PDA

View Full Version : 'You can't do that while sitting.'


Saev
12-01-2004, 08:03 PM
<DIV>As a recent SK, I was riding my horse around quite a lot yesterday, amused by little things like mining from horseback. I was also mildly amused (and a little irritated) when he drowned crossing a river that I can almost walk across. The message was something like 'You can't do that, the water is too deep.' Like horses can't swim.</DIV> <DIV> </DIV> <DIV>Anyway, I resummoned and carried on. Later on I joined with some friends and we started fighting in various places. The problem started while sitting down to get power back. I started getting spammed by the message 'You can't do that while sitting'.</DIV> <DIV> </DIV> <DIV>I am assuming it was a message telling me not to sit on my horse (!!?), but the horse was long gone. Even zoning didn't help, I still got spammed whenever I sat.</DIV> <DIV> </DIV> <DIV>Does anyone else have this issue, and is it related to the horse drowning and disappearing without being properly cancelled? Is there any cure for it short of logging, assuming even that will work? </DIV> <DIV> </DIV> <DIV>Thanks.</DIV>

chaosang
12-01-2004, 08:14 PM
<DIV>had same thing after reloggin, before i had my horse summoned, after it was gone and i got spammed with that message when i sat down.</DIV> <DIV> </DIV> <DIV>that horses cant swim in this game is really disappointing, "quickly nightmare, over that river then we are save, go nightmare, go!" but noooo, it drowns. and me in full vanguard and like a master of the art can cross an ocean without the slightest sign of exhaustion *snickers*</DIV>

Pilijer
12-01-2004, 08:15 PM
There is absolutely NO NEED to sit to regain power - There have been millions of threads on this - Its Food/Drink quality that increase HP/POWER regen <img src="/smilies/3b63d1616c5dfcf29f8a7a031aaa7cad.gif" border="0" alt="SMILEY" />

Dazzler-
12-01-2004, 08:45 PM
<DIV>I must have bug reported this very thing 20 times already. Yes I know you dont need to sit to regen...I do it out of habit and as sort of roleplay. It also tells the other folks in the group, nope im not ready to pull yet! </DIV> <DIV> </DIV> <DIV>I found a way to shut it off in the chat options area....but forgot which command it was linked to. Would check but the server is down for its daily maintenance! hehe</DIV>

chaosang
12-01-2004, 08:51 PM
<BR> <BLOCKQUOTE> <HR> Pilijer wrote:<BR>There is absolutely NO NEED to sit to regain power - There have been millions of threads on this - Its Food/Drink quality that increase HP/POWER regen <img src="/smilies/3b63d1616c5dfcf29f8a7a031aaa7cad.gif" border="0" alt="SMILEY" /><BR> <HR> </BLOCKQUOTE><BR> what this has to do with the bug? or that horses cant swim?

Saev
12-01-2004, 08:56 PM
<BR> <BLOCKQUOTE> <HR> Pilijer wrote:<BR>There is absolutely NO NEED to sit to regain power - There have been millions of threads on this - Its Food/Drink quality that increase HP/POWER regen <img src="/smilies/3b63d1616c5dfcf29f8a7a031aaa7cad.gif" border="0" alt="SMILEY" /><BR> <HR> </BLOCKQUOTE><BR> <P>Like Dazzler said, it's a habit. It just feels wrong to be standing while you 'med'. :smileyvery-happy:</P> <P>Thanks for the other replies as well. I'll see if I can find the way to turn it off in chat.</P> <P> </P> <P> </P>

Bellic
12-01-2004, 09:24 PM
<BR> <BLOCKQUOTE> <HR> Pilijer wrote:<BR>There is absolutely NO NEED to sit to regain power - There have been millions of threads on this - Its Food/Drink quality that increase HP/POWER regen <img src="/smilies/3b63d1616c5dfcf29f8a7a031aaa7cad.gif" border="0" alt="SMILEY" /><BR> <HR> </BLOCKQUOTE><BR> <DIV>that wasn't his issue and yes ever since I got my horse I have had this issue as well about the water is to deep or you can't do that while swimming.</DIV>

Hrym
12-01-2004, 09:44 PM
<DIV>Im getting this same message, followed by white text message something in the lines of "you uncover a hidden something or other hand bla bla..." over and over i get this spammed and popping up on me, think i should submit a bug report? <img src="/smilies/69934afc394145350659cd7add244ca9.gif" border="0" alt="SMILEY" /> Its been like this for a week, i keep hoping it fixes by itself lol</DIV>

