PDA

View Full Version : EQ2 Client Crash = Truancy Bug?


swedago
03-03-2010, 07:50 PM
<p>I just received a truancy bug for eq2client crash...  How is it that a crash due to your client we get truancy after?</p>

swedago
03-04-2010, 06:37 AM
<p>In the last 3 hours it has happened to me 2x (token loss both times) towards the end of the match.  It has also happened to the 6 others on ventrilo with me at least 1x.</p><p>Please fix this....</p>

Oatheac
03-04-2010, 06:56 AM
<p><cite>[email protected] wrote:</cite></p><blockquote><p>I just received a truancy bug for eq2client crash...  How is it that a crash due to your client we get truancy after?</p></blockquote><p>Because it can otherwise be exploited as a method for leaving without penalty. Forcing your client to crash, that is.</p>

Rothgar
03-04-2010, 07:00 AM
<p>The intended behavior is that if you crash or go linkdead, you are given a certain amount of time to get back in before the matchmaker replaces you with someone else.  If your slot is filled, you'll be treated as if you abandoned the match.</p><p>I've had this happen to me when playing too and I know it can be frustrating.  It sounds like its either not working properly or not giving you enough time to get back in.  Our QA department checked it on our internal environment the other day and it was working ok.  But there could be some difference between connecting internally and externally.</p><p>We will take a look at it.</p>

swedago
03-04-2010, 07:13 AM
<p><cite>Rothgar wrote:</cite></p><blockquote><p>The intended behavior is that if you crash or go linkdead, you are given a certain amount of time to get back in before the matchmaker replaces you with someone else.  If your slot is filled, you'll be treated as if you abandoned the match.</p><p>I've had this happen to me when playing too and I know it can be frustrating.  It sounds like its either not working properly or not giving you enough time to get back in.  Our QA department checked it on our internal environment the other day and it was working ok.  But there could be some difference between connecting internally and externally.</p><p>We will take a look at it.</p></blockquote><p>Great thanks</p>

ghhtwsfqa
03-04-2010, 11:44 AM
<p>On a related note, I once got back into the match ok after crashing, but instead of being red or blue, I was white.  I was still in the raid, and my tab selection only grabbed the opponents and I had no problem killing or being killed by them.  In fact I thought nothing of it until the match ended in victory but upon exiting I only got 1 token.</p>

Cloakentuna
03-04-2010, 12:22 PM
<p><cite>Rothgar wrote:</cite></p><blockquote><p>The intended behavior is that if you crash or go linkdead, you are given a certain amount of time to get back in before the matchmaker replaces you with someone else.  If your slot is filled, you'll be treated as if you abandoned the match.</p><p>I've had this happen to me when playing too and I know it can be frustrating.  It sounds like its either not working properly or not giving you enough time to get back in.  Our QA department checked it on our internal environment the other day and it was working ok.  But there could be some difference between connecting internally and externally.</p><p>We will take a look at it.</p></blockquote><p>There's definitely not enough time if you get kicked to desktop.  I've tried it before having a second copy of the launcher open and patched just waiting to click play, and after I was booted to desktop, even having the 2nd launcher opening and clicking it as soon as I got booted I could not get back in.  If your internet hiccups though and you get booted to character select though there is plenty of time to get back in.</p>

Suite
03-05-2010, 01:34 AM
<p><cite>Rothgar wrote:</cite></p><blockquote><p>The intended behavior is that if you crash or go linkdead, you are given a certain amount of time to get back in before the matchmaker replaces you with someone else.  If your slot is filled, you'll be treated as if you abandoned the match.</p><p>I've had this happen to me when playing too and I know it can be frustrating.  It sounds like its either not working properly or not giving you enough time to get back in.  Our QA department checked it on our internal environment the other day and it was working ok.  But there could be some difference between connecting internally and externally. </p></blockquote><p>Many in my guild are losing connection at least once a match and then losing tokens. I had it happen to me twice today, and it was impossible to log back in. Both times I was in a 24-man BG and both times I lost my tokens AND received a penalty. Frustrating, to say the least.</p>

