PDA

View Full Version : Akk my New Years wish has already been denied!


arrkvin
01-01-2012, 02:34 AM
<p>I wished the TD zone lockups on logging in would go away and already 5 tries again to enter! Gotta love the TD lockups its just like windows update crashing the system.</p><p>Happy new year anyway 2011 arrived with me playing EQ2 and no Mayan Calender stopped it.</p>

yohann koldheart
01-01-2012, 04:20 AM
<p><cite>arrkvin wrote:</cite></p><blockquote><p>I wished the TD zone lockups on logging in would go away and already 5 tries again to enter! Gotta love the TD lockups its just like windows update crashing the system.</p><p>Happy new year anyway 2011 arrived with me playing EQ2 and no Mayan Calender stopped it.</p></blockquote><p>this was happening to me, i went into the eq2 directory found the zone file for tim deep and deleted it. logged in repatch it and i can zone in and out fine now.</p>

Elomort
01-01-2012, 07:58 AM
<p>I normally just submit a ticket of the type "stuck" explaining I am stuck in TD.</p><p>They move me in less than 5 minutes and I imagine one more statistic gets added to their tally hopefully passed on to the developers.</p><p><a href="http://soe-ing.custhelp.com/app/answers/detail/a_id/18172">http://soe-ing.custhelp.com/app/ans...tail/a_id/18172</a> and click the in-game support tab.</p>

gourdon
01-01-2012, 08:14 AM
<p><cite>arrkvin wrote:</cite></p><blockquote><p>I wished the TD zone lockups on logging in would go away and already 5 tries again to enter! Gotta love the TD lockups its just like windows update crashing the system.</p><p>Happy new year anyway 2011 arrived with me playing EQ2 and no Mayan Calender stopped it.</p></blockquote><p>You have almost a year before the Mayan doomsday.  Their calendar ends December 21, 2012.</p>

Nolrog
01-01-2012, 11:27 AM
<p><cite>gourdon wrote:</cite></p><blockquote>You have almost a year before the Mayan doomsday.  Their calendar ends December 21, 2012.</blockquote><p>Sorry, I'm busy that day.  Tell them to reschedule.  <img src="/eq2/images/smilies/283a16da79f3aa23fe1025c96295f04f.gif" border="0" /></p><p>All seriousness aside.  Happy New Year, perhaps the last one ever.</p>

Brigh
01-01-2012, 12:18 PM
<p><cite>yohann koldheart wrote:</cite></p><blockquote><p><cite>arrkvin wrote:</cite></p><blockquote><p>I wished the TD zone lockups on logging in would go away and already 5 tries again to enter! Gotta love the TD lockups its just like windows update crashing the system.</p><p>Happy new year anyway 2011 arrived with me playing EQ2 and no Mayan Calender stopped it.</p></blockquote><p>this was happening to me, i went into the eq2 directory found the zone file for tim deep and deleted it. logged in repatch it and i can zone in and out fine now.</p></blockquote><p>It is not a permanent fix.</p>

CatamanderEQ2
01-01-2012, 12:42 PM
<p>I've tried everything to fix this -- deleting ini, exe, vpk files, etc etc -- that works for maybe a day, two if I am lucky, the the problem comes back.  For now TD is just off limits. =/</p>

Rijacki
01-01-2012, 04:30 PM
<p>I find I can /camp [character] to a a character in TD but can't directly log into that character. I can usually leave housing in TD without a problem, but calling and arriving on the docks is 'broken'.</p>

