQ2), but this morning it isn't work at all for any of us.

Eveningsong is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-11-2011, 03:13 PM   #20
Alenna
Server: Guk
Guild: Defenders of the Light
Rank: Count

Loremaster
Alenna's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 1,938
Default

Eveningsong wrote:

cmnold wrote:

The workaround does not work.  When you close the EQ2Voiceservice app in the task manager it just keeps relaunching over and over and over.

The workaround worked fine for me and some friends last night (we didn't even have to restart EQ2), but this morning it isn't work at all for any of us.

Aaah maybe that was my problem I signed in today for hte first time and coulnd't get into VC to safe my lfe.

Sigh our guild was just starting to raid again and we can't even get into raid chat

__________________
Alenna is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-11-2011, 03:15 PM   #21
Heinzrick
Server: Runnyeye

Loremaster
Heinzrick's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 116
Default

Nm problem is not on my end.

Guildies are reporting same thing.

Ppl are trying to join guild VC and it says (left chan)

We made a private chan and that seams to be holding.

Heinzrick is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-11-2011, 03:26 PM   #22
Alenna
Server: Guk
Guild: Defenders of the Light
Rank: Count

Loremaster
Alenna's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 1,938
Default

[email protected] wrote:

Nm problem is not on my end.

Guildies are reporting same thing.

Ppl are trying to join guild VC and it says (left chan)

We made a private chan and that seams to be holding.

but it has to be a new one you will probalby have to make a new private chan tomorrow I have a private chan i use and it gives me the same problem you have left chat.

__________________
Alenna is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-11-2011, 03:48 PM   #23
Eveningsong

Tester
Eveningsong's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 3,844
Default

Custom voice channels are doing the same thing.  I can create one, but as soon as I join it I get "you have left the channel".

Eveningsong is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-11-2011, 06:36 PM   #24
Maikeruu

Loremaster
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 57
Default

Try repeatedly joining the channel you wish to enter.  Ten to twenty times in short order.  This always works for me and once one person is in the channel anyone else will be able to get in without the above method being required.

Maikeruu is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-11-2011, 06:43 PM   #25
Alenna
Server: Guk
Guild: Defenders of the Light
Rank: Count

Loremaster
Alenna's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 1,938
Default

Maikeruu wrote:

Try repeatedly joining the channel you wish to enter.  Ten to twenty times in short order.  This always works for me and once one person is in the channel anyone else will be able to get in without the above method being required.

oh great getting a group or a raid into chat is going to be painful

__________________
Alenna is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-11-2011, 06:59 PM   #26
Tigress

Loremaster
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Posts: 1,739
Default

2 days later & none of us in guild can join guild voice.  we have been able to force it to work by making a group, joining group voice and then going to guild voice.

Tigress is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-11-2011, 10:44 PM   #27
Jelrak

Tester
Jelrak's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: North Carolina
Posts: 186
Default

Pretty Much the same on Butcherblock as well --- no functional group chat for 2 days plus now! Is anyone working on this at all?

Jelrak is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-11-2011, 10:50 PM   #28
Heinzrick
Server: Runnyeye

Loremaster
Heinzrick's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 116
Default

Problem still exists on Everfrost... Did they patch something today that caused this?

Hahah I like the post about the work around (Vent) hahah

Heinzrick is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-11-2011, 10:52 PM   #29
Heinzrick
Server: Runnyeye

Loremaster
Heinzrick's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 116
Default

It may be a quiet time, I don't know but has anyone noticed the publich chans being dead also?

1-9 is usually the "Barens Chat" for most of us...atm it's dead

(NM - The masses are waking up in public chats)

Heinzrick is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-11-2011, 11:50 PM   #30
Alenna
Server: Guk
Guild: Defenders of the Light
Rank: Count

Loremaster
Alenna's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 1,938
Default

[email protected] wrote:

Problem still exists on Everfrost... Did they patch something today that caused this?

Hahah I like the post about the work around (Vent) hahah

it's been happening on Guk since the last hotfix after Update 60 coming on to 2 weeks for me.

__________________
Alenna is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools

Forum Jump


All times are GMT. The time now is 03:43 AM.

vBulletin skin by: CompleteGFX.com
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.5
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
All threads and posts originally from the EQ2 and Station forums operated by Sony Online Entertainment. Their use is by express written permission.