Retyb
03-05-2010, 03:39 PM
<p>Besides just fixing the part of not being able to get back into the match.......how about someone fix the bug in Battlegrounds that is causing the Client crash in the first place?  It is extremely annoying to lose these items just because of a game bug.</p>

Scythien
03-05-2010, 10:47 PM
<p><cite>Rothgar wrote:</cite></p><blockquote><p>The intended behavior is that if you crash or go linkdead, you are given a certain amount of time to get back in before the matchmaker replaces you with someone else.</p></blockquote><p>Defeninitely not enough time. Just now had a client crash, immediately started a new game. Logged in to NFP with Truancy.</p>

Kaiemi
03-06-2010, 05:46 AM
<p><span style="font-size: xx-small;">Same. Client crashed, not enough time to get back into BG, Truancy. =/</span> <span style="font-size: xx-small;">Or rather,  I have a copy of the character from BG. It goes into the BG hub, then switches back to home server.</span></p>

Grumble69
03-06-2010, 02:33 PM
<p>I've played about 50 matches and this happened to me for the first time yesterday.  It was odd because I've never crashed before in EQ.  It was the 12x12 match.  I was snared and about to die.  It seemed like my system was kinda slowing down right before the crash.</p>

Xanrn
03-06-2010, 02:59 PM
<p>Yeah the Truancy buff got me last night.</p><p>I was playing Smugglers Den, tried to jump off one of the Discs and got the ye olde be in the game for years stuck after using a mount bug. You know the one Griffins had at release and every damm fast travel mount has had since.</p><p>So I was stuck mid-air unable to do anything but exit, so I exit and restarted the game and went back to character select. choose the _101 character but got put back into Sundered Frontier instead with the Truancy Buff...</p>

Dartessa
03-08-2010, 07:08 PM
<p>Yes, please look into this. For some reason when I get killed in BG's via one shot there's a high chance it causes my client to crash. I desperately try to get back into the game as fast as I can but within the time it takes  me to reload Eq2 I've not managed to make it back once. I totally agree with the truancy for people who don't come back or don't try at all or LD out intentionally, but the length of time given to get back into game (Esp being for someone like me my character would be just laying there dead waiting for the respawn timer anyway) needs to be extended to allow for people to restart the client and get back in. I'm losing far too many tokens because of this, and I don't see a crash fix happening anytime soon so and extended timer would relieve the frustration.</p>

Wytie
03-08-2010, 07:16 PM
<p><cite>Rothgar wrote:</cite></p><blockquote><p>The intended behavior is that if you crash or go linkdead, you are given a certain amount of time to get back in before the matchmaker replaces you with someone else.  If your slot is filled, you'll be treated as if you abandoned the match.</p><p>I've had this happen to me when playing too and I know it can be frustrating.  It sounds like its either not working properly or not giving you enough time to get back in.  Our QA department checked it on our internal environment the other day and it was working ok.  But there could be some difference between connecting internally and externally.</p><p>We will take a look at it.</p></blockquote><p>I crashed about 5 times over the weekend in about 50+ matches. Every single time I relogged as fast as I could and everytime I logged into the BG hub and was kicked to my server with no token and the Truancy buff.</p><p>The worse of the 5 was the 24v24 and its was almost over, my team was winning and only needed about 100 points to finish, I got kicked and was rewarded when I logged back in with no tokens and a Truancy buff.</p><p>Yes it sucked but I got over it, stuff happens.</p><p>Most of the times I get kicked is in the 6v6 and most of the crashes are during actual combat.</p><p>A week ago I was kicked at the end of a match, and when I relogged I actualy got my tokens but that has yet to happen again.</p>

Atrayu
03-10-2010, 03:10 AM
<p><cite>[email protected] wrote:</cite></p><blockquote><p>The worse of the 5 was the 24v24 and its was almost over, my team was winning and only needed about 100 points to finish, I got kicked and was rewarded when I logged back in with no tokens and a Truancy buff.</p><p>Yes it sucked but I got over it, stuff happens.</p></blockquote><p>This is exactly what just happened to me, and prompted me to come here looking for an answer to [Removed for Content] is Truancy, and why did I just lose out on my tokens. Losing in PvP is naturally frustrating, but getting screwed by bugs is actually very frustrating. There was NO time to log back in, as I have an enthusiest grade computer and got sent back to mistmoore from the battlegrounds hub immediately. Please fix asap!</p>