arrkvin
01-01-2012, 05:34 PM
<p>I logged 2 out near Mok Rent last night and couldn't get back in on them till 6am this morning. The fix, all the other methods don't work, the fix is to open up the Assetcache folder and delete about the top 3 most recently updated ones. That will allow you to log in that character and run it to Neriak to log out. From what I can tell for me the bad files are in Asset2.vdb. I am not sure how the updates go file wise so don't know if every ones Asset2.vdb holds the same zone files or not. It does mean more downloading from the SOE servers so it will be added to your download limit for the month Each time you have to delete it. Asset7, 1, 3, 5, 6, and asset1_1 and 2_1 do not appear to have the TD files in it.</p><p>From my years of using computers what I see is the program that compresses the files from the open directory to the .vdb form is compressing some texture or object that cannot be compressed.  This error happened to me from the time TD was live till today. On a PVP server its really tough because you can't get back in or run over your 5 level higher character to kill the one that just killed your lower level one. Plus with every CTRL ALT DELETE from the task manager of the never ending Loading Environment screen it creates bad files that don't have a end so you have to run Windows Drive Properties Tools Error-checking (scandisk) often to stop the computer from being shut off from hitting those left over not closed files that cause you an instant reboot with no message.</p><p>Good luck and yah pretty much never ever log out in TD espically any where near MOK RENT.</p>

Meditatious
01-01-2012, 05:51 PM
<p><cite>arrkvin wrote:</cite></p><blockquote><p>I logged 2 out near Mok Rent last night and couldn't get back in on them till 6am this morning. The fix, all the other methods don't work, the fix is to open up the Assetcache folder and delete about the top 3 most recently updated ones. That will allow you to log in that character and run it to Neriak to log out. From what I can tell for me the bad files are in Asset2.vdb. I am not sure how the updates go file wise so don't know if every ones Asset2.vdb holds the same zone files or not. It does mean more downloading from the SOE servers so it will be added to your download limit for the month Each time you have to delete it. Asset7, 1, 3, 5, 6, and asset1_1 and 2_1 do not appear to have the TD files in it.</p></blockquote><p>If you're blowing away entire asset cache database files, you might as well just install the full client and be done with it.</p>

Alenna
01-01-2012, 06:57 PM
<p><cite>Vopi wrote:</cite></p><blockquote><p><cite>arrkvin wrote:</cite></p><blockquote><p>I logged 2 out near Mok Rent last night and couldn't get back in on them till 6am this morning. The fix, all the other methods don't work, the fix is to open up the Assetcache folder and delete about the top 3 most recently updated ones. That will allow you to log in that character and run it to Neriak to log out. From what I can tell for me the bad files are in Asset2.vdb. I am not sure how the updates go file wise so don't know if every ones Asset2.vdb holds the same zone files or not. It does mean more downloading from the SOE servers so it will be added to your download limit for the month Each time you have to delete it. Asset7, 1, 3, 5, 6, and asset1_1 and 2_1 do not appear to have the TD files in it.</p></blockquote><p>If you're blowing away entire asset cache database files, you might as well just install the full client and be done with it.</p></blockquote><p>this does work at least I have not expereinced any trouble in TD I actually did do a full rienstall of EQ2 a week after AoD came out.</p>

Arcturys
01-01-2012, 07:20 PM
<p><cite>Brigh wrote:</cite></p><blockquote><p><cite>yohann koldheart wrote:</cite></p><blockquote><p>this was happening to me, i went into the eq2 directory found the zone file for tim deep and deleted it. logged in repatch it and i can zone in and out fine now.</p></blockquote><p>It is not a permanent fix.</p></blockquote><p>Exactly. In fact, technically, it's not a fix at all. I've personally experienced (and heard others experience) the same lockup trying to log back into TD whether you deleted the files or not. When calculating the odds of getting the lockup at Updating Environment Map, whether you delete the files or not, they are about the same. I have never had this happen until after GU62 (or maybe it was the server merge - I don't recall exactly when my first one occurred). TD has never given me a problem previously, but the last few weeks have been extremely annoying, especially considering many Frostfell quests take place in TD, two of my characters' homes are in TD, and the guild hall for all of my toons is in TD.</p><p>I've been doing my damnedest to avoid TD at all costs, but sometimes I forget, or sometimes I just need to go there, and it's a crapshoot whether I'll lock up or not. Adding insult to injury, I frequently have to wait too long to get in game ("Character already in game") or I get the wonderful "Waiting for zone server" stall the first thing after getting back in game. Also, the increasing duration of RZIs and "Loading UI Resources" is driving me crazy.</p><p>Between all the lockups, the years'-old problem with "Waiting for zone server" for houses/guild halls, the ever-increasing zone times, and the server crashes, I'm getting pretty fed up with this game.</p>