EQ2 Forum Archive @ EQ2Wire

 

Go Back   EQ2 Forum Archive @ EQ2Wire > EverQuest II > General EverQuest II Discussion > General Gameplay Discussion
Members List Search Mark Forums Read

Notices

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 07-24-2012, 12:27 PM   #1
Solarax

Loremaster
Solarax's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 487
Default

but if I atempt to log into the game the servers are locked. Couldnt SoE do a little better by having their status page "ACCURATELY" reflect the info we want it to

Solarax is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-24-2012, 12:29 PM   #2
DarkelfOften

Defender
DarkelfOften's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Posts: 158
Default

Perhaps its a hopeful omen that it soon really will be up.

__________________
MARRY A NPC!

http://forums.station.sony.com/eq2/posts/list.m?topic_id=520433
DarkelfOften is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-24-2012, 12:34 PM   #3
Solarax

Loremaster
Solarax's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 487
Default

well its not the downtime itself that is annoying. its the fact that the status pages are not correct and do not take into account the servers being locked or the status of the login server .

those are the things that are most annoying for myself and some others I know

Solarax is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-24-2012, 12:34 PM   #4
Deago

Loremaster
Deago's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Posts: 625
Default

Simply:  Up-Down is a status.  Locked-Unlocked is another status.  So in truth they are 'up' just 'locked.' 

__________________
Hello fellow EQ2 gamers!
Deago is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-24-2012, 12:39 PM   #5
Frijoles
Server: Oasis
Guild: Destined for Glory
Rank: Senior Officer

Loremaster
Frijoles's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 675
Default

Checking the server status page during a lengthy, planned downtime can be an exercise in frustration because most of us know that the 'server status' page page has lied to us in the past.

I suspect that during updates like this one, members of the dev team go in and double-check what they've done/are doing, incrementally, and it's during these exercises that we see the servers 'up' - although they aren't yet ready for us to log in.

I could be wrong, but it's plausable enough to satisfy my impatience. =P

Frijoles is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-24-2012, 12:40 PM   #6
Solarax

Loremaster
Solarax's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 487
Default

Deago:

we are not questioning weather its a type of status. but the majority of us when we look at the status page would like to know if we are able to log into the game not see that the game is up only to try and log in and be told the game is locked.

Solarax is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-24-2012, 12:45 PM   #7
Deago

Loremaster
Deago's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Posts: 625
Default

[email protected] wrote:

Deago:

we are not questioning weather its a type of status. but the majority of us when we look at the status page would like to know if we are able to log into the game not see that the game is up only to try and log in and be told the game is locked.

I understand.  Would help if they put more information on server status.

__________________
Hello fellow EQ2 gamers!
Deago is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-24-2012, 12:47 PM   #8
Kapath

Lord
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Posts: 58
Default

Yes for I to, am pestered by this. For those of us who are trying to skip work and risk it all to check out the sweet sweet GU64 this is really unnerving. Hoping to get some sort of confirmation on this page so I can plan my departure accordingly SMILEY

__________________
MalletMan wrote: I noticed that on the mining animation, that the pick points to the right a bit, any way to fix that?
Kapath is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-24-2012, 12:57 PM   #9
Solarax

Loremaster
Solarax's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 487
Default

I know it would not fix the problem but they could code the page to do a check against the " PUBLIC" login server to verify ability to log in or even add it as its own status

Solarax is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-24-2012, 12:58 PM   #10
Jalu
Server: Mistmoore
Guild: Torment
Rank: Senior Member

Loremaster
Jalu's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 75
Default

SOE DEVS, use the SERVER STATUS PAGE!! Its there for a reason!!! 

Jalu is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-24-2012, 01:02 PM   #11
Seidhkona

Loremaster
Seidhkona's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 4,115
Default

It might be good to, I dunno, refer to the server downtime announcement for updates?

Dexella said:

Update: The server downtime is going to be longer than originally anticipated.

I will update you again when I have more news. 

Thanks ~ Dexella

*Dexella* Community Relations Manager

__________________
Seidhkona is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-24-2012, 01:04 PM   #12
BeeJay

Loremaster
BeeJay's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 203
Default

[email protected] wrote:

SOE DEVS, use the SERVER STATUS PAGE!! Its there for a reason!!! 

Been asking for this since 2004 ! Fact is the only time the server status page is accurate is when the servers are up, unlocked and people are logged in.

Not holding my breath waiting for this to change

__________________
SOE, too little too late ... your game is dead.

BeeJay is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-24-2012, 01:11 PM   #13
Jalu
Server: Mistmoore
Guild: Torment
Rank: Senior Member

Loremaster
Jalu's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 75
Default

[email protected] DLere wrote:

It might be good to, I dunno, refer to the server downtime announcement for updates?

