PDA

View Full Version : Being able to skip to Obulus on alts?


Niami DenMother
10-12-2016, 05:34 AM
I can already picture poor Domino cringing as I bring this up, but after doing slogging through the Frillik Tide instance once I am doing a HUGE cheer that once this goes live, the adventuring side only has to do that fussy and unforgiving mess once and it will be optional for the alts on the same account, who can also just skip directly to Obulus and pick up their sig line there.<br /> <br />Could you consider doing something similar on the crafting side of things? The thought of having to do that ship *that* many times for the crafting army, is overwhelming, even if I get better and faster at it due to far too much practice.<br /> <br />Thanks!

Ocarinah
10-12-2016, 06:03 PM
+1,000,000,000,000.

Elinea
10-12-2016, 06:47 PM
Also, as I stated in another post, all of my crafters are also max level adventure. Does this mean I'll have to do the ship quest twice? Once for each quest line? I sure hope not, because I'm already /headdesk'ing on the first try.

Domino
10-12-2016, 10:07 PM
The good news is that the ship quest an easy ~10 minutes or so once you figure out how to do it.<br /> <br />I plan to put in the option to skip the ship for tradeskill quests also. Will happen at end of beta though. <img src="/images/smilies/smile.gif" alt="Smile" />

Mezaka
10-12-2016, 11:08 PM
<div class="bbCodeBlock bbCodeQuote" data-author="Domino"> <aside> <div class="attribution type">Domino said: <a href="index.php?goto/post&id=6379238#post-6379238" class="AttributionLink">↑</a> </div> <blockquote><span class="ae_quote_symbol">“</span><span class="ae_quote_content">The good news is that the ship quest an easy ~10 minutes or so once you figure out how to do it.<br /> <br />I plan to put in the option to skip the ship for tradeskill quests also. Will happen at end of beta though. <img src="/images/smilies/smile.gif" alt="Smile" /></span><span class="ae_quote_symbol">”</span></blockquote> </aside></div>Thank you Domino!

Niami DenMother
10-12-2016, 11:24 PM
<div class="bbCodeBlock bbCodeQuote" data-author="Domino"> <aside> <div class="attribution type">Domino said: <a href="index.php?goto/post&id=6379238#post-6379238" class="AttributionLink">↑</a> </div> <blockquote><span class="ae_quote_symbol">“</span><span class="ae_quote_content">The good news is that the ship quest an easy ~10 minutes or so once you figure out how to do it.<br /> <br />I plan to put in the option to skip the ship for tradeskill quests also. Will happen at end of beta though. <img src="/images/smilies/smile.gif" alt="Smile" /></span><span class="ae_quote_symbol">”</span></blockquote> </aside></div>THANK YOU!<br /> <br />Yep, it is easy once you know what you're doing, mostly. But if you have a cat on the keyboard {eyes Ocarinah with a snicker} or a stray sneeze at the wrong time while you're creeping in that crate {raises hand sheepishly}, having to backtrack so many steps can still be frustrating. Having an option for the less masochistic of us to skip that part would be lovely. <img src="/images/smilies/biggrin.gif" alt="BigGrin" /> And yes, I figured this would be something only for the live servers, like the adventuring version bypass. <img src="/images/smilies/smile.gif" alt="Smile" />

Senya
10-13-2016, 11:00 PM
I've not really had a chance to play in beta yet, but I have to say it is so very nice to see Domino back and working on tradeskills. <img src="/images/smilies/smile.gif" alt="Smile" />

