EQ2 Forum Archive @ EQ2Wire

 

Go Back   EQ2 Forum Archive @ EQ2Wire > EverQuest II > The Development Corner > In Testing Feedback
Members List Search Mark Forums Read

Notices

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 07-09-2012, 06:08 PM   #31
Whilhelmina
Server: Storms
Guild: Les Furies d Innoruuk
Rank: Matriarches

Tester
Whilhelmina's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: France (Storms)
Posts: 3,161
Default

[email protected] wrote:

Terrogaunt wrote:

As for the Down Below screenshot, I think I know what the problem is in that one. It was a bug that I ran into during the final stages of making the bauble feature. The text is just short enough that it doesn't create a new line for it. I'll look into squashing that one, too!

Yep, seems to happen only when there is a short word sent to next line, it's probably that bug you'll have to squash. Give it a kick for me!

If you patched something to fix the bug, then you didn't fix it. If you patched nothing, then disregard the comment

__________________
French Tradeskill Guide and my houses.

Whilhelmina is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-10-2012, 02:37 PM   #32
Terrogaunt

Developer
Terrogaunt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Posts: 142
Default

[email protected] wrote:

If you patched something to fix the bug, then you didn't fix it. If you patched nothing, then disregard the comment

It seems to be a bug that's in any quest that happens to have that perfect amount of pixels right now, since it doesn't seem to matter whether or not it's a bauble button quest. I don't have a fix for it yet, but I haven't forgot about it either!

Terrogaunt is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-10-2012, 07:03 PM   #33
Enica
Server: Everfrost
Guild: Casual Alliance
Rank: Distinguished Member

Loremaster
Enica's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 513
Default

I ran into a little issue with this the other day. In Loping Plains, for the warg quests, the leash has to be equipped before you can use it. And when you equip the leash, it's no longer clickable on the quest tracker. You still have to put the leash on a hotbar or use it from your equip screen.

Enica is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-11-2012, 02:13 PM   #34
Terrogaunt

Developer
Terrogaunt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Posts: 142
Default

[email protected] wrote:

I ran into a little issue with this the other day. In Loping Plains, for the warg quests, the leash has to be equipped before you can use it. And when you equip the leash, it's no longer clickable on the quest tracker. You still have to put the leash on a hotbar or use it from your equip screen.

Ahah! Believe it or not, the fix for that should be on Test already and should go to Live as of these notes:

http://forums.station.sony.com/eq2/...topic_id=520080

QUESTS

Baubles that need to be equipped for use will now function correctly as bauble buttons from the tracker window

 

Of course, be sure to let me know if that doesn't fix it for you! SMILEY

Terrogaunt is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-15-2012, 02:09 AM   #35
Calthine

ZAM EQII
Calthine's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 7,439
Default

So, before this change I was used ot dragging the quest thingies to a hotbar and clicking them there.  They no longer work from a hotbar.  That's intended?

/mutters about changing habits.

__________________





Please visit my non-gaming Blog! or follow me on Twitter!

Calthine is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-16-2012, 02:27 PM   #36
Terrogaunt

Developer
Terrogaunt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Posts: 142
Default

Calthine wrote:

So, before this change I was used ot dragging the quest thingies to a hotbar and clicking them there.  They no longer work from a hotbar.  That's intended?

/mutters about changing habits.

Actually, that functionality shouldn't have changed at all. Is this happening with a particular item?

Terrogaunt is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-16-2012, 07:11 PM   #37
Calthine

ZAM EQII
Calthine's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 7,439
Default

Terrogaunt wrote:

Calthine wrote:

So, before this change I was used ot dragging the quest thingies to a hotbar and clicking them there.  They no longer work from a hotbar.  That's intended?

/mutters about changing habits.

Actually, that functionality shouldn't have changed at all. Is this happening with a particular item?

Oh dear, I think it was a quest bauble in the New Halas newb line; I forgot to make a note which one.  I'll see if I can repro it.

__________________





Please visit my non-gaming Blog! or follow me on Twitter!

Calthine is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-17-2012, 02:29 PM   #38
Terrogaunt

Developer
Terrogaunt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Posts: 142
Default

Calthine wrote:

Oh dear, I think it was a quest bauble in the New Halas newb line; I forgot to make a note which one.  I'll see if I can repro it.

