PDA

View Full Version : Join in the Station Launcher Beta Test


Gnobrin
11-19-2007, 07:07 PM
<p align="center">Simplify logging into your favorite SOE games and clean those extra icons off your desktop using Station Launcher! </p><p>Station Launcher is a simple one-click application that securely delivers all of your Station games, friends and community news right to your desktop. Manage your Station gaming library like never before; it's fast, easy and secure.</p><p>Access all of your Station games in one convenient location using a unified interface that eliminates the need to have multiple game shortcuts and seperate logins between all your Station games. Increase your gaming library, auto update your games even while you are playing, use Station Friends to find your gaming friends fast and stay connected while they are playing any SOE game and much more!</p><p><a rel="nofollow" href="http://launcher.station.sony.com/" target="_blank">For more detailed information and to download the beta client, click here.</a> <span style="color: #cc3300;">**</span><span style="color: #cc3300;">Please note, this is only for US servers at this time, this is not yet localized for international use.**</span></p><div style="text-align: center;"><img src="http://eq2players.station.sony.com/images/en/features/stationlauncher/stationlauncher.JPG" border="0" alt="Station Launcher" width="304" height="390" /></div>

DrkVsr
11-20-2007, 02:29 AM
<span style="font-size: medium;color: #993300;font-family: comic sans ms,sand;">One question ah haven't seen an answer for yet: do you <i><u>have</u></i> to use the new Launcher when it goes live or can you still use the old individual launchers if you want?</span>

Josgar
11-20-2007, 02:31 AM
I dont know why one wouldn't want to use the new launcher... its really spiffy!

BrashEndeavo
11-20-2007, 03:18 AM
I'd been using the beta launcher for a week or two before RoK went live, and really liked it because it allowed me to access both EQ2 and Vanguard through one interface. Also very much liked the feature where it saves your login password (I always mistyped it in the dark). However, on the day of the RoK launch, the beta launcher messed up my newly patched game and had errors about wrong client version etc. I ended up having to spend some time redownloading the RoK patches again using the old launcher (which I have been using since then).Would love to switch back to it now again if it is confirmed it now "plays nice" with RoK? It must be ok now if people are recommending it? It really does have a nice interface.

ZeroRavesOn
11-20-2007, 04:00 AM
<cite>Josgar wrote:</cite><blockquote>I dont know why one wouldn't want to use the new launcher... its really spiffy!</blockquote>When I downloaded and installed it, my system slowed down noticeably.  According to the Task Manager, it was using about 600 MB of ram, so I promptly uninstalled it, stopping the clear slowdown.  Further, it wouldn't patch at all on my Vista computer, even after looking on the Station Launcher Forum for advice.  I assume that performance hit and Vista incompatibility is why its still in Beta, so I can't pass judgment on the release version, but I would prefer to avoid the new bloatware version if these problems aren't addressed, and continue using the old launcher which has not given me any problems.That said, I threw my feedback and problems their way, so hopefully the launcher will have these problems addressed before we are forced to use it.

billit2
11-20-2007, 09:35 AM
Does the new launcher have a separate button for the test server??Thanks

Vonotar
11-20-2007, 10:14 AM
The launcher is fine, the friends section is a little confusing with too many separate lists (if you have multiple characters) and limited control over which characters should be included and which should not.Plus the biggest concern with this, having people on your friends list just so you can add a note saying "loot w****" "do not group" etc etcPlease implement a way of adding people as 'non-friends' and still have notes attached, /ignore is not the answer as you still want to see what they are saying.