Seolta
12-01-2004, 11:51 PM
<BR> <BLOCKQUOTE> <HR> Hrymur wrote:<BR> <DIV>Im getting this same message, followed by white text message something in the lines of "you uncover a hidden something or other hand bla bla..." over and over i get this spammed and popping up on me, think i should submit a bug report? <img src="/smilies/69934afc394145350659cd7add244ca9.gif" border="0" alt="SMILEY" /> Its been like this for a week, i keep hoping it fixes by itself lol</DIV><BR> <HR> </BLOCKQUOTE><BR> The "you uncover..." is part of the Narin Heirloom quest...go to FG and just inside first gate take a right...go back into the smoke filled room and at the back wall are a couple steps down. Go down em and get the update, then go talk to the DE chick at the crossroads to finish it. It's a known issue, but finishing the quest will stop the spam.

Zutan
12-02-2004, 05:09 AM
<DIV>Something about the horse causes this..  Examples:</DIV> <DIV> </DIV> <DIV>You cant do this because the water is to deep (but I'm not currently on the horse)</DIV> <DIV>You cant do this while sitting (but again, I'm not on the horse)</DIV> <DIV> </DIV> <DIV>I also sometimes run at horse speed when I am not on the horse at all.. kinda odd.</DIV> <DIV> </DIV> <DIV> </DIV> <DIV>None of this happens unless I have at least used the horse during that play session.  Once I log out it stops till I use the horse again.</DIV>

Drax
12-02-2004, 03:31 PM
<DIV>Zutan, i doubt youre running at horse speed.</DIV> <DIV> </DIV> <DIV>Us Iksar tend to have higher Agility and that effects your base run speed. Long before I became a Shadowknight I was ditching my fiancee's character and after asking and searching, supposedly it was due to agility. Neither of us had speed buffs or debuffs nor were we anywhere near encumberment.</DIV> <DIV> </DIV> <DIV>So thats probably whats happening =P</DIV>

ChaosImbu
12-03-2004, 03:02 AM
FREAKING ANNOYING.

xnoo
12-03-2004, 01:37 PM
<DIV> <DIV>Same here,</DIV> <DIV> </DIV> <DIV>I send a bug report about this the other day. It's just cosmetic, so no real problem for me.</DIV> <DIV> </DIV> <DIV>Aroc, a 25 Barbarian SK on Najena</DIV></DIV>

Crani
01-16-2005, 11:39 PM
<DIV>Getting it while sitting and swimming, hate it.  Please make it stop.</DIV>

Chasak
01-17-2005, 12:24 AM
put an illusion on and welcome the spam

Hitop
01-17-2005, 02:32 AM
<DIV>For the love of god fix this before I smash my f'ing monitor with my head.</DIV> <DIV> </DIV> <DIV> </DIV> <DIV>Dril</DIV>

Saev
01-17-2005, 04:43 AM
<DIV>I'm betting it won't be fixed until there are far more high level non-SK/Pally players buying horses, at which point they will discover that having ridden their horse once they will be spammed everytime they swim, sit, or use an illusion. I almost feel sorry for the first druid to buy a horse ... almost. :smileywink:</DIV>

jay
01-17-2005, 06:37 AM
<DIV>Ever since i got a horse and tried to sit down after dispelling it i've had the same thing happen to me.I thought it was just me,glad to know i'm not the only one being annoyed.Does anyone know how to stop this?</DIV>

strath
01-17-2005, 09:19 AM
<DIV>From the reading ive done about this, it seems the game flagges you as continuously evermore being on your horse after youve used it once, even if you log out and back in theres something somewhere that says your on your horse.</DIV>

Tu
01-17-2005, 11:22 AM
Goto chat options and turn off status text in the general (i think) area, first one listed at the topQuick fix to get rid of the spam, but it also turns off stuff like faction messages

vwlsskng
01-18-2005, 06:41 PM
<DIV>My personal favourite is, "You cannot do that while in this form."</DIV>

JasonTheReap
01-19-2005, 04:42 AM
"the water is too deep" is my fave, it spams when ever i get wet

SinIsLaw
01-19-2005, 03:19 PM
yepp yepp! just wait till you get Lucan's pact:you can not do it in this formyou can not do it in this formyou can not do it in this formyou can not do it in this formyou can not do it in this formyou can not do it in this formyou can not do it in this formyou can not do it in this formThe big question is WHAT!!!!! ;o) Kicking my screen and swearing cause i can't find the way to disable it.SoE still has a long way 2 go, with the illusions / pet etc so many issues with them (e.g you can't use your horse or birds once your using Lucan's pact or an eye illusion, but we are not allone Necros need 2 unsommon their pet to use a griff bird)