I tried it out with another quest that I knew had a bauble and it let me drag it to my hotbar and use it with no problems, so just keep me posted if you find anything!

Terrogaunt is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-17-2012, 02:34 PM   #39
Calthine

ZAM EQII
Calthine's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 7,439
Default

Terrogaunt wrote:

Calthine wrote:

Oh dear, I think it was a quest bauble in the New Halas newb line; I forgot to make a note which one.  I'll see if I can repro it.

I tried it out with another quest that I knew had a bauble and it let me drag it to my hotbar and use it with no problems, so just keep me posted if you find anything!

Got it:  the Makeshift Baracade from "Boatload of Work" in Frostfang Sea.

__________________





Please visit my non-gaming Blog! or follow me on Twitter!

Calthine is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-17-2012, 04:53 PM   #40
Terrogaunt

Developer
Terrogaunt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Posts: 142
Default

Calthine wrote:

Got it:  the Makeshift Baracade from "Boatload of Work" in Frostfang Sea.

I wasn't able to reproduce that issue with not being able to use it from the hotbar, but it DID bring light to the issue where items granted during the quest weren't showing up anymore. Whoops! That's been fixed though and should show up on test soon.

What exactly are you getting as an error? I'm thinking it could be that your hotbars are not set to allow dragable icons. Try going into your hotbar settings and checking that is enabled.

Terrogaunt is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-17-2012, 05:27 PM   #41
Calthine

ZAM EQII
Calthine's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 7,439
Default

Terrogaunt wrote:

Calthine wrote:

Got it:  the Makeshift Baracade from "Boatload of Work" in Frostfang Sea.

I wasn't able to reproduce that issue with not being able to use it from the hotbar, but it DID bring light to the issue where items granted during the quest weren't showing up anymore. Whoops! That's been fixed though and should show up on test soon.

What exactly are you getting as an error? I'm thinking it could be that your hotbars are not set to allow dragable icons. Try going into your hotbar settings and checking that is enabled.

No, that's not it; I was able to put the item on the hotbar, but clicking it just gave me an Examine window. 

I'm about to run another race through (Hey, anyone seen a BUFFER???) so I'll see if I can make it happen again.

__________________





Please visit my non-gaming Blog! or follow me on Twitter!

Calthine is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-17-2012, 10:28 PM   #42
Terrogaunt

Developer
Terrogaunt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Posts: 142
Default

Calthine wrote:

No, that's not it; I was able to put the item on the hotbar, but clicking it just gave me an Examine window. 

I'm about to run another race through (Hey, anyone seen a BUFFER???) so I'll see if I can make it happen again.

I think I know how you did it!

Okay, so I tested this out on every server and couldn't repro the bug. Turns out, the reason this is happening for you is because you're dragging the icon to your hotbar while it's in your bags, then you're equipping the item (possibly via double click), and then trying the hotbar button. Since it's no longer in your bags, it doesn't function as the same type of hotkey since equipment hotkeys actually make a shortcut of the equip slot and not the item.

Go ahead and try it out again, if you get a chance. If that doesn't explain why it happened, feel free to report back

Terrogaunt is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-17-2012, 10:32 PM   #43
Calthine

ZAM EQII
Calthine's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 7,439
Default

Terrogaunt wrote:

Calthine wrote:

No, that's not it; I was able to put the item on the hotbar, but clicking it just gave me an Examine window. 

I'm about to run another race through (Hey, anyone seen a BUFFER???) so I'll see if I can make it happen again.

I think I know how you did it!

Okay, so I tested this out on every server and couldn't repro the bug. Turns out, the reason this is happening for you is because you're dragging the icon to your hotbar while it's in your bags, then you're equipping the item (possibly via double click), and then trying the hotbar button. Since it's no longer in your bags, it doesn't function as the same type of hotkey since equipment hotkeys actually make a shortcut of the equip slot and not the item.

Go ahead and try it out again, if you get a chance. If that doesn't explain why it happened, feel free to report back

But it's not an equipable item!  I wasn't trying to equip it, I was trying to use it with one click. I did drag it from my bags to the hotbar (where else would I drag it from?) But I was just click-to-use-ing it.

However, I'll try and repro it with my next noob in the area.

__________________





Please visit my non-gaming Blog! or follow me on Twitter!

