PDA

View Full Version : Travel map


isest
05-26-2010, 07:56 AM
<p>I did not see anybody cover this topic.  I liked our old travel destinaitons they way there were click on the druid ring, or the spires you get a list select and boom</p><p>This new map we get reminds me too much of the travel destinations at the starport terminal in swg.</p><p>Is there a way to turn it off to revert just back to the list,  if not I would love to see it removed.</p>

Birna
05-26-2010, 08:15 AM
<p><cite>isest wrote:</cite></p><blockquote><p>I did not see anybody cover this topic.  I liked our old travel destinaitons they way there were click on the druid ring, or the spires you get a list select and boom</p><p>This new map we get reminds me too much of the travel destinations at the starport terminal in swg.</p><p>Is there a way to turn it off to revert just back to the list,  if not I would love to see it removed.</p></blockquote><p>I agree. I liked it fine as it was. They had already made travelling so much faster and easier than it used to be, with the extra bells and griffins they had added over the time. Now the feeling of travelling the world is completely gone as you can get to near everywhere with a click. =/ And that travelling map is so huge and 'in your face' I don't really undresatnd the reason behind this change. Have people been complaining about the old system?</p><p>I know I hate timesinks and to feel I waste my time ingame, but this map takes out some of the immersion of the game, so shortcuts are not always better. More travel stations for faster travelling in the zones is great though, -like the ones they have added in EL <img src="/eq2/images/smilies/e8a506dc4ad763aca51bec4ca7dc8560.gif" border="0" /></p>

Jaremai
05-26-2010, 08:26 AM
<p>I would like the option(!) to change from a map back to the list.  Yeh it's only an extra couple seconds to scan the map and figure out where my destination is (or add a second if I have to click "I want to travel!" before even getting the map), but those extra couple seconds will add up to an hour or two of my life that you've taken away just by forcing me to look at a map vs an alphabetical list.</p><p>Option please, don't force UI changes.</p>

Naggasaki
05-26-2010, 08:37 AM
<p>I agree. While I like the revamp of the travel system for the most part, this 'larger than life' map needs to go. Give me a list any day.</p>

erin
05-26-2010, 08:45 AM
<p><cite>[email protected] wrote:</cite></p><blockquote><p>I agree. While I like the revamp of the travel system for the most part, this 'larger than life' map needs to go. Give me a list any day.</p></blockquote><p>Agreed.  I'm fine with the revamp, but don't want that ridiculous massive map in my face.  Give me a list!</p><p>Then again, some bright person will likely post a "fix" over at eq2interface soon.  Yay for UIs!</p>

Loolee
05-26-2010, 09:08 AM
<p>I like the map, it gives you a better picture of the world we all live in.  It could be a bit smaller tho.<img src="http://www.kolobok.us/smiles/standart/umnik2.gif" /></p>

feldon30
05-26-2010, 09:41 AM
It's like any other UI element. If enough people want one, a different interface can be provided. I'd start a thread on EQ2Interface.

Murryha
05-26-2010, 09:44 AM
<p>I do like the map for a real "world view", but would love to have an option to change back to the list. </p>

Keltherin
05-26-2010, 10:12 AM
<p>I like the map.</p><p>I like the way you get the "big picture" of been able to see how norrath is laid out and to me it feels more like youre actually travelling been able to see where each continent and area is.</p><p>To me the list was just...well...a list and now I can get abit idea of how places are in relation to each other, rather than just clicking from one zone server to another or however it works.</p><p>I can understand the point that  has been raised about the travelling aspect, but I for one dont miss zoning somewhere for the sake of a 5 second run to another bell. This is much more streamlined and saves us time that can be better spent elsewhere and would not like to return to the list.</p><p>If they could find a way to use either the map or list might be a good way to keep both camps happy.</p><p>**Edit: I do think color should be added to the maps tho...</p>