Spyderbite
11-20-2007, 10:16 AM
<cite>ZeroRavesOn wrote:</cite><blockquote><cite></cite>I assume that performance hit and Vista incompatibility is why its still in Beta, so I can't pass judgment on the release version, but I would prefer to avoid the new bloatware version if these problems aren't addressed, and continue using the old launcher which has not given me any problems.</blockquote>I'm running Vista and the beta launcher is barely using 70k of RAM on my system and that is with the chat window resident. So, I'm not sure that Vista is specifically the problem. /shrugs

EtoilePirate
11-20-2007, 08:14 PM
<cite>billit2 wrote:</cite><blockquote>Does the new launcher have a separate button for the test server??Thanks</blockquote>Once you pick "EQ2," there's a pretty clear route to pick Test. <img src="/smilies/3b63d1616c5dfcf29f8a7a031aaa7cad.gif" border="0" alt="SMILEY" />  I haven't used it in a few weeks but I was using it to launch Test and Live ruding the RoK beta. <img src="/smilies/3b63d1616c5dfcf29f8a7a031aaa7cad.gif" border="0" alt="SMILEY" />

Aston
11-20-2007, 10:23 PM
I have been using the new Launcher on and off for SOE games I play(ed). I do like the way it works, plus it's very easy on the eyes. Reminds me to make sure to install it again when I get home from work in an hour, thihi

DrkVsr
11-22-2007, 07:33 AM
<cite>Josgar wrote:</cite><blockquote>I dont know why one wouldn't want to use the new launcher... its really spiffy!</blockquote><p><span style="font-size: medium;color: #993300;font-family: comic sans ms,sand;">Firstly: ah have EQ and EQ2 on 2 seperate machines (same account, just on different machines) and have no intention of changing that (EQ works fine on the machine it is on, and EQ2 on it's machine, and they don't like playing on the other)</span></p><p><span style="font-size: medium;color: #993300;font-family: Comic Sans MS;">Thirdly: ah don't like the idea that it will be running in the background checking to see if it needs updating and automatically doing it (have enough trouble with Windows doing that, even though constantly telling it not to)</span></p>

InsertNeko
11-22-2007, 08:28 PM
stationlauncher.exe runs about 105mb just sitting there idle, which for a background app is pretty bad. I'd think the main reason it's still in beta (besides any vista issues) would be the horridly large ram footprint. Thankfully, there's an option to have it quit out when you launch a game, so while technically it's not that much of an issue, it's still a hog. I like the messaging thing, but I wish there was a way to check in-game email (eq2 mail) through it. I'll continue to use it,e ven though all i play is eq2. I'd like for them to extend /petition and /bug and /feedback into the client as well, would make those easier to do.

Josgar
11-22-2007, 08:48 PM
<cite>DrkVsr wrote:</cite><blockquote><cite>Josgar wrote:</cite><blockquote>I dont know why one wouldn't want to use the new launcher... its really spiffy!</blockquote><p><span style="font-size: medium;font-family: comic sans ms,sand;color: #993300;">Firstly: ah have EQ and EQ2 on 2 seperate machines (same account, just on different machines) and have no intention of changing that (EQ works fine on the machine it is on, and EQ2 on it's machine, and they don't like playing on the other)</span></p><p><span style="font-size: medium;font-family: Comic Sans MS;color: #993300;">Thirdly: ah don't like the idea that it will be running in the background checking to see if it needs updating and automatically doing it (have enough trouble with Windows doing that, even though constantly telling it not to)</span></p></blockquote>It doesn't automatically download EQ1 onto a computer or EQ2 on a computer unless you tell it to. Plus if you don't want it scanning in the background... when it asks if you want it to do that, don't click yes... and if you are mega paranoid about it, set it up the special EQ2 icon that directs you straight to its EQ2 section of the patcher.

DrkVsr
11-23-2007, 07:14 AM
<p><span style="font-size: medium;color: #993300;font-family: comic sans ms,sand;">Hows this for a radical concept: freedom of choice (although ah suppose ah do have a choice: continue to play or quit)</span></p><p><span style="font-size: medium;color: #993300;font-family: Comic Sans MS;">Ah'm not asking for a special edition or anything, just asking if it was possible to continue using the regular launchers or if you have to use the new Launchpad</span></p>

