EQ2 Forum Archive @ EQ2Wire

 

Go Back   EQ2 Forum Archive @ EQ2Wire > EverQuest II > Services > EQ2Players.com Website Discussion
Members List Search Mark Forums Read

Notices

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 02-17-2012, 06:22 PM   #1
Virrago

Community Relations
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 46
Default

Hello everyone,

We would like everyone to post any issues you find in this thread. This will make it easier for our team to keep track and collect them.

Thanks!

__________________
Paul "Virrago" Williams

Community Relations Manager

Forum Administrator

Sony Online Entertainment LLC
Virrago is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-17-2012, 06:24 PM   #2
Virrago

Community Relations
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 46
Default

Here is what we've collected from other posts so far:

  • Click portrait - the X to close is often not visible on screen, with NO page scroll bars. Fix: Resize screen then X to close is visible.
  • Under portrait - Click Up arrow. Guild : xxx line.. Select your guild. You get Communication with server error in red at top of screen.
  • Item Tool tip displays item name. Select item. Many missing or added fields that do not correspond to actual in-game item.
    • Need more Information about this one
  • Paperdolls: Not sure if anyone else has this bug, but one of my characters shows her cloak as though it has been copy/pasted from a screen shot to the side of the pic at an odd angle.
  • Selected Character: Even when I have character A selected and am viewing character A's stats and items and whatnot it still shows character B (icon and name) in the upper left corner (the drop down list). This is confusing and it should show the character icon for the character you are currently viewing (if it is your own), and not default to one particular character.
__________________
Paul "Virrago" Williams

Community Relations Manager

Forum Administrator

Sony Online Entertainment LLC
Virrago is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-17-2012, 06:41 PM   #3
Lantis

Loremaster
Lantis's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Montreal, Canada
Posts: 943
Default

Auto-logout timer is way too short.  It should be made to be at least as long as the forum value.

Lantis is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-17-2012, 07:36 PM   #4
Virrago

Community Relations
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 46
Default

The web team is watching the forums, and some of the bugs mentioned there have already been fixed. Also, we are aware of the issue where the session times out after 5 minutes, and a fix is in progress.

__________________
Paul "Virrago" Williams

Community Relations Manager

Forum Administrator

Sony Online Entertainment LLC
Virrago is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-17-2012, 09:12 PM   #5
Mavolcano

Lord
Mavolcano's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: North of Sanity
Posts: 16
Default

Hello

returned from a short break, found the EQ2Players Website and well.....

Browser: Firefox

All files updated (recently too)

Space save for additional info...

Bugs:

The aa calculator may at times return a red box error... I was logged on as Gnomstradomous in EQ2 (and yes he is a Gnome... just saying in advance) and at the same time was accessing EQ2Players. When I went on to check said Gnomey's build it returned a red box error (more info coming soon!) I don't know if being logged into a toon while accessing him/her on EQ2Players really makes a difference but it is worth looking into.

The Search feature for players, guilds, servers etc. returns a red box error similar to the aa calculator.. I only got as far as reading "timeout error" and "connection failed" before the little red box disappeared... I'll look for that info as well.

The Compare characters feature seems relatively buggy.. Especially when comparing two alts... i.e. I clicked on Gnomstradomous (GNOME!!!) and then went into the player alts tab and selected Mavejerbal. After finishing the comparison I hit the "Stop Comparing" button but the only thing it did was return me back to the page comparing both said toons after refreshing the page.

More bugs otw for certain....

SUGGESTIONS!!!

Add a search feature to the compare characters window for better access and results!!!

Add a feature to link characters aa builds to EQ2Players from in-game toons!!!!

Add a bio page!!! (For Roleplaying)

More suggestions otw... COUNT ON IT!!!!

__________________
A Gnomish Troubadour and a Dwarf Templar walk into a restaurant owned by a Human Provisioner. The Gnome walks up to the counter and says, I would like a happy meal please! The Dwarf then asks; what the Brell is a happy meal. The Human replies it's our restaurant's special! Welcome to Regen Ronnies, may I take your orders?
Mavolcano is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-17-2012, 09:33 PM   #6
HaCkHaCkER

Tester
HaCkHaCkER's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: PST
Posts: 172
Default

signature code needs to be brought back!

