EQ2 Forum Archive @ EQ2Wire

 

Go Back   EQ2 Forum Archive @ EQ2Wire > EverQuest II > Support Forums > Tech Area > Connection Support
Members List Search Mark Forums Read

Notices

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 01-22-2008, 10:03 AM   #1
spooonerism

Loremaster
spooonerism's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 40
Default

Hi, I'm having problems trying to launch EQ2. The launch pad hangs on Patcher Initializing.

All was working well last night and for the last few months!

I've removed my Anti Virus software completely (was using AVG), turned off Microsoft Firewall and re booted by Comp at least a dozen times now?

Does anyone have any idea's???

spooonerism is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-22-2008, 10:31 AM   #2
spooonerism

Loremaster
spooonerism's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 40
Default

Further to above,  when checking internet conection via ipconfig, pings to external sites without problem. Can still use AOL to browse internet without issue BUT now notice that Microsoft Update wont connect either!

Re installed several Restore Points but still no better.

spooonerism is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-22-2008, 12:21 PM   #3
Miss_Jackie

Loremaster
Miss_Jackie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Philadelphia, PA
Posts: 354
Default

I'm getting a Network Error when launching the software. Then it crashes.
Miss_Jackie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-22-2008, 12:25 PM   #4
CrushboneBen

Lord
CrushboneBen's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 1
Default

Im getting the same error Network error however all is ok and have internet any ideas on this?
CrushboneBen is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-22-2008, 12:26 PM   #5
GoHogs

Loremaster
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 5
Default

Same here - try to start the launcher and after a few seconds get a Network Error and the app crashes
GoHogs is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-22-2008, 12:29 PM   #6
Lalanu

Loremaster
Lalanu's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 12
Default

Looks like launchpad got patched this morning :/ Seems we get to stay out til it's fixed.
__________________

Lalanu is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-22-2008, 12:29 PM   #7
AinaFV

Loremaster
AinaFV's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 94
Default

Having same issue with both EQ2 game patcher and LoN card game patcher.  Two seconds after launch, I get a crash.
AinaFV is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-22-2008, 12:29 PM   #8
Vis

General
Vis's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Toronto
Posts: 24
Default

Hey Dev workin on the patcher. Ya [email protected]#$ed it up!
__________________


__________________________________________________ ________________

Vis is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-22-2008, 12:30 PM   #9
Cefwyn

Lord
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 2
Default

Same here from two different computers. Sigh. Was online just last night.
Cefwyn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-22-2008, 12:31 PM   #10
Rootfi
Server: The Bazaar
Guild: Mmorpg
Rank: Emperor

General
Rootfi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 4
Default

I too am getting this error. Was just playing when my whole system froze up, had to do a hard restart and now I cant even get to the log in screen.
Rootfi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-22-2008, 12:31 PM   #11
Vizven

Loremaster
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 9
Default

Hey no worries, according to EQ2Players, all servers are up except PVP Test. Priceless SMILEY
Vizven is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-22-2008, 12:33 PM   #12
Miss_Jackie

Loremaster
Miss_Jackie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Philadelphia, PA
Posts: 354
Default

Well, at least I'm not the only one. Bleh.
Miss_Jackie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-22-2008, 12:35 PM   #13
Saroun

Loremaster
Saroun's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 23
Default

Vizven wrote:
Hey no worries, according to EQ2Players, all servers are up except PVP Test. Priceless SMILEY
Well, it does say they are up, not whether you can actually get to them or notSMILEY
Saroun is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-22-2008, 12:38 PM   #14
Xe

General
Xe's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 5
Default

I am in the same boat, thought it was on my side though, glad to know it isn't SMILEY
Xe is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-22-2008, 12:41 PM   #15
Aluryn1

Loremaster
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 6
Default

GoHogs wrote:
Same here - try to start the launcher and after a few seconds get a Network Error and the app crashes

Ditto x 2

However you can launch the game from the exe file,, ignore the launcher its borked.

Aluryn1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-22-2008, 12:43 PM   #16
Birkenstocky

Loremaster
Birkenstocky's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Bane on Crushbone
Posts: 65
Default

As a temporary solution:

 If you are fully patched game wise, you can launch the EQ2.exe and then login to character select until they fix the launcher.

__________________




If you think I'll sit around as the world goes by,


you're thinkin' like a fool, cause it's a case of do or die.


Out there is a fortune waitin' to be had,


you think I'll let it go ... you're mad.