Paladin776
11-23-2007, 08:38 AM
<p>Once the client goes live, it will replace the old Launchpad apps with one central launcher (Station Launcher), which is something that has been needed for quite some time.  Before, each game (with the exception of EQ2 and SWG sharing similar setups) had it's own launcher. This will eliminate that.</p><p>The current EQ2 launchpad does background updating already using the Microsoft BITS (Background Intelligent Transfer Service). This will push that to the other Station Games. Also, the intended goal is to have the system transfer patches and such while the system is idle, and all you would have to do is launch the specific game and any patches would be applied prior to launching. </p><p>The friends list is probably the best part of it, aside from one location game and account management.  As long as your friend is online (based on their Station ID), you can message them, no matter what character they are on and even if you don't know that specific character's name.  You simply send a message on a character name you do know, and as long as your friend is on their account, the messae will get passed to them, even if they're on a different game entirely. And it protects their privacy as well, as the message or subsequent responses won't reveal the played character's name, only the name you sent the message to.</p><p>There are some things that folks should know right now, though, as this is still in beta:</p><p>-     The application is only for players on US servers.  It hasn't been localized or set up for EU servers.-     There is a current issue where you will occasionally lose your friends list from another game in the Friend's panel.  Merely select the option to scan for characters (can't recall the exact wording) from the Friend's window options menu and it will rescan and add them back.-     Sometimes, when you close a chat window (intentionally or accidentally), you might not be able to recover that window.  Simply exit the application and re-open the chat.-     Vanguard friends will not show up in the friends list, nor can you chat with them.  This is due to the fact that Vanguard is not currently using the UCS (Universal Chat System...the system that allows us cross-server/cross-game communication). This is supposed to be resolved prior to SL going live.-     Flying Labs devs (developers of Pirates of the Burning Sea) are also working on getting their application to work with SL (they just recently converted to the Launchpad). Last I had heard was that this was supposed to be ready for launch. </p><p>If you are using this application and have any questions, suggestions, or bugs to report, the beta forums can be located by clicking on <a href="http://forums.station.sony.com/station/forums/list.m?category_id=42" rel="nofollow" target="_blank">this link</a>. </p>

Paladin776
11-23-2007, 08:45 AM
<cite>billit2 wrote:</cite><blockquote>Does the new launcher have a separate button for the test server??Thanks</blockquote>Simply click the button for EverQuest 2. When the game specific screen comes up, in the upper right hand corner is a hot area that says "Switch Versions". Click that, and you will get the option to change to Test Server, a selection that's persistent until you change it back using the same method.

Morgad
11-23-2007, 11:55 AM
I haven't found a way to do a full file scan in the new launcher.I do like the fact that I can delete my EQ2 cache at a click of a button, though.

Mcnewbl
11-23-2007, 04:21 PM
<cite>Josgar wrote:</cite><blockquote>I dont know why one wouldn't want to use the new launcher... its really spiffy!</blockquote>Rofl, some people just do not like change and like to keep it simple and classic.e.g. Everquest 1 the old UI was awesome, they rolled out the new UI and it was crap but SOE did not allow for a rollback to the old UI.So to answer the first question hell ya they are going to force you to use the new launcher.People like it simple, classic and easy to use.SOE Remember these two golden rules:1) If it ain't broke don't fix it.2) Seriously IF IT AIN'T BROKE DON'T FIX IT!

Paladin776
11-23-2007, 04:28 PM
<cite>Morgador wrote:</cite><blockquote>I haven't found a way to do a full file scan in the new launcher.I do like the fact that I can delete my EQ2 cache at a click of a button, though.</blockquote><p>Actually, that cache you're deleting is the scan cache....So, deleting that forces the Station Launcher to rescan the EQ2 files, AKA Full Scan.  <img src="/smilies/3b63d1616c5dfcf29f8a7a031aaa7cad.gif" border="0" alt="SMILEY" /></p>

Mcnewbl
11-23-2007, 04:30 PM
<cite>[email protected] wrote:</cite><blockquote><cite>Morgador wrote:</cite><blockquote>I haven't found a way to do a full file scan in the new launcher.I do like the fact that I can delete my EQ2 cache at a click of a button, though.</blockquote><p>Actually, that cache you're deleting is the scan cache....So, deleting that forces the Station Launcher to rescan the EQ2 files, AKA Full Scan.  <img src="/eq2/images/smilies/3b63d1616c5dfcf29f8a7a031aaa7cad.gif" border="0" alt="SMILEY<img src="/smilies/3b63d1616c5dfcf29f8a7a031aaa7cad.gif" border="0" alt="SMILEY" />" /></p></blockquote>ROFL! See what I mean?People like it simple and classic this will just drive up calls for their tech support call center for anyone having issues and such.Way to explain what everything does!

