PDA

View Full Version : HOW DO WE RENAME OUR DUNGEONS? *Angry on SoE Support*


Pixiewrath
12-20-2011, 02:17 PM
<p>After decorating for many hours, writing dialogue etc for my dungeon Delving into the Depths - Part 2 I realized there was a spelling error in the title, namely that it said "Delving into the Depts - Part 2" instead.So, of course I wrote a /petition to have a GM change the name of the dungeon since this feature is lacking.I got this slap in the face as a response:<em>Hi Pixiewrath,GM *Censored* here. I am sorry to hear that you have a typo in your Dungeon name. Unfortunately, we GMs do not have a way to simply rename a Player Dungeon. So if you want the name changed you will have to unpublish, pack it all up and start again. And allow me to emphasize pack everything up!! We have had a number of players close out dungeons without removing all the items and then ask us to retrieve them. Sometimes we can and sometimes we can't. So make sure you go through it a few times before you close it out. If you have any future problems with this issue or have any additional questions you can reply to this ticket or open a new one.Another great asset for answering future questions is the Knowledge Base, which you can find here:<a href="http://www.station.sony.com/kb" target="_blank" rel="nofollow">www.station.sony.com/kb</a>Thanks and Good Questing!GM *Censor*</em><em>Sony Online Entertainment</em>This reply made me furious.Do the people at SoE seriously expect us to manually remove up to 2000 items, rewrite all our dialogues for the mobs, reposition all our items and mobs, and actually have room for all those objects we put in our dungeon in our bags while moving them?It's true, I don't have 2000 objects in it, but it is definitely more that my bags can carry, and what I can manage to smack into the bags would be randomly scattered in my inventory.So, when can we rename our dungeons? And how do I do until that feature is implemented? Unpacking everything is not an option in this case.If a GM can't help me, then who can?</p>

msgnomer
12-20-2011, 02:33 PM
<p>I feel for you, I really do.  You almost always see a post by me with an "edited" at the bottom because I'll see a typo or wording that I just have to fix.  It sounds like there just really isn't much a GM can do at this point.</p><p>My advice would be to put up with it for awhile and see if the ability to name change gets implemented.  It's been brought up in several threads by several people, so it's clearly a desired feature.</p>

Pixiewrath
12-20-2011, 02:51 PM
<p>Yes. It wouldn't be so bad if we could just save the layout, send all items to another dungeon packed, and then load the layout there.But as it is now, I have to manually move a lot of the items because I can't transfer all items to another dungeon.Loading dungeon-specific items works , but crafted furniture, limited mobs etc, doesn't load over unless you manually drag them there :/So I'd rather wait until we can either rename it, or move all items in a packing crate to the other dungeon.</p>

Wiggels
12-20-2011, 03:36 PM
<p>I feel for you....made basicly the same post  a couple of days ago....</p><p>Very very strange that you cant  edit  the name of your dungeon =/</p><p>And the sad thing is im probably gonna just delete my dungeon and maybee perhaps do a new one. </p><p>The effort  it takes to make a dungeon  that you consider good enough to publish  dosent come easy, well not to me...</p><p>And as i see it the "name" is the only info you can give to those interested to try out your dungeon.</p><p>If im wrong in this please enlighten me =)</p><p>/W</p>

Pixiewrath
12-20-2011, 04:03 PM
<p>Same here. I don't want to release a dungeon that is like all the first ones posted... basic with mob massacres.I want to put detail to every room, wether it be a dead rat behind the cupboard or that human skull on the post next to the stairs.The dungeon I need renaming on, I worked for like 4-5 hours only on the end-room and I am about less than halfdone with the rest. Aside from some detail adding.Going through that trouble again, no. But having that spelling error is also a big no no. <img src="/smilies/9d71f0541cff0a302a0309c5079e8dee.gif" border="0" alt="SMILEY" /></p>

