EQ2 Forum Archive @ EQ2Wire

 

Go Back   EQ2 Forum Archive @ EQ2Wire > EverQuest II > Support Forums > Tech Area > Voice Chat Support
Members List Search Mark Forums Read

Notices

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 06-15-2012, 12:53 PM   #61
Dethdlr
Server: Butcherblock
Guild: Advent of Valor
Rank: Council Leader

Fansite Staff
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 673
Default

arrog wrote:

This has been an ongoing systemic problem for weeks now. It is affecting the way we play the game and is incredibly frustrating.

Can you verify that this has actually been happening for "weeks now"?  I didn't log in over the weekend due to RL things going on but my guild didn't see any of these new symptoms prior to at least Saturday, possibly Sunday.  I was on last Friday (6/8/2012) and it was working fine*.

Are you sure that because of how annoying the issue is it doesn't just SEEM like it's been going on for weeks when it actually just started on Saturday or Sunday?

I'm asking because knowing when the issue started can help narrow down the troubleshooting.  If they changed something on Sunday and rebooted, but find out that this problem was happening BEFORE the change, then that pretty much rules out the change as the cause.

(  * When I say it was working "fine" that means that it only had the standard bugs that have been happening for ages.)

__________________


EQ2U Lead Programmer |Dethdlr's Adornment Calculator | EQ2Wire.com Columnist

Dethdlr is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-15-2012, 01:16 PM   #62
Nyloor

Lord
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Posts: 4
Default

So, both my guilds were down last night for chat.

In an attempt to gather data:

Internet for the lot of people was: Rodgers cable, Comcast Cable, Verizon Fiber, Qwest T1 and DSL, Clearwire, and one guy playing on T-Mobile 4G

Routers/Modems were: Motorola, Dlink, Netgear, Cisco, an HTC Phone, etc.

In short, Houston, you have a problem.

Nyloor is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-15-2012, 02:22 PM   #63
arrog

Loremaster
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 13
Default

I went back in my logs to Thursday May 31st.  This is part of the log...conflict message is not seen by the user in game...I had not seen it until just now.  Guild voice session came up..officer did not.

You can see it had already been going on for a bit...we had been creating group chats and raid chats to hobble along. The Guild Officer chat should have come up but only the Guild chat did.

I edited out some numbers...I don't know what they are so I dont want to make them public just in case

[Thu May 31 08:50:02 2012] You have a new voice channel available: aCMD vcjoin_session [email protected]:/a

[Thu May 31 08:50:02 2012] You have a new voice channel available: aCMD vcjoin_session [email protected]:/a

[Thu May 31 08:50:03 2012] You have a new voice channel available: aCMD vcjoin_session [email protected]:Loegroup/a

[Thu May 31 08:50:04 2012] You have a new voice channel available: aCMD vcjoin_session [email protected]:Loeraid/a

[Thu May 31 08:50:09 2012] You have joined voice channel ''.

Again, its been weeks (at least) ...inconsistent as far as how bad its been but consistently a pain.

Arrog

arrog is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-15-2012, 02:33 PM   #64
Dethdlr
Server: Butcherblock
Guild: Advent of Valor
Rank: Council Leader

Fansite Staff
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 673
Default

Hmm.  That points to something even more insidious then.  This didn't hit our guild until late last week.  Prior to that, we had never seen this problem.  Then all of a sudden, it hit the whole guild.  That makes it seem as though this may be server or channel specific. 

I wonder if vivox has some servers that are acting funky in certain areas of the country/world and if the channel starts up on one of those servers, it has these issues.  Could explain why SOE can't recreate it if the servers near them are working fine.  But not knowing the ins and outs of how the whole thing is configured and put together, I'm just stabbing in the dark of course.  SMILEY

__________________


EQ2U Lead Programmer |Dethdlr's Adornment Calculator | EQ2Wire.com Columnist

Dethdlr is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-16-2012, 03:33 PM   #65
babygirl56

Loremaster
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 12
Default

TSR-AlexS wrote:

**Voice chat channel update**

Hello my friends! After numerous tests, we were not able to successfully reproduce this issue. We are going to need you guys to provide us more information as you can (ie custom UI use yes/no, system specs, zones etc.) so we can figure out a correlation between the systems experiencing this. 

