EQ2 Forum Archive @ EQ2Wire

 

Go Back   EQ2 Forum Archive @ EQ2Wire > EverQuest II > The Development Corner > Developer Roundtable
Members List Search Mark Forums Read

Notices

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 09-14-2010, 05:02 PM   #1
Rothgar

Developer
Rothgar's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: San Diego
Posts: 2,273
Default

After this morning's hotfix we've had reports of a few different issues.  So far, the issues that we've tracked down are related to an upgrade that we performed internally to bring our development environment up to a newer version.

Some players have reported a DirectX error when launching the game client.  This appears to be caused by systems that have not been updated to DirectX 9.0c.  If run into this problem, please download the latest DirectX 9.0 installer from Microsoft.

http://www.microsoft.com/downloads/...;displaylang=en

You may also have noticed that some zone junctions don't appear to be working properly.  We've found the source of this problem and it will require a hotfix to correct it.  We've already fixed it internally and are planning on a hotfix Wednesday morning to take care of it.

If you experience any other issues after today that seem to be new problems, please let me know and we will look into them right away.

Thanks!

Rothgar is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-14-2010, 06:07 PM   #2
Rothgar

Developer
Rothgar's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: San Diego
Posts: 2,273
Default

Just an update, we will have a fix for the missing DX9 dll later today.  This update will not require server downtime and will be fixed automatically when you run the patcher.

Rothgar is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-14-2010, 07:12 PM   #3
Zorastiz
Server: Antonia Bayle
Guild: Dressed To Kill
Rank: Prince of Darkness

Loremaster
Zorastiz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 955
Default

I have some friends who currently cannot log in due to this, I supplied them with the links to Microsofts site per posts on these forums, they have followed the instructions yet still cannot launch the game.

Any suggestions??

__________________


Zorastiz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-14-2010, 10:33 PM   #4
Atilla_The_Pun

Loremaster
Atilla_The_Pun's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 20
Default

WIndows 7 64-bit, got the DIrectX error on startup.

Ran the patcher as linked in this thread, everything AOK now.

Though, I do have to point out that I set my PC to download and install every available update, and it would appear that DX9 is not a part of that. If this is something that all Win7 users need to run, then perhaps it should be noted. (Ever better, make it run without having to do this?)

__________________
--
Adanna - 90 Ratonga Inquisitor of Unrest

Chess - 90 Ratonga Brigand of Unrest

Udda - 90 Conjuror of Unrest

Dialli - 90 Paladin of Unrest
Atilla_The_Pun is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-15-2010, 12:47 AM   #5
Dreyco

Archive of Ik
Dreyco's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 1,485
Default

[email protected] wrote:

WIndows 7 64-bit, got the DIrectX error on startup.

Ran the patcher as linked in this thread, everything AOK now.

Though, I do have to point out that I set my PC to download and install every available update, and it would appear that DX9 is not a part of that. If this is something that all Win7 users need to run, then perhaps it should be noted. (Ever better, make it run without having to do this?)

I don't think the patcher could patch DirectX for you, being there are so many variabilities depending on your OS.

Though they could link it in the launcher, yes.

__________________

Grand Historian of The Archive of Ik
Dreyco is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-15-2010, 08:52 AM   #6
Writer Cal

Loremaster
Writer Cal's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 700
Default

Okay, I'm really trying to be understanding and all, but...

Why is it that every patch lately seems to break a bunch of other things that aren't connected to anything in the patch notes?  One example:  This time, zoning.

Seriously, guys.  The running joke I keep hearing in-game from people across multiple guilds and playstyles is, "Oh, another patch?  What did they break this time?"  Raiders, casual solo/duo folks, RPers.  It makes no difference.  I hear it from them all.  The sad part is it really appears true from a player perspective.

I'm not just talking about "new" features.  Things that have worked just fine for ages, suddenly broken due to a new patch.  And then, these issues make us spend half our evenings dealing with work arounds -- or make portions of the game unavailable.  It smooths out for a bit, and the bam!  Another patch, another round of new broken "features!"

