EQ2 Forum Archive @ EQ2Wire

 

Go Back   EQ2 Forum Archive @ EQ2Wire > EverQuest II > Chains of Eternity Beta > General (CoE Beta) > User Interface
Members List Search Mark Forums Read

Notices

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 10-22-2012, 09:04 PM   #1
ChrissyFaey

Loremaster
ChrissyFaey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 231
Default

It feels fairly obnoxious taking up such a large portion of the character window on paid accounts. Maybe on F2P ... but eh. Should just stay in the SC Marketplace or be a right-click pop-up once folks have a Krono in their inventory.

ChrissyFaey is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-22-2012, 11:41 PM   #2
Aneova
Server: Kithicor
Guild: Masters of the Universe
Rank: Raider

Loremaster
Aneova's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 1,027
Default

agree, i don't need a bauble button on my char window nor can i think of any reason anyone really needs such a thing, heck put it in the currency window if anything.

__________________
http://forums.station.sony.com/eq2/posts/list.m?topic_id=438341

Originally Posted by Smed: I've been a regular lurker on this site for a while but I wanted to step in here and dispel something that's just plain not true - I don't have my name highlighted here, but anyone that doubts it's me can email me at [email protected] and I'll happily reply. We aren't going to be allowing RMT in any way, shape or form on the non-exchange enabled EQ II servers. Period. End of statement. In any event, I wanted to stop in and at least set the record straight - you aren't going to be seeing RMT allowed on the non-exchange enabled servers.

John Smedley President, Sony Online Entertainment
Aneova is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-23-2012, 01:02 AM   #3
redwoodtreesprite

Loremaster
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Posts: 266
Default

I was just about to make a thread on this myself.  This isn't Turbine.  That Krono thing is so in one's face that it is horrible. 

I do not want to have to see it whenever I open the character window. 

Please, the Krono is a fantastic idea, and it will be heavily bought.  You do not need to be obnoxious in promoting it in this way!

redwoodtreesprite is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-23-2012, 01:08 AM   #4
ZUES

Loremaster
ZUES's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 814
Default

+1

Wayyyy to big and obtrusive.

ZUES is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-23-2012, 06:36 AM   #5
Atini

Loremaster
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Posts: 10
Default

+1 more.. I think it is too big and makes the character window look tacky
Atini is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-23-2012, 11:32 AM   #6
Senya

Loremaster
Senya's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: The Ironforge Exchange
Posts: 1,754
Default

/agree.  Please get rid of this on the character window. 

__________________

Click image for a list of my completed projects.

Senya is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-23-2012, 04:20 PM   #7
Xephier
Server: Guk

Loremaster
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 122
Default

Indeed, was about to start this thread myself, I aready sent in a feedback on it. This is a very "in your face" style of marketing and I hate it, I personally avoid opening my inventory window on beta server.

Xephier is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-23-2012, 04:49 PM   #8
Aotulan
Server: Guk
Guild: Guardians of Valor
Rank: Royal Crusader

Loremaster
Aotulan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 36
Default

/agree
Aotulan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-23-2012, 05:58 PM   #9
LizardKin

Loremaster
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 12
Default

I agree fully that having the Krono right in the character window is intrusive and aggravating.  Please listen to us when we say we want it in a less invasive location, such as the Marketplace window.  I understand you want to promote sales of this new item, but get it out of our faces, please.

LizardKin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-23-2012, 07:05 PM   #10
Neiloch

Loremaster
Neiloch's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Southern California
Posts: 1,430
Default

I really don't mind but yeah I would prefer it be somewhere else. Give it a section on the main menu and marketplace window.

I assume this is part of their whole 'point of use' philosophy since those are meant to make in game plat so they put it by the plat window.

__________________
Neiloch is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-23-2012, 08:15 PM   #11
Cyliena
Server: Everfrost
Guild: Crusaders of Neriak
Rank: Colonel

Fansite Staff
Cyliena's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 3,798
Default

LizardKin wrote:

I agree fully that having the Krono right in the character window is intrusive and aggravating.  Please listen to us when we say we want it in a less invasive location, such as the Marketplace window.  I understand you want to promote sales of this new item, but get it out of our faces, please.

While I agree with it being ugly in the character window, I can't imagine why it'd be put in the Marketplace window. They're not related at all. Either make it smaller or move it to the currency pane.

Cyliena is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-23-2012, 08:56 PM   #12
Lodrelhai

Loremaster
Lodrelhai's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 1,271
Default

The Krono is (or will be) sold on the Marketplace, why wouldn't it be there?