Fendaria
05-26-2010, 01:30 PM
<p>I love the maps.  The lists were a pain and I never knew how places related to eachother.  The inzone transport maps are great too.  I don't want just a list like before.  However, having a second smaller map would be nice.</p><p>Fendaria</p>

glowsintheda
05-26-2010, 02:27 PM
<p>The map is great for ports, but for the in zone mounts it is kind of annoying, espically since they didn't make it so that every mount station is connected and you still have to go from one to the next, to the next.  Even if it had to fly me to each destination in the link, I would still like the ability to just choose to go to deepwater pavilion or marred plateu right from the zone in to SH.  Otherwise what is the point of the maps for the mounts?</p>

CrazyMoogle
05-26-2010, 03:59 PM
<p>The only thing that annoys me about the new travel map is that you still can't go from any station in a zone to any other station.  You still have to pad hop hop hop hop to get from one spot to another.</p><p>Just put all zone stops on the map and have the route go pad to pad without stopping if needed.</p>

Valdaglerion
05-26-2010, 04:39 PM
<p><ol><li>The option to toggle would be nice from map to list. I say this because some times the maps are nice to see the entire zone laid out or see how the world shapes up BUT after you have that knowledge the list is simply more efficient.</li><li>When you are looking at an inner zone travel such as mounts, please show (greyed out perhaps) all the other travel options in the zone on the map. Because the mount stations dont go to any other one this helps in understand which ones you need to get to in order to reach your eventual destination OR to catch another type of transportation out of the zone.</li></ol></p>

Priddles
05-26-2010, 08:32 PM
<p>The map is great, it's a list, except with graphics. It looks FAR better than the old lists, also.</p>

Jrel
05-27-2010, 12:52 PM
<p>I like the new map, but would rather have RED for where I am at, and Blue or Green for where I want to go.</p><p>Also, I like the option of having the list to for those that don't like the new map.</p>

Fyranaer
05-27-2010, 01:17 PM
<p>I love the new map and travel system.  Finally travelling in Barren Sky doesn't induce temporary insanity.  The maps look nice too.</p>

Katz
05-27-2010, 01:25 PM
<p>I like the map.  Sometimes I can remember where I want to go in relation to where I am but don't remember the name.  It helps when people ask me for directions too....I can tell them "its that furtherest away place on the left side" and they can see it on the map.</p>

Zutan
05-27-2010, 01:49 PM
<p>I like the map, but agree it does need some updates.  Show me where I am currently in a more clear manner.  Show ALL the travel locations on the map with some designation for ones I can get to from where I am vs the ones I cant.</p>

Cuedywene
05-27-2010, 02:20 PM
<p><cite>glowsinthedark wrote:</cite></p><blockquote><p>The map is great for ports, but for the in zone mounts it is kind of annoying, espically since they didn't make it so that every mount station is connected and you still have to go from one to the next, to the next.  Even if it had to fly me to each destination in the link, I would still like the ability to just choose to go to deepwater pavilion or marred plateu right from the zone in to SH.  Otherwise what is the point of the maps for the mounts?</p></blockquote><p>Yep I agree about the in zone mounts.  I guess it would be easier to pick which station you want to go to this new way but I liked how it worked prevously.</p><p>Overall I see the new travel system as dumbed down and not necessary.  I do appreciate that SOE keeps looking for new ways to improve the game but I think they just reinvented the wheel here.  Travel was already too easy. </p><p>I like how the Call to ... spells have had their cast time decreased but even that wasn't needed.  It just cuts into my run to the fridge or bathroom time LOL</p>

