EQ2 Forum Archive @ EQ2Wire

 

Go Back   EQ2 Forum Archive @ EQ2Wire > EverQuest II > The Development Corner > Testers Only
Members List Search Mark Forums Read

Notices

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 09-25-2012, 11:33 PM   #1
Beajay

Tester
Beajay's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Abingdon, MD
Posts: 170
Default

I've been trying to 2 months to get my new laptop to play EQII but it refuses despite tech support. I can't even get on to the forum. I can use this computer for only a half hour or so before it crashes due to a hack. Just wanted to let you know I want to play but can't. I haven't abandoned Test. I'll keep working on the problem. The program crashes at first screen after pressing Play.

__________________
Almee of Test

Icon: Purple Water

by BvandenBerg
Beajay is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-25-2012, 11:41 PM   #2
Hordolin Awanagin

Tester
Hordolin Awanagin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 338
Default

Before character select or after character select?

If it's before you get to character select, re-install Direct-X 9.0c. If it's after character select, most likely it's a custom UI that you have.

__________________
Hordolin Awanagin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-27-2012, 05:48 PM   #3
Beajay

Tester
Beajay's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Abingdon, MD
Posts: 170
Default

The crash occurs before character select. I reinstalled Directx 9.0c to no avail. Is there a special place it has to be installed? I put it in the Sony root directory. I don't have any custom UIs--just the two that come with the game.

__________________
Almee of Test

Icon: Purple Water

by BvandenBerg
Beajay is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-27-2012, 06:25 PM   #4
Hordolin Awanagin

Tester
Hordolin Awanagin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 338
Default

Is this what you installed?

http://www.microsoft.com/en-us/down...s.aspx?id=34429

The defaults should work.

Only other thing I can suggest is navigate to the game folder and double click everquest2.exe

Usually that will pop a more usful message about what's missing/wrong.

__________________
Hordolin Awanagin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-28-2012, 02:56 PM   #5
ArtemisClyde

Loremaster
ArtemisClyde's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Posts: 96
Default

i would think you should install directx to your normal windows folder? i havent redirected mine to the sony folder, or any folder of any game i have. maybe if you put directx files inside your sony folder, THATS whats causing the crash, and they should be removed from there? it might be safest just to uninstall em both, reinstall directx to the default windows directory it should be in, then reinstall eq.
ArtemisClyde is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-01-2012, 12:48 PM   #6
Hordolin Awanagin

Tester
Hordolin Awanagin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 338
Default

Beajay wrote:

The crash occurs before character select. I reinstalled Directx 9.0c to no avail. Is there a special place it has to be installed? I put it in the Sony root directory. I don't have any custom UIs--just the two that come with the game.

If you haven't resolved this, what does it say for client version in the bar at the top when you start the game?

__________________
Hordolin Awanagin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-02-2012, 02:36 AM   #7
Beajay

Tester
Beajay's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Abingdon, MD
Posts: 170
Default

When I press Play it seems like all is well then half the screen, on the left side, goes black and an error message pops up and says: EQ2 Client Application has Stopped Working. I am on Public Test Version. It makes no sense to me. Btw, it didn't work before I installed a Directx 9c in my Sony folder.

__________________
Almee of Test

Icon: Purple Water

by BvandenBerg
Beajay is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-02-2012, 10:34 AM   #8
Hordolin Awanagin

Tester
Hordolin Awanagin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 338
Default

No, after you click play in the title bar of the game window it'll have Everquest II (date, time) USER OPTIMIZED: SOEBUILD= 9235T

Yours says 9235T right?

__________________
Hordolin Awanagin is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools

Forum Jump


All times are GMT. The time now is 09:43 PM.

vBulletin skin by: CompleteGFX.com
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.5
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
All threads and posts originally from the EQ2 and Station forums operated by Sony Online Entertainment. Their use is by express written permission.