EQ2 Forum Archive @ EQ2Wire

EQ2 Forum Archive @ EQ2Wire (https://archive.eq2wire.com//index.php)
-   Developer Roundtable (https://archive.eq2wire.com//forumdisplay.php?f=749)
-   -   Hotfix Feedback - 3/29/11 (https://archive.eq2wire.com//showthread.php?t=498234)

Rothgar 03-29-2011 05:35 PM

<p>Today's hotfix introduced a couple of fixes and I'd be interested to hear how it has affected you.</p><p>First, we've made some changes to improve the performance for public quests.  We still expect them to contribute towards a higher level of lag than other types of content due to the sheer number of people that participate, and we are working to make them even better.  However, you should hopefully notice an improvement after today's hotfix.</p><p>We've also fixed a client crash bug that may have resulted in the the "EQ2 is no longer responding" error.  In many cases this may also just cause the client to shut down with no warning or error message.  If you were experiencing this problem, let us know if today's hotfix has helped or if you are still having a crash.  If you are, please feel free to post the time when the crash occurred and we will take a look at it.</p><p>If you have any other feedback or comments about today's hotfix, please feel free to post them here.</p><p>Thanks!</p>

Taamerlane 03-29-2011 07:55 PM

<p>Would love to see a red name comment on the issue with ranged weapons not taking a white adorn any longer.  Logged in to find my white adornment Ethereal Adornment of Extra Attacks in my over flow and removed from my Satchel of Velium Slag.  Even though the adornment still says it can be applied to a ranged item.. it will not.</p><p>Bug or intentional?</p><p>Thanks</p><p>EDIT:  And it appears this same adornment CAN be applied to my Deadly Stars of the Fallen ranged weapon.</p>

NamaeZero 03-29-2011 08:32 PM

<p>Crit Chance adornments popped off all my Legendary and Fabled DoV ranged weapons and went into overflow. The adornments themselves still say they can be applied to ranged weapons but I get an error when I try.</p>

Rothgar 03-29-2011 10:08 PM

<p>This appears to be a bug related to some item changes.  Our QA department is working on it now and we will have the items fixes asap.</p>

Thundy 03-29-2011 11:12 PM

<p>If anything, lag is 5x worse now.</p><p>PQs are a mess and the x2 is unplayable.</p><p>We were told that the mergers would combine the hardware and that would help. This was obviously incorrect. Guk sucks.</p>

Carthington 03-30-2011 12:09 AM

<p>Today's hotfix made an improvement to the PQs on butcherblock (so far) however there is still lots of lag in tower of frozen shadow x2</p>

Alenna 03-30-2011 12:12 AM

<p>My client just totally crashed while in the sinking sands portal I have not had crashing trouble since about a week or so after expansion when a friend helped me with a few things. what ever you did caused my computer to crash completly.</p>

Vannie 03-30-2011 12:23 AM

<p>zoning from NFP to commonlands via travel norrath globe thingy and the travel within FP bell.. crashed over 5 times in a row(doing betrayal line)  11pm EST - 11:30</p>

kdmorse 03-30-2011 01:17 AM

<p><cite>Carthington wrote:</cite></p><blockquote><p>Today's hotfix made an improvement to the PQs on butcherblock (so far) however there is still lots of lag in tower of frozen shadow x2</p></blockquote><p>It's very hard to judge, because it's also very dependant on the number of people in the zone.  My SG today seemed better, but we had far fewer people than normal.</p><p>My RW's however seemed worse.  Casting lag seemed higher than I've ever seen it. And I don't believe we had more people than normal.</p><p>Be the trend better or worse, todays changes clearly aren't the panacea we were hoping for.</p><p>(Your mileage may vary, server by server, PQ by PQ, Zone by Zone....)</p>

Yunay 03-30-2011 03:29 AM

<p>X2 was nearly unpossible to play yesterday evening on Valor ...</p><p>Its not really good if I (a defiler) couldn't tell our Tank if there are wards coming and when ... or if they're not coming cause I will crash.</p><p>After clicking the button I could wait about 10-15 sec until the spell will be casted .... THATS NO FUN !!!!</p><p>Yunay</p>

