PDA

View Full Version : Avatar of Health and faction hit.


Cablejunky
08-11-2009, 06:12 PM
<p>Hopefully this is the right area for this question.</p><p>Why do you take a faction hit to Rodcet Nife diety in during the Avatar of Health encounter?</p><p>For those that have never "fought" the Avatar of Health, when you spawn the encounter, the Avatar of Disease spawns and starts having a battle-royal with the Health.</p><p>AoD spawns his giant friend Grummus (and some adds) and is the mob you actually fight for the loot. Health "fights" AoD, every once in a while Health spawns a cleansing beam on players to rid them of one of AoD's effects.</p><p>But when you kill Grummus, AoD's minion, you loose faction with Health, why?</p><p>You are helping the Health Avatar out!</p><p>I play an Inquisitor and I am a raider so it doesn't really matter if he's worshipable for me, as most raiders worship a diety for the tecnical ability, if at all. (i.e. Bristlebane for the sanctuary like effect ect..)</p>

Rainmare
08-11-2009, 08:03 PM
<p>I would say the reason you take the faction hit is becuase you were going to attack the god of health...bertox just beat you to it and threw grummus at you in case you decided to test your luck taking the winner, and while the health avatar does help you out...he's only doingso becuae he doesn't want to deal with Grummus in a two on one match.</p><p>basically, the Avatar of Health knew why you were originally there, and wasn't to pleased with that wether you turned out to be useful to him or not.</p>

kartikeya
08-12-2009, 04:22 AM
<p><cite>[email protected] wrote:</cite></p><blockquote><p>I would say the reason you take the faction hit is becuase you were going to attack the god of health...bertox just beat you to it and threw grummus at you in case you decided to test your luck taking the winner, and while the health avatar does help you out...he's only doingso becuae he doesn't want to deal with Grummus in a two on one match.</p><p>basically, the Avatar of Health knew why you were originally there, and wasn't to pleased with that wether you turned out to be useful to him or not.</p></blockquote><p>This isn't actually the case. As soon as the encounter starts, it's you walking in on the two avatars having an argument about how much they're right and the other one sucks. In order to actually start the fight portion, you have to right click and choose 'defend the Avatar of Health' or whichever. Essentially you butt in on their argument and say 'yeah, Health > you, Disease boy', and the Avatar of Disease gets [Removed for Content] about the matter and decides to escalate it into an actual fight by bringing in Grummus on your heads. There's nothing about originally intending to attack the Avatar of Health in the encounter (even though obviously, if the encounter were structured as an actual fight against Health, then of course you'd be attacking him as the encounter).</p><p>Really, I think the reason you get a faction hit is simply one of balance. You get a faction hit for every other fight, so Health can't be the exception to the rule. Health does make a [Removed for Content] comment at the end, I think, about how fighting doesn't solve everything, to which you sort've want to punch him really.</p><p>Tranquility is similar, in that you don't ever actually fight her, and the entire encounter is actually her setting up a series of challenges to test you, though at least her faction loss makes much more sense, as she's Tranquility and all, and she makes it obvious that she's only doing the challenges because you want them, and that she doesn't think much of you for it.</p>

Rainmare
08-12-2009, 04:48 AM
<p>Oh, then yeah I'd have to say balance...or could be just general annoyance that he's the god of health and generally keeping things alive and you just butchered something in front of him. kinda shows a disreguard for his idea of saving lives. even if it was Grummus.</p>

Barx
08-12-2009, 09:34 AM
<p>Yeah the fight does not necessarily make sense. It's an interesting fight, but you have to lose faction with Rodcet beacuse simply that's how it has to be mechanic wise since it is still his Avatar's encounter. Lore wise it doesn't make a lot of sense, but you have to separate the actual behavior of the encounter from the fact that you should still loose faction with Rodcet for doing "his" encounter.</p>