HaCkHaCkER is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-17-2012, 10:55 PM   #7
Mermut

Loremaster
Mermut's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 852
Default

Look at a toon not your own. Click on the guild for the other toon. It shows you the information on the guild YOUR toon is in, not the guild of the toon the 'other persons' character is in

__________________
I'm willing to suspend my disbelief, But not hang it by the neck until dead.
Mermut is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-17-2012, 11:09 PM   #8
Sty Frost

Loremaster
Sty Frost's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 40
Default

no way to compare if you do not have a name to compare with!!!

MISSING

Game Wide Comparison 

Server Wide Comparison

Class Comparison

Level Comparison

and combination of class and level server comparison

_________________________________________

ACHIEVEMENTS

I think achievments was introduce to the game so you can see how you compare to others in differnt areas.

since it was introduced I have never seen any way to use it for comparison.

Sty Frost is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-18-2012, 05:21 AM   #9
WanyenII

Loremaster
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Posts: 145
Default

Virrago wrote:

Hello everyone,

We would like everyone to post any issues you find in this thread. This will make it easier for our team to keep track and collect them.

Thanks!

Bug: Using a forum thread to track bugs.  I know you can only do what they let you, and publishing bugs that are of a security concern adds unnecessary awareness and exposure, but it sure would be nice if the bug tracking software was pushed public, or semi-public with it requiring forum/game credentials to read and add notes, data, and/or screen captures if necessary or helpful.

Of course, it should go without saying, something like that would be nice for actual game issues too (that require or attract no debate).  But that I know would be a severe stretch.

WanyenII is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-18-2012, 07:34 AM   #10
Tigress

Loremaster
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Posts: 1,739
Default

Not all characters show up and it seems random as to what it picks.  It would be nice to be able to choose which characters you want on EQ2players and which ones you do not when on the site.  (Similar to the little checkmark on the profile for forums.)  I don't necessarily need nor do I want my slot counters taking up space on eq2players.com, yet they are all there.  i would like my real characters to be there and most of them are not.   it was not decided by when i last logged in or that i have not logged in the characters lately. its been a really long time since i logged in the slot counters but i logged in all of my real characters within the past week.

i use drums ui and the screen shot that amnerys posted on how to add/update/etc did not apply to drums.  even if it did, i have no desire to log in all those characters to fix who shows up there and who does not.  be so much better to do it right there on the website.

it is not easy to find someone else's characters.  i had to compare one of my slot counters to find someone's character that was not one of mine.

Tigress is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-18-2012, 01:07 PM   #11
Grumpy_Warrior_01

Loremaster
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 528
Default

First of all, thank you:

* This site loads very fast, responses are fast.  Everything happens inside the page frames instead of reloading the whole window every time.  Huge improvement over the old site. * Everything looks harmonious, on-brand, modern, really puts the player's characters in the spotlight. * No Station Cash ads, current event links, flashy tooltips, animated slideshows cluttering everything up.  Major kudos on making this a quiet and focused site instead of a 3-ring circus.

Issues:

1. When selecting the various rankings (most deaths by a player, most kills, etc.) manually closing the result panels frequently causes them to get confused as to whether they should be open or closed.  This requires a variable number of clicks to get the selected pane to open back up, and the other panes to minimize automatically.  Suggestion: don't allow manually collapsing a ranking panel by clicking its title bar.

2. It was my understanding that I would be able to view all of my characters when logged into my account, yet only the ones exposed using the in-game EQII Share checkbox are showing up in the dropdown.

3. Advanced Search.  When I check the "Advanced" search checkbox and choose a category from the dropdown, the search pane on the right-hand side always appears collapsed initially.  This requires an extra, unnecessary step of clicking the minimized titlebar to reveal the search widgets.  Suggestion: either display all advanced search category panels at once with min/max bars similar to the rankings, or expose the selected search panel automatically.

4. The graphical character mugshot selection dropdown is a few pixels too small in both directions, which causes unnecessary scrollbars to appear.  (Using IE9 with 3 characters in the list.)

5. Character results on the upper part of the page, except for items and appearance items, are too far down the page.  To reproduce this, load a character which will default to the "items" result pane on the right-hand side.  The black background aligns with the middle "character overview" menu tree.  Now click any of the other choices in the middle tree menu (Power and Health, Melee Mitigation, etc.) and the entire right-hand results panel drops about 20 pixels too low.

