PDA

View Full Version : Chaos Descending: UI Improvements Feedback


Thart
10-11-2018, 09:43 PM
Hi everyone, we've added a few quality-of-life improvements in Chaos Descending. If you have any feedback about these, please post it here <img src="/images/smilies/smile.gif" alt="Smile" /><br /> <br /><b>Group/Raid Countdown Window</b><br /> <br />A group or raid leader can now start a countdown that will show up on all members' screens.<br /> <br />Type the `/countdown` command to see a nice UI for choosing a countdown duration. It will ping every 5 seconds until there are 5 seconds remaining, then you'll experience a dramatic second-by-second countdown!<br /> <br />You can also specify a seconds parameter to `/countdown` to skip using the UI window.<br /> <br /><b>Group Reordering</b><br /> <br />There are new right-click actions on group member portraits for reordering your local view of the group. If you'd like a particular person to always be in your F2 slot, that's now possible!<br /> <br />A more detailed description of this is in the <a href="https://forums.daybreakgames.com/eq2/index.php?threads/beta-update-notes-october-8-2018.586707/" class="internalLink">update notes</a>.<br /> <br /><b>Guild Recruitment</b><br /> <br />A more detailed description of this is in the <a href="https://forums.daybreakgames.com/eq2/index.php?threads/beta-update-notes-october-8-2018.586707/" class="internalLink">update notes</a>.<br /> <br />We hope this makes it easier for people to find what they're looking for in guilds and recruits.<br /> <br /><b>Broker Pricing</b><br /> <br /><span style="text-decoration: line-through">640K</span> 9,999,999P ought to be enough for anybody <img src="/images/smilies/wink.gif" alt="Wink" />

Dude
10-11-2018, 09:53 PM
<div class="bbCodeBlock bbCodeQuote" data-author="Thart"> <aside> <div class="attribution type">Thart said: <a href="index.php?goto/post&id=6522995#post-6522995" class="AttributionLink">↑</a> </div> <blockquote><span class="ae_quote_symbol">“</span><span class="ae_quote_content"><b>Broker Pricing</b><br /> <br /><span style="text-decoration: line-through">640K</span> 999,999,999P ought to be enough for anybody <img src="/images/smilies/wink.gif" alt="Wink" /></span><span class="ae_quote_symbol">”</span></blockquote> </aside></div>Fixed that for you. <img src="/images/smilies/rolleyes.gif" alt="Roll Eyes" />

Mermut
10-12-2018, 02:34 AM
The options dealing with swapping group members around seems to have broker the ability to click on a group member and swap to their instance.. Ie if you're in CoV 1 and they're in CoV 2, on live, you can right click on the group member and join them in CoV 2

Thart
10-13-2018, 03:31 AM
<div class="bbCodeBlock bbCodeQuote" data-author="Mermut"> <aside> <div class="attribution type">Mermut said: <a href="index.php?goto/post&id=6523065#post-6523065" class="AttributionLink">↑</a> </div> <blockquote><span class="ae_quote_symbol">“</span><span class="ae_quote_content">The options dealing with swapping group members around seems to have broker the ability to click on a group member and swap to their instance.. Ie if you're in CoV 1 and they're in CoV 2, on live, you can right click on the group member and join them in CoV 2</span><span class="ae_quote_symbol">”</span></blockquote> </aside></div>I'm looking into this but having trouble getting a repro. In Coliseum of Valor, I'm able to see the "Go to" right click command and execute it:<br /> <br /><img src="https://i.imgur.com/lFNUocP.png" class="bbCodeImage LbImage" alt="[IMG]" /><br /> <br />Is Coliseum of Valor the right zone? And was this a consistent thing, or just sometimes that you didn't get this verb in the action menu?

Mermut
10-13-2018, 04:18 AM
<div class="bbCodeBlock bbCodeQuote" data-author="Thart"> <aside> <div class="attribution type">Thart said: <a href="index.php?goto/post&id=6523325#post-6523325" class="AttributionLink">↑</a> </div> <blockquote><span class="ae_quote_symbol">“</span><span class="ae_quote_content">I'm looking into this but having trouble getting a repro. In Coliseum of Valor, I'm able to see the "Go to" right click command and execute it:<br /> <br /><img src="https://i.imgur.com/lFNUocP.png" class="bbCodeImage LbImage" alt="[IMG]" /><br /> <br />Is Coliseum of Valor the right zone? And was this a consistent thing, or just sometimes that you didn't get this verb in the action menu?</span><span class="ae_quote_symbol">”</span></blockquote> </aside></div>I was actually trying to use it in Myrist.. perhaps it's the new zones that don't allow swapping instances and not the UI. I don't know that I'll be able to find a non CD zone to test in beta though.

Conifur
10-13-2018, 07:37 AM
It did not work at first for a friend and I - it seemed to clear up once we actually left Myrist. Now it works even if in the library. I am not sure if it was the leaving the first time that "fixed" it or if something happened. Was the same thing with the mount gear window. I could not open it until after I left Myrist once.

Conifur
10-13-2018, 09:37 AM
<div class="bbCodeBlock bbCodeQuote" data-author="Mermut"> <aside> <div class="attribution type">Mermut said: <a href="index.php?goto/post&id=6523370#post-6523370" class="AttributionLink">↑</a> </div> <blockquote><span class="ae_quote_symbol">“</span><span class="ae_quote_content">So it sounds like switching instances ONLY in Myrist is broken... meaning it's a zone bug, not a UI bug?</span><span class="ae_quote_symbol">”</span></blockquote> </aside></div>It was either a first time bug or it was fixed. I am able to switch now in Myrist. It was just the first time we grouped and had not left the library - we were running around doing the quests in there. Once we zoned after about 30 minutes we no longer had the problem in Myrist. I'll try again today.

Mermut
10-13-2018, 08:10 PM
<div class="bbCodeBlock bbCodeQuote" data-author="Conifur"> <aside> <div class="attribution type">Conifur said: <a href="index.php?goto/post&id=6523364#post-6523364" class="AttributionLink">↑</a> </div> <blockquote><span class="ae_quote_symbol">“</span><span class="ae_quote_content">It did not work at first for a friend and I - it seemed to clear up once we actually left Myrist. Now it works even if in the library. I am not sure if it was the leaving the first time that "fixed" it or if something happened. Was the same thing with the mount gear window. I could not open it until after I left Myrist once.</span><span class="ae_quote_symbol">”</span></blockquote> </aside></div>So it sounds like switching instances ONLY in Myrist is broken... meaning it's a zone bug, not a UI bug?

Thart
10-16-2018, 08:28 AM
From y'all's responses and chatting with Caith, certainly seems like it's a zone thing. If the command works now, a content change must have corrected the problem.<br /> <br />Another way to test without relying on the UI being there is via the <span style="font-family: 'courier new'">/zone_to_group_member <member name></span> command--that's what the action submits on click. If the right-click action doesn't appear, but the slash command works, then that's likely something I broke.<br /> <br />Thank you for your help with bug bashing <img src="/images/smilies/smile.gif" alt="Smile" />