EQ2 Forum Archive @ EQ2Wire

 

Go Back   EQ2 Forum Archive @ EQ2Wire > EverQuest II > Kunark Ascending Beta > General Beta Discussion
Members List Search Mark Forums Read

Notices

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 10-19-2016, 10:08 PM   #1
Allumette

New Member
Allumette's Avatar
 
Posts: n/a
Default

I'm sort of surprised this tidbit of information hasn't come up before now (or else it did and I missed it, in which case please disregard my passive aggressive tone), but assuming it's true, are there any plans to tweak the mechanics in Emperor Atrebe's Laboratory: The Fabled City of Kor-sha so it doesn't require the simultaneous activation of two levers in different rooms in order to start the quest?

I really don't mind doing old content, but I'm a bit taken aback that a quest obtained in a zone that is currently literally impossible to solo would be a prerequisite for a solo signature quest line in a subsequent expansion.

In any case, if that's the case, let me close this with a shameless plea for assistance: If anyone is on Skyfire and would be able to spare a few minutes for a drive-by lever-pulling, I would be incredibly grateful -- and I'd be happy to reciprocate if needed.
  Reply With Quote
Old 10-19-2016, 10:15 PM   #2
Conifur

Active Member
Conifur's Avatar
 
Posts: n/a
Default

I refuse to do this quest twice (beta then again on live) so I have figured my time on Beta is over. Would have been great to know some of these things before we copied over characters to make sure we have them done. Or better yet make it so you don't actually need it on beta but let us know something like "When this goes live you will not be able to open this chest. Please make sure you go back and do the level 80 quest before this goes live."

I have three accounts so I was able to have one of my others come in and did the two clicks. The other two accounts will not be upgraded and I will be letting them go FTP.
  Reply With Quote
Old 10-19-2016, 10:53 PM   #3
Allumette

New Member
Allumette's Avatar
 
Posts: n/a
Default

Aaaaaand then I realized that I could just create a heroic character on a throwaway account to do the lever monkeywork.Crisis averted! But it still seems like something you'd want to make sure people know before starting the KA sig line.
  Reply With Quote
Old 10-20-2016, 01:46 AM   #4
Kaitheel

Developer
Kaitheel's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 1970
Posts: 0
Default


Ack! I am so glad that you reminded us of this mechanic in Kor-sha, Allumette!

I've submitted the following change:
  • The Name of Fear - The ancient idol which offers this quest has been moved to the begining of "Emperor Atrebe's Laboratory: The Fabled City of Kor-sha"
I don't know when it will be on Beta, but it should be included in the update notes at that time.
~ Kaitheel
Kaitheel is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-20-2016, 01:52 AM   #5
silentstalker65

Member
silentstalker65's Avatar
 
Posts: n/a
Default

nice
  Reply With Quote
Old 10-20-2016, 02:17 AM   #6
Allumette

New Member
Allumette's Avatar
 
Posts: n/a
Default

Huzzah! The system worked! Thanks, guys.
  Reply With Quote
Old 10-20-2016, 12:22 PM   #7
captainbeatty451

Active Member
captainbeatty451's Avatar
 
Posts: n/a
Default

I don't understand what this means, as I have never completed this quest. Should I wait until next week to complete this quest on live?
  Reply With Quote
Old 10-20-2016, 01:20 PM   #8
Conifur

Active Member
Conifur's Avatar
 
Posts: n/a
Default

The starter for the quest to get Greenmist is in a dungeon that requires two levers to be pulled at the same time to gain access. You can't do it solo. What Kaitheel is going to do is move the idol you need to start the quest to the zone in so you don't have to have two people to run the zone to start the process. You can do it now but it takes 2 people. Which since the knowledge this was a pre-req was top secret there are people who need it so a simple shout for help should get you into the instance. You can enter an open instance and get it as well.

http://eq2.wikia.com/wiki/The_Name_of_Fear

I would hope they would also move the box located in Charasis:Vault of Eternal Sleep out of the locked room and to the front as well. Not a hard zone just pain and a waste.
  Reply With Quote
Old 10-20-2016, 10:47 PM   #9
Alenna