Anatha
10-15-2016, 05:05 PM
<div class="bbCodeBlock bbCodeQuote" data-author="Domino"> <aside> <div class="attribution type">Domino said: <a href="index.php?goto/post&id=6379238#post-6379238" class="AttributionLink">↑</a> </div> <blockquote><span class="ae_quote_symbol">“</span><span class="ae_quote_content">The good news is that the ship quest an easy ~10 minutes or so once you figure out how to do it.<br /> <br />I plan to put in the option to skip the ship for tradeskill quests also. Will happen at end of beta though. <img src="/images/smilies/smile.gif" alt="Smile" /></span><span class="ae_quote_symbol">”</span></blockquote> </aside></div> <br />This is good to hear as I have a total of 9 characters that are all crafters with only 2 being my main and main alt for raids and adventuring. The idea of taking all of them through the ship while it is much easier now that I know what I am doing is still a long process with that many characters. I know others have a lot more than I do and I can hear the cries of joy now that they don't need to bring all bazillion through the ship! <img src="/images/smilies/wink.gif" alt="Wink" /><br /><br />FYI, all my toons are also level 100 and have done their ER. So now I have the daunting task of getting them all through Epic 1.0 before they can do Epic 2.0. I may not use them in raids, groups, etc but I still like to be on top of things! <img src="/images/smilies/wink.gif" alt="Wink" /> Oh and at least the beastlord is done without having to worry about it!

Canth
10-16-2016, 06:47 AM
<div class="bbCodeBlock bbCodeQuote" data-author="Senya"> <aside> <div class="attribution type">Senya said: <a href="index.php?goto/post&id=6379853#post-6379853" class="AttributionLink">↑</a> </div> <blockquote><span class="ae_quote_symbol">“</span><span class="ae_quote_content">I have to say it is so very nice to see Domino back and working on tradeskills. <img src="/images/smilies/smile.gif" alt="Smile" /></span><span class="ae_quote_symbol">”</span></blockquote> </aside></div> <br />I 1000% agree with this. It is so nice to have you working on this stuff and doing the awesome job you always do, Domino. Thank you.

Kouzatc
10-17-2016, 12:25 AM
My first completion of the boat took about 45 mins , while taking notes. My second completion was under 10 mins.

Cloudrat
10-17-2016, 06:20 PM
<div class="bbCodeBlock bbCodeQuote" data-author="Domino"> <aside> <div class="attribution type">Domino said: <a href="index.php?goto/post&id=6379238#post-6379238" class="AttributionLink">↑</a> </div> <blockquote><span class="ae_quote_symbol">“</span><span class="ae_quote_content">The good news is that the ship quest an easy ~10 minutes or so once you figure out how to do it.<br /> <br /> <br /> <br />I plan to put in the option to skip the ship for tradeskill quests also. Will happen at end of beta though. <img src="/images/smilies/smile.gif" alt="Smile" /></span><span class="ae_quote_symbol">”</span></blockquote> </aside></div> <br /> <br />Still took me an hour the third time through lol telling people it's easy doesn't make it so<img src="/images/smilies/tongue.gif" alt="Tongue" /> It is a fun and well made quest, but will never, ever, ever be easy<img src="/images/smilies/tongue.gif" alt="Tongue" />

Chikkin
10-26-2016, 03:48 AM
my chikkin army will not skip any of the ships, I LOVE it lol

Tierisch
10-26-2016, 05:33 AM
<div class="bbCodeBlock bbCodeQuote" data-author="Domino"> <aside> <div class="attribution type">Domino said: <a href="index.php?goto/post&id=6379238#post-6379238" class="AttributionLink">↑</a> </div> <blockquote><span class="ae_quote_symbol">“</span><span class="ae_quote_content">The good news is that the ship quest an easy ~10 minutes or so once you figure out how to do it.<br /> <br /> <br /> <br />I plan to put in the option to skip the ship for tradeskill quests also. Will happen at end of beta though. <img src="/images/smilies/smile.gif" alt="Smile" /></span><span class="ae_quote_symbol">”</span></blockquote> </aside></div> <br /> <br />As long as it remains an option, not an automatic pass. I love the boat and wouldn't want to skip it. Maybe those "masochists" among us could get a nice little bonus for doing it when we don't have to =P.

Quillyne
10-26-2016, 07:57 AM
I plan on running each and every one of my 12 crafters through the boat...and the dozen on adventure side too! I love the boat! Gimme more zip lines! <3

Tohopka
10-27-2016, 12:15 PM
Me personally, twice was enough. But that's just me.

