EQ2 Forum Archive @ EQ2Wire

 

Go Back   EQ2 Forum Archive @ EQ2Wire > EverQuest II > Support Forums > Tech Area > Connection Support
Members List Search Mark Forums Read

Notices

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 10-22-2012, 04:45 PM   #1
Ryptide
Server: Permafrost

Loremaster
Ryptide's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 128
Default

Everything appears as normal.  Launcher updated, validated files, click play new screen pops up that's all black and then the game crashes.  I can log into live without any issues.

Ryptide is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-22-2012, 04:56 PM   #2
Ryptide
Server: Permafrost

Loremaster
Ryptide's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 128
Default

In my betaserver folder i found an alert log with the following

build="SOEBuild=9271" version="SOEVersionString=2012/10/15 23:00:23" build_type="USER OPTIMIZED" ls_address="none" zone="" loc="  0.00   0.00   0.00" performance="3" alert="G:deveq2frameworkvdlVdlErr.cpp(85): (VDL Parser) runtimevdl/cbaseclasses.vdl(22) : Error, File not found, runtimevdl/soemote.vdl.

"

Not sure if that helps or not..

Ryptide is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-22-2012, 07:53 PM   #3
Ryptide
Server: Permafrost

Loremaster
Ryptide's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 128
Default

Any help at all would be greatly appreciated.

Ryptide is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-22-2012, 07:56 PM   #4
ZUES

Loremaster
ZUES's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 814
Default

Same thing happened to a friend and I. Im guessing they took the server down.

ZUES is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-23-2012, 01:26 AM   #5
Ryptide
Server: Permafrost

Loremaster
Ryptide's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 128
Default

ZUES wrote:

Same thing happened to a friend and I. Im guessing they took the server down.

Except it's happening while the beta servers are up.

Ryptide is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-23-2012, 02:40 PM   #6
Ryptide
Server: Permafrost

Loremaster
Ryptide's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 128
Default

More info.. for each time the game crashes on launch there are actually two alerts placed in the alert log file in the BetaServer folder.

build="SOEBuild=9279" version="SOEVersionString=2012/10/21 22:59:44" build_type="USER OPTIMIZED" ls_address="none" zone="" loc="  0.00   0.00   0.00" performance="3" alert="G:deveq2frameworkvdlVdlErr.cpp(85): (VDL Parser) runtimevdl/cbaseclasses.vdl(21) : Error, File not found, runtimevdl/services.vdl."

build="SOEBuild=9279" version="SOEVersionString=2012/10/21 22:59:44" build_type="USER OPTIMIZED" ls_address="none" zone="" loc="  0.00   0.00   0.00" performance="3" alert="G:deveq2frameworkvdlVdlErr.cpp(85): (VDL Parser) runtimevdl/cbaseclasses.vdl(22) : Error, File not found, runtimevdl/soemote.vdl."

Ryptide is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-23-2012, 03:02 PM   #7
Denon

Loremaster
Denon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 147
Default

Same exact thing - screen goes black and then it just stays black....

Looks like my log is also the same:

build="SOEBuild=9279" version="SOEVersionString=2012/10/21 22:59:44" build_type="USER OPTIMIZED" ls_address="none" zone="" loc="  0.00   0.00   0.00" performance="3" alert="G:deveq2frameworkvdlVdlErr.cpp(85): (VDL Parser) runtimevdl/cbaseclasses.vdl(21) : Error, File not found, runtimevdl/services.vdl."build="SOEBuild=9279" version="SOEVersionString=2012/10/21 22:59:44" build_type="USER OPTIMIZED" ls_address="none" zone="" loc="  0.00   0.00   0.00" performance="3" alert="G:deveq2frameworkvdlVdlErr.cpp(85): (VDL Parser) runtimevdl/cbaseclasses.vdl(22) : Error, File not found, runtimevdl/soemote.vdl."

__________________


----------------------- [ Permafrost Server] -----------------
Thomm ... Qeynos 92/320 Troubador, 92 Carpenter, T9 (450) Transmuter
Denon ..... Qeynos 90/320 Warden, 90 Tailor
Draziw ..... Freeport 92/320 Wizard, 90 Sage
Jacuzzi .... Freeport 92/320 Necromancer, 90 Woodworker
Steab ...... Qeynos 92/320 Guardian, 90 Armorer, T9 (450) Tinker
----------------------------------------------------------------



.....(-.-).....

Denon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-23-2012, 03:34 PM   #8
Nitini

Loremaster
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 1
Default

I am having same issue IS there a fix

Nitini is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-23-2012, 05:10 PM   #9
Ryptide
Server: Permafrost

Loremaster
Ryptide's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 128
Default

Try clicking the everquest.exe inside your beta folder.  If you got the same error I did it was a Dx9 dll file that was missing.  I went to the Microsoft site and downloaded and installed the updater for version Dx 9c and earlier versions.  After I did that I can log into both live and beta without any issues.

Ryptide is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-23-2012, 06:11 PM   #10
Hordolin Awanagin

Tester
Hordolin Awanagin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 338
Default

More info, solution, and dev post.

http://forums.station.sony.com/eq2/...topic_id=523170

__________________
Hordolin Awanagin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-29-2012, 10:19 PM   #11
TSR-AlexS

Customer Service
TSR-AlexS's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Posts: 435
Default

Please refer to the link the last poster provided above ^.

__________________
Alexander S

Technical Support Representative

Sony Online Entertainment

How to Contact Support:

https://help.station.sony.com/app/answers/detail/a_id/28939

How to Create a DXDIAG/MSINFO

https://help.station.sony.com/app/answers/detail/a_id/28973
TSR-AlexS is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools

Forum Jump


All times are GMT. The time now is 11:36 PM.

vBulletin skin by: CompleteGFX.com
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.5
Copyright ©2000 - 2021, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
All threads and posts originally from the EQ2 and Station forums operated by Sony Online Entertainment. Their use is by express written permission.