EQ2 Forum Archive @ EQ2Wire

 

Go Back   EQ2 Forum Archive @ EQ2Wire > EverQuest II > Support Forums > Tech Area > Voice Chat Support
Members List Search Mark Forums Read

Notices

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 06-13-2012, 04:22 PM   #1
Dethdlr
Server: Butcherblock
Guild: Advent of Valor
Rank: Council Leader

Fansite Staff
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 673
Default

This seems to be a fairly common thing that occurs while trying to troubleshoot issues with voice chat:

TSR-AlexS wrote:

After numerous tests, we were not able to successfully reproduce this issue.

If I understand things correctly, SOE has servers on the west coast as well as on the east coast, right?  Could someone possibly set up a server on the east coast as a proxy server for you guys to test through?  Something so that from the west coast, your connection would go through the east coast proxy server and then back to a west coast server.

I'm just thinking that being a stones throw away from the server you're testing might be part of why you can't reproduce some of the issues that players report. I know it's exponentially harder to troubleshoot something you can't reproduce yourself.

But then again, maybe this has nothing to do with any of it.  SMILEY  Just a thought.  SMILEY

__________________


EQ2U Lead Programmer |Dethdlr's Adornment Calculator | EQ2Wire.com Columnist

Dethdlr is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-14-2012, 01:59 PM   #2
TSR-AlexS

Customer Service
TSR-AlexS's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Posts: 435
Default

Hello Dethdlr! We really appreciate your feedback on the situation my friend.  The thing is,  the bigger picture is much more complicated, and we are equally as far from the game servers themselves as You, the customer, is.

__________________
Alexander S

Technical Support Representative

Sony Online Entertainment

How to Contact Support:

https://help.station.sony.com/app/answers/detail/a_id/28939

How to Create a DXDIAG/MSINFO

https://help.station.sony.com/app/answers/detail/a_id/28973
TSR-AlexS is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-14-2012, 06:17 PM   #3
Dethdlr
Server: Butcherblock
Guild: Advent of Valor
Rank: Council Leader

Fansite Staff
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 673
Default

Having just done a bit more poking around into how Vivox handles it's servers, I believe I see what you mean when you say the bigger picture is more complicated.  Having a proxy in place on the east coast probably wouldn't do much.  SMILEY

__________________


EQ2U Lead Programmer |Dethdlr's Adornment Calculator | EQ2Wire.com Columnist

Dethdlr is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-15-2012, 03:53 PM   #4
TSR-AlexS

Customer Service
TSR-AlexS's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Posts: 435
Default

[email protected] wrote:

Having just done a bit more poking around into how Vivox handles it's servers, I believe I see what you mean when you say the bigger picture is more complicated.  Having a proxy in place on the east coast probably wouldn't do much. 

Just know Our dev's are working hard to finding a solution I'll keep you posted my friend.

__________________
Alexander S

Technical Support Representative

Sony Online Entertainment

How to Contact Support:

https://help.station.sony.com/app/answers/detail/a_id/28939

How to Create a DXDIAG/MSINFO

https://help.station.sony.com/app/answers/detail/a_id/28973
TSR-AlexS is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools

Forum Jump


All times are GMT. The time now is 09:45 PM.

vBulletin skin by: CompleteGFX.com
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.5
Copyright ©2000 - 2022, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
All threads and posts originally from the EQ2 and Station forums operated by Sony Online Entertainment. Their use is by express written permission.