Well-Known Member
Alenna's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 1970
Posts: 0
Default

per notes for today's update

  • The Name of Fear - The ancient idol which offers this quest has been moved to the begining of "Emperor Atrebe's Laboratory: The Fabled City of Kor-sha".
I am in the fabled city of korsha where the heck is that statue or did it miss getting put into today's update?
Alenna is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-21-2016, 09:09 PM   #10
Kelvani

Well-Known Member
Kelvani's Avatar
 
Posts: n/a
Default

^^^ This

I checked on beta and I can also its not showing up in the area before the barrier. Can't get past it without a second lever puller so cant check to see if it is behind it in the normal spot still =D

Edit: spoke to ttobey on discord he said to check the back corner of the right hall and sure enough it was there. don't know how I missed it.. its green huge and ooogly!
  Reply With Quote
Old 10-22-2016, 02:29 AM   #11
Shmogre

Active Member
Shmogre's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 1970
Posts: 0
Default

Hmm...I'm still not seeing it. I've reset my zone and still no luck -- the far end of the right hallway just has the switch, the target dummy, the encrusted skeleton, and the hammer on the table. Am I just a blind ogre and looking right past it?
Shmogre is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-22-2016, 04:04 AM   #12
Kelvani

Well-Known Member
Kelvani's Avatar
 
Posts: n/a
Default

Shmogre its only on beta... just verifying your looking on beta not live? its in the left corner of the right hand side room with the switch. I swore it wasn't there for me either, but reclogged and went back into the zone and there it was!
  Reply With Quote
Old 10-22-2016, 04:19 AM   #13
Shmogre

Active Member
Shmogre's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 1970
Posts: 0
Default

Yup yup, definitely beta (been working on the tradeskill timeline while waiting for the zone to expire again). I've tried it mentored to 85 and at 100, reset the zone a couple times, camped to myself, exited and came back in, but no joy. Here is what I see:

[IMG]

Maybe it's early-onset Ogre cataracts...time to have the Gnomes tinker me up some glasses. B^)
Shmogre is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-22-2016, 06:08 AM   #14
Kelvani

Well-Known Member
Kelvani's Avatar
 
Posts: n/a
Default

I think Ttobey stole it!
  Reply With Quote
Old 10-22-2016, 10:53 PM   #15
Kelvani

Well-Known Member
Kelvani's Avatar
 
Posts: n/a
Default

Glad I was able to help =D Now go get that HQ done sir so you too can get a bright n shiney new toy!
  Reply With Quote
Old 10-22-2016, 11:16 PM   #16
Alenna

Well-Known Member
Alenna's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 1970
Posts: 0
Default

I'm on the charissis eternal sleep step and that last crash of beta rolled me back ot the beginning having to make all the kills again GIVE US THE UPDATE FOR BETA SO WE CAN TEST THE NEW CONTENT.
Alenna is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-22-2016, 11:23 PM   #17
Elowith

Member
Elowith's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 1970
Posts: 0
Default

Is the quest starter going to be moved on live servers?
Elowith is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-22-2016, 11:36 PM   #18
Alenna

Well-Known Member
Alenna's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 1970
Posts: 0
Default

no and it shouldnt' be you'll have people there to help

i wish they wouldn't' force us to do this quest on beta especially with the roll back crashes 3 times i've been rolled back while doing charisis eternal sleep step of green mist orb quest I feel like quitting beta because I can't test the new content. due to this road block
Alenna is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-23-2016, 12:50 AM   #19
Drusi_EQ2

Active Member
Drusi_EQ2's Avatar
 
Posts: n/a
Default

Why wouldn't they make the change to live as well when the reason they changed it in beta is that it required a group for a *solo* questline? Is there some place they specifically said that they weren't making the change to live?

Got it done today on live and there were a lot of people out and about greenmisting on AB. Kunark has been a very popular place lately. Smile
  Reply With Quote
Old 10-23-2016, 08:47 AM   #20
Shmogre

Active Member
Shmogre's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 1970
Posts: 0
Default

I AM AN IDIOT. When I looked to see if this toon had already done the quest, I looked under "N" for "Name", not "T" for "The" (curse my real-world alphabetization habits). Ever seen a big green ogre blushing? It's not pretty.

Huge props to Kelvani for triggering that brainstorm...you rock.
Shmogre is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-23-2016, 01:57 PM   #21
Xianthia

Active Member
Xianthia's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 1970
Posts: 0
Default

I ran a couple of my toons through it and found it funny and great that there were (at one point) five different guild flags by Xuurk entry area.