Rothgar
12-20-2011, 04:13 PM
<p><cite>[email protected] Bazaar wrote:</cite></p><blockquote><p>After decorating for many hours, writing dialogue etc for my dungeon Delving into the Depths - Part 2 I realized there was a spelling error in the title, namely that it said "Delving into the Depts - Part 2" instead.So, of course I wrote a /petition to have a GM change the name of the dungeon since this feature is lacking.I got this slap in the face as a response:<em>Hi Pixiewrath,GM *Censored* here. I am sorry to hear that you have a typo in your Dungeon name. Unfortunately, we GMs do not have a way to simply rename a Player Dungeon. So if you want the name changed you will have to unpublish, pack it all up and start again. And allow me to emphasize pack everything up!! We have had a number of players close out dungeons without removing all the items and then ask us to retrieve them. Sometimes we can and sometimes we can't. So make sure you go through it a few times before you close it out. If you have any future problems with this issue or have any additional questions you can reply to this ticket or open a new one.Another great asset for answering future questions is the Knowledge Base, which you can find here:<a rel="nofollow" href="http://www.station.sony.com/kb" target="_blank">www.station.sony.com/kb</a>Thanks and Good Questing!GM *Censor*</em><em>Sony Online Entertainment</em>This reply made me furious.Do the people at SoE seriously expect us to manually remove up to 2000 items, rewrite all our dialogues for the mobs, reposition all our items and mobs, and actually have room for all those objects we put in our dungeon in our bags while moving them?It's true, I don't have 2000 objects in it, but it is definitely more that my bags can carry, and what I can manage to smack into the bags would be randomly scattered in my inventory.So, when can we rename our dungeons? And how do I do until that feature is implemented? Unpacking everything is not an option in this case.If a GM can't help me, then who can?</p></blockquote><p>I'm sorry you are having an issue with the dungeon name.  We currently don't have a way to rename your dungeon but I will bump this up to the top of the priority list as it's something we wanted to add shortly after launch anyway.</p><p>Don't be upset with the GM's, they are just doing their jobs with the tools they have available.  It's true, they don't have a way to rename the dungeon for you so they are providing the only other option that you have at this point besides waiting, and that's to rebuild your dungeon.  Yes, it isn't a great option, but they are at least making you aware of it.  They also wanted to be sure to warn you about removing any non-virtual items before deleting the dungeon or they will be lost forever.</p><p>Saving the layout and loading it would definitely save you a lot of time, but unfortunately it won't preserve flavor text and some other data like wander points.</p><p>I'll try to get this added very quickly, even if it's a simple command.</p>

msgnomer
12-20-2011, 04:31 PM
<p><cite>Rothgar wrote:</cite></p><blockquote><p> They also wanted to be sure to warn you about removing any non-virtual items before deleting the dungeon or they will be lost forever.</p></blockquote><p>LOL, I'm pretty sure I know what they, and you, mean.  However, when you get right down to it, everything in the dungeons are virtual items!  Heck, the dungeon is virtual too!  I know, I know... you are talking about things that don't come from the toolbox but were unique items from our inventory, but it stuck me as funny.</p><p>And yeay on escallating the issue! <img src="/eq2/images/smilies/283a16da79f3aa23fe1025c96295f04f.gif" border="0" /></p>

Lempo
12-20-2011, 04:34 PM
<p>While you are at it Rothgar, deleting the dungeon should as part of its cleanup routine automatically pack everything up in it, in fact this (imo) should really be a higher priority than being able to rename them albeit editing the name is probably less work.</p><p>And yeah take it easy on the GM's, if you are not happy with the response you cna always asked that it will be forwarded to a lead, and almost everytime the GM was not able to assist me they have done that themselves in cases where there might be alternatives.</p>

Pixiewrath
12-20-2011, 04:47 PM
<p><cite>Rothgar wrote:</cite></p><blockquote><p>I'm sorry you are having an issue with the dungeon name.  We currently don't have a way to rename your dungeon but I will bump this up to the top of the priority list as it's something we wanted to add shortly after launch anyway.</p></blockquote><p>Thank you. I am looking forward to that update. This was the biggest flaw I saw when it was released. I named my dungeon "test" and then I realized I couldn't rename it quickly enough to remove everything and rebuild.That time I had only placed a few items though so no big harm done.</p>

Pixiewrath
12-20-2011, 04:51 PM
<p><cite>[email protected] wrote:</cite></p><blockquote><p>While you are at it Rothgar, deleting the dungeon should as part of its cleanup routine automatically pack everything up in it, in fact this (imo) should really be a higher priority than being able to rename them albeit editing the name is probably less work.</p></blockquote><p>Umm... couldn't everyone get an uneditable "Trash" house of sorts where all removed dungeon/house items go to a moving box whenever a dungeon/house containing furniture gets removed? That way people won't lose stuff accidentally. If it has the current item limit of 2000 or 1000 or what it is in a normal moving box, then it would kind of work like the Trash Bin does in Windows.. So if more items get packed into it after more dungeons/houses get removed, the older ones get overwritten?</p>

Rothgar
12-20-2011, 05:08 PM
<p><cite>[email protected] wrote:</cite></p><blockquote><p>While you are at it Rothgar, deleting the dungeon should as part of its cleanup routine automatically pack everything up in it, in fact this (imo) should really be a higher priority than being able to rename them albeit editing the name is probably less work.</p><p>And yeah take it easy on the GM's, if you are not happy with the response you cna always asked that it will be forwarded to a lead, and almost everytime the GM was not able to assist me they have done that themselves in cases where there might be alternatives.</p></blockquote><p>Pack everything up and do what with it?  If the dungeon is going away, it can't stay there.  The mail system really can't handle having 2000 items mailed to you (worst case scenario).</p><p>It really is up to the player to do a "Collect All" on their dungeon if they decide they don't want it anymore.</p>