I used to look forward to patches, to things being fixed.  But lately, every patch just means a new set of hassles to deal with instead of, you know, playing the game.

__________________
~Daenee~

Member of the Tom Tobey Fan Club since 2010.

Homeshow Designs:

Deluxe Seaside Cottage

Reckoning Goes Corporate
Writer Cal is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-15-2010, 10:28 AM   #7
Roox
Server: Najena
Guild: Nexus
Rank: Raider

Loremaster
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 10
Default

Still broken.  Please fix

Roox is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-15-2010, 10:31 AM   #8
Barx
Server: Antonia Bayle
Guild: Mayhem
Rank: Officers

Loremaster
Barx's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Manors of Mithaniel, New Halas
Posts: 3,480
Default

[email protected] wrote:

Still broken.  Please fix

It's getting hotfixed at 7am. Tentative notes: http://forums.station.sony.com/eq2/...topic_id=486963

(BT to Amnerys & the devs: I like seeing the notes ahead of time even though they have that caveat at the bottom. Much better to get a rough idea of what is going in and have the chance of it being updated than having to wait until after the patch).

Barx is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-15-2010, 11:23 AM   #9
Roox
Server: Najena
Guild: Nexus
Rank: Raider

Loremaster
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 10
Default

Looks like the hotfix is in but still broken  *sigh*

edit:  Ok the hotfix didn't fix it, but I ran the directx update as in the first post and it fixed the issue.

Roox is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-15-2010, 01:12 PM   #10
Zorastiz
Server: Antonia Bayle
Guild: Dressed To Kill
Rank: Prince of Darkness

Loremaster
Zorastiz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 955
Default

You would think that after more than a decade in this business that SOE could get it right!

Apparently NOT!

__________________


Zorastiz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-15-2010, 07:16 PM   #11
Laiina

Loremaster
Laiina's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 622
Default

[email protected] wrote:

WIndows 7 64-bit, got the DIrectX error on startup.

Ran the patcher as linked in this thread, everything AOK now.

Though, I do have to point out that I set my PC to download and install every available update, and it would appear that DX9 is not a part of that. If this is something that all Win7 users need to run, then perhaps it should be noted. (Ever better, make it run without having to do this?)

Apparently for some reason Win7 did not update DirectX to the latest version so has to be done manually.

__________________
Laiina is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-15-2010, 07:36 PM   #12
Madgaholjad

Loremaster
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 21
Default

Hi with all the fixs and patches, are the servers really still offline (ie Splitpaw) as of 23:36 gmt time

Madgaholjad is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-20-2010, 06:35 PM   #13
MalevolenceXXX

Loremaster
MalevolenceXXX's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 42
Default

Hi-

Yesterday evening, my friends and I went back into Evernight Abbey to try to finish the zone.

It was 10pm last night on Lucan D'Lere.  We had about 90min left on the expiration.

We found the zone to be HORRIBLY laggy, which was not the case the first two times we

were in the zone.  But it wasn't usual lag.... voicechat, text messages, player movement,

all seemed to be normal.

However, SPELL and NPC movement appeared to be HORRIBLY lagged.  Any spell or

ability cast would showthe casting progress bar as normal, but when the casting bar

filled up, it way say up on the screen, the graphics would show on-screen, but the actual

effect would not land for 5-10 sec later (it varied but was mostly 6sec).  NPC movement

was also very jerky and they skipped around alot.  Pets were likewise massively hampered.

This made a normal 60sec combat take 10-12min.  (we finished Thex with just 2min remaining,

thank goodness!  talk about cutting it close...) We tried all zoning out to Loping Plains, and

there, spells/abilities worked normally.  We zoned back in the spell/NPC lag was still

prevalent.

Again, nothing seemed to be lagging except what appeared to be server-side issues of

NPC movement, NPC ability/spell use, and player ability/spell use.  I've seen plenty of lag

before, but never this specific.