Calthine is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-18-2012, 02:53 AM   #44
Calthine

ZAM EQII
Calthine's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 7,439
Default

Om the quest "Unwelcome Guests" in Greater Faydark, on the second step of the quest the Shrumbler Net is used as the quest bauble. That's from the previous step; it should be using the Young Shrumbler instead.  The dialoge in the Quest Journal is "I need to release the young shrumblers in their natural habitat." 

Linky: http://eq2.zam.com/db/quest.html?eq...ef8fdb#Dialogue

__________________





Please visit my non-gaming Blog! or follow me on Twitter!

Calthine is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-18-2012, 03:13 PM   #45
Terrogaunt

Developer
Terrogaunt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Posts: 142
Default

Calthine wrote:

Om the quest "Unwelcome Guests" in Greater Faydark, on the second step of the quest the Shrumbler Net..

Fixed! The item didn't have a quest associated with it, so it never showed up. Neither of them have a predicate that say which part of the quest they can be used on though, so you'll see both on either part of the quest.

Keep those bugs rolling in if you find any SMILEY

Terrogaunt is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-18-2012, 04:03 PM   #46
TheSpin

Loremaster
TheSpin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 2,587
Default

I just wanna say I love this feature.  As an avid quester it is a great time saver and wonderful feature.  My favorite feature is that with my current game settings mob overhead names don't appear, but if they are flagged for a quest the names appear and it's quick to find them.  (really nice hunting lowland geckos in antonica)

I found an error with it today, I'm not sure if it's fixable or not.  In Frostfang there's a quest to use an item on the miners in the cave when they hit 20% life.  When I had this quest every mob in the zone was flagged as a mob I could use the item on.

I can provide more details on the quest and the npc names if needed.

TheSpin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-18-2012, 05:25 PM   #47
Terrogaunt

Developer
Terrogaunt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Posts: 142
Default

TheSpin wrote:

I just wanna say I love this feature.  As an avid quester it is a great time saver and wonderful feature.  My favorite feature is that with my current game settings mob overhead names don't appear, but if they are flagged for a quest the names appear and it's quick to find them.  (really nice hunting lowland geckos in antonica)

I found an error with it today, I'm not sure if it's fixable or not.  In Frostfang there's a quest to use an item on the miners in the cave when they hit 20% life.  When I had this quest every mob in the zone was flagged as a mob I could use the item on.

I can provide more details on the quest and the npc names if needed.

It sounds like you might be referring to Becoming Another Orcbane, since there are only 2 baubles in Halas that require that 20% health thing and the other one has to do with the geonid boss mob. 

When I added that quest though, only the tunnelers got the icon so I can't reproduce the issue right now. If you do happen upon further details on this, feel free to update me.

Terrogaunt is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-18-2012, 07:07 PM   #48
TheSpin

Loremaster
TheSpin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 2,587
Default

No further details at this time. It may have been several different factors that normally aren't present that caused the problem for me such as other quests in my journal or being chrono mentored. I'll let you know if I run across a similar problem and I'll look for a pattern so you could identify what is causigng it.
TheSpin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-21-2012, 02:53 AM   #49
Calthine

ZAM EQII
Calthine's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 7,439
Default

On the dialog preceeding the quest "Repelling Little Creatures" (with Arrin Clelland in Frostfang Sea) you can ask how to use the quest item.  He gives you instructions to do so that does not include using them from the quest helper.  Dunno, you might want to update that

__________________





Please visit my non-gaming Blog! or follow me on Twitter!

Calthine is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-23-2012, 01:29 AM   #50
Mermut

Loremaster
Mermut's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 852
Default

A Wonderous Invention of a Crazed Gnome.

For the second step you get 'Fizzwoddle's Core Sampler'.. it's a clicky item and it doesn't appear in the quest journal.

__________________
I'm willing to suspend my disbelief, But not hang it by the neck until dead.
Mermut is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-23-2012, 09:56 PM   #51
Terrogaunt

Developer
Terrogaunt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Posts: 142
Default

Mermut wrote:

A Wonderous Invention of a Crazed Gnome.

For the second step you get 'Fizzwoddle's Core Sampler'.. it's a clicky item and it doesn't appear in the quest journal.

I didn't seem to run into this issue. It showed up at every step of the quest until it was taken away from me. Is it still happening with the item in your bags and the quest in your tracker?