Sambone
03-10-2010, 05:48 AM
<p>I had this happen at least 4 times today. Never happened till now. Got kicked and came back with zero tokens and a truancy debuff to put some icing on the cake....thx so much for looking into it.</p>

Snagnasty
03-10-2010, 10:29 AM
<p>Was in a gears match last night with a guildie and we both got booted at the same time.  We are from two different states and I use comast and forgot which client he uses but different from mine.  I expect that the rest of the people in the zone got booted as well but do not  have proof of that.  I estimate that I had been playing BGs for around 2-3 hours before this occured but the guildie said it had been going on all day with  him getting booted. </p>

Outkasted2006
03-10-2010, 06:28 PM
<p>3 of 4 matches truancy.  all were in the big wins. 9 tokens... in that short time. Thanks Soe... add that to the rest u've taken from me now . thank you thank thank you!</p>

Grumble69
03-11-2010, 02:12 AM
<p>Ok, this is irritating me.  Can we add a data check before assigning Truancy?  If you're in the lead (better yet--no less than 80% of the other team), then you don't get Truancy.  I think it's safe to say that only the people that are getting skunked would be dropping out.</p><p>...and personally the matches where I get skunked are quick anyway.</p>

Aenashi
03-11-2010, 12:00 PM
<p><cite>Rothgar wrote:</cite></p><blockquote><p>The intended behavior is that if you crash or go linkdead, you are given a certain amount of time to get back in before the matchmaker replaces you with someone else.  If your slot is filled, you'll be treated as if you abandoned the match.</p><p>I've had this happen to me when playing too and I know it can be frustrating.  It sounds like its either not working properly or not giving you enough time to get back in.  Our QA department checked it on our internal environment the other day and it was working ok.  But there could be some difference between connecting internally and externally.</p><p>We will take a look at it.</p></blockquote><p>Give it a little bit longer to not replace you.  Test it out where someone crashes and then comes back in.  How long it takes with the station launcher and connecting.</p><p>There were times last night when i went LD in a match (over and over but never lost a ping to kithicor.everquest2.com - sdkeq2-06-01.everquest2.com) and got back from character select (not a complete client crash) and log in and the booted out right away from BG.  I briefly saw the match for a split second then went back to kithicor and had the 5 minutes.</p><p>How much time does it wait before it replaces you in a match?</p>

Aleste
09-01-2010, 05:58 PM
<p>Is this still happening to people? It's been very bad for me latley every other match my client is crashing. And it only happens in bg. I load right back in and end up out of bg with a truency. Very lame.</p>

Brynhild
09-01-2010, 07:38 PM
<p>Here's another one that really is aggravating..</p><p>You queue for BG, go and get a drink, come back with 10 seconds left on the timer, hit accept.. it zones to battlegrounds hub, then zones you back to where you were, with truancy.. happens almost every single time the timer is 10s or less .. Why even have the timer go to 10s? why  not just make 10s 0s.. 50s timer instead of 60s timer?</p><p>I don't get this.. if i have 5s left on timer and i click accept i should get in.. but never do</p>

Tehom
09-02-2010, 02:41 PM
<p>The timer to reconnect after crashes needs to be longer. I've had client crashes a lot in Battlegrounds lately, and I always try to reconnect within 30 seconds to a minute or so, and never been able to get back.</p>

Tallhart
09-02-2010, 06:19 PM
<p>This has happened to me a few times ... fortunately with no where near the frequency reported by some people <img src="/smilies/3b63d1616c5dfcf29f8a7a031aaa7cad.gif" border="0" alt="SMILEY" /> , and I've never been able to reconnect successfully after a client crash.</p><p>It happened to me last night ... I was playing in Smugglers, my team was ahead by a fair bit, but I was kicked to character select. Oh well I thought, there goes 3 tokens. But I tried to log back in anyway, thinking 'well, it wasn't a full crash ... maybe coming back in from character select will be fast enough?'. What do you know, I was back in! But about 5 minutes later, up about 1200 to 500, my client crashed. I tried to connect again right away, but got the truancy instead. <img src="/smilies/9d71f0541cff0a302a0309c5079e8dee.gif" border="0" alt="SMILEY" /> I could even still hear the raid voice chat for a few seconds as it zoned me through the battlegrounds hub and back into Qeynos Harbor, so it had my hopes up for a bit.  grrr argh! <img src="/smilies/8a80c6485cd926be453217d59a84a888.gif" border="0" alt="SMILEY" />The timeout for this really needs to be increased / fixed.</p>

