EQ2 Forum Archive @ EQ2Wire

 

Go Back   EQ2 Forum Archive @ EQ2Wire > EverQuest II > The Norrathian Herald > Community News
Members List Search Mark Forums Read

Notices

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 06-22-2012, 06:47 PM   #1
feldon30

Fansite Staff
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 5,424
Default

EQ2U is proud to introduce a new feature for all EQ2 players -- Character Signatures. This feature is available for free to all players who have opted-in their characters to the Data Feed and wish to have a signature on message boards like the EQ2 Forums.

For a detailed guide on how to use EQ2U Signatures, please view the Character Details for a character on EQ2U and click on the "Get my EQ2U Signature" button below the Details panel.

Dethdlr and I wish you happy hunting!

NOTE: Because of how the EQ2 forums cache signature images, you will want to try a hard refresh (Ctrl-F5 and then Ctrl-R) after you have changed your Profile to show your new sig. Until then, it may show your old sig for up to an hour.

feldon30 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-22-2012, 06:48 PM   #2
Dethdlr
Server: Butcherblock
Guild: Advent of Valor
Rank: Council Leader

Fansite Staff
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 673
Default

Enjoy folks!

__________________


EQ2U Lead Programmer |Dethdlr's Adornment Calculator | EQ2Wire.com Columnist

Dethdlr is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-22-2012, 06:58 PM   #3
Koleg
Server: Unrest_old

Lord
Koleg's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Posts: 713
Default

Awesome job guys .. well done..

Koleg is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-22-2012, 09:07 PM   #4
Katz

Loremaster
Katz's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
Posts: 2,601
Default

Thanks guys!

Katz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-23-2012, 02:39 AM   #5
Trennt
Server: The Bazaar
Guild: Knights Of Goodness
Rank: Junior Member (5,000)

Loremaster
Trennt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Posts: 11
Default

thanks much guys

__________________
Trennt is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-23-2012, 03:33 AM   #6
Daalilama
Server: Nagafen
Guild: Illuminati
Rank: Senior Officer

Loremaster
Daalilama's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 437
Default

Nice....

Daalilama is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-23-2012, 03:40 AM   #7
wullailhuit

Loremaster
wullailhuit's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 1,007
Default

Interesting , wonder if there is a way to make it rotate all my characters with a 5 second pause between.

__________________
wullailhuit is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-23-2012, 03:45 AM   #8
Luhai

Loremaster
Luhai's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 679
Default

Nice job, thanks SMILEY

Any chance on adding a config option later on to change the displayed information? *ducks*

__________________
Luhai is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-23-2012, 08:34 AM   #9
feldon30

Fansite Staff
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 5,424
Default

This is the first pass. We built it in such a way that we can add different backgrounds, change out the stats, etc.

If I added a variation with different stats, would this be a good selection of stats?

  • Race
  • Born date
  • Health
  • Power
  • Main Stat (INT,WIS,STR,AGI based on archetype)
  • Crit Chance
  • Multiattack (maybe casting speed for mages?)
  • Crit Bonus
  • Potency

Then there's other backgrounds, paperdolls, etc.

feldon30 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-23-2012, 08:39 AM   #10
Iren
Server: Antonia Bayle
Guild: Celestial Knights
Rank: Champion

Loremaster
Iren's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 98
Default

crit and potency dont show for me , gues this is a test

__________________
Iren is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-23-2012, 09:07 AM   #11
feldon30

Fansite Staff
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 5,424
Default

[email protected] Bayle wrote:

crit and potency dont show for me , gues this is a test

It looks like your character data didn't export properly when you last logged out of EQ2. Unless you really have 34 points of Stamina. SMILEY

http://u.eq2wire.com/soe/character_...il/867584464406

Try logging into EQ2 again and then /camp or zone. That should force an update.

feldon30 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-23-2012, 09:47 AM   #12
Occisor

Defender
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Posts: 2
Default

feldon30 wrote:

This is the first pass. We built it in such a way that we can add different backgrounds, change out the stats, etc.

