PDA

View Full Version : Any chance to get a 64bit EQ2 client?


Ingerimm
11-10-2015, 05:22 AM
Dear developers,...<br /> <br />Time passes and the development of the PC and operating system and the software in general is evolving.<br /> <br />EQ2 is now 11 years and have always evolved.<br /> <br />My question is, why do not you give us in a timely manner once a 64bit client?<br /> <br />As its certainly should be known, it is without detours in the programming, not possible to assign a process to a 32bit application more than 2Gb RAM.<br /> <br />Today PCs generally have more than enough RAM and are all based on a 64bit hardware, so that would leave it some memory problems that arise more often in EQ2 avoid.<br /> <br />More and more often errors occur which refer to it, error messages such as "out of memory" are in long gaming sessions on the Agenda. ... client crash´s ... lags by memory leeks and so on ... or client closes easily without any obvious reason ...<br /> <br />The is just an idea and a proposal I know the effort it would mean not to reprogram the client on 64bit, it should be easy to accomplish this, they should think about.<br /> <br />In this sense, all the best<br />Regards<br />Ingerimm of Valor

Ingerimm
11-10-2015, 07:40 PM
Perhaps even as a supplement.<br /> <br />I know that it is possible in Windows on WOW64 (Windows on Windows 64 bit) to a maximum of 4GB of RAM to be addressed for a 32 bit application, surely you will have already used this for EQ2 in any form. However 4Gb is the maximum limit, which also has a transfer interface such WOW64 in Windows is possible for a 32 bit application.<br /> <br />However, today's PCs have generally 16Gb and more RAM, which could be used to improve preformance.<br /> <br />In addition, applications that have been written or programmed directly for 64bit run, generally stable and liquid, as an emulation via software solution via a transfer interface as WOW64.<br /> <br />Applications that have been written or programmed directly for 64bit, generally stable and liquid, as an emulation via software solution via a transfer interface as WOW64.<br /> <br />There are many things which today lead to problems with EQ2, for example, that some parts of EQ2 still seem to have components via Directx 9. Today in Windows 10, there is no more possibility of integrating the basic components of Directx 9.<br /> <br />But this is another topic, in principle I would be really sure that you give us represents a real 64bit Client available so that all people are the computer and operating system to be able to also take advantage of its system resources to take full advantage.<br /> <br />Thank you

Ingerimm
11-11-2015, 02:54 AM
Even if it were so, although I see that something in the mass differently, so everyone can benefit, which more than 2Gb of RAM, a 64bit CPU and a 64bit Windows operating system would have.<br /> <br />It means not that there should be no 32bit client more still, this could still be offered paralell for weaker PC´s.<br /> <br />Just below the development of PCs ahead ever further. More and more multicore processor cores and more bandwidth by other system bus structures and RAM varieties are used.<br /> <br />64bit is now nothing new, this kind of bit bandwidth is now more and more common everyday everywhere.<br /> <br />We hope developed and adapted repeatedly for a long time to get our game yet, so it would be the next logical step, exactly such things as new Directx standards, taking full advantage of multicore processor cores and the 64bit processing, as a further development of the existing game to integrate.

Germs
11-11-2015, 08:40 AM
<div class="bbCodeBlock bbCodeQuote" data-author="Ingerimm"> <aside> <div class="attribution type">Ingerimm said: <a href="index.php?goto/post&id=6281641#post-6281641" class="AttributionLink">↑</a> </div> <blockquote><span class="ae_quote_symbol">“</span><span class="ae_quote_content">Perhaps even as a supplement.<br /> <br />However, today's PCs have generally 16Gb and more RAM, which could be used to improve preformance.</span><span class="ae_quote_symbol">”</span></blockquote> </aside></div> <br />I think that estimate is a bit generous. I would say 8Gb or more. Most PCs or laptops that come with 16Gb are usually price around the 1k mark.

Akina_Storms
11-11-2015, 03:16 PM
who will pay the workload and the years full time ingeneers involved in this full rewrite?

Jrel
11-11-2015, 03:30 PM
I would love a 64bit client so I won't have to worry when Everquest2.exe crashes after creeping towards and exceeding 3 GBs in memory.

Xerikton
11-11-2015, 05:25 PM
how much money would be made by doing this?

Taka
11-11-2015, 07:53 PM
<div class="bbCodeBlock bbCodeQuote" data-author="Xerikton"> <aside> <div class="attribution type">Xerikton said: <a href="index.php?goto/post&id=6282033#post-6282033" class="AttributionLink">↑</a> </div> <blockquote><span class="ae_quote_symbol">“</span><span class="ae_quote_content">how much money would be made by doing this?</span><span class="ae_quote_symbol">”</span></blockquote> </aside></div>Depends on current framework and designed upgrade work. Code maintenance or tool upgrades are in fact usually a hit on the bottom line but if they increase Quality of life or efficiency for the Devs <i>and </i> the players then... worth it?<br /> <br />It's easy for us to suggest a look into it. It's up to the product team to scope or de-scope based on a cost benefit ratio. We can at least provide ammo for the benefit part of the ratio because it only cost us our sub and electricity. <img src="/images/smilies/smile.gif" alt="Smile" />

Gudum
11-12-2015, 03:41 AM
While the developers are at it, how about the long-requested linux client, and opengl instead of directx so the graphics performance doesn't suffer as much on a non-windows operating system.<br /> <br />None of this has anything to do with beta, and would probably be better discussed in the normal game forums, although with the recent downsizing of staff its highly doubtful a full rewrite of the game client will happen any time in the foreseeable future.