You've got another thing comin'



--Judas Priest


Birkenstocky is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-22-2008, 12:44 PM   #17
Xe

General
Xe's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 5
Default

Btw there's still a way to play the game even though the launcher is down.  Just go in your EQ2 folder, and use the eq2.exe file to load up the game SMILEY
Xe is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-22-2008, 12:45 PM   #18
Necodem

General
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: France
Posts: 325
Default

same here, think it's a general problem.
Necodem is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-22-2008, 12:47 PM   #19
Zenith

General
Zenith's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Baltimore, MD
Posts: 372
Default

Same issue in vista too.

Horray for more untested changes pushed to live code!

Zenith is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-22-2008, 12:55 PM   #20
AinaFV

Loremaster
AinaFV's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 94
Default

Crash details as follows, hope this helps the devs:Problem signature:  Problem Event Name:    APPCRASH  Application Name:    LaunchPad.exe  Application Version:    0.0.0.0  Application Timestamp:    47912fe2  Fault Module Name:    LaunchPad.exe  Fault Module Version:    0.0.0.0  Fault Module Timestamp:    47912fe2  Exception Code:    c0000005  Exception Offset:    00048899  OS Version:    6.0.6000.2.0.0.768.3  Locale ID:    1033  Additional Information 1:    642f  Additional Information 2:    50ebf69746d1c07bf94dc7227f4b05dd  Additional Information 3:    1f21  Additional Information 4:    b098b482c66d5fd5f4a78e8e604698ec
AinaFV is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-22-2008, 01:05 PM   #21
Te'ana

Tester
Te'ana's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Texas
Posts: 1,807
Default

Add my name to the list SMILEY
Te'ana is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-22-2008, 01:06 PM   #22
harleygjc

Loremaster
harleygjc's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 113
Default

same here! was playing ok had a small power cut and had to reboot, then when trying the launcher again I had a launcher.exe dl and and splat! network error each time I try to connect and the launcher crashes! well done soe
harleygjc is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-22-2008, 01:07 PM   #23
Ookami-san

Loremaster
Ookami-san's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Allentown, PA
Posts: 336
Default

I am having the same issue.... Network Error in the patcher, then it bombs.
__________________
_____________________________________

Life is pain Princess! Anyone who tells you differently, is selling something!
Ookami-san is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-22-2008, 01:09 PM   #24
harleygjc

Loremaster
harleygjc's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 113
Default

Xere wrote:
Btw there's still a way to play the game even though the launcher is down.  Just go in your EQ2 folder, and use the eq2.exe file to load up the game SMILEY<img src=">

I've just tried that and still get the network error looks like I'll have to wait for soe to fix it proper! zzzzzzzz ah well!!!

forget that! I tried running EQ2launcher.exe not just EQ2.exe ahem!!! I was getting ahead of myself thinking it was running ok! no idea why I thought that.

harleygjc is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-22-2008, 01:11 PM   #25
Maldacht

Loremaster
Maldacht's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 3
Default

Pirates of the Burning sea goes live through the launcher in less than an hour and my guess is that something happened when they tied the new game into it.  But Ill leave it up to the experts to sort out.  "HEY experts you awake over there?"
Maldacht is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-22-2008, 01:15 PM   #26
Princess Ariel

Loremaster
Princess Ariel's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 196
Default

I am haveing the exact same issue.  What's the deal.
Princess Ariel is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-22-2008, 01:17 PM   #27
Master Lee

Loremaster
Master Lee's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 39
Default

Yes I was able to get on via Eq2.exe file. Thanks
Master Lee is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-22-2008, 01:38 PM   #28
QueenPriscilla

Loremaster
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 4
Default

you can also get in using the Station Launcher beta program  ... however ... just bumping the issue
QueenPriscilla is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-22-2008, 01:41 PM   #29
spooonerism

Loremaster
spooonerism's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 40
Default

After my initial post, I'm now getting the "Network Error".

Obviosly a huge prob their end.

 Sigh.

spooonerism is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-22-2008, 01:47 PM   #30
Clunk

Historian
Clunk's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Arizona
Posts: 5
Default

I cant get in from the launch pad or the exe file. Sure glad I didn't call in sick.
Clunk is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools

Forum Jump


All times are GMT. The time now is 04:38 PM.

vBulletin skin by: CompleteGFX.com
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.5
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
All threads and posts originally from the EQ2 and Station forums operated by Sony Online Entertainment. Their use is by express written permission.