EQ2 Forum Archive @ EQ2Wire

 

Go Back   EQ2 Forum Archive @ EQ2Wire > EverQuest II > Support Forums > Tech Area > Performance Support
Members List Search Mark Forums Read

Notices

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 09-24-2012, 11:29 AM   #1
Cozumel

Loremaster
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 203
Default

nVidia Quadro FX-580 using latest WHQL drivers 305.93 (Aug 28, 2012), Win-7 64-bit Quad-Core.

Only zone in the game that does this, went walking past the main entrance to ST (the new zone in EW), just past the first 3 golems, my screen flashes, poop/garbage goes across screeen, unable to move, and eventually task-manage kill... Relogin, if I move, same deal, have to COV, or COH to someone or call to guild... Once past (up the steps in first room), graphics are fine.

Went into windowed mode, and I can see a message (nVidia kernel driver has crashes, and "recovered"...over and over).

There's no diagnostic log to give...but it's consistent.  The machine is an HP Z400 Xeon.

I also tried on "extreme performance" (reducing additional rendering, etc..)  No difference.

Cozumel is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-24-2012, 03:40 PM   #2
deadcrickets2

Loremaster
deadcrickets2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Posts: 707
Default

I doubt that workstation video cards are supported in the game even if they do work.  They are tuned differently through software.  That would make me wonder if possibly the new zones are doing DX calls that may not be supported properly by the Quadro drivers.

__________________
Find me on Steam, Skype and Raptr: tigerglebe

Am also on Playxpert.

If I have time I'll even answer tech questions.

deadcrickets2 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-24-2012, 04:15 PM   #3
TSR-SeanF

Customer Service
TSR-SeanF's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Posts: 42
Default

If you have not already done so, please open a support ticket with us including your dxdiag and msinfo files so we can take a look at your system to obtain more information about your current issue. You can open a support ticket with us at the following link:

http://help.station.sony.com/app/as...nlncDM3bA%3D%3D

__________________
Sean F

Technical Support Representative

Sony Online Entertainment



How to Contact Support:

https://help.station.sony.com/app/answers/detail/a_id/28939



How to Create a DXDIAG/MSINFO

https://help.station.sony.com/app/answers/detail/a_id/28973
TSR-SeanF is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-02-2012, 03:43 PM   #4
Roast22

Loremaster
Roast22's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 35
Default

This has been happening in game for a long while now (at least a year).  It happens in the Qeynos guild hall outside in the courtyard area also.  It happens in a few other zones also but is not common.  It seems contained to nvida cards and the zone art will crash the graphic's driver which for me at least recovers after 30 secs or so.

I have no issues with other games, this only occures in eq2 and has been present in most itterations of the nvida drivers (i say most as i've not used all drivers over the last year) 

Roast22 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-07-2012, 02:36 PM   #5
TSR-AlexS

Customer Service
TSR-AlexS's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Posts: 435
Default

Roast22 wrote:

This has been happening in game for a long while now (at least a year).  It happens in the Qeynos guild hall outside in the courtyard area also.  It happens in a few other zones also but is not common.  It seems contained to nvida cards and the zone art will crash the graphic's driver which for me at least recovers after 30 secs or so.

I have no issues with other games, this only occures in eq2 and has been present in most itterations of the nvida drivers (i say most as i've not used all drivers over the last year) 

Roast, I'd suggest submitting a ticket as well. It may be on our side, but want to make sure we clear out the possibilities that it can cause it from the client side.

__________________
Alexander S

Technical Support Representative

Sony Online Entertainment

How to Contact Support:

https://help.station.sony.com/app/answers/detail/a_id/28939

How to Create a DXDIAG/MSINFO

https://help.station.sony.com/app/answers/detail/a_id/28973
TSR-AlexS is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-07-2012, 06:22 PM   #6
Aoste

Loremaster
Aoste's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 13
Default

Cozumel wrote:

Only zone in the game that does this, went walking past the main entrance to ST (the new zone in EW), just past the first 3 golems, my screen flashes, poop/garbage goes across screeen, unable to move, and eventually task-manage kill... Relogin, if I move, same deal, have to COV, or COH to someone or call to guild... Once past (up the steps in first room), graphics are fine.

