EQ2 Forum Archive @ EQ2Wire

 

Go Back   EQ2 Forum Archive @ EQ2Wire > EverQuest II > General EverQuest II Discussion > General Gameplay Discussion
Members List Search Mark Forums Read

Notices

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 11-09-2012, 08:08 AM   #1
Ritten
Server: Splitpaw
Guild: Runnyeye Raiding Club
Rank: Raider

Loremaster
Ritten's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 23
Default

Now there is really one situation where this would be most useful:

When a raid looter is working on assigning the loot most raids I know continue with trash. And it sometimes happens that the raid looter dies, and then he has to run back to get a fresh loot window. 

Summon chest would be really nice for that, if only the range wasn't so short. Why not make this command zonewide?

Also, right now summon chest only seems to work once per chest, it that intended? The second time it says there is no chest in range.

Great feature, but it needs some polishing imo.

Ritten is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-09-2012, 09:14 AM   #2
Wingrider01

Loremaster
Wingrider01's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 5,999
Default

If I recall right the command was implemented to obtain a chest that is unreachable, not to give the ability to drag it to you if you are not inclined to go back and get it

__________________
Fixing computer issues, one SOC7 at a time.

Yes Jim, the user has experienced the dreaded PICNIC error

Wingrider01 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-09-2012, 11:51 AM   #3
Koleg
Server: Unrest_old

Lord
Koleg's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Posts: 713
Default

This "feature" allows a player to /summon_chest exactly ONE time and from less than 20 meters.  It is only usefull in getting a chest which is out of reach, such as in a wall/floor or in midair.  The command can be macroed, but due to the max number of summons allowed being one that would be a waste of a hot bar.  This seemingly was done to "fix" a problem which in all honestly happens less often than casual guilds killing HM Statue.

IMO, this is a "feature" which had so much potential and would have been enjoyed by so many people (raiders and casuals alike), but due to the dev's heavy handled restrictions is little more than a waste.  The best this will accomplish, under the rules of less than 20 meters and max summons per chest of one, is it will save a dozen GM calls a month at most.  When it could have been a "feature" that 90% of the population would have placed on thier hotbars.  It is disapointing. 

Koleg is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-09-2012, 02:46 PM   #4
Mermut

Loremaster
Mermut's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 852
Default

[email protected]_old wrote:

This "feature" allows a player to /summon_chest exactly ONE time and from less than 20 meters.  It is only usefull in getting a chest which is out of reach, such as in a wall/floor or in midair.  The command can be macroed, but due to the max number of summons allowed being one that would be a waste of a hot bar.  This seemingly was done to "fix" a problem which in all honestly happens less often than casual guilds killing HM Statue.

IMO, this is a "feature" which had so much potential and would have been enjoyed by so many people (raiders and casuals alike), but due to the dev's heavy handled restrictions is little more than a waste.  The best this will accomplish, under the rules of less than 20 meters and max summons per chest of one, is it will save a dozen GM calls a month at most.  When it could have been a "feature" that 90% of the population would have placed on thier hotbars.  It is disapointing. 

Actually, the stuck chest was happening quite alot.. just not in raids. If you only/mostly raid, that may be why you've never run into the problem.

__________________
I'm willing to suspend my disbelief, But not hang it by the neck until dead.
Mermut is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-09-2012, 03:59 PM   #5
Geothe

Loremaster
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 2,098
Default

It definitely would of been nice if they thought this idea out a bit more and in instanced zones, removed the range restriction from it.

__________________
Smed: We aren't going to be allowing RMT in any way, shape or form on the non-exchange enabled EQ II servers. Period. End of statement.

Smed: 5) This [LoN] is not some slippery slope towards selling items directly in EQ & EQ II.

Lie #3: Station Cash. Enough Said.

Geothe is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools

Forum Jump


All times are GMT. The time now is 04:10 AM.

vBulletin skin by: CompleteGFX.com
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.5
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
All threads and posts originally from the EQ2 and Station forums operated by Sony Online Entertainment. Their use is by express written permission.