EQ2 Forum Archive @ EQ2Wire

EQ2 Forum Archive @ EQ2Wire (https://archive.eq2wire.com//index.php)
-   General Tech Support Questions (https://archive.eq2wire.com//forumdisplay.php?f=4)
-   -   The solution is probably somewhere in the 30+ pages, but I can't seem to find it (https://archive.eq2wire.com//showthread.php?t=409339)

Onorem 02-27-2008 10:05 PM

Built a new computer a few weeks ago, and I'm having trouble logging in.I had it working for about a week (although usually not for more than 15 minutes at a time), but haven't been able to get past "trying login server #" for a couple weeks now.E84008800GTSVista-64I have my firewall turned off. (Windows firewall is also off)I have my antivirus turned off.I've gone to the Sony folder in both Program Files and Program Files (x86) and given full control to all users.Tried running as Administrator with both XP and 2000 compatibility.Is there anything obvious that anyone could suggest I might have missed?I'm enjoying Crysis, The Witcher, and Oblivion...but I'd prefer to be able to log into the game I'm paying the monthly fee for...Any help/suggestions would be appreciated.

TSR-DanT 02-28-2008 01:41 PM

If possible, try connecting directly to the modem, with out the router.Also instead of turning off the software, try adding our game to your security software's exception/ignore list.

Onorem 02-29-2008 12:34 PM

<cite>TSR-DanT wrote:</cite><blockquote>If possible, try connecting directly to the modem, with out the router.Also instead of turning off the software, try adding our game to your security software's exception/ignore list.</blockquote>Thanks for the suggestions. I was able to log in after adding the game to the firewall's exception list last night. It still seems odd that the firewall would be the problem when it was turned off, but I won't complain as long as I can connect.

Laedarr 02-29-2008 05:03 PM

<cite>Onorem wrote:</cite><blockquote>Built a new computer a few weeks ago, and I'm having trouble logging in.I had it working for about a week (although usually not for more than 15 minutes at a time), but haven't been able to get past "trying login server #" for a couple weeks now.<b><span style="font-size: x-small;">E84008800GTSVista-64</span></b>I have my firewall turned off. (Windows firewall is also off)I have my antivirus turned off.I've gone to the Sony folder in both Program Files and Program Files (x86) and given full control to all users.Tried running as Administrator with both XP and 2000 compatibility.Is there anything obvious that anyone could suggest I might have missed?I'm enjoying Crysis, The Witcher, and Oblivion...but I'd prefer to be able to log into the game I'm paying the monthly fee for...Any help/suggestions would be appreciated.</blockquote>If you check back to this post, let me know how the E8400 along with the 8800GTS runs EQ2.  I'm looking at the same chip and vid card.  Thanks.

Onorem 03-04-2008 11:21 AM

<cite>Laedarr wrote:</cite><blockquote><cite>Onorem wrote:</cite><blockquote>...<b><span style="font-size: x-small;">E84008800GTS...</span></b></blockquote>If you check back to this post, let me know how the E8400 along with the 8800GTS runs EQ2.  I'm looking at the same chip and vid card.  Thanks.</blockquote>The 8800GTS is a (G92) 512MB version. While I've been able to play, I have no complaints about this pair of components. I don't have any performance numbers, and I haven't had a chance to raid yet, but I can run through town on Extreme Quality without noticing lag.I'm happy with them. It's like a brand new game coming from a 3000+ and 5500FX.


All times are GMT. The time now is 12:24 PM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.5
Copyright ©2000 - 2021, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
All threads and posts originally from the EQ2 and Station forums operated by Sony Online Entertainment. Their use is by express written permission.