1. Who is your ISP ?

2. What is the make & model of your modem ? and router (if separate) ?

3. Type of connection (Wireless/Wired) ?

4. DSL, Cable or Fiber ?

5. What are your download and upload speeds (ping, dl, ul; can check this by going to http://speedtest.net/ ) ?

6. Using custom UI (yes/np) ?

7. Zones affected ?

"Hello my friends! After numerous tests, we were not able to successfully reproduce this issue."

Why does this really not surprise me?  Its almost like they are "fishing" to find something "client-side" (ie; we, the customer, are obviously doing something wrong).

This simply ignores the Reality of the issue being World-wide, with many different PC platforms, many different Operating Systems, many different ISP providers, many different modem/router combinations...all having similar problems.

If one person told me the sky was falling, I could safely ignore him...but if 50 people around the World told me the sky was falling, I'd go look outside and check...

Oddly enough, TeamSpeak/Ventrilo seems to work just fine...isn't that also VoIP?  Strange those work while the EQ2-native VoIP seems to be totally borked...

Come on, quit yanking our chains, pick up the phone, call Vivox @  508-650-3571 and tell them to get their act together.

Thank you!

babygirl56 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-17-2012, 02:12 PM   #66
Aneova
Server: Kithicor
Guild: Masters of the Universe
Rank: Raider

Loremaster
Aneova's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 1,027
Default

just think how well this will work when they get SOEmote going /tongue in cheek

All joking aside, I'm thinking it's a Vivox issue not an SOE issue. I've randomly seen Guild and Group channels just appear after minutes or hours of playing, and it's VERY random.

__________________
http://forums.station.sony.com/eq2/posts/list.m?topic_id=438341

Originally Posted by Smed: I've been a regular lurker on this site for a while but I wanted to step in here and dispel something that's just plain not true - I don't have my name highlighted here, but anyone that doubts it's me can email me at [email protected] and I'll happily reply. We aren't going to be allowing RMT in any way, shape or form on the non-exchange enabled EQ II servers. Period. End of statement. In any event, I wanted to stop in and at least set the record straight - you aren't going to be seeing RMT allowed on the non-exchange enabled servers.

John Smedley President, Sony Online Entertainment
Aneova is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-17-2012, 08:09 PM   #67
arrog

Loremaster
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 13
Default

"I'm thinking it's a Vivox issue not an SOE issue" by Orpheus666

Uhhh...I don't care who they subcontract to provide content, services or capabilities...its an SOE issue...

Arrog

arrog is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-19-2012, 03:11 PM   #68
TSR-AlexS

Customer Service
TSR-AlexS's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Posts: 435
Default

Hello My friends, please know we are still working on a fix for this. Thank you again for your patience!


__________________
Alexander S

Technical Support Representative

Sony Online Entertainment

How to Contact Support:

https://help.station.sony.com/app/answers/detail/a_id/28939

How to Create a DXDIAG/MSINFO

https://help.station.sony.com/app/answers/detail/a_id/28973
TSR-AlexS is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-20-2012, 11:39 AM   #69
Koleg
Server: Unrest_old

Lord
Koleg's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Posts: 713
Default

IDK if it's relevant, but after weeks of having channels drop or never even showingup, including and at times, last night (6/19 pm) my channels semed to be acting much better.  That could be a fluke, but for now I'll take it as a good sign.

In-Game voice needs to work.period.  it's one of the only two features which EQ2 has over its higher graphic, less lag competition.

Koleg is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-21-2012, 07:19 PM   #70
TSR-AlexS

Customer Service
TSR-AlexS's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Posts: 435
Default

Hello friends! We were able to determine the issue with voice chat. This issue should be fixed now. If anyone continues to experience any further issues with voice chat, please PM me with your ticket reference number so that I can escalate it to the proper team. Thanks guys!

__________________
Alexander S

Technical Support Representative

Sony Online Entertainment

How to Contact Support:

https://help.station.sony.com/app/answers/detail/a_id/28939

How to Create a DXDIAG/MSINFO

https://help.station.sony.com/app/answers/detail/a_id/28973
TSR-AlexS is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-28-2012, 01:03 PM   #71
Grimula

Lord
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Posts: 11
Default

Hello i still cannot join voice chat channel

Everytime i try to join a voice chat channel it says You've left the channel (channels name)

for the last week it has been doing this to me

i am the only person in my guild who has this problem and i am the main tank...so it kind of sucks for raids lol

Grimula is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-28-2012, 03:09 PM   #72
TSR-AlexS

Customer Service
TSR-AlexS's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Posts: 435
Default

Grimula wrote:

Hello i still cannot join voice chat channel

Everytime i try to join a voice chat channel it says You've left the channel (channels name)

for the last week it has been doing this to me

i am the only person in my guild who has this problem and i am the main tank...so it kind of sucks for raids lol

Hello Grimula! We are aware of the voice chat issues and currently working on a fix. I will keep you guys updated on the matter! Thank you for your patience and understanding!

