EQ2 Forum Archive @ EQ2Wire

 

Go Back   EQ2 Forum Archive @ EQ2Wire > EverQuest II > Chains of Eternity Beta > General (CoE Beta) > General Discussion
Members List Search Mark Forums Read

Notices

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 10-23-2012, 08:14 PM   #1
Zaathaan

Loremaster
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 39
Default

As I wrote in another topic : all my characters were copied to the beta server, except my main : "Rahotep"

When I have both character selection screens (on the storms server and on the beta server), and I send a request to copy my main character "Rahotep", a few seconds later I have on the beta character selection screen the message " Sorry, but that character name is reserved or too naughty " . And that's it : If I try to create on the beta server a character with the name "Rahotep", which is my main character's name on Storms server, I cannot because that name is reserved or too naughty...! I guess that's why my character Rahotep cannot be copied on the beta server !

I think other players may have the same probs, seeing some posts.

Please, fix that to allow to copy characters with names " too naughty " since they already exists on other servers, or rename them on the beta server with a X at the end for example (like RahotepX).

Thanks !

Zaathaan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-23-2012, 09:13 PM   #2
Cryonax_Beltane

Elder
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Posts: 1
Default

This seems plausible, as I was also having issues with my main character transferring and expected that it was due to naming issues.  

Cryonax_Beltane is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-23-2012, 10:24 PM   #3
Autheas

Loremaster
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 16
Default

Hmmm... If I remember correctly its because it is a reserved name (not that it is naughty). the game auto reserves the names of all Nameds, and for the english servers Rahotep is one of the named, but it might not be over on Storms? (isn't that a EU non-english server)...

Autheas is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-23-2012, 11:14 PM   #4
Zaathaan

Loremaster
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 39
Default

Yes Rahotep was a pharaoh in real life, and is a QH named in EQ2. I took that name before they decided to reserve the name of mobs, for example, one of my GL was Nexona.

But this is not the subject of that thread, the subject is : I found why I cannot copy my main char on the beta server, now please fix it ! SMILEY

Zaathaan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-24-2012, 10:05 AM   #5
Whilhelmina
Server: Storms
Guild: Les Furies d Innoruuk
Rank: Matriarches

Tester
Whilhelmina's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: France (Storms)
Posts: 3,161
Default

Just a quick note to tell you that you're apparently correct on your naughtyness assumption. Terrogaunt had to change the "xxxx" system for multiples copies of the same name because "xxx" was naughty and so it went with xxyyxx and so on.

Now the best would perhaps be to remove name filters on the beta server instead of having to create weird loopholes to go around the problems.

__________________
French Tradeskill Guide and my houses.

Whilhelmina is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-24-2012, 08:29 PM   #6
Zaathaan

Loremaster
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 39
Default

Ok let's start.

25/10 : No answer, no ETA, no fix

See u tomorrow ! ^^

Zaathaan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-25-2012, 09:50 PM   #7
Zaathaan

Loremaster
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 39
Default

26/10 : No answer, no ETA, no fix

See u tomorrow ! ^^

Zaathaan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-26-2012, 10:18 AM   #8
CoLD MeTaL

Loremaster
CoLD MeTaL's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 3,217
Default

[email protected] wrote:

26/10 : No answer, no ETA, no fix

See u tomorrow ! ^^

I could report your name on live and have it changed.  Then it would copy.

__________________


CoLD MeTaL is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-26-2012, 11:09 AM   #9
Zaathaan

Loremaster
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 39
Default

CoLD MeTaL wrote:

I could report your name on live and have it changed.  Then it would copy.

You didn't read, i don't want my name to be changed since I like it, Dear Caldmetol. I just want my char to be copied SMILEY

Zaathaan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-26-2012, 09:38 PM   #10
Zaathaan

Loremaster
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 39
Default

 

27/10 : No answer, no ETA, no fix

See u tomorrow ! ^^

Zaathaan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-27-2012, 12:49 PM   #11
therealnakorox

Lord
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Posts: 36
Default

[email protected] wrote:

CoLD MeTaL wrote:

I could report your name on live and have it changed.  Then it would copy.

You didn't read, i don't want my name to be changed since I like it, Dear Caldmetol. I just want my char to be copied

I think they read it and understood it... I liked the solution. Your name is not offensive to me at all but there are people that still have inappropriate names that somehow slipped by the filters. "But I have had it for a long time..." should not make it ok if they are violating the rules.

