EQ2 Forum Archive @ EQ2Wire

 

Go Back   EQ2 Forum Archive @ EQ2Wire > EverQuest II > Support Forums > Tech Area > Performance Support
Members List Search Mark Forums Read

Notices

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 09-02-2008, 01:06 PM   #1
Xabanak

Loremaster
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 1
Default

I've had this problem off and on for the last 3 weeks. I had it for a week straight, then a patch fixed it, a day later, another patch and it was there again. 3 more days, a patch fixed the initial crashing, but I would crash after a few hours of playing. Then another patch and the loading crash was happening again. It's been doing the loading crash ever since.I run the launcher, it scans, I select my character from the quick select screen, hit play. The game runs, it starts to load the zone, then dumps me to the desktop. Sometimes there's an error, sometimes there's no error.This happens on both PC's in my house. I've tried bypassing my router, reinstalling everquest 2, clearing the cache and executable. One of the PC's had XP, I reinstalled to Vista, changed hardware, and had no change. The other PC has been constant (running vista).Help?Edit: This happens on every character in any zone, and on both station accounts.
Xabanak is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-04-2008, 04:39 PM   #2
TSR-TrevorG

Tech Support
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: San Diego
Posts: 2,052
Default

Could be an account issue, please PM me your station name.
__________________
Ribbit

EMAIL SUPPORT | IN GAME SUPPORT | CHAT SUPPORT | KNOWLEDGE BASE SEARCH
Phone Support 858-537-0898 Mon-Fri 10-7PM PST


TSR-TrevorG is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-12-2008, 07:28 PM   #3
Suraklin

Loremaster
Suraklin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 350
Default

When trying to zone into these zones East Freeport and Qeynos Harbor I continually get kicked to my Character select screen when the game tries to connect to zone server. This is happening on multiple characters not just one of them. It's mainly happening in these two zones if I try to zone into one of them. When I try to enter the game from character select I usually get a disconnect and some generic response saying the server may be backlogged and to try again later. This didn't start happening until you "fixed a client stability issue" as it said in your most recent update notes on 9-10-08. You caused my client to become unstable in the process while fixing everyone elses it seems.

I've tried resetting my modem, router and firewall and still get the same dump to character select after doing that. Do I need to send you my info too incase it's an account problem?

__________________
Relax...it's just an update for the patch to fix the nerf that nerfed the fix for the update of the patch that broke the fix that was fixed on the previous nerf they called an update...

Friends don't let friends ask for another classes nerf.
Suraklin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-12-2008, 07:34 PM   #4
TSR-DanielH

Customer Service
TSR-DanielH's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
Posts: 5,593
Default

Suraklin wrote:

When trying to zone into these zones East Freeport and Qeynos Harbor I continually get kicked to my Character select screen when the game tries to connect to zone server. This is happening on multiple characters not just one of them. It's mainly happening in these two zones if I try to zone into one of them. When I try to enter the game from character select I usually get a disconnect and some generic response saying the server may be backlogged and to try again later. This didn't start happening until you "fixed a client stability issue" as it said in your most recent update notes on 9-10-08. You caused my client to become unstable in the process while fixing everyone elses it seems.

I've tried resetting my modem, router and firewall and still get the same dump to character select after doing that. Do I need to send you my info too incase it's an account problem?

Greetings,That doesn't sound like a client stability issue.  It actually sounds like a port that the game needs to use for those zones is being blocked by your router.  Are you running a router with that system?  If so then you may want to try bypassing it temporarily by plugging your computer directly into the modem.  This will help us determine whether or not the router is causing the problem.
__________________
Daniel H

Technical Support Representative

Sony Online Entertainment
TSR-DanielH is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-12-2008, 07:47 PM   #5
Suraklin

Loremaster
Suraklin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 350
Default

One thing I forgot to mention is if I log into the game using a character not in one of these zones and then camp I can usually log into my character who is in the zones I keep getting kicked to character select on.
__________________
Relax...it's just an update for the patch to fix the nerf that nerfed the fix for the update of the patch that broke the fix that was fixed on the previous nerf they called an update...

Friends don't let friends ask for another classes nerf.
Suraklin is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools

Forum Jump


All times are GMT. The time now is 12:32 AM.

vBulletin skin by: CompleteGFX.com
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.5
Copyright ©2000 - 2022, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
All threads and posts originally from the EQ2 and Station forums operated by Sony Online Entertainment. Their use is by express written permission.