PDA

View Full Version : Why I play EQ2 and the future of it

Mali
12-08-2007, 01:10 AM
I play MMOs for PvP. PvE is nothing more than a unappealing, yet necessary, stepping stone used to gear myself so I can excel at PvP. I find it boring, monotonous and scripted. I came from WoW about 3 months ago. What [Removed for Content] me off the most about WoW was the fact you <u>had</u> to have a higher level toon to have any kind of success in the lower level battlegrounds (pvp). It took ungodly amounts of time and gold, that was virtually impossible to attain at low levels, to outfit a character that had a chance of killing a twink. When I started playing Everquest 2 I did research on the forums before jumping ingame. I read all about locking, MC gear, adornments, and most everything else needed to be successful. My second day ingame I was level 14 and had a full set of MC armor/jewelry/etc. By the end of week 1 I was level 17, had several masters, with the rest adept III's, 5 plat in the bank, full adornments, and a PvP KvD record of 3 to 1. What I've discovered is, this game is NOT WoW! It was all too easy for me to equipment myself and be competitive in PvP right from the get go. Locking allowed me to learn and play the game at my own pace. Enabling combat experience gain in PvP just kills the game for myself and Im sure many others. Now I'm going to be forced to either run from most all my fights (or die) or [Removed for Content] myself overtime with very little to no AA gain as I advance in levels. With the addition of all these speed enhancement racials it makes it all too easy for most everyone to run from a fight and live. Who is going to stick around when actually killing someone is gimping yourself over time? Of course all the current T7 and 8's are hooting and hollering over these changes. They have everything to gain and nothing to lose because when the masses level up they're going to be way behind the power curve and thus be chum. This isn't an 'I quit" thre