If I added a variation with different stats, would this be a good selection of stats?

  • Race
  • Born date
  • Health
  • Power
  • Main Stat (INT,WIS,STR,AGI based on archetype)
  • Crit Chance
  • Multiattack (maybe casting speed for mages?)
  • Crit Bonus
  • Potency

Then there's other backgrounds, paperdolls, etc.

Could you add a PvP template? Number of Kills, Number of Deaths, Killstreak etc?

Occisor is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-23-2012, 12:07 PM   #13
feldon30

Fansite Staff
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 5,424
Default

Sorry folks but I have to take the signatures offline for a day or two until we can optimize/cache them. They got popular fast. SMILEY

feldon30 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-26-2012, 11:51 AM   #14
Dethdlr
Server: Butcherblock
Guild: Advent of Valor
Rank: Council Leader

Fansite Staff
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 673
Default

Sorry for the delay folks.  If all goes according to plan, these should be back online sometime today.

Update: Exsiting sigs are back online.  Sigs for new folks should be back today as well.

Update: And... we're back!

__________________


EQ2U Lead Programmer |Dethdlr's Adornment Calculator | EQ2Wire.com Columnist

Dethdlr is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-26-2012, 07:50 PM   #15
Caela

Loremaster
Caela's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Baubbleshire
Posts: 246
Default

Oooh!  Shiny!

Edit... Well, I guess my sig needs work

Caela is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-26-2012, 08:51 PM   #16
Mohee

Lord
Mohee's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Posts: 502
Default

woot! thanks. I like it.

__________________


EQ'ing since 1999
Mohee is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-27-2012, 07:31 AM   #17
Sybaris

Loremaster
Sybaris's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Berlin / Germany
Posts: 84
Default

Oh, thank you so very much!

Sybaris is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-27-2012, 04:13 PM   #18
Mysstie
Server: Oasis
Guild: Elysian Storm
Rank: Mall Cop

Loremaster
Mysstie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Posts: 367
Default

Might consider a Crafting/Tradeskill/Harvesting centric one for those that are Crafters first and Adventurers second that shows items crafted, harvesting and tradeskill stats, etc. Great work nonetheless! SMILEY I'll probably make sure all my adventuring gear is on and appropriate mount/spells active and then save that image and use it as a static image from my own website. Those stats change a lot if I camp with all my crafting/harvesting gear on. SMILEY
__________________
Mysstie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-27-2012, 04:32 PM   #19
thepriz

Loremaster
thepriz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 219
Default

I was just curious if the completed quests include the completed collections in the total also like the old one used to. I can't tell if it does or not and I can't log in right now.

__________________
thepriz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-27-2012, 04:37 PM   #20
thepriz

Loremaster
thepriz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 219
Default

Why is it not working? I did the preview signature and it works in My Profile, but I am not seeing it here (only the old version of my signature).

__________________
thepriz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-27-2012, 04:59 PM   #21
Tylia
Server: Butcherblock
Guild: Test of Time
Rank: Member

Loremaster
Tylia's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 757
Default

[email protected] wrote:

Why is it not working? I did the preview signature and it works in My Profile, but I am not seeing it here (only the old version of my signature).

I am seeing your EQ2U signature.  I was having the same problem you are describing.  I even emptied cookies, browser history, cache, offline website data, etc.  I removed the signature code and saved, and added it back and saved again.  It still showed my old signature on my screen and the new EQ2U one in the profile preview.  I finally got frustrated and clicked the big blue "e" to open IE and test it with that browser.  (I was really frustrated as I ONLY use Firefox and NEVER use IE for anything.)

The new EQ2U signature showed just fine in IE, so I hurridely closed the hateful program and returned to Firefox.  Lo and behold, there was the shiny, new EQ2U signature!  (Yes, I know it was there all along, but my Firefox just didn't want to let go of the "old" and adapt the "new" on my screen.) 

edited because I forgot the U.