This is not major in itself, although another issue arises from it.  The Beastlord Warder results panel does not cover up the previous item results like the other panels do.  To reproduce this, load a Beastlord, which will default to the list of "items" in the right-hand pane.  Now click Warders in the tree, then choose a warder.  The items pane is still partially visible behind the warder results.  (Using IE9. I do not have Firefox.)

6.  This is an observation, not a bug:  The generic search box is super-nice, in that you no longer have to choose whether you are searching for an item, a character, etc.  But the search results always start with the character panel open, even when there are zero results in the character category.  Obviously this is going to be wrong a certain percentage of the time.  Suggestion:  return all four categories collapsed and let the user click to open the desired results category.

Grumpy_Warrior_01 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-18-2012, 11:01 PM   #12
ClawsDragonkin

Loremaster
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 37
Default

Sty Frost wrote:

no way to compare if you do not have a name to compare with!!!

MISSING

Game Wide Comparison 

Server Wide Comparison

Class Comparison

Level Comparison

and combination of class and level server comparison

_________________________________________

ACHIEVEMENTS

I think achievments was introduce to the game so you can see how you compare to others in differnt areas.

since it was introduced I have never seen any way to use it for comparison.

These are the comaprisons I miss most from the old EQ2 search.  I can't see myself using the new My Players if it is still missing this function.  I looked into EQ2flames and EQ2wire ranking system but they are not better and worse in many areas.

ClawsDragonkin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-19-2012, 01:37 AM   #13
Gladiolus

Loremaster
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Posts: 873
Default

The AA calculator has a session timeout before I'm halfway through the first page, then I have to log in again and start over. When that happened the third time while still on the first page, I gave up on that for the time being.

In general the pages look very good, pretty charts and so on. However that font is very skinny with little space between the letters and having everything then in uppercase means the words like CHARACTER INFO and APPEARANCE ITEM have the same shape and are difficult to read. It's not the size of the font that's a problem but the shape and style.

Gladiolus is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-19-2012, 02:17 PM   #14
saneng23

Loremaster
saneng23's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Posts: 20
Default

Communication with the server failed: Render queue error in SetupRender[Character:aatreetabcontent.aatree.loop_0]: Failure reading parameter 'source' of component Character:aatreetabcontent.aatree.loop_0: Property 'adventureClass' (within property expression 'adventureClass.alternateAdvancementTrees', of com.sony.soe.players.eq2.tapestry.components.playe [email protected]) is null.   Get this when trying to use AA calculator and when searching just for class of toons.

__________________
saneng23 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-22-2012, 09:43 AM   #15
Grumpy_Warrior_01

Loremaster
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 528
Default

If the game is going to update character stats while mentored, would it be possible to update the mentored level at the same time?  I logged out as level 90 (20) and the various character stats reflect this, but the level still says 90.  I would prefer not to send any automatic updates at all while mentored (or dead) since mentored stats are not very meaningful, but I'm sure someone will chime in and tell me I should just uncheck the box every time I decide to mentor.

Grumpy_Warrior_01 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-22-2012, 11:44 AM   #16
Jaxl

Tester
Jaxl's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 86
Default

My Toon is here: http://players.everquest2.com/chara...er/425202196891

1.  It seems that my toon "Jaxyl" is listed twice in my character list, its not reasonable to list toons that are on Test Copy - this server should be ommitted.

2.  The fade effect on the AA calculator is really annoying when you switch between popups, loose it or make it a faster

3.  It seems that trying to sort spells on the spells tab is broken:

Communication with the server failed: Render queue error in SetupRender[Character:spelltabcontent.spelllist.list.grid]: Root object of property expression 'level' is null.

4.  The fade on the spell effects popups is too slow, it should be pretty quick... effects are cool, but you have to use them sparingly..

Jaxl is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-23-2012, 05:18 AM   #17
Kreton

Loremaster
Kreton's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Posts: 222
Default

Are they going to add disco information on items/players?  It was interesting to see who disco'd something WW and per server.

Kreton is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-23-2012, 03:27 PM   #18
Lantis

Loremaster
Lantis's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Montreal, Canada
Posts: 943
Default

Kreton wrote:

Are they going to add disco information on items/players?  It was interesting to see who disco'd something WW and per server.

I know the info is available in the data feeds, so technically it should be possible for them to add it.  However keep in mind this info is more or less acurrate now, due to the numerous server merges, character transfers, etc...

