EQ2 Forum Archive @ EQ2Wire

 

Go Back   EQ2 Forum Archive @ EQ2Wire > EverQuest II > Support Forums > Tech Area > Connection Support
Members List Search Mark Forums Read

Notices

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 01-14-2008, 03:08 PM   #1
Equinon

Loremaster
Equinon's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 87
Default

Seems like this issue comes up every few months lately.  For the past 3 days in a row, at various times throughout the day, if i go to switch characters or zone the load screen "hangs" and then gives me the "Lost Connection to Server" message.  This is getting so old ;(

At first, I thought it was my ISP.....seems logical that it would be my ISP.  But, since I use Teamspeak and never lost connection to that (kept chatting with guildmates while this was going on), I can honestly say that I don't think it's my ISP anymore.  Especially since at the exact same time I lost connection, a guildmate in Kentucky and one in Canada (I live in Alabama) also lost connection with the same message.  SO, All 3 ISP's would have to of had the same issue at exactly the same time, OR SoE is having issues and placing the blame on ISP's when it's their own servers.

So, I would like to know if anybody at SOE is dealing with these ONGOING issues of losing server connection ( and then usually having to wait up to an hour before it will let us back in) or if they are going to keep blaming ISP's for this.  When people are talking about it in chat channel text, it's taking place in different states all across the country, and it's not during scheduled server downtime.........then it would be nice to know that SOE is actually working on this.

__________________
Using a dependable guild site......Bona_Amici.guildportal.com
Equinon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-14-2008, 03:26 PM   #2
Equinon

Loremaster
Equinon's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 87
Default

Not sure if it helps any.......But the game is "Hanging" on the "Creating Entities" section of the load screen when it loses connection or whatever the heck it's doing.  Been 40 minutes now, 8 attempts to get back in, able to surf the net, connect to TS and use any online program I desire........EXCEPT EQ2 ;(

Please, please fix this issue.

__________________
Using a dependable guild site......Bona_Amici.guildportal.com
Equinon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-14-2008, 04:10 PM   #3
Salvati
Server: Runnyeye
Guild: Veni Vidi Vici
Rank: Tirones

General
Salvati's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 19
Default

Same issue, receiving entities, then asks for PW again then tries to connect to server 1, 2 etc etc.

Was like ths just after ROK launched, now since last friday peak time in EU is a nitemare.

I play on ant bayle too!

Salvati is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-14-2008, 04:16 PM   #4
shadowdragon665

Loremaster
shadowdragon665's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: The frozen NorthEast
Posts: 19
Default

A friend and I were adventuring together a couple nights back, and when I tried to wizzie port us, the game froze for us both. Even after rebooting our PCs we kept getting the "Lost Connection" error. Which BTW, went on for over an hour until we got frustrated and called it a night.I agree, this is getting old, as it happens far too often. Hmm, I wonder if SOE will cedit our accounts for the down time?I mean seriously, if I wanted to deal with these types of aggravations on a regular basis, I'd still be playing Vanguard.
shadowdragon665 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-14-2008, 08:49 PM   #5
Equinon

Loremaster
Equinon's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 87
Default

AAAAARRRRGGGGHHH!!!!!!!!!!!!

Seriously now, finally got on after 15 attempts and about an hour..............played for 2.5 hours and then got booted......AGAIN!!!!!!!!!!

Now it's been OVER 1 HOUR and still losing connection to server on the "Creating Entities" section of the load screen.  I tested this and it is actually DISCONNECTING MY CONNECTION!!

This is getting sooooo old...........every few months........exactly the same thing........exactly the same connection issue.........lasts for the entire weekend........then good for another few months only to start all over again SMILEY  Seriously making start looking at what other MMoRPG's are out there that will actually let me play them!!

Fix this already and don't even try the it's an ISP or you have a Router joke........guildmates are having this issue that are NOT running a router and this is happening all over the country AND in Canada.  (not sure about the rest of the world)

Getting soooo tired of this issue ;(

__________________
Using a dependable guild site......Bona_Amici.guildportal.com
Equinon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-15-2008, 05:02 PM   #6
Jays
Server: Runnyeye
Guild: Beyond Divine
Rank: Alt

Loremaster
Jays's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 12
Default

Am getting the exact same problem here in England, game runs fine then peak time EU hits and boom, try to zone and the game hangs there and won't let me log in again. Surfing the net is no problem, same as running other online applications. Done a bandwidth test online and am clocked as running at 4-5mb/s yet the EQ2 launcher hangs at the loading screen with no sign of movement. Tried disabling firewall, resetting all connection settings and even a full un-install of EQ2 all to no avail. If someone from customer support could give some info on if this is a known problem and if/when it will be fixed please.Jays Farseer - Runnyeye
Jays is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-16-2008, 02:02 PM   #7
Equinon

Loremaster
Equinon's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 87
Default

Today marks the SIXTH straight day of this issue.  Can play from time to time for 2-3 hours, then bam...down from anywhere of 1 hour to 3 hours without being able to log into the game.  SIX STRAIGHT DAYS......yep, I'm getting extremely peeved at this point cause the game isn't free and i'm paying for that inability to log into the game ;(
__________________
Using a dependable guild site......Bona_Amici.guildportal.com
Equinon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-16-2008, 05:17 PM   #8
Salvati
Server: Runnyeye
Guild: Veni Vidi Vici
Rank: Tirones

General
Salvati's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 19
Default

I am in scotland, same issues as before, peak times are no play, and dont say ISP because i can still play another 3 MMORPGs no issues.

SOE dont even respond, so cmon AOC hurry up!!

Salvati is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-20-2008, 12:16 AM   #9
Equinon

Loremaster
Equinon's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 87
Default

Made it 1.5 days without dropping the connection.......Now it's back AGAIN!

Not sure about every server or whatever, but on Lucan, there are many many many people complaining about the lag spikes and server drops that have started happening within the past week or two.  How sad.....Sony forget to turn the hearing aids on.....they don't have a clue.

__________________
Using a dependable guild site......Bona_Amici.guildportal.com
Equinon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-21-2008, 04:34 PM   #10
Jacke
Server: Vox
Guild: Voodoo
Rank: Knight Grand Commander

Loremaster
Jacke's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 9
Default

i think its something to do with the message that now appears when you zone, something like "please wait before you change your illusion form again" or something like that

everytime i log in the option "hide my illusion form" is always checked...i have to uncheck it all the time even though i try to save everything. and now that message keeps appearing when you zone its possibly causing it to hang?

Jacke is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools

Forum Jump


All times are GMT. The time now is 07:59 PM.

vBulletin skin by: CompleteGFX.com
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.5
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
All threads and posts originally from the EQ2 and Station forums operated by Sony Online Entertainment. Their use is by express written permission.