EQ2 Forum Archive @ EQ2Wire

Go Back   EQ2 Forum Archive @ EQ2Wire > EverQuest II > General EverQuest II Discussion > General Gameplay Discussion
Members List Search Mark Forums Read

Notices

Old 03-19-2011, 02:34 AM   #1
SomeDude

Lord

Wondered why the backend cannot sufficiently serve the amount of users? That happens when you replace a real database.....................

http://www.enterprisedb.com/success...le-enterprisedb

SomeDude is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-19-2011, 06:38 AM   #2
MurFalad

Loremaster

SomeDude wrote:

Wondered why the backend cannot sufficiently serve the amount of users? That happens when you replace a real database.....................

Interesting, although from the way they are talking about changing things in 2009 which I assume means that EQ2 is still running on the older systems - unless the maintenance fees were that large.

I'm no expert here (although I know one in the guild so will have to run this by him), one thing for sure though, those increased profits would probably more than make up for things if they were plowed into putting all of us not on AB or Nagafen on 2011 hardware...

MurFalad is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-20-2011, 06:37 AM   #3
SomeDude

Lord

MurFalad wrote:

SomeDude wrote:

Interesting, although from the way they are talking about changing things in 2009 which I assume means that EQ2 is still running on the older systems - unless the maintenance fees were that large.

I'm no expert here (although I know one in the guild so will have to run this by him), one thing for sure though, those increased profits would probably more than make up for things if they were plowed into putting all of us not on AB or Nagafen on 2011 hardware...

The way I read it is that since 2009 all new releases are on the EnterpriseDB platform and that at the time of the write-up, existing applications will be moved to this platform within the next 18 months.