If a GM/Dev gets involved in this do you really think they will publicly say "Yes, this is against our current naming policy but for you we will ignore that.". I am sure many also have requested names that have been denied would love to have a GM/Dev say in open forum "We make special exceptions if you post on the SOE forums and flood us with emails"

therealnakorox is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-27-2012, 02:24 PM   #12
Whilhelmina
Server: Storms
Guild: Les Furies d Innoruuk
Rank: Matriarches

Tester
Whilhelmina's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: France (Storms)
Posts: 3,161
Default

Well, the tip Terrogaunt gave was to contact CS and ask them to remove the name from the filter list on Beta Server to allow copy.

There is also the little fact that english name filter is quite irrelevent on a french server. If I want to call myself "Crap eau" (toad) on Storms, should I be denied it there because part of the name is "offensive" on US/UK servers? Same goes with stuff like "peti t" which means "small" and gets filtered by the filter tool all the time because it's supposed to mean a breast part for it...

__________________
French Tradeskill Guide and my houses.

Whilhelmina is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-27-2012, 03:30 PM   #13
therealnakorox

Lord
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Posts: 36
Default

[email protected] wrote:

Well, the tip Terrogaunt gave was to contact CS and ask them to remove the name from the filter list on Beta Server to allow copy.

There is also the little fact that english name filter is quite irrelevent on a french server. If I want to call myself "Crap eau" (toad) on Storms, should I be denied it there because part of the name is "offensive" on US/UK servers? Same goes with stuff like "peti t" which means "small" and gets filtered by the filter tool all the time because it's supposed to mean a breast part for it...

They admitted they know the name is used by a NPC ingame (Mummy in Sinking Sands). While I totally agree the name filter is way to sensitive and names that are incorrectly flagged should be taken care of by GM/Dev, to expect names that are accurately flagged to be allowed "because I have had it on another server for a long time" is unrealistic. I do not believe at this point Rahotep should have to change the name of original character but expecting it to be allowed when transfered to another server is a different issue...

therealnakorox is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-27-2012, 10:00 PM   #14
Zaathaan

Loremaster
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 39
Default

Oh God, blablablablabla again SMILEY

I dont want a survey upon " could I really name my char Rahotep ", nor do I want a discussion upon name policy from SOE....

I found at last why some chars cannot be copied on the beta server, I explain it for that the devs could solve that, now that they understand exactly what is the prob. That's all.

After that they can rename my char on the beta server if they want, i really dont care to play "Xwwsdecsx" for 3 weeks, as soon as I can play my toon !

Oh, I forgot :

28/10 : No answer, no ETA, no fix (J+5!)

See u tomorrow ! ^^

Zaathaan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-28-2012, 11:57 PM   #15
Zaathaan

Loremaster
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 39
Default

29/10 : No answer, no ETA, no fix (J+6, and 2 petitons later)

See u tomorrow !

Zaathaan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-29-2012, 01:14 PM   #16
therealnakorox

Lord
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Posts: 36
Default

[email protected] wrote:

Oh God, blablablablabla again    

I hope they spend a lot of time working on issues that should have zero relevance when this goes live to keep the MMO players (Me Me Only) happy. I can't imagine why working on bugs they are finding during beta would actually come ahead of somebody having known name issues. Especially when this issue apparently has come up before and they decided it was worth the hassles of bothering the devs/gms instead of fixing the name...

therealnakorox is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-29-2012, 01:41 PM   #17
Zaathaan

Loremaster
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 39
Default

therealnakorox wrote:

I hope they spend a lot of time working on issues that should have zero relevance when this goes live to keep the MMO players (Me Me Only) happy. I can't imagine why working on bugs they are finding during beta would actually come ahead of somebody having known name issues. Especially when this issue apparently has come up before and they decided it was worth the hassles of bothering the devs/gms instead of fixing the name...

Should I add my point of view in this ? Here it is : blablablablabla ^^

Oh, I forgot : No answer, no ETA, no fix... (one week later)

See u tomorrow !

Zaathaan is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools

Forum Jump


All times are GMT. The time now is 09:29 AM.

vBulletin skin by: CompleteGFX.com
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.5
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
All threads and posts originally from the EQ2 and Station forums operated by Sony Online Entertainment. Their use is by express written permission.