Ingerimm
11-12-2015, 07:44 AM
<div class="bbCodeBlock bbCodeQuote" data-author="Gudum"> <aside> <div class="attribution type">Gudum said: <a href="index.php?goto/post&id=6282368#post-6282368" class="AttributionLink">↑</a> </div> <blockquote><span class="ae_quote_symbol">“</span><span class="ae_quote_content">While the developers are at it, how about the long-requested linux client, and opengl instead of directx so the graphics performance doesn't suffer as much on a non-windows operating system.<br /> <br />None of this has anything to do with beta, and would probably be better discussed in the normal game forums, although with the recent downsizing of staff its highly doubtful a full rewrite of the game client will happen any time in the foreseeable future.</span><span class="ae_quote_symbol">”</span></blockquote> </aside></div>Basically, it may not be the most ideal topic for the beta, but this too is a part of improving the new Content. EQ2 has been suffering for the last two addons many instabilities, especially in long play sessions and by zoning.<br /> <br />The error with client Crash's and extreme lags accumulate and exponentially. Personally, I'm usually not even affected, but if ever in a raid people kicked by client crashes and therefore the positive gaming experience is reversed into negative territory, this also concerns me and the beta for the game.<br /> <br />If there is a way without a huge expense, a 64bit client to compile, so know only the developers of the game and especially the coders, who work to match extensions.<br /> <br />So can the issue here again appeal to find a solution to this problem sooner or later.<br /> <br />Important is the dissemination of information and the desire for a solution, as well as the Information even to consider doing so idea.<br /> <br />What the developers do at the end of this information is at your discretion anyway own.Such a request / suggestion / idea makes much more sense in any case, as discussions about what class in the game makes the most of the DPS or should after thinking of the players make. Or whether the ideas he Developers, their true full - members with some advantages to reward them for their membership as designate P2W.<br /> <br />In this sense, we let it stand so and hope it gives developers the incentive not to forget that we, through a "64bit client", a "new adaptation directx standards" and the "full support for multicore CPUs" each alone would easier for themselves or difficult to solve, very pleased. Even if it should not be possible to implement this right in this Beta and who knows, perhaps there is even a working away at the already.

Ingerimm
11-15-2015, 08:10 PM
<div class="bbCodeBlock bbCodeQuote" data-author="Akina_Storms"> <aside> <div class="attribution type">Akina_Storms said: <a href="index.php?goto/post&id=6281950#post-6281950" class="AttributionLink">↑</a> </div> <blockquote><span class="ae_quote_symbol">“</span><span class="ae_quote_content">who will pay the workload and the years full time ingeneers involved in this full rewrite?</span><span class="ae_quote_symbol">”</span></blockquote> </aside></div><div class="bbCodeBlock bbCodeQuote" data-author="Xerikton"> <aside> <div class="attribution type">Xerikton said: <a href="index.php?goto/post&id=6282033#post-6282033" class="AttributionLink">↑</a> </div> <blockquote><span class="ae_quote_symbol">“</span><span class="ae_quote_content">how much money would be made by doing this?</span><span class="ae_quote_symbol">”</span></blockquote> </aside></div>So far I have looked at the whole thing again, as far as I could see, it uses EQ2, only up to the maximum limit of 2Gb RAM.<br /> <br /><span style="text-decoration: underline">The RAM is constantly busy at the maximum limit, by frequent zones and by loading old DirectX 9 variable, it usually comes to the client crashes, I think the bulk of the players can this confirmed.</span><br /> <br /><i><span style="text-decoration: underline">As for the question of the cost for the development of the client, so we pay all these already permanently, with our monthly contribution and the purchase of add-ons and so on.</span></i><br /> <br />We're not talking about small sums, which converts Daybreak month.<br /> <br />Although we know the exact data is not, but it is enough if one hires a few small considerations.<br /> <br />Suppose EQ2 we own approximately 100,000 still all access full members.<br /> <br />So Daybreak gets monthly income in the amount of at least 100,000 times $ 9.99, actually there are even more, because not everyone pays for 12 months in advance. Thus, we would be so even with a monthly income of a $ 1 million.<br /> <br />Add to this the entire purchases of Kronos, which is difficult to estimate. Exactly we made purchases of Station Cash and unlocks by F2P players.<br /> <br />Suppose alone based on these 100,000 players and it think I will still be a lot more, just once this addon.<br /> <br />If I assume that I will get with us so with about 35% of customers buy the Premium Edition, approximately 25% of the Collectors Edition and the rest ie approximately 40% of the Standard Edition.<br /> <br />That would be so, but for the estimated all-access member, at least ( The 10% for an all-access membership are already deducted. ):<br />35,000 x 125 USD = $ 4,375,000<br />25,000 x 80 USD = $ 2,000,000<br />40,000 x 31 USD = $ 1,240,000<br /> <br />=> Total: $ 7,615,000<br /> <br />... In addition, of course, are all non-members who buy the addon. ...<br /> <br />I think it should be recognized that there is no shortage here of the money, even with the deduction of all costs for personnel, equipment and rented buildings.<br /> <br />And this consideration relates only to the 100,000 members strong .... if it were still a million increased tenfold all. The exact figures of course only knows Daybreak.<br /> <br /><span style="text-decoration: underline"><b>That should not be short on money, so bear that mean it is possible without any major problems a 64bit client and an adaptation to "DirectX 11 or 12" carry.</b></span>