PDA

View Full Version : Layout Editor Question


jmcgorlick
03-05-2011, 03:31 PM
<p>I am new to the layout editor and haven't got all of it figured out.  I was wondering.... if I (for example) save my house layout and then decorate for frostfell.... when frostfell is over can I reload the original layout and save the Christmas one for next year?  If I do this what happens to all my frostfell decorations?  Do they go into my moving crate?  My inventory (it would be OVERFLOWING), my vault or does it not move any of it?  And if my Frostfell decorations are in my moving crate would the layout editor pull them out the next year when I load that layout again?</p><p>I hope I am explaining this okay.</p>

Jazabelle
03-05-2011, 09:26 PM
<p><cite>[email protected] wrote:</cite></p><blockquote><p>I am new to the layout editor and haven't got all of it figured out.  I was wondering.... if I (for example) save my house layout and then decorate for frostfell.... when frostfell is over can I reload the original layout and save the Christmas one for next year?  If I do this what happens to all my frostfell decorations?  Do they go into my moving crate?  My inventory (it would be OVERFLOWING), my vault or does it not move any of it?  And if my Frostfell decorations are in my moving crate would the layout editor pull them out the next year when I load that layout again?</p><p>I hope I am explaining this okay.</p></blockquote><p>Done correctly, you can create a layout with JUST your Frostfell decorations in it. Then you can pick to either crate them or uncrate them.</p><p>The layout editor can <em>only</em> move items into and out of the moving crate. You must manually pick them up and place them in either your bags, bank, or house vault if that is where you wish to store them.</p><p>However, if you are using the layout editor to decorate for the holidays, I would highly suggest leaving the items in the moving crate.</p><p>Personally, I have two layouts for Frostfell. The first is "Frostfell." It pulls all of my Frostfell items out of the moving crate and sets them up. The second is "No Frostfell." It takes all of my Frostfell decorations, and puts them in the moving crate.</p><p>If you need a more in-depth explanation of how to do this, please feel free to ask!</p>

jmcgorlick
03-05-2011, 11:19 PM
<p>I'm sorry but I am a complete newb and I could really use a more in - depth explanation.<img src="/eq2/images/smilies/499fd50bc713bfcdf2ab5a23c00c2d62.gif" border="0" /></p><p>Thank you so much for being patient</p>

Jazabelle
03-06-2011, 03:57 AM
<p><a href="http://forums.station.sony.com/eq2/posts/list.m?topic_id=490417" target="_blank">The first step is to learn the "new from diff" feature of the layout editor.</a> <-- That's my handy picture tutorial right there. It uses an older version of the layout editor, but for all intents and purposes, it is still completely accurate. The pictures of the editor are just a tiny bit different from the current editor.</p><p>Next, you will scroll to the post that begins:</p><p><span >"But wait <em>again</em>, Jaz!" you're thinking. "I don't want to move just one item. I built this really cool fireplace/altar/toilet/sink/whatever it is, and I don't know if I can find all the pieces in the layout editor! I don't want to have to rebuild it, but I just want to shift it a liiiiiittle bit in some random direction! Can the <strong>New From Diff</strong> help me?"</span></p><p>You will follow steps 1-9 for <em>all </em>of your Frostfell items. That means, hit the WITH macro with all of your Frostfell items out. Go through the house and CRATE all of your Frostfell decorations. Then hit the WITHOUT macro. Go into the editor and run the New From Diff feature. This will create a layout with <em>just</em> your Frostfell items in it. (Don't worry. If you don't understand what this means, you will after you read the tutorial and give the New From Diff feature a try.)</p><p>Instead of shifting your Frostfell items at all, you will then go to Save As. You will save this layout as "Frostfell" or something like that. You can then crate all of the items in the layout, and save THAT layout as "No_Frostfell" or something similar.</p><p>Now you have two layouts, both with only the Frostfell items in them. The first layout that is labeled "Frostfell" will pull all of your items out of the moving crate and set them up where you want them. The second, labeled "No_Frostfell" will put all of those items back in the moving crate.</p><p>If this is still not clear, poke me in-game (I'm usually on Antonia_Bayle.Jazabelle. If you can't find me, ask in the Homeshow channel. If I'm on, I'll respond, or someone else can poke me to respond) and I'll pop over to show you how this goes.</p>

jmcgorlick
03-06-2011, 10:53 AM
<p>By George I think I've got it hehe... I thought that if I used a layout that didn't have my "normal" stuff in it then the layout editor would crate all of my stuff (my library, fireplaces, bar ect) but it only effects the stuff that is in THAT layout... so by using the "new but diff" it creates a layout that only changes frostfell (or whatever) items.  That will make life SOOOO much easier</p><p>And btw I had looked at your new but diff post but I couldn't see how MOVING something would help me when I wanted to crate/uncrate stuff... silly me hehe... thanks for all your help. </p><p>And I just joined the Antonia_Bayle.homeshow channel last night.  I am just starting with my decorating and am amazed with what I am seeing on these forums.  Its just incredible.</p>

Aner
03-06-2011, 03:58 PM
<p><cite>[email protected] wrote:</cite></p><blockquote><p>And I just joined the Antonia_Bayle.homeshow channel last night.  I am just starting with my decorating and am amazed with what I am seeing on these forums.  Its just incredible.</p></blockquote><p>welcome to the community <img src="/smilies/3b63d1616c5dfcf29f8a7a031aaa7cad.gif" border="0" alt="SMILEY" /></p><p>thursday nights there is usually a layout editor class (see post in this forum) as well as numerous people who go above and beyond with helping <img src="/smilies/283a16da79f3aa23fe1025c96295f04f.gif" border="0" alt="SMILEY" /></p>

Jesdyr
03-07-2011, 12:18 PM
<p>You are actually using the house layout feature how it was intended. I think that using the editor is what was throwing you off. <img src="/smilies/3b63d1616c5dfcf29f8a7a031aaa7cad.gif" border="0" alt="SMILEY" /></p>