Lantis is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-23-2012, 04:43 PM   #19
feldon30

Fansite Staff
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 5,424
Default

I can't speak for EQ2Players, but on my site...

Adding Discovery information on items will happen soon. Adding Item Discoveries to characters will be less soon, because we have to do 18 queries to find every item you've discovered on every server your character has ever been on. Unless we show discoveries on your character on your current server, and then have a "Don't Press the Red Button" that searches the other servers.

feldon30 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-23-2012, 05:23 PM   #20
Lantis

Loremaster
Lantis's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Montreal, Canada
Posts: 943
Default

feldon30 wrote:

Adding Discovery information on items will happen soon. Adding Item Discoveries to characters will be less soon, because we have to do 18 queries to find every item you've discovered on every server your character has ever been on. Unless we show discoveries on your character on your current server, and then have a "Don't Press the Red Button" that searches the other servers.

You should specify you are referring to EQ2U, as the thread is about EQ2Players.  Unless they ninja'ed you to their side SMILEY

Lantis is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-23-2012, 05:34 PM   #21
feldon30

Fansite Staff
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 5,424
Default

Lantis,

I shouldn't have mentioned it in this thread.

feldon30 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-24-2012, 12:21 AM   #22
Chronia

Loremaster
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 34
Default

Please see bugs listed here

http://forums.station.sony.com/eq2/...15�

The above linked thread was started a day BEFORE the current thread existed. It would've been nice if instead of locking the thread and making those who posted in this thread repost if you could've just MOVED the thread into this one instead.

Others who posted in the above thread may repost if they like however, here is a repost of my original starting post from the above linked thread was as follows:

__________________________________________________ _____________________

Not sure if these have been pointed out yet, but here are a few bugs I've noted so far:

Paperdolls: Not sure if anyone else has this bug, but one of my characters shows her cloak as though it has been copy/pasted from a screen shot to the side of the pic at an odd angle. None of my other characters do this. It looks stupid. Not sure if this is because that particular character uses a marketplace cloak or not. It should be fix though so that the cloak does not show in the wya it presently does. Also the same character, her icon on the drop down list of my charcters is looking downard when all the rest are looking straight ahead. Why? Again looks stupid. These might be asthetic but it should be fixed.

Selected Character: Even when I have character A selected and am viewing chracter A's stats and items and whatnot it still shows character B (icon and name) in the upper left corner (the drop down list). This is confusing and it should show the character icon for the character you are currently viewing (if it is your own), and not default to one particualr character.

Discoveries: Where are they? In the old eq2players there was a list to show server and world discoveries each character holds. On the new site this seems to be absent. Please add it back in.

Viewing Characters other than your own: There appears to be no way of doing this except by "comparing" What if I don't want to compare and want to view that person's achievements, alts, gear, etc? There isn't a way to do that presently that I've been able to find. When you search another player's name it automatically compares that character to your own. If there is a way to do this without "comparing" then it is well hidden and shouldn't be.

Also just another aesthtic point and this is not a bug but my own oppinion, the site is too dark. Even the old EQ2players did not use as dark a colour scheme. Granted the old EQ2players did used a drak scheme the new one is a fair bit darker. It would be nice if it was a bit brighter.

__________________________________________________ _______________________

In addition to the above original post, the timeout from the site is FAR too short, and honeslty serves no purpose. Don't time us out if we're idle for only a couple minutes. If we leave the site up and logged in then step away from the keys to get a snack or some other reason then we come back a couple minutes later (and I do mean a couple minutes) the session has expired and we have to log in again. Honestly there's no point in having a session expiry. if there must be one make it at least 30 minutes of inactivity before have it expire and forcibly ejecting us from the site so that we have to log in again.

Chronia is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-24-2012, 01:18 AM   #23
Virrago

Community Relations
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 46
Default

Chronia wrote:

Please see bugs listed here

http://forums.station.sony.com/eq2/...15�

The above linked thread was started a day BEFORE the current thread existed. It would've been nice if instead of locking the thread and making those who posted in this thread repost if you could've just MOVED the thread into this one instead.

Agreed. Ideally it would have been nice to merge all the posts already posted into this thread but our forums are the best at that. What would have happened is that the posts merged into this thread that were posted before I posted this one would have appeared first. Meaning it wouldn't have looked like an SOE name started this thread but had replied inside it.