Dexella said:

Update: The server downtime is going to be longer than originally anticipated.

I will update you again when I have more news. 

Thanks ~ Dexella

*Dexella* Community Relations Manager

Of course this was going to happen... Its SOE.

Jalu is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-24-2012, 01:27 PM   #14
Dexella

Community Relations
Dexella's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Posts: 477
Default

Hi Everyone,

We are aware of the issue with the server status page across all our games; this is not specific to EQII. We are looking into it. 

In the meantime, I will be posting any news or updates about the server downtime this morning in our Official News and Announcements thread: http://forums.station.sony.com/eq2/...topic_id=520462.  

Thanks! 

~Dexella

__________________
*Dexella*

Community Relations Manager
Dexella is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-24-2012, 01:27 PM   #15
hexalobular

Lord
hexalobular's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Posts: 180
Default

So, does the character select screen accurately reflect the current status or do you have to restart the launcher to be sure?

Or click "Play", I suppose that would give you a pretty good indication.

hexalobular is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-24-2012, 01:59 PM   #16
Deathlocke
Server: Oasis
Guild: Fabled
Rank: Junior Member

Loremaster
Deathlocke's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 5
Default

[email protected] wrote:

[email protected] DLere wrote:

It might be good to, I dunno, refer to the server downtime announcement for updates?

Dexella said:

Update: The server downtime is going to be longer than originally anticipated.

I will update you again when I have more news. 

Thanks ~ Dexella

*Dexella* Community Relations Manager

Of course this was going to happen... Its SOE.

Yes because only SOE has ever went over the estimated time for a game update/patch. Comments like this are stupid and it doesn't make you "cool" to say it. 

Also, you should have gone with "Working as intended." for the server status page problems.

Deathlocke is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-24-2012, 02:04 PM   #17
Lizabethan

Philosopher
Lizabethan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Posts: 488
Default

Yes, the character select screen should be accurate. The red text says it all! SMILEY

On a related note, I'm very impressed with Dexella's level of communication so far.

__________________
"The cookie jar is my favorite raid zone."
Lizabethan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-24-2012, 02:09 PM   #18
Jalu
Server: Mistmoore
Guild: Torment
Rank: Senior Member

Loremaster
Jalu's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 75
Default

[email protected] wrote:

[email protected] wrote:

[email protected] DLere wrote:

It might be good to, I dunno, refer to the server downtime announcement for updates?

Dexella said:

Update: The server downtime is going to be longer than originally anticipated.

I will update you again when I have more news. 

Thanks ~ Dexella

*Dexella* Community Relations Manager

Of course this was going to happen... Its SOE.

Yes because only SOE has ever went over the estimated time for a game update/patch. Comments like this are stupid and it doesn't make you "cool" to say it. 

Also, you should have gone with "Working as intended." for the server status page problems.

LOL, meant to be "COOL". Just stating a fact, they always under estimate, better to just put that the servers will be down until further notice or over estitmate and put down 6 hours...

Jalu is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-24-2012, 02:13 PM   #19
hoosierdaddy

Loremaster
hoosierdaddy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 302
Default

Lizabethan wrote:

Yes, the character select screen should be accurate. The red text says it all!

On a related note, I'm very impressed with Dexella's level of communication so far.

^This (and I agree).

If you stay on the character select screen, it will automatically change from "Locked" to "Live" once servers are back up.

Also happy with the updates from customer relations.

And finally: to the guy who was talking about taking a day off of work, I can see by your join date that you're relatively new to EQ2. Protip: Always expect delays on the day of a major update. Then when/if the servers come back up early/on time, you'll be pleasantly surprised. But never, ever schedule your life around the time SOE (or any other game developer) estimates it will take to perform an update.

__________________
"The human race is the most stupid and unfair kind of race. A lot of the runners don't even get decent sneakers or clean drinking water. Some runners are born with a massive head start, every possible help along the way and still the referees seem to be on their side. It's not surprising a lot of people have given up competing altogether and gone to sit in the grandstand, eat junk and shout abuse. What the human race needs is a lot more streakers." -- Banksy
hoosierdaddy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-24-2012, 02:17 PM   #20
Deathlocke
Server: Oasis
Guild: Fabled
Rank: Junior Member

Loremaster
Deathlocke's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 5
Default

[email protected] wrote:

[email protected] wrote:

[email protected] wrote:

[email protected] DLere wrote:

It might be good to, I dunno, refer to the server downtime announcement for updates?

Dexella said:

Update: The server downtime is going to be longer than originally anticipated.

I will update you again when I have more news. 

Thanks ~ Dexella

*Dexella* Community Relations Manager

Of course this was going to happen... Its SOE.