I agree that the character/inventory window is not the place for it.  Don't know about the currency window being a good alternative, but outside the marketplace I'm not sure what would be a good place for it.  Maybe in the Stats popout, under the Miscellaneous heading - account age and subscription level are there, so it'd at least be related.

Lodrelhai is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-23-2012, 11:17 PM   #13
Regolas

Loremaster
Regolas's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Posts: 603
Default

To the OP, no point being on f2p as they have no use for plat with the plat restrictions!
Regolas is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-24-2012, 03:38 AM   #14
Calthine

ZAM EQII
Calthine's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 7,439
Default

That's part of the "Point of Need" push Smokejumper mentioned at SOE Live. While I agree users need to be educated on available items, that's just fugly.  Please at least give us an opt-out.

__________________





Please visit my non-gaming Blog! or follow me on Twitter!

Calthine is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-24-2012, 10:12 AM   #15
Whilhelmina
Server: Storms
Guild: Les Furies d Innoruuk
Rank: Matriarches

Tester
Whilhelmina's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: France (Storms)
Posts: 3,161
Default

Hubby account reverted to silver last week and when he logged in, he got a window spawning prompting him to upgrade to gold. So, if you already have intrusive popups for silvers, why not add the Krono there instead of on the personna window? The target audiance would get the message and the already-gold subs could always check in the Marketplace.

Hopefully, having customed my interface to the pre UI-revamp GU, it's way less intrusive (I don't have an SC icon in my files for example) but still!

__________________
French Tradeskill Guide and my houses.

Whilhelmina is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-24-2012, 07:24 PM   #16
Cyliena
Server: Everfrost
Guild: Crusaders of Neriak
Rank: Colonel

Fansite Staff
Cyliena's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 3,798
Default

Lodrelhai wrote:

The Krono is (or will be) sold on the Marketplace, why wouldn't it be there?

No, it won't be.

Cyliena is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-24-2012, 08:06 PM   #17
Xephier
Server: Guk

Loremaster
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 122
Default

Cyliena wrote:

Lodrelhai wrote:

The Krono is (or will be) sold on the Marketplace, why wouldn't it be there?

No, it won't be.

It should be, it will be sold for SC, put it on marketplace with everything else sold for SC, or give people some one time popup letting them know it's on marketplace, but not some perminant in your face method like this.

Xephier is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-24-2012, 08:19 PM   #18
Geothe

Loremaster
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 2,098
Default

[email protected] wrote:

Cyliena wrote:

Lodrelhai wrote:

The Krono is (or will be) sold on the Marketplace, why wouldn't it be there?

No, it won't be.

It should be, it will be sold for SC, put it on marketplace with everything else sold for SC, or give people some one time popup letting them know it's on marketplace, but not some perminant in your face method like this.

Krono will not be sold for SC.  SC has been completely devalued due to all the double/triple SC cash bonuses.

Krono on the marketplace would be a direct link to charging your registered CC, just like when you buy SC through the marketplace.

__________________
Smed: We aren't going to be allowing RMT in any way, shape or form on the non-exchange enabled EQ II servers. Period. End of statement.

Smed: 5) This [LoN] is not some slippery slope towards selling items directly in EQ & EQ II.

Lie #3: Station Cash. Enough Said.

Geothe is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-24-2012, 08:21 PM   #19
Dexella

Community Relations
Dexella's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Posts: 477
Default

[email protected] wrote:

Cyliena wrote:

Lodrelhai wrote:

The Krono is (or will be) sold on the Marketplace, why wouldn't it be there?

No, it won't be.

It should be, it will be sold for SC, put it on marketplace with everything else sold for SC, or give people some one time popup letting them know it's on marketplace, but not some perminant in your face method like this.

Highlighting for emphasis -- as stated in the FAQ, Krono will be available for real money only. You will not be buying it for SC; it will operate similar to memberships or expansions. 

__________________
*Dexella*

Community Relations Manager
Dexella is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-24-2012, 08:37 PM   #20
Finora

Tester
Finora's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 3,423
Default

I'll chime in about how ugly I think it is in the UI as well. It really just doesn't look good, doesn't flow with where it is located.

Finora is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-25-2012, 05:28 PM   #21
Grumpy_Warrior_01

Loremaster
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 528
Default

I vote for moving it to the Currency tab of the Persona window, or better yet to the Marketplace window.  It enlarges the Persona window unnecesarily and none of the information on the other tabs is improved by the larger size.  There is plenty of room on the Currency tab.  Kronos are not something you're going to use every time you log in or even once a week, so why is it on the front page of one of the most-used interface pieces in the entire game?