MurFalad
09-06-2010, 01:11 PM
<p><cite>Brynhild wrote:</cite></p><blockquote><p>Here's another one that really is aggravating..</p><p>You queue for BG, go and get a drink, come back with 10 seconds left on the timer, hit accept.. it zones to battlegrounds hub, then zones you back to where you were, with truancy.. happens almost every single time the timer is 10s or less .. Why even have the timer go to 10s? why  not just make 10s 0s.. 50s timer instead of 60s timer?</p><p>I don't get this.. if i have 5s left on timer and i click accept i should get in.. but never do</p></blockquote><p>I see this too, if the timer is less than 10s then I can select yes to zone in, it zones me out to the BG server, then straight back to Runnyeye along with a debuff. </p><p>In my case it normally happens if say I'm running around trying to do one last thing before jumping to a BG so its not a big problem and I am in control of a solution (hit accept straight away!), but if the code is being fixed this bug might as well be squashed too, the above fix making 10s==0s sounds like it would correct things...</p>

Azol
09-06-2010, 02:30 PM
<p><cite>Rothgar wrote:</cite></p><blockquote><p>The intended behavior is that if you crash or go linkdead, you are given a certain amount of time to get back in before the matchmaker replaces you with someone else.  If your slot is filled, you'll be treated as if you abandoned the match.</p><p>I've had this happen to me when playing too and I know it can be frustrating.  It sounds like its either not working properly or not giving you enough time to get back in.  Our QA department checked it on our internal environment the other day and it was working ok.  But there could be some difference between connecting internally and externally.</p><p>We will take a look at it.</p></blockquote><p>Thanks, Rothgar!</p><p>Just on a side note - the BG is probably the only place my EQ2 clients keep crashing from time to time. Never in Gears, but sometimes in Ganak and more frequently in Den. Most of the time exactly when you begin to cast some spell - maybe just a coincedence, since you are almost always busy casting something in BG.</p>

Mosha D'Khan
09-07-2010, 12:25 AM
<p>game crashed 6 times back to back to back tonight, came back in game with in 15sec to 30sec tops and was kicked out (the game can only load so fast). was still in voice sadly and could talk and hear everyone. this needs to get fixed ASAP or it is not worth my time in playing. the other 3 people i was playing with had it happen to them too so some thing is going wrong here (as in the peoples games crashed too).</p>

Blambil
09-07-2010, 12:26 PM
<p>fast machine, OS &  Game on SSD, never been able to beat the truancy flag after a client crash... EVER....</p>

NardacMM
09-08-2010, 12:32 PM
<p>I had an eq2 client crash last night.  I was [Removed for Content] b/c i figured i wouldn't get back into Smugglers and I knew from the second it started we would be the winning team.</p><p>I logged back into EQ, waited for truancy to end,  queued Smuggler's, and got back onto my original team with about 200 points to go. First time i've been so lucky, though.</p><p>Would be great if the game could distinguish b/w those who have a client crash and those who exit or close the application.</p>

Nephel
09-14-2010, 02:33 PM
<p>What About when you click accept a BG and have 2 seconds left cause you have to do something in game... then you load up the BG  see it load... then close then load up EQ2... and Know you have the Truancy buff when EQ2 is finished loading.</p><p>I have learned to click when its more than 2 seconds.. or skip it and reque</p>

Mosha D'Khan
09-15-2010, 12:04 PM
<p>is this even being looked at, or can we get an update one what is going on here? seems like it is a big problem and nothing has been done about it. when your team is going to win and it happens over and over it kind of make you want to no BG until it is fixed</p>