EQ2 Forum Archive @ EQ2Wire

 

Go Back   EQ2 Forum Archive @ EQ2Wire > EverQuest II > Support Forums > Tech Area > General Tech Support Questions
Members List Search Mark Forums Read

Notices

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 02-27-2008, 10:05 PM   #1
Onorem

Loremaster
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Minnesota
Posts: 1,155
Default

Built a new computer a few weeks ago, and I'm having trouble logging in.I had it working for about a week (although usually not for more than 15 minutes at a time), but haven't been able to get past "trying login server #" for a couple weeks now.E84008800GTSVista-64I have my firewall turned off. (Windows firewall is also off)I have my antivirus turned off.I've gone to the Sony folder in both Program Files and Program Files (x86) and given full control to all users.Tried running as Administrator with both XP and 2000 compatibility.Is there anything obvious that anyone could suggest I might have missed?I'm enjoying Crysis, The Witcher, and Oblivion...but I'd prefer to be able to log into the game I'm paying the monthly fee for...Any help/suggestions would be appreciated.
__________________
_________________________________
"EQ2 is not a "free to play" game, so microtransactions are unlikely to ever have the "front seat" role that they have in F2P games" - SmokeJumper - 4/20/2010
Onorem is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-28-2008, 01:41 PM   #2
TSR-DanT

Customer Service
TSR-DanT's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 520
Default

If possible, try connecting directly to the modem, with out the router.Also instead of turning off the software, try adding our game to your security software's exception/ignore list.
TSR-DanT is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-29-2008, 12:34 PM   #3
Onorem

Loremaster
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Minnesota
Posts: 1,155
Default

TSR-DanT wrote:
If possible, try connecting directly to the modem, with out the router.Also instead of turning off the software, try adding our game to your security software's exception/ignore list.
Thanks for the suggestions. I was able to log in after adding the game to the firewall's exception list last night. It still seems odd that the firewall would be the problem when it was turned off, but I won't complain as long as I can connect.
__________________
_________________________________
"EQ2 is not a "free to play" game, so microtransactions are unlikely to ever have the "front seat" role that they have in F2P games" - SmokeJumper - 4/20/2010
Onorem is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-29-2008, 05:03 PM   #4
Laedarr

Loremaster
Laedarr's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 161
Default

Onorem wrote:
Built a new computer a few weeks ago, and I'm having trouble logging in.I had it working for about a week (although usually not for more than 15 minutes at a time), but haven't been able to get past "trying login server #" for a couple weeks now.E84008800GTSVista-64I have my firewall turned off. (Windows firewall is also off)I have my antivirus turned off.I've gone to the Sony folder in both Program Files and Program Files (x86) and given full control to all users.Tried running as Administrator with both XP and 2000 compatibility.Is there anything obvious that anyone could suggest I might have missed?I'm enjoying Crysis, The Witcher, and Oblivion...but I'd prefer to be able to log into the game I'm paying the monthly fee for...Any help/suggestions would be appreciated.
If you check back to this post, let me know how the E8400 along with the 8800GTS runs EQ2.  I'm looking at the same chip and vid card.  Thanks.
Laedarr is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-04-2008, 11:21 AM   #5
Onorem

Loremaster
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Minnesota
Posts: 1,155
Default

Laedarr wrote:
Onorem wrote:
...E84008800GTS...
If you check back to this post, let me know how the E8400 along with the 8800GTS runs EQ2.  I'm looking at the same chip and vid card.  Thanks.
The 8800GTS is a (G92) 512MB version. While I've been able to play, I have no complaints about this pair of components. I don't have any performance numbers, and I haven't had a chance to raid yet, but I can run through town on Extreme Quality without noticing lag.I'm happy with them. It's like a brand new game coming from a 3000+ and 5500FX.
__________________
_________________________________
"EQ2 is not a "free to play" game, so microtransactions are unlikely to ever have the "front seat" role that they have in F2P games" - SmokeJumper - 4/20/2010
Onorem is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools

Forum Jump


All times are GMT. The time now is 10:18 AM.

vBulletin skin by: CompleteGFX.com
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.5
Copyright ©2000 - 2021, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
All threads and posts originally from the EQ2 and Station forums operated by Sony Online Entertainment. Their use is by express written permission.