PDA

View Full Version : Tradeskill Concerns


GeekyGothy
10-27-2015, 06:06 PM
I haven't gotten to the Heroic portion of the Tradeskill line yet and the beta mount aside... (Which is now unclear if we even earn the mount for doing it as stated in a different thread; someone is saying you don't, get the mount.)<br /><br />I have concerns about the way Tradeskill lines are going in this expansion. In my honest opinion most serious tradeskillers don't enjoy doing end game content. They enjoy overland content, they enjoy harvesting, they enjoy crafting things for people and collecting recipes.<br /><br />The problem comes now with knowing you have to complete Heroic dungeons to finish the Tradeskill line. Is it fair for Tradeskillers to have to gear up for Heroic content and then somehow manage to finish that Heroic content when they're not used to doing end game PvE? Over the last couple of years if I tried to do Heroic dungeons I just got kicked out of nearly every group for not doing raid-quality DPS. The only time I finished a Heroic was on my healer (Because I can apparently heal well but my gear is not raid quality for DPS.)<br /><br />It's said that it will take about 2 weeks to do the Tradeskill related factions doing the daily's and weekly's - two weeks is fine. Now are you factoring in how many weeks it will take to gear up just to be able to MAYBE not get kicked out of a group? We're talking about a vast majority of people who don't DO Heroics trying to do Heroics because they 'have to' just for Tradeskills.<br /><br />Take a lesson from World of Warcraft when they FORCED PvE'ers to do PvP content just so they could finish their -PvE- quests. People were FURIOUS.<br /><br />The vast majority of players don't bother with beta, either. They don't keep up with beta notes, updates, etc - so they're probably vastly unaware that this is going on. When I told my friend this morning (Who LOVES to Tradeskill) that she'd have to do Heroics to complete the chain she was SO upset she contemplated not buying the expansion and quitting all together.<br /><br />I don't think the company wants to make people feel this way so before you go through with forcing Tradeskillers to do Heroic content so they can craft a new basket... please think on it.<br /><br />Vanesh Aevingale<br />Spirit Of Norrath

Domino
10-27-2015, 06:29 PM
<div class="bbCodeBlock bbCodeQuote" data-author="GeekyGothy"> <aside> <div class="attribution type">GeekyGothy said: <a href="index.php?goto/post&id=6272609#post-6272609" class="AttributionLink">↑</a> </div> <blockquote><span class="ae_quote_symbol">“</span><span class="ae_quote_content">The problem comes now with knowing you have to complete Heroic dungeons to finish the Tradeskill line. Is it fair for Tradeskillers to have to gear up for Heroic content and then somehow manage to finish that Heroic content when they're not used to doing end game PvE?</span><span class="ae_quote_symbol">”</span></blockquote> </aside></div>This assumption is wrong. Entering the dungeon is not the same as completing it. Please actually try the quests and then see what you think.

GeekyGothy
10-27-2015, 06:39 PM
Is that all it is? Entering the dungeon? That would be fine - but everyone thus far on the forums when asking for clarification has said 'you need to do them.'<br /> <br />And I hadn't seen anything to the contrary. Last night on the stream it was also mentioned that the Heroics would be opened either yesterday or today so that tradeskillers 'could complete them for their quest chains'.<br /><br />Edit: I'm glad to know that I don't need to have that concern anymore then. I'll chalk it up to miscommunication and misinformation. Thank you Domino for clearing it up that you don't have to actually complete, the Heroic.

suka
10-27-2015, 07:51 PM
please reconsider this. most of my tradeskillers are babies and a long way from being able to do any end game content. we were told when starting this game that there were two viable lines of leveling - tradeskilling and adventuring. to now make us do heroic content when our tradeskills are up to max is not very fair. i don't want to have to send a second account in to try to protect a level 57 adventure who is a level 100 armorer and then they don't get credit because they are too low to even be in there in the first place. not very fair.<br /> <br />on the other hand, if they only have to enter it and if the mobs are way away from the entry point, then it is doable.

Alexic
10-27-2015, 10:07 PM
Well in order to complete the quest you need a "scanning gadget" which no where have we ever gotten <img src="/images/smilies/frown.gif" alt="Frown" /> There are non aggro immolated in the zone and I didnt check early but think that there were some right at entrance (they were killed by group members before I even had a chance to fully zone in and they could not remember names) So now if we could so kindly have a scanning gadget to actually complete the quest.... im just sayin <img src="/images/smilies/tongue.gif" alt="Tongue" />

Domino
10-28-2015, 01:43 AM
<div class="bbCodeBlock bbCodeQuote" data-author="Alexic"> <aside> <div class="attribution type">Alexic said: <a href="index.php?goto/post&id=6272805#post-6272805" class="AttributionLink">↑</a> </div> <blockquote><span class="ae_quote_symbol">“</span><span class="ae_quote_content">Well in order to complete the quest you need a "scanning gadget" which no where have we ever gotten <img src="/images/smilies/frown.gif" alt="Frown" /></span><span class="ae_quote_symbol">”</span></blockquote> </aside></div> <br />If by "the quest" you mean "A Cure For Maldura", looks like there was a bug with the item. Brumley should give it to you after a Thursday(ish) update. However, you should delete the quest and re-start it.<br /> <br />There are two other quests that send you into the heroic dungeons however, so please go ahead and test those.

Mystfit
10-28-2015, 08:04 AM
If you're asking her to reconsider then you haven't done the questline <img src="/images/smilies/wink.gif" alt="Wink" /> Take Domino's sage advice and do the quests first.

suka
10-28-2015, 08:09 AM
will check them out. i haven't had time to get on beta yet. but the idea of taking my baby toons into an endgame heroic dungeon is scarey

Anatha
11-02-2015, 07:46 PM
Well crud...working on this quest, entered Algorithm for Destruction [Heroic] and because there are currently problems with the servers, I am stuck at zoning in.

Spindle
11-03-2015, 08:15 AM
Tested the dungeons yesterday and the needed items are indeed in 'safe' areas. There is no way Domino would require TSers to 'do' a heroic dungeon to complete a quest. Most general chat is about the Adventure Signature Quest line as everyone wants a mount.<br />I completed the Achievement and the reward seems pretty dang cool. We can't use till launch of course. If, as I think is the case, the charges are unlimited then the reward is worth it. If it is a one off charge as the rumours say, then yeah, that would suck. However, I don't think that is the case with the reward.