Griffildur 03-30-2011 04:58 AM

<p><cite>Rothgar wrote:</cite></p><blockquote><p>This appears to be a bug related to some item changes.  Our QA department is working on it now and we will have the items fixes asap.</p></blockquote><p>You have a QA department ??? Is anyone actually in it ??? really ?</p>

Klive 03-30-2011 08:02 AM

<p>Spell lag in the x2 was so bad, we finally had to call it.</p>

ffd700 03-30-2011 10:08 AM

<p>This started before the update but still happens, I'll go to zone and get booted to the login screen and when I go to log back in it tells me that my account is in use.  When I wait a few minutes and try to log back in I get a message that the login servers did not respond in a timely manner/fashion.  I have to close the client out completely to eventually get back in on that character.</p>

Sanction 03-30-2011 10:27 AM

<p>Storm Gorge PQ seems to have gotten slightly better in regards to lag but still getting up to 5 second spell lag.  Ring War PQ seems to have gotten worse actaully as I was getting 5-7 second spell lag and there was only 55 people in zone.  I have had less lag with more people in zone before.</p><p>Lag in the x4 and x2 raid instances is still very evident when my guild raids between 9 and 12 EST with a spell lag of about 5 seconds when it gets really bad and about 1-2 seconds during most of the zone.</p>

SpiderlingBane 03-30-2011 10:57 AM

<p>Client is still crashing multiple times a day.</p>

Laeal 03-30-2011 11:46 AM

<p>My experience last night was much worse than previously.  At some point during each of the PQs I ran with various characters client response changed from the "normal" 1-2 sec button lag and 30-40 fps to 5-10 sec button lag and 4-8 fps.  It was like watching a slide show.  I also crashed to desktop twice and that has not happened in months.</p>

Skeez1e 03-30-2011 12:10 PM

<p>We asked people to dismount for a x4 Ring War last evening - lag was marginally better.</p><p>We tried a single group at SG - it was bad - even the thought of what more than 2 groups would bring was scary - we'll be doing without boots and helms I'm afraid.</p>

Rothgar 03-30-2011 02:26 PM

<p>We found an issue last night with several Velious raid zones and have corrected it.  You should start seeing a vast improvement today in almost all raid zones, especially the Tower of Frozen Shadow x2.</p>

Dethdlr 03-30-2011 02:34 PM

<p>As a few others have said, RW seemed much worse than it was before the fix on Butcherblock.  I've run RW LOTS of times and I can't remember the server lag being worse on any of the runs than it was last night for both runs I did.</p>

gatrm 03-30-2011 06:17 PM

<p>I experienced noticeable improvement in SG.  It's still laggy, sure, but it was much better last night, granted I only did it once so it could have been a fluke.  Normally SG is a slideshow with a good 10-15s button lag, but the button lag was reduced to 2-3s and there wasn't any warping. </p><p>Edit:</p><p>And after trying the RW last night, I have to agree with the many posts here, RW was much worse, experienced the Slide-Show which for me has been pretty much reserved for SG.</p><p>I have also noted a periodic instability primarily near the Ring War, but not during the PQ itself where everything just stops and my framerate drops erratically.  It can be smooth as silk one second and then everything stops.  This has only happened to me in Great Divide, and really only near the RW/Dains last stand areas of [Removed for Content], and the frequency has increased lately.</p>

Thundy 03-30-2011 08:45 PM

<p><span style="text-decoration: underline;"><span style="color: #ff8c00;"><strong>Imperator Kolskeggr</strong></span></span></p><p>Really unbearable lag from this guy from <50% health on.</p>

stormkiller 03-30-2011 08:52 PM

Before the hotfix i never had a problem with the ring war pq now it lags badly for me

Taamerlane 03-31-2011 08:49 AM

<p>Today's update notes state:</p><p><span>- Fixed a problem with DoV bows that would not allow them to be adorned.</span></p><p>Can you please fix the non-bow items as well!!!  ffs.</p><p>Still can not re-apply the adornment to my Satchel of Velium Slag!</p><p>EDIT:  I apologize if i jumped the gun on this.  I saw the patch notes this morning..  logged in.. and tried to use my adornment.  Did not work.  But i think the patch notes came out before the update hit the servers?  So will try when i get home.  Hopefully i can re-adorn my Satchel.  Can anyone confirm that this is fixed?  At work and can not login.</p>