Jrral
05-27-2010, 02:51 PM
<p><cite>glowsinthedark wrote:</cite></p><blockquote><p>The map is great for ports, but for the in zone mounts it is kind of annoying, espically since they didn't make it so that every mount station is connected and you still have to go from one to the next, to the next.  Even if it had to fly me to each destination in the link, I would still like the ability to just choose to go to deepwater pavilion or marred plateu right from the zone in to SH.  Otherwise what is the point of the maps for the mounts?</p></blockquote><p>I dunno, I find the map useful for the in-zone mounts when I'm not familiar with the zone. I know from the full-zone map roughly where I need to go, but I don't know what the station nearest that area's called so I don't know which one to pick from a list. The map, OTOH, lets me see where in the zone each reachable station is. For someone new to the zone, or someone who hasn't visited the zone recently (or who hasn't visited it since they added mount stations to it), the map has it's advantages.</p><p>Now, I would like the maps to show, for zones where the interconnections aren't complete, all the stations and which ones are connected to which so I can plan routes when I haven't memorized the interconnections. I run into this in Fens, for instance, and it takes a bit of thinking and checking to work out exactly which sequence of posts we need to take to get where we're going.</p>

Kami-Master
05-27-2010, 03:03 PM
<p>actually, no one has mentioned in this post yet... but i really like how as your hover your cursor over locations, it shows you the level, and colours it - makes it very easy to know what zone you should next move on to.....</p><p>and that question gets asked soooo much both in game and forums... "..where should a level X go..."</p><p>BUT there is one problem.. it seems to only work on the "travel maps", not just the normal ones you can scroll through at anytime <img src="/smilies/9d71f0541cff0a302a0309c5079e8dee.gif" border="0" alt="SMILEY" /></p><p>As for the in-zone travel... yeah, absolutely must have all options visable (even if greayed out), cause it can be a right pain travelling to one, only to find out it was the other one which connects you to the final one - hehe</p><p>Anyway... still an inprovment i think <img src="/smilies/283a16da79f3aa23fe1025c96295f04f.gif" border="0" alt="SMILEY" /></p>

MaCloud1032
05-27-2010, 03:22 PM
I personaly dispise the new system. I took pride in knowing the names of all the diff areas. Now iam picking because well its close to that place. Like one person said its the lower lefthand side of cl. Its no longer hiddon station. Also go back to clicking on the solkar, carpet, or cloud platform. Making me talk to a person. Dumb. Why yes I did mean to talk to you. Must be because iam male or something but I like destonations with name and routs there not land marks and area's on a map

JackBurtonBTLC
05-27-2010, 03:42 PM
<p>I like the new maps! its clear and easy and gives me good perspective on where the flights go. Very nice!</p>

denmom
05-27-2010, 04:07 PM
<p>I'd like the list back as well, or with travel such as the clouds in the Over Realm to be back to click when they have just one destination.</p><p>Last night we were running in Tenebrous and made a run for the clouds as usual.  One of us nearly was killed because of the large map and trying to find the destination on the map.</p><p>Usually with the cloud mounts, we'd just run thru the mobs or jump down from the rock wall to the mount, click, and go.  The brief stalling of the map is a bit detrimental.</p><p>The largest problem I'm finding with the map is having to search for the destination.  Sure, it's a thing of soon you'll automatically know where to head to, but right now it's a huge confusion.</p><p>Please, could we have the option to have a listing?</p>

lazlo1
05-27-2010, 04:13 PM
<p>I like the new map system. I dont seem to get why there are differnt travel options. I havent played with it much but it seems depending on something i am missing the destinations i can choose are different. Why not always be the same ?</p>

woolf2k
05-27-2010, 04:24 PM
<p>I'm intelligent enough to understand the map. So I like it, it's extremely useful. Now I don't have to waste my time with multiple hops, specially when zoning can occasionally lag. thank you SOE. </p>

Sirulus_Delon
05-27-2010, 05:47 PM
<p>FTLOG, please please, PLEASE do one of the following: Get rid of the map thing entirely (preferred by me), shrink the map so as not to be so obnoxious, or make it a thing that can be toggled on and off. Also, remove it from in zone mounts that you ride from station to station. That is extremely stupid. *Edit* After looking closer, I realize one of the bonuses is that you can reach all locations by bell from Antonica where as before you had to zone multiple times to reach your final destination. However, the map... annoying still.</p><p>-§ir</p>

