PDA

View Full Version : ummm...can't two box in same computer!!!


Macross_JR
09-25-2008, 11:50 AM
Seems something with the update today makes my one character go to character select anytime I log my other one in.  say if character A is in first I go to log in character B, character A goes LD and goes to character select, go to log character A in again and character B goes LD to character select?

Xethren
09-25-2008, 12:10 PM
Sounds like you are trying to run the same account twice, which you cannot do.Do you have two separate accounts?

Cica
09-25-2008, 12:36 PM
<cite>[email protected] Bayle wrote:</cite><blockquote>Sounds like you are trying to run the same account twice, which you cannot do.Do you have two separate accounts?</blockquote><p>QFE</p><p>And im suprised a lvl 80 would ask a question like this anyways ...</p>

yohann koldheart
09-25-2008, 04:01 PM
<p>wow looks like  maby somone bought there account from ebay lol, how did you get to 80 and just now relize you cant play 2 toons from the same account at the same time?</p><p>i play 2 accounts on the same  pc all the time and tons of others do as well.</p>

Arcueid
09-25-2008, 04:13 PM
I remember when SWG first came out, you could log on to the same account but cannot be on the same server..was nice to two box but at different servers.

woolf2k
09-25-2008, 04:44 PM
you can't have multiple instances of the same account. And that goes for any SOE game. so if you have the all access.you can't log into eq2 and  be logged into SWG at the same time or log in twice with different characters on eq2 whehter it's on the same machine or not... it'll log you out at one point or another one of the instances will get knocked out... if you want to multi box. you'll need two seperate accounts. you can transfer one of the alts to the new 2nd account for $50.00make sure you use the same billing info on the 2nd account as your first so there aren't any glitches... aka SOE doesn't think you are trying to transfer to an account that's not your own cause that is NOT allowed.

Morgane
09-25-2008, 05:22 PM
<cite>Cica wrote:</cite><blockquote><p>And im suprised a lvl 80 would ask a question like this anyways ...</p></blockquote>I'm a level 80 and have been playing for three years but I don't know the first thing about two-boxing. <img src="http://forums.station.sony.com/eq2/images/smilies/283a16da79f3aa23fe1025c96295f04f.gif" border="0" alt="SMILEY" width="15" height="15" />

Soulforged_Unre
09-25-2008, 05:27 PM
<cite>[email protected] wrote:</cite><blockquote><cite>Cica wrote:</cite><blockquote><p>And im suprised a lvl 80 would ask a question like this anyways ...</p></blockquote>I'm a level 80 and have been playing for three years but I don't know the first thing about two-boxing. <img src="http://forums.station.sony.com/eq2/images/smilies/283a16da79f3aa23fe1025c96295f04f.gif" border="0" alt="SMILEY" width="15" height="15" /></blockquote>But as the OP said...s/he describes it as only happening with the most recent update...which would seem like a nice scape-goat for someone who just got a character to hide behind while asking a ridiculously basic question that anyone who two-boxed ever before would know.

Cica
09-25-2008, 05:30 PM
<cite>[email protected] wrote:</cite><blockquote>Seems something with the update today makes my one character go to character select anytime I log my other one in.  say if character A is in first I go to log in character B, character A goes LD and goes to character select, go to log character A in again and character B goes LD to character select?</blockquote><p>He says "today" like it was working yesterday ?</p><p>And hes saying like hes trying to log 2 chars on the same account ...</p><p>Infact if it was 2 accounts why would the system kick his other char ? Just seems weird.</p>

Wingrider01
09-25-2008, 08:09 PM
<cite>[email protected] wrote:</cite><blockquote>you can't have multiple instances of the same account. And that goes for any SOE game. so if you have the all access.you can't log into eq2 and  be logged into SWG at the same time or log in twice with different characters on eq2 whehter it's on the same machine or not... it'll log you out at one point or another one of the instances will get knocked out... if you want to multi box. you'll need two seperate accounts. you can transfer one of the alts to the new 2nd account for $50.00make sure you use the same billing info on the 2nd account as your first so there aren't any glitches... aka SOE doesn't think you are trying to transfer to an account that's not your own cause that is NOT allowed.</blockquote>Actually you can have both SWG and EQ2 logged on at teh same time, as long as you are paying for the subscriptions seperately and not under station access. IE if you pay 15.00 for eq2 and 15 for swg it works. Station access prevents the ability to do this.