Kryvak
12-20-2011, 05:31 PM
<p>You don't even need to manually replace all the items, just save the layout.</p>

Pixiewrath
12-20-2011, 05:33 PM
<p><cite>Rothgar wrote:</cite></p><blockquote><p><cite>[email protected] wrote:</cite></p><blockquote><p>While you are at it Rothgar, deleting the dungeon should as part of its cleanup routine automatically pack everything up in it, in fact this (imo) should really be a higher priority than being able to rename them albeit editing the name is probably less work.</p><p>And yeah take it easy on the GM's, if you are not happy with the response you cna always asked that it will be forwarded to a lead, and almost everytime the GM was not able to assist me they have done that themselves in cases where there might be alternatives.</p></blockquote><p>Pack everything up and do what with it?  If the dungeon is going away, it can't stay there.  The mail system really can't handle having 2000 items mailed to you (worst case scenario).</p><p>It really is up to the player to do a "Collect All" on their dungeon if they decide they don't want it anymore.</p></blockquote><p>I think he meant that if you have 2000 items in a player owned house/guild hall/dungeon you can't fit all those items in the bags if you wish to delete it and therefore they more or less become lost.That's why my suggestion above would be neat. To have a "backup" house where deleted furniture from player owned areas go at least temporarily. So they get moved to that house inside a box instead of being deleted.Don't know if it would be hard to program but I think it would relief a lot of people who accidentally delete stuff. However ones does that...</p>

Wiggels
12-21-2011, 08:16 AM
<p>Thanks for the response Rothgar =)    much appreciated, lets just hope the fix comes in a resonable timeframe.</p><p>/w</p><p>Edit:  that was fast  maybee i should have read the  "todays patch notes" before  posting =)</p><p><p style="font-family: verdana, arial, helvetica, sans-serif; color: #d2c5a9; background-color: #221f1c; margin-top: 0in; margin-right: 0in; margin-bottom: 0pt; margin-left: 0in;"><span style="font-family: arial, helvetica, sans-serif;"><span style="font-size: small;">GENERAL</span></span></p><p style="font-family: verdana, arial, helvetica, sans-serif; color: #d2c5a9; background-color: #221f1c; margin-top: 0in; margin-right: 0in; margin-bottom: 0pt; margin-left: 0in;"><span style="font-family: arial, helvetica, sans-serif;"><span style="font-size: small;">You may now use the command “/republish_house” to update the name of your currently published dungeon or house.</span></span></p><p style="font-family: verdana, arial, helvetica, sans-serif; color: #d2c5a9; background-color: #221f1c; margin-top: 0in; margin-right: 0in; margin-bottom: 0pt; margin-left: 0in;"><span style="font-family: arial, helvetica, sans-serif;"><span style="font-size: small;">Note: The ability to update your currently published image using this command may not be functioning at the time of this update.</span></span></p><p style="font-family: verdana, arial, helvetica, sans-serif; color: #d2c5a9; background-color: #221f1c; margin-top: 0in; margin-right: 0in; margin-bottom: 0pt; margin-left: 0in;"><span style="font-family: arial, helvetica, sans-serif; font-size: small;"> </span></p></p><p style="font-family: verdana, arial, helvetica, sans-serif; color: #d2c5a9; background-color: #221f1c; margin-top: 0in; margin-right: 0in; margin-bottom: 0pt; margin-left: 0in;"> </p><p style="font-family: verdana, arial, helvetica, sans-serif; color: #d2c5a9; background-color: #221f1c; margin-top: 0in; margin-right: 0in; margin-bottom: 0pt; margin-left: 0in;"> </p><p style="font-family: verdana, arial, helvetica, sans-serif; color: #d2c5a9; background-color: #221f1c; margin-top: 0in; margin-right: 0in; margin-bottom: 0pt; margin-left: 0in;">/w</p>

Pixiewrath
12-21-2011, 09:02 AM
<p>That is really nice, and fast! <img src="/smilies/3b63d1616c5dfcf29f8a7a031aaa7cad.gif" border="0" alt="SMILEY" />Does it republish the dungeon we are currently in if we have multiple ones?And will there be a button on the Persona window as well for this?Haven't logged in yet as I am trying to get test server to work atm to test avatar dungeoning out... and Bazaar should be down anytime anyway >.<</p>

