PDA

View Full Version : I'm sick of Stressed Letters management on French server ...


Krakopince
05-27-2008, 05:14 AM
<p>Hi there ...</p><p>I'd like to send a huge request to the dev team ...</p><p>PLEASE can you improve the management of stressed letters in our dear game translations ?</p><p>Let me explain a bit more ...</p><p>Let's take the Necromancer spell : Undead Tide (lvl 65)</p><p>The spell summons swarms pets, and their name in French should be : "Marée de morts-vivants" well in fact the actual swarm pets name is something like : "Mar(prép= de)e morts-vivants" ...</p><p>and when this spell is doing some damage it become more and more fun : we've got some "$1" in the combat log instead of the actual damage value ...</p><p>Of course you would tell me that in T8, necromancer get the spell Undead Horde translated in French : "Horde de morts-vivants" hurray, no more stressed letters !</p><p>But the problem still remains when using the AA : Enhanced : Undead Horde which summons "Mar(prép= de)e morts vivants" swarm pets ...</p><p> In fact, necromancer spells aren't the only things that are broken due to this bug ...</p><p>On Storms (the French server) we've got the Nexona (Veeshan dragon) script buggued and I suspect this bug to be the one responsible ... Actually, the five adds name translated in French contains stressed letters ! And in case you wouldn't know killing or not these five adds doesn't change a bit of Nexona huge HP regen on Storms (we've tested that again yesterday night) ...</p><p>I could go on giving samples of things that doesn't work due to stressed letters management on the French server ... but I think it's enough .</p><p>So pleeaaseeee dear dev team could you be kind enough to fix this *** bug which is here for at least 2 years ?</p><p> Hugs & kisses !</p><p>Necrobisounours.</p>

Alienor
05-27-2008, 07:57 AM
They are still living in an US7ASCII world. Love it or leave it (to English EU servers for example <img src="/smilies/3b63d1616c5dfcf29f8a7a031aaa7cad.gif" border="0" alt="SMILEY" />. I doubt it is possible to change that.

le Rêveur
05-27-2008, 12:05 PM
<p>I confirm Nexona script being bugged, no sense in killing the 5 statues on storms, since killing them doesnt lower nexona's hp regen while it was the script before statues names got translated... </p>

DragonMaster2385
05-27-2008, 01:03 PM
OP:  Why not just play the game in English?  You type better English than a lot of English speaking people on the forums, so it doesn't seem that comprehension is a problem.

Rahatmattata
05-27-2008, 01:09 PM
Are you serious? He's obviously already level 80 in a VP flagged guild and you tell him to move to US servers. So, instead of SOE fixing the problem, he should just ditch his guild and play on a server where everyone is in bed or at work during his prime time. Nice.

DragonMaster2385
05-27-2008, 01:11 PM
I thought the translation was a local setting, my bad.

Odys
05-27-2008, 02:11 PM
It's not only about stressed letter.Several spells are found under two names, one on the spell bookone when you scribe it. An example may be the warden spell"vim".The name of the  mining nodes  in bonemire is simply  ".".When buying fuel you often read "vous avez achete pour "empty string" or a ... Many quests are badly translated, in nektulos someone ask you to bring him "des peaux de loups" (wolf hunter skins)  and it's really funny when you crossa wolf, since wolfies are named "Peau de traqueur"( "Wolf Stalker skin&quot<img src="/smilies/8a80c6485cd926be453217d59a84a888.gif" border="0" alt="SMILEY" />. In the above case you immediatly get the bug and it does not delay you in the quest. But in others cases the quest instruction may direct you to a monster whose nameis indeed totally different from the one used in the quest. Sometimes knowing a bit of englsh helps, as example one may ask you to kill "Diables rouilles"which translate into "rusty fiends". But in several cases the two names have nothing in common.You may also be told to visit locations with some english name or sometimes it will be a randomcombination of english and french. I also remember translatting item tiptools for guildies since those were in english and they wereunable to get what they had to do.

Chris Gundam
05-28-2008, 07:40 AM
<p>Hi,</p><p>For Info, there is no bug on NEXONA neither on the script. Working perfectly.</p><p>See you</p>

Alienor
05-28-2008, 09:38 AM
There are posts from moderators neglecting any localization issues or stating that the localization is pretty perfect up to 99%. At least it has been got better during the last year (as I have heard). The game was never intended to be translated and that's the outcome of this. Love it or leave it, but you won't be able to get it changed 100%. Moving from a localized server to an English server put a great relief to me, especially as it was in the free server transfer period last year.

simpwrx02
05-28-2008, 09:50 AM
The specimens dont regen Nexona, so that isnt really a bug in the script.  If killing the statues lowered nexona's regen previously then that was a bug.  Other parts of the script will cause Nexona to regen 90kish/tick.