__________________
Alexander S

Technical Support Representative

Sony Online Entertainment

How to Contact Support:

https://help.station.sony.com/app/answers/detail/a_id/28939

How to Create a DXDIAG/MSINFO

https://help.station.sony.com/app/answers/detail/a_id/28973
TSR-AlexS is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-29-2012, 02:03 PM   #73
Yavie

Tester
Yavie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 95
Default

Juct checking in to give you an error number that I get when unable to join voice, which is constantly rotating between error 1071 and error 0.

According to the voice chat option mic is properly configured.

However, when I try to set input and output to anything other than default, like my headset, it won't take.  I right click on the button, then spend about 5 minutes trying to right click on the headset choice, hit accept at the bottom of the window and it goes back to default.  

I don't know if this is any help, but that's what is happening to me.

__________________
YANU 82 FURY, TEST

YAVIE 90 WARDEN/90 CARP., PERMAFROST
Yavie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-29-2012, 03:45 PM   #74
TSR-AlexS

Customer Service
TSR-AlexS's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Posts: 435
Default

Yavie wrote:

Juct checking in to give you an error number that I get when unable to join voice, which is constantly rotating between error 1071 and error 0.

According to the voice chat option mic is properly configured.

However, when I try to set input and output to anything other than default, like my headset, it won't take.  I right click on the button, then spend about 5 minutes trying to right click on the headset choice, hit accept at the bottom of the window and it goes back to default.  

I don't know if this is any help, but that's what is happening to me.

Thanks for the info Yavie! We are still looking into the issue and I will keep you guys updated once I know its fixed

__________________
Alexander S

Technical Support Representative

Sony Online Entertainment

How to Contact Support:

https://help.station.sony.com/app/answers/detail/a_id/28939

How to Create a DXDIAG/MSINFO

https://help.station.sony.com/app/answers/detail/a_id/28973
TSR-AlexS is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-30-2012, 05:59 AM   #75
dizzythecat

Loremaster
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 23
Default

i have been unable to use voice chat since update 64, started with failure to connect 1071 or 0 swapping between the to.

That has now stopped, i just get kicked straight out of any channel i try to join. CS have been trying to help me but nothing seems to work, some others in my guild are also unable to join voice chat since the update.

dizzythecat is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-30-2012, 09:43 AM   #76
RandomWalk

Tester
RandomWalk's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 120
Default

dizzythecat wrote:

i have been unable to use voice chat since update 64, started with failure to connect 1071 or 0 swapping between the to.

That has now stopped, i just get kicked straight out of any channel i try to join. CS have been trying to help me but nothing seems to work, some others in my guild are also unable to join voice chat since the update.

My experience is very similar - except that getting kicked straight out of any channel I try to join began straight after GU64.  I didn't have the other failures first.  CS have been trying to help me but no success yet.  It is not to do with my connection or ISP as OH is playing on the same connection and his vc is fine (fingers crossed this remains the case or we are really in trouble on raids!)

Aeriel

RandomWalk is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-30-2012, 09:35 PM   #77
Grimula

Lord
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Posts: 11
Default

voice chat is STILL NOT WORKING WOW

what the hell guys come on im a main tank for a raiding guild and having no voice chat for last 2 weeks is INSANE

this is brutal now

everytime i try to join a voice chat channel it AUTO BOOTS ME OUT  saying primula has left the voice channel (chat channel name)

argh !! gnome pirate ARGH !!!!

Grimula is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-30-2012, 09:36 PM   #78
Grimula

Lord
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Posts: 11
Default

I Deleted the voice chat in the EQ 2 folders and ran a full scann and reinstalled it

and its same thing everytime i tyr to join it auto boots me out of the channel

Grimula is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-31-2012, 02:42 AM   #79
Paganlover

Loremaster
Paganlover's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Washington
Posts: 15
Default

Obviously todays "FIX" was the same as every other fix we've had lately....nonexistant. Same issues, different day. VENTRILO FTW!!!!

Paganlover is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-31-2012, 09:24 PM   #80
Grimula

Lord
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Posts: 11
Default

still no voice chat hahah

just keeping you up to date on my troubles  =)

same problems click on any chat channel and it auto boots me out instantly

Grimula is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-01-2012, 02:11 AM   #81
Restinpeese

Loremaster
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 3
Default

I am having the same issue.  ANY chat channel that I try to join I get kicked out of immediatly.