Yes because only SOE has ever went over the estimated time for a game update/patch. Comments like this are stupid and it doesn't make you "cool" to say it. 

Also, you should have gone with "Working as intended." for the server status page problems.

LOL, meant to be "COOL". Just stating a fact, they always under estimate, better to just put that the servers will be down until further notice or over estitmate and put down 6 hours...

SMILEY

They can't really win with estimates. If they put it will be down for 6 hours and they are finished in 3, people would complain that "omg the servers came up early and now I've missed getting the same start as everyone else." If they put it will be done in 3 hours and it takes longer....."omg it's been an hour since servers were supposed to come back up, you suck for taking so long." 

I like your suggestion of just saying they will be down until further notice. I'm perfectly okay with that.

Maybe it should be something like "All servers are coming down for game update. They will be available some time in the future. We will let you know when they do come back up. Thanks, SOE."

Deathlocke is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-24-2012, 02:17 PM   #21
Jalu
Server: Mistmoore
Guild: Torment
Rank: Senior Member

Loremaster
Jalu's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 75
Default

And "Working as intended" = COOL, Next time I will use that, at least I will be COOL in your eyes.. ROFL

Jalu is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-24-2012, 02:20 PM   #22
Brigh

Loremaster
Brigh's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 3,159
Default

It would be nice if the game didn't disconnect while sitting at the character screen, forcing you to click Exit, and restart the launcher all over again.
__________________
Anything you can achieve through hard work, you can also just buy.

-Stephen Colbert

CoD3 double XP Rank Up promotion lesson for kids
Brigh is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-24-2012, 02:21 PM   #23
Nolrog

Loremaster
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 487
Default

[email protected] wrote:

but if I atempt to log into the game the servers are locked. Couldnt SoE do a little better by having their status page "ACCURATELY" reflect the info we want it to

The server status page does accurately reflect the status of the game worlds.  They are up and going thru internal testing and QA.  However, the log in server is down, but that one isn't reflected on the page.

Nolrog is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-24-2012, 02:22 PM   #24
Alenna
Server: Guk
Guild: Defenders of the Light
Rank: Count

Loremaster
Alenna's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 1,938
Default

[email protected] wrote:

Checking the server status page during a lengthy, planned downtime can be an exercise in frustration because most of us know that the 'server status' page page has lied to us in the past.

I suspect that during updates like this one, members of the dev team go in and double-check what they've done/are doing, incrementally, and it's during these exercises that we see the servers 'up' - although they aren't yet ready for us to log in.

I could be wrong, but it's plausable enough to satisfy my impatience. =P

yeah the Devs want to make sure the NPC put their pants on this morning.

__________________
Alenna is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-24-2012, 02:28 PM   #25
Jalu
Server: Mistmoore
Guild: Torment
Rank: Senior Member

Loremaster
Jalu's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 75
Default

Nolrog wrote:

[email protected] wrote:

but if I atempt to log into the game the servers are locked. Couldnt SoE do a little better by having their status page "ACCURATELY" reflect the info we want it to

The server status page does accurately reflect the status of the game worlds.  They are up and going thru internal testing and QA.  However, the log in server is down, but that one isn't reflected on the page.

The login SERVER is not down, or else you wouldn't be able to login into the Launcher and see that the servers are LOCKED.

Jalu is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-24-2012, 02:47 PM   #26
Dexella

Community Relations
Dexella's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Posts: 477
Default

Hi again!

The SOE Status page should now be correct.

Also, the servers are back up! Now go play Qeynos Rises! 

~Dexella

__________________
*Dexella*

Community Relations Manager
Dexella is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-24-2012, 03:17 PM   #27
Dethdlr
Server: Butcherblock
Guild: Advent of Valor
Rank: Council Leader

Fansite Staff
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 673
Default

Did anyone catch what the server status page said in the "time since response" column?  Was it fairly recent, like within a minute or so, or did it say a few hours?

The server status page has errors in different ways sometimes and I'm just curious as to which type this one was.  When it's been over 15-20 mins, the widget I wrote for EQ2Wire and other sites shows a question mark over top of the green box indicating that it's reporting as up, but I don't really trust it.  But if it has an error in a specific way, that doesn't do any good.

Thanks

__________________


EQ2U Lead Programmer |Dethdlr's Adornment Calculator | EQ2Wire.com Columnist

Dethdlr is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools

Forum Jump


All times are GMT. The time now is 10:43 PM.

vBulletin skin by: CompleteGFX.com
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.5
Copyright ©2000 - 2022, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
All threads and posts originally from the EQ2 and Station forums operated by Sony Online Entertainment. Their use is by express written permission.