Singm
05-28-2008, 12:20 PM
<cite>Alienor wrote:</cite><blockquote>There are posts from moderators neglecting any localization issues or stating that the localization is pretty perfect up to 99%. At least it has been got better during the last year (as I have heard). The game was never intended to be translated and that's the outcome of this. Love it or leave it, but you won't be able to get it changed 100%. Moving from a localized server to an English server put a great relief to me, especially as it was in the free server transfer period last year.</blockquote>Totally wrong, <b>EQ1</b> was never intented to be localized, but it's a different case for <b>EQ2</b>. Since the first day (and even on the beta), the game was localized in French (or at least devs were trying to). But the original dev team is missing skills on this work and never think about stressed letters. Until recently (and I suspect it's still the case), a name in the game could be translated in one or more occurence inside the locale file. So, the work to fully translate the game is endless... On the box, there is a "This game is 100% playable in French" (<i>Ce jeu est à 100% jouable en français</i>) printed.

Alienor
05-29-2008, 03:56 AM
It might be that Eq2 was intended to be localized by the marketing team (which is why we have "100% in <lang>" on the box. But from a code perspective it never was. Otherwise it is not possible to explain why we had for such a long time and so many {get|x=34|Mein Herr} names for NPC and all the stuff ppl keep complaining.  Disclaimer: Admitted, it got better over the time, as stated before. Also, the translation is not being done on the client side, there is something in the locale files, but this isn't by far everything. otherwise you would be able to play in English on a French server.

Singm
05-29-2008, 01:17 PM
<cite>Alienor wrote:</cite><blockquote>It might be that Eq2 was intended to be localized by the marketing team (which is why we have "100% in <lang>" on the box. But from a code perspective it never was. Otherwise it is not possible to explain why we had for such a long time and so many {get|x=34|Mein Herr} names for NPC and all the stuff ppl keep complaining.  Disclaimer: Admitted, it got better over the time, as stated before. Also, the translation is not being done on the client side, there is something in the locale files, but this isn't by far everything. otherwise you would be able to play in English on a French server.</blockquote>I agree for the 1st part, the code of the locale part is BAD.For the client side and the translation, hmmm... It's stupid to send text messages from the server to the client, it's static data (dont change for all clients except some variables (gender, target, source, etc...)). I'm nearly sure that locale files are really used on client side. And I can play in english on the french server, in a limited way (eq2.ini -> cl_language English), that put some text in english (and you know what ? that resolve a few problems <img src="/smilies/3b63d1616c5dfcf29f8a7a031aaa7cad.gif" border="0" alt="SMILEY" /> )

Kirstie
05-29-2008, 09:15 PM
<cite>Krakopince wrote:</cite><blockquote><p>The spell summons swarms pets, and their name in French should be : "Marée de morts-vivants" well in fact the actual swarm pets name is something like : "Mar(prép= de)e morts-vivants" ...</p></blockquote><p>Hiya,</p><p> I spoke with our internationalization team (i18n is what we call them affectionately cause that's really hard to spell out all the time).  They are hoping to have the stressed letter issue you mentioned fixed in tonights patch.</p><p>They are looking into the "$1" in combat logs and are gathering more information through our community rep on the French forums.</p><p>Hope that works out for you.</p><p> Adieu!</p><p>- K</p>

Bruinette
06-01-2008, 08:32 AM
<p>Since it's a fact that the game is to be as localized as possible... could we please have a localized language filter too ?</p><p>something that would be a bit cleverer than fordidding any word starting with "CON" : like Conseiller (advisor) and all its déclinations, consommable, constipation, considération... and so one.</p><p>same thing goes on this forum too, t a r d means late, it has nothing to do with some bas- or wathever you can imagine.</p><p>"t i t s" is the end of the french equivalent to 'small', by itself it doesn't mean anything... and even in english I cannot imagine the word being rude !</p><p>this filter is a pain in the fondation and it's is definitly spoiling some of our fun.</p><p>I know it can be disabled, but only on chat, not for text in the guild windows (rank names,bank guild description etc).</p>

Odys
06-01-2008, 09:05 AM
For the filter turn it off, i really laugth when "petite" was censored due to [Removed for Content] inside <img src="/smilies/8a80c6485cd926be453217d59a84a888.gif" border="0" alt="SMILEY" />[Removed for Content] is bad, gun are ok. I wonder when when America lost her voice. Where is the nation that was founded by people who wrote " We The People" ...in the hands of those who think "us the poowerull" ..Anyway the game was not designed as localized otherwise you  would never find an item with two names. And items with a name in the recipe component differing from its  name are common which means that the recipe database is not ponting on item IDsin the text field (it does in the craft interface if you have a moonfish and if the recipe require it you can craft your food even if the text mention  a sunfish).Orders  are also affected by that you may be asked to do a " small leather bag" while you recipe book mention "Leather bag".Quest are affected, in steamfont if was ask to killl ">>>>" there was no mob with a name close and after killing stuff around i found out that "Pagailleurs"were updating (those are the non agressive tree in the drake area).

Bruinette
06-13-2008, 08:07 AM
<p>As I said, I did turn the filter off...</p><p>I'm talking about  text in the UI : guild names, guild bank descriptions, guild rank names... </p>