EQ2 Forum Archive @ EQ2Wire

 

Go Back   EQ2 Forum Archive @ EQ2Wire > EverQuest II > Chains of Eternity Beta > General (CoE Beta) > User Interface
Members List Search Mark Forums Read

Notices

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 10-24-2012, 08:13 PM   #1
Finora

Tester
Finora's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 3,423
Default

I'm appreciating the Vanguard-like distance indicator on the target window.  It's a small thing but nice nevertheless.

Finora is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-24-2012, 08:23 PM   #2
Terrogaunt

Developer
Terrogaunt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Posts: 142
Default

Glad you like it SMILEY

The next update will set it to default to off (since not everyone wants to see it). When that happens, just be sure to re-enable it from Options>User Interface>Name and Chat Bubble

Terrogaunt is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-24-2012, 11:58 PM   #3
Lylah

Tester
Lylah's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 87
Default

Curious what determines this (hitbox?)- was in Sleeper's Tomb solo instance and had Frost at 0 distance when it would have been 10+ meters with other mobs (while zero for these others mobs means standing in the same spot.)

Will look again after update.

__________________
Breu

Test Server
Lylah is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-25-2012, 01:51 AM   #4
ZUES

Loremaster
ZUES's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 814
Default

I noticed this today. Forgive me but why is distance important? If we get agro the numbers drop like a rock. Wow. Is there some strat in this or something I'm missing here?

ZUES is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-25-2012, 03:12 AM   #5
Neiloch

Loremaster
Neiloch's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Southern California
Posts: 1,430
Default

ZUES wrote:

I noticed this today. Forgive me but why is distance important? If we get agro the numbers drop like a rock. Wow. Is there some strat in this or something I'm missing here?

Wow.

Yes. there are lots and lots of strats dependent on distance. So many fights. Right now we get someone to figure out distances and mark them for reference since that particular person/class doesn't need to move much to be effective. Simply playing a ranger needs almost constant awareness of distance to target.

__________________
Neiloch is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-25-2012, 03:06 PM   #6
Lethlian

Lord
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Posts: 65
Default

I have to agree I love this new distance mechanic in the target window. If possible I would love to implore you guys having this feature added to live asap

Respectfully,

Lethlian

Lethlian is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-25-2012, 11:37 PM   #7
lodgepark8485

Loremaster
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Posts: 30
Default

Would be really nice to have the ability to change the color of the displaying number depending on the distance too.  Similar to targets health percentage colors.  So for example wizards know when they're within 10 meters at a quick glance for Thunderclap, fusion, etc.  And for others knowing when they've jousted out far enough for an AE.  Seeing a color is alot faster to register than reading a number.

lodgepark8485 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-26-2012, 05:05 PM   #8
Soresha

Tester
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Nottingham, UK
Posts: 663
Default

Nice addition! As someone who came from Vanguard I've missed this.

Can we have the rotating compass point arrow graphic showing which direction the target is in too please

And if we're stealing things from that game.... encounter window?? pleasepleaseomgplease? Come on, you've got my hopes up now. Don't let me down. I'll wait. SMILEY

__________________
Soresha is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-10-2012, 03:21 AM   #9
Drumstix

Loremaster
Drumstix's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: NJ, USA
Posts: 355
Default

Posted bug and an inquiry here:

http://forums.station.sony.com/eq2o...topic_id=524054

__________________
___________________________


[DrumsUI] author @ EQ2Interface.com
Drumstix is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-13-2012, 12:25 AM   #10
Barx
Server: Antonia Bayle
Guild: Mayhem
Rank: Officers

Loremaster
Barx's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Manors of Mithaniel, New Halas
Posts: 3,480
Default

One quick suggestion: the option to enable the distance meter should be under Options>User Interface>Targeting Windows, not where it currently is under Name & Chat Bubble.

The name & chat bubble is the stuff that appears over a mob's head in the 3D game world, and the distance meter has nothing to do with that element. It's purely an element of the target / implied target windows, so it really makes more sense for the option for it to be under Targeting Windows.

(I say this because it took me far too long to find this option in the options window... heh)

Barx is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools

Forum Jump


All times are GMT. The time now is 04:50 PM.

vBulletin skin by: CompleteGFX.com
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.5
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
All threads and posts originally from the EQ2 and Station forums operated by Sony Online Entertainment. Their use is by express written permission.