__________________
Paul "Virrago" Williams

Community Relations Manager

Forum Administrator

Sony Online Entertainment LLC
Virrago is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-24-2012, 01:25 AM   #24
Jacra
Server: Valor
Guild: Twinks
Rank: Ehren Twink

Loremaster
Jacra's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 250
Default

I'm missing char age, my other alts are not visible (why?), discoveries missing, search function for chars and guilds (and recruiter information for guilds with webpage link if possible!) and bug: on Firefox the AA calculator never stops loading for me.

Edit: And equippment and such does not show who crafted it - or the adornment slots and what is in it.

__________________
www.eq2wiki.net - Das deutschsprachige Wiki rund um Everquest 2

Jacra is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-25-2012, 05:54 PM   #25
shir0gitsune

Lord
shir0gitsune's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Posts: 1
Default

When I load the "Achievements" tab at the bottom of the page, the Achievements listed seem to have no connection to the character I'm currently viewing. Every one of them displays Achievements that they haven't acquired.
shir0gitsune is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-28-2012, 07:43 PM   #26
PallorTheSilent

Loremaster
PallorTheSilent's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 37
Default

I can't even get into the site.

When I take the link from the fourms, I get a page titled about:blank that continues to try and load.

When I type http://players.everquest2.com into IE I get taken to a page that asks for my station UN and PW.

When I type in my UN and PW, it takes me back to the same page asking for my UN and PW.

This will continue to happen over and over, and I won't ever get into the site.

PallorTheSilent is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-05-2012, 10:15 PM   #27
Finora

Tester
Finora's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 3,423
Default

I gave the site a bit to stew (ie get some of the initial kinks worked out so it was smoother)

As of playing around with it a bit today here are some things I noticed:

You can not see the actual damage stats on your weapons. That is a particularly useful tidbit of information that is left out.

The "rankings" are not descriptive enough for you do more than make an educated guess as to what they actually mean (other than the deaths one). Most kills? Does that mean how many times I've gotten the killing blow? Max magic/melee hits, is that the numerical value of the highest hit I have gotten? Number of melee hits I've tossed out? Is it the number of max damage hits? What does it actually mean? As a side note, if it's the numerical value of the highest hit, it is showing incorrect numbers.

There should be a lot more things added to the rankings section. The old old site had quite a few things that were fun to compare such as # of quests completed, highest HP, even stuff like number of rares harvested, not even to mention discoveries.

If I try to look at the AA calculator it results in things bugging out with a red error message stating "Communication with the server failed: Render queue error in SetupRender[Character:aatreetabcontent.aatree.loop_0]: Failure reading parameter 'source' of component Character:aatreetabcontent.aatree.loop_0: Property 'adventureClass' (within property expression 'adventureClass.alternateAdvancementTrees', of com.sony.soe.players.eq2.tapestry.components.playe [email protected]) is null"

I get that no matter what character I try to check them on.

OH also when looking at your alt list  & guild roster you can not sort by tradeskill level.  While it might not seem important to some people, it is far more important that "world" to most. I'd certainly like to be able to see which guildmates are what level in what crafting skills and to be able to sort my alts by trade.

Finora is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-26-2012, 10:00 AM   #28
DragonHearted99

Loremaster
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 14
Default

Using IE 9, have been to the new site a few times.  Always end up with cannot communicate with server xxx redbox messages.  I would hope that you all can resolve this soon, otherwise it is just another broken feature in an already long list of issues with this game /sadface

DragonHearted99 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-28-2012, 10:39 AM   #29
Rhyashaa
Server: Kithicor

Loremaster
Rhyashaa's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Louisiana
Posts: 88
Default

Trying to access today and getting an error page:

OH NO! AN ERROR HAS OCCURRED.

Click here to restart.

http://players.everquest2.com/loading/$N

Clicking to restart does absolutely nothing. 

Originally clicked on the "My characters" link from the home page, logged in already.

Edit: Using Chrome version 17.0.963.83 m

Rhyashaa is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-27-2012, 08:22 PM   #30
Qanyena

Loremaster
Qanyena's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 71
Default

from 1 account I login and shows characters just fine from the other account I get the Error has occurred issue this has been happening for about 4 days now.

Qanyena is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools

Forum Jump


All times are GMT. The time now is 12:28 AM.

vBulletin skin by: CompleteGFX.com
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.5
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
All threads and posts originally from the EQ2 and Station forums operated by Sony Online Entertainment. Their use is by express written permission.