Baccalarium
05-27-2010, 06:32 PM
<p>What was</p><p>1) click on NPC,  </p><p>2) find place to go in list of places,</p><p>3) click on place to go.</p><p>Has become</p><p>1) click on NPC,</p><p>2) click on,  "I want to travel"</p><p>3) find place to go in an image,</p><p>4) click place to go. </p><p>5) click on "OK" to actually travel.</p><p>Get rid of the two extra clicks. (step 2 and 5 seem redundant and a waste of time.)</p><p>I think I could get used to the non-linear image search for where I want to go versus the linear list of names,  and can see arguments both ways.   Personally I prefer it the way it was as I can find button lists were higher constrast easier to read, and easy to scan for the name I wanted.</p>

JackBurtonBTLC
05-27-2010, 07:17 PM
<p>I love the new travel maps but agree, reduce the number of clicks as much as possible.  should be</p><ol><li>Click for map</li><li>Click destination</li></ol>

woolf2k
05-27-2010, 11:35 PM
<p><cite>JackBurtonBTLC wrote:</cite></p><blockquote><p>I love the new travel maps but agree, reduce the number of clicks as much as possible.  should be</p><ol><li>Click for map</li><li>Click destination</li></ol></blockquote><p>its a form of confirmation. </p><p>I would prefer it your way but you know they did it this way so people would not complain that they accidently click on the wrong location and would like confirmation window. </p><p>this way you click on the the destination and then confirm it by clicking on ok button.</p><p>btw: i'd like to see the area on the map be the click and not a tiny label but it's all more work more time. </p>

isest
05-28-2010, 12:03 AM
<p>It is clear that some folks love it, some folks dont.  What I would like to see is an option to turn it off, like the option for mounts. That way we could please both camps, the ones who love it get to keep it, folks like me would get to toggle it off.</p><p>Problem solved for both sides.</p>

Martoof857
05-28-2010, 01:53 AM
<p>I sat and read through these replies and was waiting for the most obvious question to the OP. What was the point of this post? If you prefer the "ole school" of humping through a timesink of travel then don't utilize the short cuts. Seems pretty simple to me. I have yet to see any screenshots of a dev or SOE employee holding a gun to a players' head forcing them to use quick travel. Why do we need more code to "fix" this. Click the long, previous route and waalaa, there's your long route.</p>

isest
05-28-2010, 08:12 AM
<p><cite>Martoof857 wrote:</cite></p><blockquote><p>I sat and read through these replies and was waiting for the most obvious question to the OP. What was the point of this post? If you prefer the "ole school" of humping through a timesink of travel then don't utilize the short cuts. Seems pretty simple to me. I have yet to see any screenshots of a dev or SOE employee holding a gun to a players' head forcing them to use quick travel. Why do we need more code to "fix" this. Click the long, previous route and waalaa, there's your long route.</p></blockquote><p>The point of my post if you did not understand it was I don't like the new travel map, it is big and clunky.  I liked the list. You click you go.  Plain and simple.  For me it had nothing to do with quick travel short travel or whatever.  It was the added key-clicks to get to your destination, and the pure just just plain out how ugly it looked.  I cant speek to anybody else but that what it was for me.</p><p>Im just saying they gave us togle options for the mount, why not this as well. </p>

