PDA

View Full Version : Bosses of Norrath booster pack -- not what it seems


Cutharie
12-31-2011, 08:16 PM
<p>I was foolish enough to run dungeons until I saved up 1800 marks to buy a boss. I was tired of seeing Xalgoz and Kiana Dut, and I wanted something different in my dungeons.</p><p>Boy, was I (unpleasantly) surprised when I bought the Bosses of Norrath booster pack -- which says that it gives you a random BOSS spawner -- and what I actually got was not a Boss spawner but an Elite spawner: lvl 52 instead of lvl 54, challenge rating 70 instead of 100, and you can place three of them in a single dungeon instead of just one. In other words, not a boss, but one of the lackeys.</p><p>I spent 1800 marks on this -- boy, was I stupid to actually believe the description in the station store which says (and I quote), "Activating this item will give you 1 random boss spawner." It doesn't indicate that what's also random is whether or not you get an actual boss.</p><p>I am really ticked off at Sony for this one. It took several days of farming tokens in my free time to work up 1800 marks for what I thought would be a BOSS -- on a par with my claimed bosses of Xalgoz and Kiana Dut. If I'd known I would get their lackeys, I would have spent my marks on something more interesting.</p><p>Bad on you, Sony, for the misleading and, really, downright dishonest description of this item. All sales final, pah, or I'd demand my marks back, because I'd happily give up the non-Boss spawner that definitely was NOT worth the 1800 marks.</p><p>*spit*</p><p>edit: typos</p>

Fyrstar2004
01-01-2012, 07:40 AM
<p>[Edited for discussing GM actions.] </p>

Cutharie
01-01-2012, 07:28 PM
<p>Wow. Talk about obfuscation. I'm sorry they were like that with you; knowing your experience, I'll just let it go -- and never buy a boss pack again. They don't get my money when I pay for things with marks, just my time -- which, while valuable to me, doesn't make <em>them</em> any richer.</p><p>However, would you like to know what I get when I mouse over the items in the booster pack? "White Adornment Slot," "Yellow Adornment Slot," nothing at all, or even such bizarre things as, "Rune: Velium Flames I." It is not actually possible for me to inspect any of the <strong>actual</strong> items contained in the booster pack. Possibly it's an artifact of using my particular browser with my particular plug-ins, but that's what I get. I do have sony.com allowed, although I disallow google-analytics. *shrug* I'm not techie enough to figure it out.</p><p>Still spitting poodles about it, but oh well. Thanks for taking the time to reply.</p>

Jessyme
01-01-2012, 07:36 PM
<p>Youch!</p><p>I have been saving up for that, but I guess it really is not worth it. </p><p>They really need to fix it to give a random boss.  That is really wrong.</p><p>On a side note, I have to say that the customer service person was very nice and even seemed to agree with you.</p><p>Hopefully they will fix this issue.</p><p>Quijana</p>

Tigress
01-01-2012, 07:45 PM
<p><cite>Fyrstar2004 wrote:</cite></p><blockquote><span style="line-height: 15px; text-align: left; font-family: Arial,Helvetica,sans-serif; color: #ff00ff;"><span style="color: #888888;">I'm afraid that this isn't going to be something that Customer Service is going to be able to help you with though, since this item is working as designed </span><span style="font-size: medium;"><span style="text-decoration: underline;"><strong>with the exception of possibly misleading text</strong></span></span>. <span style="color: #888888;">I hope that this response finds you well and that you enjoy the rest of your evening.</span></span></blockquote><p>that right there should be enough for them to fix it. </p><p>i know why they wont exchange it.  i was moving one of the spawners in my bag.  instead of moving it, the spawner activated.  the gm replied that once activated, there is no way for them to remove it.  i got the canned response of <span style="color: #ff00ff;">"<span><span style="line-height: 15px; text-align: left; font-family: Arial,Helvetica,sans-serif;">I know this is not the answer you were hoping for, but if you have any other questions or problems, please don't hesitate to contact us again.</span></span></span>"... i wish that they'd delete the form letters & macros as i find them to be rude but, i digress.  since they cannot remove it, they should refund the marks to anybody who bought it and got stuck with a non-boss, then remove it from the marketplace until they fix it or the wording.  sure, you'd get an extra item but it would be good customer service and an elite is not worth 1800 marks anyway.  they could say that it is "for the inconvenience".</p><p>i saw the boss spawner and was going to buy it.  ty for posting this.  i'm sorry that you guys were lied to <img src="/eq2/images/smilies/9d71f0541cff0a302a0309c5079e8dee.gif" border="0" />.</p><p><em>p.s.  i wish that they'd bring back the 0 mark adventurer & spawners, too.  they werent in there long enough and i did not buy them in time.  they should have left them in for a month.  instead, they removed them when they made the items purchaseable for SC, "per player request".  didn't see a poll on that...</em></p>

