PDA

View Full Version : Do you log in from somewhere out of the norm?


Blackguard
10-26-2005, 12:36 AM
<div></div>We are looking for players who play EverQuest II from real world locations out of the norm (aircraft carriers, submarines, cruise lines, hot air balloons, etc). Tell us your story about where you log in from (serious posts only)!<div></div>

NEO-MATR
10-26-2005, 12:55 AM
i login at work <img src="/smilies/69934afc394145350659cd7add244ca9.gif" border="0" alt="SMILEY" /> hidding from my boss heehhe honestly i play most of my online time playing in a city hall <div></div>

Khalay
10-26-2005, 01:02 AM
<P>Well i guess i log on from a location that is a little outside the norm.</P> <P> </P> <P>I'm a nurse working nightshifts at a psychiatric hospital. Usually there are like 5-6 hours each night where nothing happens and you just need some way to kill time. I find playing Everquest 2 considerably shortens down my nightshifts. Thankfully there is a wireless network here which I can hook up to my laptop, and I have no problems playing the game on my laptop.</P> <P>Naturally, playing from a hospital means I usually cant play much in groups and raids. Patients has priority for obvious reasons and I sometimes need to leave the game at a moments notice. This is not fair to other group members so I tend to stay out of groups while playing. This is not a problem though since there are tons of stuff to do solo.</P> <P> </P> <DIV>I'm sure there are others with more interesting locations, so please share <img src="/smilies/3b63d1616c5dfcf29f8a7a031aaa7cad.gif" border="0" alt="SMILEY" /></DIV>

Cyanrav
10-26-2005, 01:20 AM
<P>I live 40 minutes from the nearest McDonalds, and 195 miles from the nearest mall (City of Wenatchee, Wa). I live in the STICKS!! And I play on a 28.8 dial up /grin. Refuse to raid in EQII, so lag doesnt' come into play, as long as I stay out of zones that are heavily populated.</P> <P> </P> <P>Cyan</P>

Kendricke
10-26-2005, 01:25 AM
<BR> <BLOCKQUOTE> <HR> Blackguard wrote:<BR> We are looking for players who play EverQuest II from real world locations out of the norm (aircraft carriers, submarines, cruise lines, hot air balloons, etc). Tell us your story about where you log in from (serious posts only)! <BR> <HR> </BLOCKQUOTE><BR>I thought laptop play wasn't officially supported.  :smileywink:

Belin
10-26-2005, 02:35 AM
<div></div>Our Guild Leader, Fathercat, plays from his little room in the arctic tundra known as Thule Air Base, Greenland. He is stationed there in the U.S. Air Force =) In fact he just had a polar bear wander onto the base and the Danes had to come and take care of it  <img src="/smilies/8a80c6485cd926be453217d59a84a888.gif" border="0" alt="SMILEY" /> Send this man some warm socks! lol <img src="http://shattereddawn.com/otherpic/thulebear.JPG">

Zyphius
10-26-2005, 03:28 AM
<DIV>I, sometimes, play from a laptop that doesnt even meet the minimum system requirements (yes, it is visually ugly) plugged into a cell phone that is dialed up to the internet when I am on drill for the reserves.</DIV>

Tamat
10-26-2005, 03:53 AM
<P>I play from a town in Alaska. I've logged in before in the middle of no where in a snow cave using a Cell phone to connect. I've also logged in quite a few times after a long day of Snowboarding at the top, or close to the top of an Alaskan Mountain. I'll try to get some pictures this winter <img src="/smilies/3b63d1616c5dfcf29f8a7a031aaa7cad.gif" border="0" alt="SMILEY" /></P> <P> </P> <P>-Tamat</P>

Alli
10-26-2005, 05:58 AM
Though not entirely impossible, the odds of being able to log in from the submarine are unlikely.....Unless I end up with a CO that plays....and understands what its like to go without it for months.

Wolfvi
10-26-2005, 09:45 AM
<P>One of the guys in my guild (Quicking, 50 Troub) is in the Navy also. Just recently he logged into the game from a cyber cafe in Bahrain over in the Middle East since atm he's deployed over there. I know back in the day when Navy internet security wasn't up to par some guys and I had a laptop we could log on and play EQ1 while we were deployed on da ship.</P> <P>As for most military people when they deploy you'd laugh but the'll head to a internet cafe in hopes that they can load the game up and log on when they get liberity time. I've done it and I know many others will and have.</P>

Nari
10-26-2005, 04:29 PM
I log in from the US Secret Service headquarters building.  (Not the game, but the forums.)  Our firewall/content filter hates you too much for me to play from here. When you get a PSP add on working, I will be get on from our roof at lunchtime.  Please hurry!  My evil coworker makes me go work out at lunch. <img src="/smilies/9d71f0541cff0a302a0309c5079e8dee.gif" border="0" alt="SMILEY" /> <p></p>

Brill
10-26-2005, 07:06 PM
<P>  I'm sure I'm not alone in playing from hotel rooms when traveling.  Now I'm wondering what the record is for number of different states/countries played from.</P> <P> </P> <P>          -Brillig (only 3 different states)</P> <P> </P>

Jhoric
10-26-2005, 08:42 PM
<P>I play on a Compaq if that counts, har har : P (Never buy a Compaq)</P>

Ram
10-27-2005, 02:15 AM
LOL, too funny Jhoric! <img src="/smilies/69934afc394145350659cd7add244ca9.gif" border="0" alt="SMILEY" /> <P></P>