MurFalad
05-28-2010, 08:23 AM
<p><cite>Birna wrote:</cite></p><blockquote><p>I agree. I liked it fine as it was. They had already made travelling so much faster and easier than it used to be, with the extra bells and griffins they had added over the time. Now the feeling of travelling the world is completely gone as you can get to near everywhere with a click. =/ And that travelling map is so huge and 'in your face' I don't really undresatnd the reason behind this change. Have people been complaining about the old system?</p></blockquote><p>I love this new change myself, having a map to decide on where to go adds a lot of immersion to me, previously with the lists I never really knew what the geography of Qeynos was as I just felt like I was travelling to various instances.  Now while I'd prefer actual travel between the villages at least I do have a realistic feel for the world.</p><p>As for extra modes of travel, they have removed some (Castleview hamlet no longer gives you an option to go to Antonica as far as I can see which makes sense), and made some that should have been hubs better (Qeynos Docks now goes everywhere which I think makes sense for a major city). </p><p>Although I know what you mean about making it too easy to get around the world, but the previous system only really offered a click - zone(thundering steppes) - click - zone (Mara) etc experience which wasn't immersive at all. </p><p>Maybe relying on waiting for a ship to come in and having the ship head out to sea (with the occassional event interrupting a voyage which could add some danger) could improve things, the ship going too and from sea could be an animation played during loading and would be great to see the zone come in closer as you dock (like the Skystrider has the arriving animation for Moors of Ykesha).</p><blockquote><p>I know I hate timesinks and to feel I waste my time ingame, but this map takes out some of the immersion of the game, so shortcuts are not always better. More travel stations for faster travelling in the zones is great though, -like the ones they have added in EL <img src="/eq2/images/smilies/e8a506dc4ad763aca51bec4ca7dc8560.gif" border="0" /></p></blockquote><p>Its a fine line, I would prefer a few less travel options in zones, the Moors of Ykesha to me has the perfect travel system and a good mix between being able to get around and having at times to cover some long distances (the fact the elevations change a lot though does mean some of the stations are very needed). </p><p>On the other end I think they went a bit overboard with mount stations in Feerrot, actually there I would have prefered something different and unique, since the main obstacle to get over is the mountain ridge along the centre of the zone then some sort of climbing path/balloon/travel system across this would have been nice to see.</p><p>One thing to add, a friend of mine who was just trying EQ2 out commented well on it, I think that's the main advantage of this change, before it relied on players already knowing the names of places to go to, now they learn where to go to in game and about the world of Norrath as they travel, much better in my opinion.</p>

CrazyMoogle
05-28-2010, 12:46 PM
<p>Just to mention, you don't have to click the "OK" or "Accept" button or whatever it is at the bottom.  You can double click the destination and you'll take off.</p><p>The having to hail the guy, then say "yes I want to travel" or whatever is annoying, though.  The map should auto-appear when you hail him and then you can just ESC the window if you don't want to move.</p>

Fival
05-29-2010, 11:20 AM
<p>I liked the list better it was smaller and more streamlined. I would realy like to see option to go back to the list selection.</p>

Serelinde
05-30-2010, 12:24 PM
<p>I don't know what brilliant person decided that they had to change the travel system to a map, but change it back! Or yes, give an option. As soon as they get a way to put it back through UI I'll take it. What they don't take into account is that not everyone has a HUGE gaming computer screen. I play on a 15 inch laptop. It takes up my entire screen. I can barely get to the OK button when I do select.  It's not user friendly, it's a pain.  Stop thinking that everyone on EQ2 has a fantastic, state of the art freaking gaming computer. We don't.  But we still pay for the game and still want to be able to play.</p>

Serelinde
05-30-2010, 12:26 PM
<p><cite>[email protected] wrote:</cite></p><blockquote><p>Just to mention, you don't have to click the "OK" or "Accept" button or whatever it is at the bottom.  You can double click the destination and you'll take off.</p><p>The having to hail the guy, then say "yes I want to travel" or whatever is annoying, though.  The map should auto-appear when you hail him and then you can just ESC the window if you don't want to move.</p></blockquote><p>Ahhh didn't see this post. Good to note. Thank you, Sirlo.</p><p><cite>MurFalad wrote:</cite></p><blockquote> interrupting a voyage which could add some danger) could improve things, the ship going too and from sea could be an animation played during loading and would be great to see the zone come in closer as you dock (like the Skystrider has the arriving animation for Moors of Ykesha).</blockquote><p>Yeah because if they do this, I quit.  I have limited enough time without having to wait to see the scenery. If I want to stop and smell the roses, I'll go take a RL walk. I don't roleplay in the game, so I don't really need emersion. With Moors, I already have time enough to go grab a cup of coffee and piddle around waiting to get to the next destination. </p><p>Maybe an option to make it like a mini map...you can turn that off with a click.  Isest has the right idea.</p>