The zone then expired so I don't know if there's any way to reproduce the problem.  But

it was VERY frustrating, especially with only so little time left to finish the zone.

__________________
MalevolenceXXX is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-21-2010, 03:03 AM   #14
Ghostfire
Server: The Bazaar
Guild: Dragonbane
Rank: Guild Leaders

Loremaster
Ghostfire's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 24
Default

I can't log in windows says there isa script error and the game hangs at checking for updates.

Ghostfire is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-21-2010, 01:54 PM   #15
DemiGoth

Loremaster
DemiGoth's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Netherlands
Posts: 16
Default

I'm running Windows 7 Ultimate 64bit. Did the DirectX patch and still not able to logon SMILEY

Odd thing is  that after the DirectX update my firewall told me a new program (new EQ2 exe) wanted access, but not working after okay. Loading it all a 2nd time I had the firewall popup again and now everything seems to be working *is confused*

__________________
Pages from Sages

DemiGoth is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-21-2010, 02:29 PM   #16
Aule
Server: Guk

Loremaster
Aule's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 1,360
Default

[email protected] DLere wrote:

Hi-

Yesterday evening, my friends and I went back into Evernight Abbey to try to finish the zone.

It was 10pm last night on Lucan D'Lere.  We had about 90min left on the expiration.

[ Lag description snipped ]

The zone then expired so I don't know if there's any way to reproduce the problem.  But

it was VERY frustrating, especially with only so little time left to finish the zone.

Instances that are closer to expiring receive less resources.  You can repeat this just by starting another instance, locking to it, and then leaving and coming back when it's about to expire.

Happens with long timer raid instances all the time.

__________________
guk.Aule - 90 coercer | Troops of Doom | 90 bruiser - guk.Krindi
Aule is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-22-2010, 01:05 PM   #17
MalevolenceXXX

Loremaster
MalevolenceXXX's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 42
Default

[email protected] wrote:

[email protected] DLere wrote:

Hi-

Yesterday evening, my friends and I went back into Evernight Abbey to try to finish the zone.

It was 10pm last night on Lucan D'Lere.  We had about 90min left on the expiration.

[ Lag description snipped ]

The zone then expired so I don't know if there's any way to reproduce the problem.  But

it was VERY frustrating, especially with only so little time left to finish the zone.

Instances that are closer to expiring receive less resources.  You can repeat this just by starting another instance, locking to it, and then leaving and coming back when it's about to expire.

Happens with long timer raid instances all the time.

I can understand that... IF no one is in the instance.  But we were actually IN the instance, fighting!

Resources should be allocated as long as there are active players in the zone.  Grrrr.

Thanks Aule.

__________________
MalevolenceXXX is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-24-2010, 04:16 PM   #18
Leafle

General
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Posts: 90
Default

Rothgar wrote:

Just an update, we will have a fix for the missing DX9 dll later today.  This update will not require server downtime and will be fixed automatically when you run the patcher.

By "later today" you mean "it still won't be fixed 10 days from now" ?

Haven't logged in for about 3 weeks and was going to log in one last time to give away my bankful of plat and items and I got the DLL error after running the patcher. What gives?

Leafle is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-02-2010, 06:43 PM   #19
Leafle

General
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Posts: 90
Default

Rothgar wrote:

Just an update, we will have a fix for the missing DX9 dll later today.  This update will not require server downtime and will be fixed automatically when you run the patcher.

Nope, still doesn't work.

"The program can't start because d3dx9_31.dll is missing from your computer. Try reinstalling the program to fix this problem."

So just to clarify, it wasn't fixed automatically when I ran the patcher. I'm just going to uninstall EQ2 from all my systems. Bye for good rookie development team, and bye for good, SOE.

Leafle is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools

Forum Jump


All times are GMT. The time now is 12:06 AM.

vBulletin skin by: CompleteGFX.com
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.5
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
All threads and posts originally from the EQ2 and Station forums operated by Sony Online Entertainment. Their use is by express written permission.