Went into windowed mode, and I can see a message (nVidia kernel driver has crashes, and "recovered"...over and over).

I have exaktly the same problem and i still have it in a few other zones too like "pow" !

at the moment it hapens very often and this is very bad, two other player of our rf have the same problems ans only in eq2.

I have a 8800gts 512 nvidia card, c2d8400 ,4 gb ram

__________________
Aoste is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-07-2012, 10:20 PM   #7
TSR-AlexS

Customer Service
TSR-AlexS's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Posts: 435
Default

Aoste wrote:

Cozumel wrote:

Only zone in the game that does this, went walking past the main entrance to ST (the new zone in EW), just past the first 3 golems, my screen flashes, poop/garbage goes across screeen, unable to move, and eventually task-manage kill... Relogin, if I move, same deal, have to COV, or COH to someone or call to guild... Once past (up the steps in first room), graphics are fine.

Went into windowed mode, and I can see a message (nVidia kernel driver has crashes, and "recovered"...over and over).

I have exaktly the same problem and i still have it in a few other zones too like "pow" !

at the moment it hapens very often and this is very bad, two other player of our rf have the same problems ans only in eq2.

I have a 8800gts 512 nvidia card, c2d8400 ,4 gb ram

I'd suggest submitting a ticket as well. You can even PM either TSR SeanF or myself your ticket reference number so we can personally look into it!

__________________
Alexander S

Technical Support Representative

Sony Online Entertainment

How to Contact Support:

https://help.station.sony.com/app/answers/detail/a_id/28939

How to Create a DXDIAG/MSINFO

https://help.station.sony.com/app/answers/detail/a_id/28973
TSR-AlexS is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-08-2012, 09:13 AM   #8
Aoste

Loremaster
Aoste's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 13
Default

Done.

I have send you a pm with the ticketnumber.

__________________
Aoste is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-08-2012, 05:21 PM   #9
TSR-AlexS

Customer Service
TSR-AlexS's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Posts: 435
Default

Aoste wrote:

Done.

I have send you a pm with the ticketnumber.

Cool I'm looking over it right now, thank you.

__________________
Alexander S

Technical Support Representative

Sony Online Entertainment

How to Contact Support:

https://help.station.sony.com/app/answers/detail/a_id/28939

How to Create a DXDIAG/MSINFO

https://help.station.sony.com/app/answers/detail/a_id/28973
TSR-AlexS is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-26-2012, 08:47 AM   #10
Aoste

Loremaster
Aoste's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 13
Default

The crashes an graphicproblems in pow and sleepers tomb looks like solved since the last fix.

I have try it in both zones (x4) without any crashes and graphicbugs. Thanks for this SMILEY

__________________
Aoste is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-28-2012, 03:41 PM   #11
TSR-AlexS

Customer Service
TSR-AlexS's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Posts: 435
Default

Aoste wrote:

The crashes an graphicproblems in pow and sleepers tomb looks like solved since the last fix.

I have try it in both zones (x4) without any crashes and graphicbugs. Thanks for this

Woot! Glad to know it's better. We are still watching the zones closely just in case. Keep us updated!

__________________
Alexander S

Technical Support Representative

Sony Online Entertainment

How to Contact Support:

https://help.station.sony.com/app/answers/detail/a_id/28939

How to Create a DXDIAG/MSINFO

https://help.station.sony.com/app/answers/detail/a_id/28973
TSR-AlexS is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools

Forum Jump


All times are GMT. The time now is 12:53 PM.

vBulletin skin by: CompleteGFX.com
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.5
Copyright ©2000 - 2021, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
All threads and posts originally from the EQ2 and Station forums operated by Sony Online Entertainment. Their use is by express written permission.