Grumpy_Warrior_01 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-25-2012, 11:50 PM   #22
lodgepark8485

Loremaster
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Posts: 30
Default

Obnoxious is the first word that comes to mind! Something like that belongs on the broker window with realtime updates on plat price for it on one side, real life currency on the other.  Just about anyone on gold membership uses broker for something quite often.  As for silver... I read somewhere you already have a pop up saying to buy gold membership add it there.

lodgepark8485 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-26-2012, 05:23 AM   #23
NG23985_01

Loremaster
NG23985_01's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 116
Default

The Character window is already bloated and inefficient. We don't need the addition of the Kronos to it too! While we're talking about the inefficiency of the gigantic Character window, could we please get back the old Inventory & Persona windows? The old windows displayed the same information as the Character window, yet both windows combined use less space on the screen compared to the Character window. I miss the original windows because they were small and efficient. The character window is just too big and messy.

There are only so many pixels on my screen, and EQ2 keeps using up more and more of them.

  1. Loss of the space-efficient Inventory & Persona Windows
  2. SoEMote adding 64 extra vertical pixels to th Group window and it cannot be resized to the original size
  3. Kronos on the already oversized Character window. The character window now takes up more than 25% of my total screen area.

Please correct these UI inefficiencies, but especially the Kronos on the character window.

NG23985_01 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-29-2012, 09:08 AM   #24
feldon30

Fansite Staff
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 5,424
Default

Persona window is the right place for it, but it's too big as others have said.

Left: The new Persona window with large Krono "Buy" and "Use" buttons at the bottom. Right: My mockup for a more subdued Krono interface. Clicking the left arrow would show the BUY screen. Clicking the right arrow would show a window explaining how Krono can be traded, and asking if you want to redeem a Krono for a 30-day Subscription extension.
feldon30 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-29-2012, 09:34 AM   #25
Avianna
Server: Butcherblock
Guild: Ronin
Rank: Officer

Loremaster
Avianna's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Anchorage Alaska
Posts: 435
Default

still obtrusive Feldon put it in the marketplace and get it the **** off my UI!

That is my character screen NOT a billboard!

My post on the subject:

http://forums.station.sony.com/eq2/...topic_id=523647

__________________
Avianna is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-29-2012, 09:43 AM   #26
feldon30

Fansite Staff
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 5,424
Default

[email protected] wrote:

still obtrusive Feldon put it in the marketplace and get it the **** off my UI!

That is my character screen NOT a billboard!

My post on the subject:

http://forums.station.sony.com/eq2/...topic_id=523647

It doesn't belong in the Marketplace because it has nothing to do with StationCash.

It's an in-game currency that you can trade with or gift to other players.

feldon30 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-29-2012, 10:40 AM   #27
Boethius_Permafrost

Loremaster
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 335
Default

You have my credit card number on file with automatic billing for a reason.

I do not want to be hastled about my subscription. Do not test me in this regard.

Boethius_Permafrost is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-29-2012, 10:52 AM   #28
feldon30

Fansite Staff
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 5,424
Default

[email protected] wrote:

Do not test me in this regard.

Do not taunt happy fun ball.

feldon30 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-29-2012, 11:09 AM   #29
isest

Loremaster
isest's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 653
Default

I hope that drums ui has this modded out.  Honestly why did they go this route, this is not lotro and I don't need reminds of what I can or should buy trust me if I want it I can find it without being prompted.

isest is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-29-2012, 11:23 AM   #30
Arweena69

Loremaster
Arweena69's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 105
Default

feldon30 wrote:

[email protected] wrote:

still obtrusive Feldon put it in the marketplace and get it the **** off my UI!

That is my character screen NOT a billboard!

My post on the subject:

http://forums.station.sony.com/eq2/...topic_id=523647

It doesn't belong in the Marketplace because it has nothing to do with StationCash.

It's an in-game currency that you can trade with or gift to other players.

there is still a section in the market place for subscriptions, which no longer can be bought with station cash ... imo the krono should go there.

Arweena69 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools

Forum Jump


All times are GMT. The time now is 05:50 PM.

vBulletin skin by: CompleteGFX.com
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.5
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
All threads and posts originally from the EQ2 and Station forums operated by Sony Online Entertainment. Their use is by express written permission.