Peogia 04-02-2011 03:18 AM

<p>I have noticed if you call home right after a pq the server dumps you very frequently at waiting for zone server also you do not have to close game you can launch a second client and log in with out closing first 1 first on same account when this happens also I have noticed a ton of crashing when closing the eq2 client lately and Microsoft Windows requesting to submit 3 files to Microsoft each time this happens from the Everquest II client on windows 7 64bit</p><p>also when exiting eq2 the eq2 client is changing desktop lighting and making it brighter and some times ultra bright and requiring a pc reboot to fix it</p><p>Logged:4/2/2011 7:26:31PM us eastern time</p><p><p>Faulting application name: EverQuest2.exe, version: 1.0.0.1, time stamp: 0x4d935ddd</p><p>Faulting module name: ntdll.dll, version: 6.1.7600.16385, time stamp: 0x4a5bdb3b</p><p>Exception code: 0xc0000005</p><p>Fault offset: 0x00022272</p><p>Faulting process id: 0x758</p><p>Faulting application start time: 0x01cbf169aec6fe40</p><p>Faulting application path: C:Program Files (x86)SonyEverQuest IIEverQuest2.exe</p><p>Faulting module path: C:WindowsSysWOW64ntdll.dll</p><p>Report Id: a3c34f70-5d80-11e0-8986-00261845e49e</p></p><p>Logged:4/1/2011 2:15:03PM us eastern time</p><p>Faulting application name: EverQuest2.exe, version: 1.0.0.1, time stamp: 0x4d935ddd</p><p>Faulting module name: ntdll.dll, version: 6.1.7600.16385, time stamp: 0x4a5bdb3b</p><p>Exception code: 0xc0000005</p><p>Fault offset: 0x00022272</p><p>Faulting process id: 0x14c</p><p>Faulting application start time: 0x01cbf0969ed87690</p><p>Faulting application path: C:Program Files (x86)SonyEverQuest IIEverQuest2.exe</p><p>Faulting module path: C:WindowsSysWOW64ntdll.dll</p><p>Report Id: f6768980-5c8b-11e0-8adc-00261845e49e</p><p>Logged:3/30/2011 9:33:12PM  us eastern time</p><p>Faulting application name: EverQuest2.exe, version: 1.0.0.1, time stamp: 0x4d91224e</p><p>Faulting module name: ntdll.dll, version: 6.1.7600.16385, time stamp: 0x4a5bdb3b</p><p>Exception code: 0xc0000005</p><p>Fault offset: 0x00022272</p><p>Faulting process id: 0xa0c</p><p>Faulting application start time: 0x01cbef24cfa25ac0</p><p>Faulting application path: C:Program Files (x86)SonyEverQuest IIEverQuest2.exe</p><p>Faulting module path: C:WindowsSysWOW64ntdll.dll</p><p>Report Id: d6e93c30-5b36-11e0-a80f-00261845e49e</p>

Katz 04-02-2011 09:17 AM

<p>Storm gorge still seemed laggy with a full raid + many more there.  However, it seemed much easier to get to the supply runner, so I'm interpreting that to mean that it was better.  In the past it was pretty much impossible to get to the runner with the lag. </p>

threat111 04-04-2011 01:43 AM

<p>After spending the day on a server that is running "new" hardware then going back to an "old" hardware server its ridiculous how much better the new ones run.  In a PQ, during prime time, I got better performance then in an instanced raid zone on an old server.</p><p>I guess what I am wondering is, since the options is availible to make the game more enjoyable for every one, why doesnt every one have the new hardware?</p>

Peogia 04-04-2011 11:58 AM

<p><cite>[email protected] wrote:</cite></p><blockquote><p>After spending the day on a server that is running "new" hardware then going back to an "old" hardware server its ridiculous how much better the new ones run.  In a PQ, during prime time, I got better performance then in an instanced raid zone on an old server.</p><p>I guess what I am wondering is, since the options is availible to make the game more enjoyable for every one, why doesnt every one have the new hardware?</p></blockquote><p>Because we all pay equal fees therefor were not entitled to same benefits </p>


All times are GMT. The time now is 05:14 PM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.5
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
All threads and posts originally from the EQ2 and Station forums operated by Sony Online Entertainment. Their use is by express written permission.