LokiHellsson
10-27-2005, 05:00 AM
How about the parking lot of a truckstop in central Wisconsin? There were 3 open wireless networks, the Burger King had the best bandwidth, beating out the Super 8 and the Texaco. My mini-van has a power converter that plugs into the lighter.

ridgerbay
10-28-2005, 05:57 AM
<P>Looks like a level 25 polar bear I'll send my pet in to kill... and then use lightening shock and lightening storm HO...2 times that will kill it. </P> <P> </P> <P>:smileyvery-happy:</P>

Grimquest
11-01-2005, 07:24 PM
<P>I play from Canada.</P> <P> </P> <P>Considering 99% of Americans have no idea where Canada is, I would say that's pretty out of the norm...</P> <P> </P> <P>Grim</P>

Exmortis_MT
11-01-2005, 11:26 PM
<BR> <BLOCKQUOTE> <HR> Grimquester wrote:<BR> <P>I play from Canada.</P> <P> </P> <P>Considering 99% of Americans have no idea where Canada is, I would say that's pretty out of the norm...</P> <P> </P> <P>Grim</P> <BR> <HR> </BLOCKQUOTE><BR>LOL ok that made me laugh.....wait...DAMMIT I am Canadian too!

FilanFyretracker
11-03-2005, 08:32 AM
<span><blockquote><hr>Grimquester wrote:<p>I play from Canada.</p> <p>Considering 99% of Americans have no idea where Canada is, I would say that's pretty out of the norm...</p> <p>Grim</p> <div></div><hr></blockquote>only thing i know about Canada is that Quebec is your Version of New Jersey(ie the Butt of all the jokes)</span><div></div>

Zyphius
11-03-2005, 10:20 PM
<BR> <BLOCKQUOTE> <HR> Grimquester wrote:<BR> <P>I play from Canada.</P> <P> </P> <P>Considering 99% of Americans have no idea where Canada is, I would say that's pretty out of the norm...</P> <P> </P> <P>Grim</P> <BR> <HR> </BLOCKQUOTE> <P><BR>You mean the state of Canada?</P> <P> </P> <P>lol... JK!!</P>

burnman
11-05-2005, 07:58 PM
<DIV>What's a Canada?  Is it raidable?</DIV>

RancidMa
11-09-2005, 02:31 PM
<span><blockquote><hr>burnman wrote:<div></div> <div>What's a Canada?  Is it raidable?</div><hr>well it might be but i think the loot (oil) must be pants. otherwise that well know guild "the USA" whould be camping it everynight. </blockquote></span><div></div>

Zachatan
11-09-2005, 10:07 PM
<P>FUnny as it may be... a good friend of mine... he bought a 2 story house with a 2 story Bomb shelter below... converting the bomb shelter into his own personal play ground... we have a total of 18 fully upgraded computers for EQ2 and lane parties we through once a month....  Commonly on weekdays i join him there to play some EQ2 as well as EQ1 before i moved to EQ2....</P> <P> </P> <P>And lane party days... All 18 computers are used playing from EQ2 to Duke nukem <img src="/smilies/3b63d1616c5dfcf29f8a7a031aaa7cad.gif" border="0" alt="SMILEY" /></P>

Ama
11-10-2005, 05:19 PM
I don't know if my friend transfered to EQ2 or has gone on but I played another game with a fellow guild mate called SWG.  Dude was a trucker and would log on and play with us from his Big rig.  Was pretty hard to believe but hey my guild now is comprised of 6 people in it that are all related by blood :smileywink: .

skahld
11-13-2005, 11:13 PM
<P>I play from a lot of airports across the US. I was surprised at how many recognize EQ2 (and EQ in general). I play without headphones because I don't want to miss flight information. I think I've scared some people with the odd noises coming from my laptop.</P> <P>Skald Newt</P> <P>Lavastorm</P>

Bewts
11-15-2005, 10:59 AM
<DIV>I won't discolse the name of the hotel, but since September 5 2005 I have been logging in from a hotel in Kuwait City while on deployment for the DoD</DIV>

RylokDarkba
11-15-2005, 10:19 PM
I play from work. Although my company has a very secure network, the vendor that runs our lunch room does not <img src="/smilies/8a80c6485cd926be453217d59a84a888.gif" border="0" alt="SMILEY" />

Dystr
11-16-2005, 01:45 AM
<span><blockquote><hr>RylokDarkbane wrote:<div></div>I play from work. Although my company has a very secure network, the vendor that runs our lunch room does not <img src="/smilies/8a80c6485cd926be453217d59a84a888.gif" border="0" alt="SMILEY" /><hr></blockquote>this one really did make me [Removed for Content].  hahaha. </span><div></div>

Buc
11-17-2005, 08:29 PM
<DIV>I've played some times on airplain when I take long flight like 12 hours (such as London<>Tokyo).</DIV> <DIV>Boeing's in-flight wireless network definitely works fine :smileyhappy:</DIV> <DIV>Many people (mainly CA people) are a bit surprized to see that.</DIV> <DIV> </DIV> <DIV>However, I can only do that when I can have a seat in Business class, as running EQ2 is really battery consuming and I need plug in power cable :smileytongue:</DIV> <DIV> </DIV> <DIV>The only problem is I have to stifle a grin time to time while chatting...</DIV> <DIV> </DIV>