PDA

View Full Version : EQ2 getting too easy?

kahplakt
10-24-2011, 04:04 PM
<p>I have been a long time EQ and EQ2 player but over the last few major updates the game seems to have lost the challenge and risk versus reward.   I have been slowly forming this opinion but last night one event solidified it for me.</p><p>I started playing an alt that I have not played in a while - a lvl 40 PAL.  While cruising around everfrost I ran into and fairly easily soloed Dreadwake a lvl 42^^^.</p><p>That is just not right, a lvl40 soloing (with little risk of dying) a 42^^^.  So I tried to push it as was able to also solo ad 44^^^.</p><p>What is the point of levels and heroic encounters?  I know everyone plays for different reasons but for me, I am looking for a challenge, hard risky encounters - that is the way it used to be - much more fun.</p><p>I have also been running another experiement - I have been playing an assassin (now level 52) and been playing him smart but trying to regularly hunt white and yellow mobs and heroics - he has not died once!  and it has not been very challenging - just killing from tier to tier to get the next armour set.  Also, I like the re-speced items in the quests - but some of them are too good for the effort.</p><p>My chars have mastercrafted and some master spells but that should not make it so I can easily solo a 42^^^ named at lvl 40.</p><p>I would like to see the game get a lot more challenging - bring back the risk versus reward.  The challenge of the encounters - it seems very mechanical now.</p>

Romulis
10-24-2011, 04:09 PM
<p>well with the lower player base than there used to be most people who start off new in this game are people who are wanting to play with friends.. and noone wants to have a heroic ground shaking encounter on every solo mob while questing. they just wanna level to the new stuff and enjoy playing the game with their friends....... or at least thats my assumption</p>

CoLD MeTaL
10-24-2011, 04:31 PM