Tylia is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-27-2012, 05:09 PM   #22
thepriz

Loremaster
thepriz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 219
Default

That was my problem, for some reason Firefox had cached it. I had to clear my cache and it worked.

__________________
thepriz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-27-2012, 05:24 PM   #23
Karrane1

Tester
Karrane1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 1,055
Default

I wanted to add my thanks for this !! =)
__________________
Karrane1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-27-2012, 05:28 PM   #24
Mysstie
Server: Oasis
Guild: Elysian Storm
Rank: Mall Cop

Loremaster
Mysstie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Posts: 367
Default

Testing mine out. I saved mine to make a static image and placed it on my website.

__________________
Mysstie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-27-2012, 05:30 PM   #25
Karrane1

Tester
Karrane1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 1,055
Default

My sig also not showing up for me.. test ))

__________________
Karrane1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-27-2012, 05:38 PM   #26
Mysstie
Server: Oasis
Guild: Elysian Storm
Rank: Mall Cop

Loremaster
Mysstie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Posts: 367
Default

Karrane1 wrote:

My sig also not showing up for me.. test ))

I see it fine. I just think people need to do a force refresh on their browser so it's not using what's stored in the cache.

__________________
Mysstie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-27-2012, 05:55 PM   #27
Dethdlr
Server: Butcherblock
Guild: Advent of Valor
Rank: Council Leader

Fansite Staff
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 673
Default

[email protected] wrote:

[email protected] wrote:

Why is it not working? I did the preview signature and it works in My Profile, but I am not seeing it here (only the old version of my signature).

I am seeing your EQ2U signature.  I was having the same problem you are describing.  I even emptied cookies, browser history, cache, offline website data, etc.  I removed the signature code and saved, and added it back and saved again.  It still showed my old signature on my screen and the new EQ2U one in the profile preview.  I finally got frustrated and clicked the big blue "e" to open IE and test it with that browser.  (I was really frustrated as I ONLY use Firefox and NEVER use IE for anything.)

The new EQ2U signature showed just fine in IE, so I hurridely closed the hateful program and returned to Firefox.  Lo and behold, there was the shiny, new EQ2U signature!  (Yes, I know it was there all along, but my Firefox just didn't want to let go of the "old" and adapt the "new" on my screen.) 

edited because I forgot the U.

In my experience, it's been the forum software here that's the culprit, not the browser. 

It takes it a little bit for the new signature to make it from your profile out to the actual messages.  It's driven me crazy in the past, even with text based signatures and I KNOW the browser isn't caching the text.

After a short while, the new one just starts showing up.  Don't know the time frame or why it works that way, but that seems to be how it works here. 

General rule of thumb, if it looks right in the preview, just wait a little bit and it'll eventually show up right in the messages.

__________________


EQ2U Lead Programmer |Dethdlr's Adornment Calculator | EQ2Wire.com Columnist

Dethdlr is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-27-2012, 06:13 PM   #28
Karrane1

Tester
Karrane1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 1,055
Default

nods.. it didnt seem to show up when i used "quick reply" but did when i used the other option to post.

__________________
Karrane1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-28-2012, 04:25 AM   #29
Mogrim

Loremaster
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Posts: 135
Default

Why do the sigs show potency for some and crit bonus for others?

__________________
Mogrim is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-28-2012, 05:44 AM   #30
feldon30

Fansite Staff
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 5,424
Default

Mogrim wrote:

Why do the sigs show potency for some and crit bonus for others?

That's a bit of logic I put in there. It shows whichever stat is higher for your character.

Another version of the sigs I am considering would be called 'Specialist' and swap out different stats based on whether you are a Fighter, Mage, Priest, or Scout.

feldon30 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools

Forum Jump


All times are GMT. The time now is 10:10 PM.

vBulletin skin by: CompleteGFX.com
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.5
Copyright ©2000 - 2022, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
All threads and posts originally from the EQ2 and Station forums operated by Sony Online Entertainment. Their use is by express written permission.