S_M_I_T_E
05-30-2010, 02:02 PM
<p>The map would be great when I walk into a new zone (like sundered frontier) for the first time to help me visualize where I was going rather than typing in eq2 map and looking for the blinking X to know which general direction I was going. </p><p>Although now that I'm familiar with a zone (like sundered frontier) I found initially the touch and point map kinda put me off.  The list does seem faster, but I did find times I accidently clicked the wrong one but that is less annoying now that you can "jump off" your mounts immediately and go right back and pick the right one. </p><p><em>The big map is a nice idea I think I'd use more often in new overland zones, and then toggle off after I've completed the major solo questlines in each "niche" and revert back to the list if I had a choice.</em></p>

Frenzywolf
05-30-2010, 02:43 PM
<p>I too dislike the map and would love to have the option of just the list. The map nearly covers my entire screen and nearly I  cannot click to go or close it. I do like that you don't have to run around for the bushes anymore or find griffon eggs, I also enjoy the fact you can go anywhere with the bell, but I do hate that stupid map.</p>

Jetomba
06-01-2010, 06:54 AM
The map would be more tolerable if it were about half the size.

MurFalad
06-01-2010, 07:41 AM
<p><cite>[email protected] wrote:</cite></p><blockquote>The map would be more tolerable if it were about half the size.</blockquote><p>On my 17" screen laptop the travel map at times takes up most of the screen (I assume it scales since the proportions seem the same on my 22" CRT, although the resolutions are similar at 1440x900 vs 1600x1280), but whenever I use it I'm not interested in anything but selecting where to travel.  Just wondering if you need to do something else while selecting a travel destination that makes the size of the map an issue?</p>

The_Cheeseman
06-01-2010, 08:27 AM
<p>Whenever anything changes, there will always be people who instantly hate it for no good reason. Give it a month or so and everybody will get used to it and realize that it isn't really worth complaining about.</p>

de lori
06-01-2010, 08:44 AM
<p>aye you added a few too many clicks...but on another level if i want to access information quickly i would use a list:</p><p>how many states start with the letter N?</p><p><img src="http://5qdnow.bay.livefilestore.com/y1pDBuRmBGj-I-x9uo4HyTi_nSxy1F8VryMmmdZAIUgfD-ZS4UGvFsT7IQH4YXtIsogT9uvfPjZntKAoPQECZpALT5igAKZd eTB/map%20or%20list.jpg" width="643" height="640" /></p><p>i just want to find my destination quickly...not scan all over a map to find it.</p>

Jaremai
06-01-2010, 09:11 AM
<p>What zone is that?  Are there any named?</p>

Naggasaki
06-01-2010, 09:27 AM
<p><cite>MurFalad wrote:</cite></p><blockquote><p><cite>[email protected] wrote:</cite></p><blockquote>The map would be more tolerable if it were about half the size.</blockquote><p>On my 17" screen laptop the travel map at times takes up most of the screen (I assume it scales since the proportions seem the same on my 22" CRT, although the resolutions are similar at 1440x900 vs 1600x1280), but whenever I use it I'm not interested in anything but selecting where to travel.  <strong><span style="color: #ff0000;">Just wondering if you need to do something else while selecting a travel destination that makes the size of the map an issue?</span></strong></p></blockquote><p>How about spot the x2 of freeps that just rolled up behind you while that silly map was showing you all the neato locations you can select from and the irrelevant connection it has to all the other destinations that you could select. Yeah, I like my plat.</p>

MaCloud1032
06-01-2010, 10:11 AM
No more just selecting the first fly point just to get the flock outta there now you gotta hunt and pick for some random spot