Xerikton
10-27-2016, 03:51 PM
found a bug on this quest.<br /> <br />I got it and the regular access quests at the same time. did the boat access and after a week decided to do the tradeskill one. everything went fine until I freed the queen. I went through her dialog but didn't get the update. I did get ported to on the beach with the goblins. ie the boat was skipped. the quest still shows I need to talk to alwenielle. went back and did so only to get ported again with no update. neither goblin will talk to me still.<br /> <br />might try it on a alt I just got copied.

Tierisch
10-27-2016, 04:20 PM
<div class="bbCodeBlock bbCodeQuote" data-author="Xerikton"> <aside> <div class="attribution type">Xerikton said: <a href="index.php?goto/post&id=6384788#post-6384788" class="AttributionLink">↑</a> </div> <blockquote><span class="ae_quote_symbol">“</span><span class="ae_quote_content">found a bug on this quest.<br /> <br /> <br /> <br />I got it and the regular access quests at the same time. did the boat access and after a week decided to do the tradeskill one. everything went fine until I freed the queen. I went through her dialog but didn't get the update. I did get ported to on the beach with the goblins. ie the boat was skipped. the quest still shows I need to talk to alwenielle. went back and did so only to get ported again with no update. neither goblin will talk to me still.<br /> <br /> <br /> <br />might try it on a alt I just got copied.</span><span class="ae_quote_symbol">”</span></blockquote> </aside></div> <br />Yeah that shouldn't happen, I've run a couple of 100/100 through both the adventure and tradeskill lines and that didn't happen to me. Hope they can help you out. Good luck!!!

Crastinal
10-27-2016, 05:13 PM
Beta patch notes say the boat is not part of the tradeskill line anymore.<br /> <br />Noooooooooooooooooooooes!!! I like the boat!! <br />Please, consider making it optional, but seriously it is a fun quest to do.

Quillyne
10-27-2016, 05:24 PM
<div class="bbCodeBlock bbCodeQuote" data-author="Crastinal"> <aside> <div class="attribution type">Crastinal said: <a href="index.php?goto/post&id=6384814#post-6384814" class="AttributionLink">↑</a> </div> <blockquote><span class="ae_quote_symbol">“</span><span class="ae_quote_content">Beta patch notes say the boat is not part of the tradeskill line anymore.<br /> <br /> <br /> <br />Noooooooooooooooooooooes!!! I like the boat!!<br /> <br />Please, consider making it optional, but seriously it is a fun quest to do.</span><span class="ae_quote_symbol">”</span></blockquote> </aside></div> <br /> <br />Yes! Please give us the option, don't just take it away! The boat rides adds depth to the story. For those of us that enjoy it, please let us have the ability to take the trip!

Xerikton
10-27-2016, 05:24 PM
if it was recently patched I had a older quest. ill try to delete it and redo. thank you for that info.<br /> <br />the boat quest isn't fun. on a 1-10 on the suxage meter it is a 12. I know of 4 friends who will have problems with it because of lag or physical disabilities.

Materfarmer
10-27-2016, 06:09 PM
Can anyone be shocked the boat is no longer part of the TS line? After all the complaints I've seen in the TS forum section is it any wonder they cut it even if it is a nice part of the story and not hard at all. I mean really if you can't crouch and click a couple of shiny spots on the screen at this point....

Domino
10-28-2016, 12:05 AM
<div class="bbCodeBlock bbCodeQuote" data-author="Crastinal"> <aside> <div class="attribution type">Crastinal said: <a href="index.php?goto/post&id=6384814#post-6384814" class="AttributionLink">↑</a> </div> <blockquote><span class="ae_quote_symbol">“</span><span class="ae_quote_content">Beta patch notes say the boat is not part of the tradeskill line anymore.<br /> <br />Noooooooooooooooooooooes!!! I like the boat!!<br />Please, consider making it optional, but seriously it is a fun quest to do.</span><span class="ae_quote_symbol">”</span></blockquote> </aside></div>It is indeed fun, Chrol did a great job with it. However, it was decided not to make it part of the access questlines. I am told it will soon <tm> be available as a separate adventure quest instead.