I have tried the following things:

1) Turning off the voice chat and restarting it while in game

2) Turning off voice chat, then logging out and back in, then restarting the voice chat

3) Deleating anything from the EQ2 game file related to voice chat and forcing the launchpad to reload it.

4) Doing a complete file check from the lauchpad

All other sound and game functions are fine just wont let me connect to any chat channels.

I use centurylink as ISP and there are no issues with connectivity, the modem is a Westell Model 7500 and again there is nothing wrong with the hardware.

Other members of of our guild on Butcherblock have had the same issue, while most of the guild does not seem to have any issue.  Friends and guildmates have tried invites to other channels and the same result. 

Any update on this issue would be appreciated

Restinpeese is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-01-2012, 04:57 AM   #82
dizzythecat

Loremaster
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 23
Default

Although not everyone is having problems with voice chat, there does seem to be quite a few since update 64, all getting kicked from channels as soon as they join. I and 3 others in my guild are having the same problem, plus 2 in my sons guild. I have been in contact with CS since i started having problems, I just keep going over and over the same things with them, and it's driving me nuts. Please can someone tell us whats going on.

dizzythecat is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-01-2012, 04:15 PM   #83
TSR-AlexS

Customer Service
TSR-AlexS's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Posts: 435
Default

Hey guys, we are still working on a fix. Again, we appreciate your patience and understanding. I will keep you posted!

__________________
Alexander S

Technical Support Representative

Sony Online Entertainment

How to Contact Support:

https://help.station.sony.com/app/answers/detail/a_id/28939

How to Create a DXDIAG/MSINFO

https://help.station.sony.com/app/answers/detail/a_id/28973
TSR-AlexS is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-03-2012, 10:29 PM   #84
Grimula

Lord
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Posts: 11
Default

You've left voice channel         You've left voice channel You've left voice channel You've left voice channel You've left voice channel You've left voice channel You've left voice channel You've left voice channel You've left voice channel You've left voice channel You've left voice channel X 5 million

Argh

Grimula is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-04-2012, 05:42 PM   #85
sil4211

Lord
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Posts: 3
Default

I, also, have been having the same problems as everyone else and its been happening for 2 weeks now. I even deleted all my files and reinstalled the game and have tried numerous quick fix methods and no success. I have been pretty patient waiting for a patch but it's getting a little ridiculous, please get it patched sometime soon.

sil4211 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-05-2012, 04:59 PM   #86
Windstalker

Senior Staff
Windstalker's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Posts: 68
Default

We are sorry for the ongoing frustrations.  We did update the software a few weeks ago and are working closely with Vivox which provides the service for us.  They are doing an update tomorrow afternoon with our Platform team which will hopefully resolve issues.

I'm personally following up on this also so we can get this resolved. 

__________________
Holly "Windstalker" Longdale

Producer

EverQuest II
Windstalker is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-05-2012, 11:11 PM   #87
Jaezah

Loremaster
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Posts: 44
Default

Please fix Primula's (Grimula?  Haha Prim!) voice chat.. he doesn't talk but he's lonely without us!!!  

Plus he doesn't hear all us cursing him anymore when he uses his bruiser teleport thing to pull mobs.  He deserves to hear every word of that!!!  Luckily he is a beast tank and is managing to MT without VC.  

(And no, we don't use vent!)

luv,

Jae <3

Jaezah is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-06-2012, 07:08 PM   #88
Grimula

Lord
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Posts: 11
Default

Voice chat is still not working holly Windstalker

just to let you know tommorow afternoon is here and still not working

Grimula is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-06-2012, 09:04 PM   #89
Jaezah

Loremaster
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Posts: 44
Default

It's okay Primula, i'll send you tells IN CAPS WHEN YOU ARE IN TROUBLE.  Since you can't hear me  yell at you 

Jaezah is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-06-2012, 09:56 PM   #90
Grimula

Lord
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Posts: 11
Default

my guild leader is going to have to yell at me in CAPS LOCKS now see what you have done sony ? !!

ARGH hahah

Grimula is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools

Forum Jump


All times are GMT. The time now is 10:17 AM.

vBulletin skin by: CompleteGFX.com
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.5
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
All threads and posts originally from the EQ2 and Station forums operated by Sony Online Entertainment. Their use is by express written permission.