Judist
01-01-2012, 08:05 PM
<p>If you wanna see whats in the boss pack: mouse over it (in the station store) hold shift and left click.</p><p>That will re-link it into your current chat window so you can examine it and its contents without that adornment display bug. Personally I wouldn't have dropped 1800 marks without finding a way to see whats listed inside, but then again the text is misleading and some would expect only true bosses. /Shrug</p>

ShadowMunkie
01-01-2012, 08:16 PM
<p>So here it is in a nutshell: You complain because you didn't receive a "Boss" that increases the challenge rating by 100, instead you receive an "Elite" which increases it by 210.</p><p>I understand your frustration but, in reality you got a better deal when trying to create challenging yet story line dungeons. If you really want more bosses, go kill orcs in Greater Faydark for an Orc-Crushbone (Paladin) its a boss. There are several other places to get other bosses that doesn't require Dungeon Marks or Station Cash.</p>

DancingFirefly
01-01-2012, 10:30 PM
<p><cite>[email protected] wrote:</cite></p><blockquote><p>So here it is in a nutshell: You complain because you didn't receive a "Boss" that increases the challenge rating by 100, instead you receive an "Elite" which increases it by 210.</p><p>I understand your frustration but, in reality you got a better deal when trying to create challenging yet story line dungeons. If you really want more bosses, go kill orcs in Greater Faydark for an Orc-Crushbone (Paladin) its a boss. There are several other places to get other bosses that doesn't require Dungeon Marks or Station Cash.</p></blockquote><p>This isn't a matter of value so much as a matter of language. The language states that we will get a random boss if we spend 1.8k tokens on this purchase.</p><p>But, this isn't the case. There is a possibility of us getting something else. This isn't true to the language.</p><p>Either the language needs to be changed or the purchase itself.</p><p>Also, if they're going to make it a RANDOM boss, they should at least make it a guaranteed boss. I've never actually felt the urge to grind for it, but those that do should get what they pay for, even if according to you it's a 'worse' value.</p>

Mohee
01-02-2012, 09:29 AM
<p>Trust me, it's not a matter of wether or not they can or can't help, its a matter of they WONT. Meaning they can, but chose not to.</p><p>I'm sorry you got this response, but nowadays it seems to be a pretty popular response from SOE, almost no matter what you petition about.</p><p>I used to love all the GM's and great customer service from SOE. Lately it doesn't seem to be so good anymore, or very helpful responses.</p><p>A good example I have is in the past, anytime that I've had heroic/heritage/epic quests bug out and not update when it should have, I've been able to petition and promply a GM would appear in front of me. I'd be standing there doing nothing and suddenly "ding!" quest updates like magic. He'd say "there you go!" and i'd graciously thank him =)</p><p>I still run into a lot of bugs in quests where they wont update, because its BUGGED. And now I only get the response "We are sorry we can't help, you just have to delete the quest and try again, according to us at SOE, everything is working as intended! Good luck!"</p><p>Like I said, its not that they can't help you, its that they chose not to. Trust me, GM's have the power to do just about anything for you! But good luck getting them to actually log into the game and do it. Even if its something entirely the games fault.</p>

msgnomer
01-02-2012, 08:19 PM
<p>After reading this I looked the next time I logged in.  Definitely misleading text.  The pack just says bosses and doesn't say anything about elites.  The mobs listed in the pack don't specifically say elite or boss, which implies they are bosses like the pack says.  In the Dungeonmaker Toolbox, bosses are bosses and elites are elites.</p><p>My suggestion is to either fix the booster pack text to reflect you could get either an elite or a boss, or break it into two different packs, maybe with different prices.  I expect changing the text is both the simpler solution and more in keeping with the desired rare nature of bosses.  For intstance it could state you will get an elite with a random chance to get a boss or the reverse or anything more in keeping with what the pack actually is.</p><p> EDIT:  Now that I'm thinking, when I finally got a random bonus "boss" with one of the regular packs, I was less than overwhelmed but didn't give it much thought.  It was an elite, instead of a boss.  Now in my case, my biggest disappointment was that it was a ghost type rather than a corporeal mob.  But the issue is the same.  While I was ok with it, I can see the text issue coming up with those packs as well for players it matters to more.  Probably should be worded to say you might get a bonus random elite or boss with your mob pack.</p>