PDA

View Full Version : Issues with mouse cursor moving and camera spinning


azcn2503
11-06-2015, 09:15 PM
I know that this issue has been around for a while but never really documented very well. I noticed the issue in beta and decided I would report it just in case it's something that can be worked on during the crunch time.<br /> <br />I've had this issue for years, since TSO expansion. It's persisted through reinstalling the game, reinstalling the OS, replacing every piece of hardware. I've gone through about 5 or 6 computers since then, and used a couple of laptops, and had the same issue on external mice and on touchpads. All of my friends that play this game with me also experience the issue and are rather vocal about it when it happens! The issue only affects this game.<br /> <br />When holding down the left or right mouse button and moving the camera, it will randomly spin around, or spin around and position itself underneath the character. Other times, the cursor will move its position on the screen without actually spinning the camera.<br /> <br />Steps to reproduce:<br />Hold down left or right mouse button, move mouse up, let go of mouse button. Sometimes camera will spin, sometimes cursor will reset to middle of screen. Happens infrequently, but often enough to be annoying - maybe 5% of the time.<br /> <br /><iframe width="500" height="300" src="https://www.youtube.com/embed/93OsWf5fuB0?wmode=opaque" frameborder="0" allowfullscreen></iframe><br /> <br />Here is a video demonstrating the problem. The procedure I followed was as above, but I rotated through moving up, down, left, right, up, down, left, right, etc. until the problem shows itself. I then type which direction I moved the mouse in, and provide some other detail if necessary.

ZUES
11-06-2015, 09:47 PM
Yup this is the longest standing bug in EQ2 (long before CoV). I have bugged this many times. It's especially irritating when I'm tanking. Countdown.... running to raid mob... camera flip. Grrrr!

TrulyVexed
11-06-2015, 09:52 PM
Try <a href="https://forums.daybreakgames.com/eq2/index.php?threads/mouse-lag.541935/#post-5994926" class="internalLink">https://forums.daybreakgames.com/eq2/index.php?threads/mouse-lag.541935/#post-5994926</a> - it may not completely fix it but I know I was consistently having this problem and then it was just "every now and then" after I did that.<br /> <br />Don't think I noticed it at all on Windows 10 but I was lazy and did an in-place upgrade so the fix may have been inherited from previous install.<br /> <br />Long story short... it's more of a bug in Windows than EQ but if Daybreak put some effort into it, they could probably put logic in to account for it.

azcn2503
11-07-2015, 12:01 AM
<div class="bbCodeBlock bbCodeQuote" data-author="TrulyVexed"> <aside> <div class="attribution type">TrulyVexed said: <a href="index.php?goto/post&id=6280025#post-6280025" class="AttributionLink">↑</a> </div> <blockquote><span class="ae_quote_symbol">“</span><span class="ae_quote_content">Try <a href="https://forums.daybreakgames.com/eq2/index.php?threads/mouse-lag.541935/#post-5994926" class="internalLink">https://forums.daybreakgames.com/eq2/index.php?threads/mouse-lag.541935/#post-5994926</a> - it may not completely fix it but I know I was consistently having this problem and then it was just "every now and then" after I did that.<br /> <br />Don't think I noticed it at all on Windows 10 but I was lazy and did an in-place upgrade so the fix may have been inherited from previous install.<br /> <br />Long story short... it's more of a bug in Windows than EQ but if Daybreak put some effort into it, they could probably put logic in to account for it.</span><span class="ae_quote_symbol">”</span></blockquote> </aside></div> <br />Thanks, I did try this a while back to no avail. I'm using 10 now and it happens just as frequently.