Quillyne
10-28-2016, 12:25 AM
<div class="bbCodeBlock bbCodeQuote" data-author="Domino"> <aside> <div class="attribution type">Domino said: <a href="index.php?goto/post&id=6384940#post-6384940" class="AttributionLink">↑</a> </div> <blockquote><span class="ae_quote_symbol">“</span><span class="ae_quote_content">It is indeed fun, Chrol did a great job with it. However, it was decided not to make it part of the access questlines. I am told it will soon <tm> be available as a separate adventure quest instead.</span><span class="ae_quote_symbol">”</span></blockquote> </aside></div> <br /> <br />How disappointing the boat ride won't be optional for those that enjoy it. I still very much enjoy the TS story, but the boat gave it some real flair, depth and fun outside the usual "fetch and craft".<br /> <br />Gasp! Could the quest be made repeatable on the adventure side?! That would make it easier to move on from this loss!

Mystfit
10-28-2016, 01:07 AM
<div class="bbCodeBlock bbCodeQuote" data-author="Domino"> <aside> <div class="attribution type">Domino said: <a href="index.php?goto/post&id=6384940#post-6384940" class="AttributionLink">↑</a> </div> <blockquote><span class="ae_quote_symbol">“</span><span class="ae_quote_content">It is indeed fun, Chrol did a great job with it. However, it was decided not to make it part of the access questlines. I am told it will soon <tm> be available as a separate adventure quest instead.</span><span class="ae_quote_symbol">”</span></blockquote> </aside></div> <br />I hope Chrol knows there are those of us who utterly loved it!

Febrith
10-28-2016, 07:53 AM
<div class="bbCodeBlock bbCodeQuote" data-author="Mystfit"> <aside> <div class="attribution type">Mystfit said: <a href="index.php?goto/post&id=6384956#post-6384956" class="AttributionLink">↑</a> </div> <blockquote><span class="ae_quote_symbol">“</span><span class="ae_quote_content">I hope Chrol knows there are those of us who utterly loved it!</span><span class="ae_quote_symbol">”</span></blockquote> </aside></div> <br />"udderly" loved it? <img src="/images/smilies/tongue.gif" alt="Tongue" /> C'mon someone had to say it <3

Crastinal
10-28-2016, 09:00 AM
Okay...? So, I'm running the tradeskill line on an alt after parking my first character on Nye'Caelona. So, I kinda know what to expect. What to do. I read that the boat is not part of the tradeskill quest anymore and decided to run it on the character that is about to finish the adventure line. Back to Maldura, talk to Brythel, talk to queen, gather pollen, craft orb, back to queen, she is missing, enter Arcanna'se, blow up the crates, free queen, ported to beach.... and goblins ignore me.<br /> <br />Because the quest journal still wants me to speak with Alwenielle in the Arcanna'se spire. <br />That I already talked to. (groan groan groan)<br />UGH!<br /> <br />THAT DID NOT HAPPEN WHEN THERE WAS A BOAT.

Xerikton
10-28-2016, 05:26 PM
I took my ascension illusion off and it worked. got the update. didn't have to delete it.

Shmogre
10-28-2016, 05:36 PM
<div class="bbCodeBlock bbCodeQuote" data-author="Crastinal"> <aside> <div class="attribution type">Crastinal said: <a href="index.php?goto/post&id=6385029#post-6385029" class="AttributionLink">↑</a> </div> <blockquote><span class="ae_quote_symbol">“</span><span class="ae_quote_content">Because the quest journal still wants me to speak with Alwenielle in the Arcanna'se spire.</span><span class="ae_quote_symbol">”</span></blockquote> </aside></div>Hi Crastinal...I answered in your other post about this, but just in case you didn't see it: this was a bug that has been fixed in today's update. Try talking to the Queen again, your files may not have updated yet. Luck!

Edelphia
11-02-2016, 09:43 AM
only part I've had bug, and this may be fixed by now, is the orbs you click to free the queen don't always show if you go LD or log out in that zone. I did find that zoning out of the zone and back in would fix it, if you can find your way back to the entrance without a map <img src="/images/smilies/tongue.gif" alt="Tongue" />