Keran77
12-21-2011, 01:02 PM
<p><cite>Rothgar wrote:</cite></p><blockquote><p><cite>[email protected] wrote:</cite></p><blockquote><p>While you are at it Rothgar, deleting the dungeon should as part of its cleanup routine automatically pack everything up in it, in fact this (imo) should really be a higher priority than being able to rename them albeit editing the name is probably less work.</p><p>And yeah take it easy on the GM's, if you are not happy with the response you cna always asked that it will be forwarded to a lead, and almost everytime the GM was not able to assist me they have done that themselves in cases where there might be alternatives.</p></blockquote><p>Pack everything up and do what with it?  If the dungeon is going away, it can't stay there.  The mail system really can't handle having 2000 items mailed to you (worst case scenario).</p><p>It really is up to the player to do a "Collect All" on their dungeon if they decide they don't want it anymore.</p></blockquote><p>I can offer a quite good - IMHO - solution frome some other MMORPG. There is a special NPC alike a banker, called "storage keeper" or so. If you have a house full of furniture, and then decides to renounce it, all furniture goes to special storage - sone kind of limitless bank, accessible through that special NPC, and with ability to only withdraw items, but not deposit.</p><p>In that game it was completely free, but to avoid possible misuse of such feature you even could take an upkeep price for using this storage.</p>

Lempo
12-21-2011, 03:02 PM
<p><cite>Rothgar wrote:</cite></p><blockquote><p><cite>[email protected] wrote:</cite></p><blockquote><p>While you are at it Rothgar, deleting the dungeon should as part of its cleanup routine automatically pack everything up in it, in fact this (imo) should really be a higher priority than being able to rename them albeit editing the name is probably less work.</p><p>And yeah take it easy on the GM's, if you are not happy with the response you cna always asked that it will be forwarded to a lead, and almost everytime the GM was not able to assist me they have done that themselves in cases where there might be alternatives.</p></blockquote><p>Pack everything up and do what with it?  If the dungeon is going away, it can't stay there.  The mail system really can't handle having 2000 items mailed to you (worst case scenario).</p><p>It really is up to the player to do a "Collect All" on their dungeon if they decide they don't want it anymore.</p></blockquote><p>either pack it into the toolbox or present the user with a dialog (just like the housing portal) to select the house for the house items to go into a moving crate.</p><p>While it may be up to the user to collect all it is something that could be rectified and cause fewer issues to be /petitioned for the GM's, someone might spend hours placing a lot of items to really customize a dungeon if they decide to unpublish it I do not think it unreasonable to afford an easy way to return those items to a moving crate instead of them having to go to the bank dump all bags get empty bags just to do that. I never mentioned mail, that would be the worst possible way to return the items to someone.</p>

Rothgar
12-21-2011, 03:22 PM
<p><cite>[email protected] Bazaar wrote:</cite></p><blockquote><p>That is really nice, and fast! <img src="/eq2/images/smilies/3b63d1616c5dfcf29f8a7a031aaa7cad.gif" border="0" />Does it republish the dungeon we are currently in if we have multiple ones?And will there be a button on the Persona window as well for this?Haven't logged in yet as I am trying to get test server to work atm to test avatar dungeoning out... and Bazaar should be down anytime anyway >.<</p></blockquote><p>You have to use the command from within the house/dungeon that you want to edit.  It will allow you to change the name and the screenshot.  Note, the house/dungeon must be published already for this to work. </p><p>No can say we don't listen or act fast.  <img src="/smilies/3b63d1616c5dfcf29f8a7a031aaa7cad.gif" border="0" alt="SMILEY" /></p>

Pixiewrath
12-21-2011, 03:31 PM
<p><cite>Rothgar wrote:</cite></p><blockquote><p><cite>[email protected] Bazaar wrote:</cite></p><blockquote><p>That is really nice, and fast! <img src="/eq2/images/smilies/3b63d1616c5dfcf29f8a7a031aaa7cad.gif" border="0" />Does it republish the dungeon we are currently in if we have multiple ones?And will there be a button on the Persona window as well for this?Haven't logged in yet as I am trying to get test server to work atm to test avatar dungeoning out... and Bazaar should be down anytime anyway >.<</p></blockquote><p>You have to use the command from within the house/dungeon that you want to edit.  It will allow you to change the name and the screenshot.  Note, the house/dungeon must be published already for this to work. </p><p>No can say we don't listen or act fast.  <img src="/eq2/images/smilies/3b63d1616c5dfcf29f8a7a031aaa7cad.gif" border="0" /></p></blockquote><p>This was definitely quick, and very welcomed. I appreciated it. 100% dialogue chance in dungeons, the next step! <img src="/smilies/8a80c6485cd926be453217d59a84a888.gif" border="0" alt="SMILEY" />But if you guys really want to impress me, I would like to log on tomorrow and see "EQ2 - Now Featuring Cryengine".Okay, that is just wishful thinking, but surely would be nice, lol</p>