SilkenKidden
09-25-2008, 09:02 PM
<b>Two </b>box on the <b>same</b> computer?  Isn't that a contradiction in terms? Even if you had two accounts, you'd have to have two operating systems running simultaneously in order to two box on the same box.

woolf2k
09-25-2008, 09:06 PM
<cite>[email protected] wrote:</cite><blockquote><b>Two </b>box on the <b>same</b> computer?  Isn't that a contradiction in terms? Even if you had two accounts, you'd have to have two operating systems running simultaneously in order to two box on the same box. </blockquote>no. it's just a reference to days gone by...computers today can handle multiple tasks and the eq2 client deals with it just fine.

Armawk
09-25-2008, 09:08 PM
<cite>[email protected] wrote:</cite><blockquote><b>Two </b>box on the <b>same</b> computer?  Isn't that a contradiction in terms? Even if you had two accounts, you'd have to have two operating systems running simultaneously in order to two box on the same box. </blockquote>No, the reference to a 'box' in this case refers to the game instance, or the window it appears within. Two boxing on one pc is now a normal description.

woolf2k
09-25-2008, 09:08 PM
<cite>Wingrider01 wrote:</cite><blockquote><cite>[email protected] wrote:</cite><blockquote>you can't have multiple instances of the same account. And that goes for any SOE game. so if you have the all access.you can't log into eq2 and  be logged into SWG at the same time or log in twice with different characters on eq2 whehter it's on the same machine or not... it'll log you out at one point or another one of the instances will get knocked out... if you want to multi box. you'll need two seperate accounts. you can transfer one of the alts to the new 2nd account for $50.00make sure you use the same billing info on the 2nd account as your first so there aren't any glitches... aka SOE doesn't think you are trying to transfer to an account that's not your own cause that is NOT allowed.</blockquote>Actually you can have both SWG and EQ2 logged on at teh same time, as long as you are paying for the subscriptions seperately and not under station access. IE if you pay 15.00 for eq2 and 15 for swg it works. Station access prevents the ability to do this.</blockquote>didn't i just say that? this thing on? "so if you have the <span style="font-size: small;"><b>all access.</b></span>" <-- that's an account type that gives you access to all soe games but's 1 account.

Wingrider01
09-26-2008, 06:37 PM
<cite>[email protected] wrote:</cite><blockquote><cite>Wingrider01 wrote:</cite><blockquote><cite>[email protected] wrote:</cite><blockquote>you can't have multiple instances of the same account. And that goes for any SOE game. so if you have the all access.you can't log into eq2 and  be logged into SWG at the same time or log in twice with different characters on eq2 whehter it's on the same machine or not... it'll log you out at one point or another one of the instances will get knocked out... if you want to multi box. you'll need two seperate accounts. you can transfer one of the alts to the new 2nd account for $50.00make sure you use the same billing info on the 2nd account as your first so there aren't any glitches... aka SOE doesn't think you are trying to transfer to an account that's not your own cause that is NOT allowed.</blockquote>Actually you can have both SWG and EQ2 logged on at teh same time, as long as you are paying for the subscriptions seperately and not under station access. IE if you pay 15.00 for eq2 and 15 for swg it works. Station access prevents the ability to do this.</blockquote>didn't i just say that? this thing on? "so if you have the <span style="font-size: small;"><b>all access.</b></span>" <-- that's an account type that gives you access to all soe games but's 1 account.</blockquote><p>Was referencing the fact that you can have mulitple games assigned to the same logon account and still play them at the same time, as long as you pay for them seperately. Have one logon name with eq2, swg, vanguard cd keys assigned to it, can have all 3 games logged on at the same time because I pay for the monthyl reoccurring seperately, you do not have to assign each cd key to a different station id for this to work.</p><p>You CAN have 1 account with multiple games registered to it without station access</p>