I think the change will be going live at some point. I haven't seen them say it won't (but maybe missed it?). The mechanism being taken out during beta makes it seem like the change will it's way live on release of expac. We'll see. In the meantime Kunark, Fens and JW are buzzing TongueTongue
Xianthia is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-23-2016, 03:10 PM   #22
Drusi_EQ2

Active Member
Drusi_EQ2's Avatar
 
Posts: n/a
Default

Xuurk is probably wondering (and taking advantage) of his sudden surge in popularity, even among those who follow deities normally wanting nothing to do with Cazic Thule. Smile
  Reply With Quote
Old 10-24-2016, 01:47 AM   #23
Kaitheel

Developer
Kaitheel's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 1970
Posts: 0
Default


Yes. That's why the change was made on Beta, and why we required it to be tested on Beta. Any change to quest content on Beta goes to live.

~ Kaitheel
Kaitheel is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-24-2016, 01:53 AM   #24
Hijinx

Member
Hijinx's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 1970
Posts: 0
Default


Thanks, Kaitheel! Will the change go to the live servers before release? I know I'd like to be ready to do new content when the expansion releases, so I'd like to be able to prepare in advance.
Hijinx is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-24-2016, 05:44 PM   #25
Chiffon

New Member
Chiffon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 1970
Posts: 0
Default

Kaitheel, there are two other issues with the Greenmist HQ that need to be looked at. One affects the ability of the quest to progress, and another affects anyone grouping. I did the quest on live, but if fixes are going to be done on beta and pushed to live, then this needs to be looked at.

I made a thread in EQ2 Discussion> Quests and Seasonal Events so I'll link that here, rather than repost everything.
The Path of Fear - Greenmist HQ update issue:
https://forums.daybreakgames.com/eq...ath-of-fear-greenmist-hq-update-issue.573336/

another player posted about a problem with a group update which I also experienced on The Triumph of Fear portion of the quest:
https://forums.daybreakgames.com/eq2/index.php?threads/the-triumph-of-fear-hq-update-issue.573354/
Chiffon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-24-2016, 06:38 PM   #26
silentstalker65

Member
silentstalker65's Avatar
 
Posts: n/a
Default

Not liking all this make it easy stuff. There is another to play if i wanted that!!!!
  Reply With Quote
Old 10-24-2016, 06:47 PM   #27
Shmogre

Active Member
Shmogre's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 1970
Posts: 0
Default

I tend to agree about the "easy button", but in this case, the older content is already trivialized by current itemization (even when mentored down). These changes help keep the lore alive without as many artificial gating mechanisms, in turn making the current content more compelling and interesting (and lowering frustration level with grey content).

Kaitheel, a question: is the statue in the front of the Lab able to be visible only to lvl 100 folks? That might help keep the challenge for people doing the quest at-level.
Shmogre is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-24-2016, 07:08 PM   #28
silentstalker65

Member
silentstalker65's Avatar
 
Posts: n/a
Default

By Moving the statue to the front only helps you by not having to get a friend to help you pull a lever.
  Reply With Quote
Old 10-24-2016, 09:01 PM   #29
Shmogre

Active Member
Shmogre's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 1970
Posts: 0
Default

Can't argue with it being a timesink, but I see any game I play as a timesink. The biggest frustration for me with forcing completion of older questlines is that if you haven't done them, then you "lose" time running through quests that don't give experience or loot you care about. There is new stuff to be seen, new loot to be had, darn it!

I agree about the surprise that the weapon wasn't taken and turned into the upgrade; it seemed like a logical step for me to find the weapon, get it blessed, show it to the powers-that-be, then have them magic it into a more current weapon for me. But in general, I thought the tie-in with past expansion lore was pretty cool.
Shmogre is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-24-2016, 10:58 PM   #30
Winddragon

Member
Winddragon's Avatar
 
Posts: n/a
Default

Not really much challenge lost in letting you not have to get a 2nd person to come in with you to pull the lever.
  Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools

Forum Jump


All times are GMT. The time now is 03:03 AM.

vBulletin skin by: CompleteGFX.com
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.5
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
All threads and posts originally from the EQ2 and Station forums operated by Sony Online Entertainment. Their use is by express written permission.