Terrogaunt is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-24-2012, 11:53 AM   #52
MrWolfie

Loremaster
MrWolfie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Agent of Chaos Guildhall, North Qeynos, Splitpaw.
Posts: 1,239
Default

The Triumph of Fear  Heal 6 wounded crusaders (NPCs) using an iksar healing tonic acquired from the dock near Xuurk.

The healing tonic does not show up as a quest bauble.

__________________
MrWolfie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-26-2012, 03:46 PM   #53
Terrogaunt

Developer
Terrogaunt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Posts: 142
Default

[email protected] wrote:

The Triumph of Fear  Heal 6 wounded crusaders (NPCs) using an iksar healing tonic acquired from the dock near Xuurk.

The healing tonic does not show up as a quest bauble.

This one is working fine for me on live. Are you certain you're tracking the quest and have the potion in your bags?

Terrogaunt is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-03-2012, 04:13 PM   #54
Delirya
Server: Guk
Guild: Eternal Legions
Rank: Leader

Loremaster
Delirya's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Florida
Posts: 157
Default

The item "essence entanglement device" for the quest "Seeking Answers" in Paineel isn't being umm.. baubled. edit: maybe because its something you craft for the quest?
Delirya is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-04-2012, 12:03 AM   #55
Solarax

Loremaster
Solarax's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 487
Default

thumbs up from us

Solarax is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-06-2012, 03:49 PM   #56
Terrogaunt

Developer
Terrogaunt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Posts: 142
Default

[email protected] wrote:

The item "essence entanglement device" for the quest "Seeking Answers" in Paineel isn't being umm.. baubled. edit: maybe because its something you craft for the quest?

There's no quest association on the item. I'll add that in now. Thanks! SMILEY

Terrogaunt is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-08-2012, 07:54 PM   #57
Delirya
Server: Guk
Guild: Eternal Legions
Rank: Leader

Loremaster
Delirya's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Florida
Posts: 157
Default

The dummies for the TS quests in Steamfont are baubling either. Not sure if this is intended, but these are crafted too. 'Snot a problem - Sturdy Target Dummy aITEM 95653209 1190941460:Sturdy Target Dummy/a You're In The Gnary Now - Durable Target Dummy aITEM -1665475357 1554016977SMILEYurable Target Dummy/a Beaks Away! - Reinforced Target Dummy aITEM -339874699 965297820:Reinforced Target Dummy/a SMILEY
Delirya is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-08-2012, 11:22 PM   #58
Terrogaunt

Developer
Terrogaunt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Posts: 142
Default

[email protected] wrote:

The dummies for the TS quests in Steamfont are baubling either. Not sure if this is intended, but these are crafted too. 'Snot a problem - Sturdy Target Dummy aITEM 95653209 1190941460:Sturdy Target Dummy/a You're In The Gnary Now - Durable Target Dummy aITEM -1665475357 1554016977urable Target Dummy/a Beaks Away! - Reinforced Target Dummy aITEM -339874699 965297820:Reinforced Target Dummy/a

Didn't seem to run into any problems with those. The snotflinger and the tradeskill dummies appear to show up on 'Snot A Problem.

Terrogaunt is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-09-2012, 10:26 AM   #59
Delirya
Server: Guk
Guild: Eternal Legions
Rank: Leader

Loremaster
Delirya's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Florida
Posts: 157
Default

I definitely didn't have the dummies available as a button. Had to open bags for them like the olden days. The actual weapons were fine, the snot flinger etc. Next time I'll try unchecking and rechecking the quest to see if that helps though. I think I have one more toon I can take through those quest to try out. edit: Did these quests on another toon to check it out. The dummies are definitely not showing up as baubles for me. Maybe I'm buggy!
Delirya is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-10-2012, 11:08 AM   #60
Cyliena
Server: Everfrost
Guild: Crusaders of Neriak
Rank: Colonel

Fansite Staff
Cyliena's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 3,798
Default

Quest: Treant Tactics

The willow reed flute does not show as a quest bauble until after you get the first update.

Cyliena is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools

Forum Jump


All times are GMT. The time now is 05:17 AM.

vBulletin skin by: CompleteGFX.com
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.5
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
All threads and posts originally from the EQ2 and Station forums operated by Sony Online Entertainment. Their use is by express written permission.