BlueDagger
11-23-2007, 04:46 PM
<p>I wouldn't mind it being forced to run in the background if it blocked hack users.</p>

DrkVsr
11-25-2007, 06:13 AM
<span style="font-size: medium;color: #993300;font-family: comic sans ms,sand;">Thanks for clearing that up (and saving me 45 bucks a month), will stick with GW</span>

Spyderbite
11-25-2007, 07:55 AM
<cite>Mcnewblet wrote:</cite><blockquote><cite>Josgar wrote:</cite><blockquote>I dont know why one wouldn't want to use the new launcher... its really spiffy!</blockquote>Rofl, some people just do not like change and like to keep it simple and classic.</blockquote>I highly suggest this book/video for those who dislike change. Anybody who's worked in the corporate world has seen or read this at least once. And, it especially applies to technology cause its just going to keep moving forward with or with out you.<a href="http://www.papamedia.com/item.php?makelarge=1&code=0091816971&" rel="nofollow" target="_blank"><img src="http://www.papamedia.com/image.php?file=imgbooks/large/0091816971.jpg" alt="" border="0" /></a>

DocFlareon
11-25-2007, 12:48 PM
Why do I get the feeling that Dr. Johnson is a roekilik or fellow ratonga?

Spyderbite
11-25-2007, 12:59 PM
<cite>[email protected] DLere wrote:</cite><blockquote>Why do I get the feeling that Dr. Johnson is a roekilik or fellow ratonga?</blockquote>Dr. Spencer Johnson can be found in West Freeport. His offices are just south of the Fighter's Guild for obvious reasons.. greater exposure to frustrated and stressed clientèle. However, an appointment is necessary, but scheduling can be accommodated if you bring a wedge of cheddar along. <img src="/smilies/8a80c6485cd926be453217d59a84a888.gif" border="0" alt="SMILEY" />

DrkVsr
11-26-2007, 07:41 AM
<span style="font-size: medium;color: #993300;font-family: comic sans ms,sand;">Ok, for those pushing this new Launcher, what is so great about it? What makes it so special</span>

Spyderbite
11-26-2007, 08:01 AM
<cite>DrkVsr wrote:</cite><blockquote><span style="font-size: medium;font-family: comic sans ms,sand;color: #993300;">Ok, for those pushing this new Launcher, what is so great about it? What makes it so special</span></blockquote>I find it more steamlined than the classic launcher. And, there's a definite advantage for those who play more than one SOE MMO as there is no longer a need to down the launcher and start it again to play a different game. The friends chat has some real potential.. however, I am unable to test it as chat with friends on a PvP server isn't permitted. I do find it useful that it displays which of my friends are already in game before I even launch the game.There are several new game options which I don't recall seeing in the classic version as well. Such as only displaying the EULA (where you click Agree or Don't Agree) when the EULA has changed.Also, the additional content is displayed right on the launch tab.. for example.. a small tab appears that says "6/8 Add-Ons" which you can click on to see the downloads that aren't currently installed. Granted.. this still needs some work as it shows one adventure pack as available which I currently play daily. <img src="/smilies/8a80c6485cd926be453217d59a84a888.gif" border="0" alt="SMILEY" />That's just a taste of what I've found attractive so far. While others are having issues with memory.. I also enjoy that the launcher uses A LOT less resources on my computer than the classic.

DrkVsr
11-26-2007, 08:21 AM
<p><span style="font-size: medium;color: #993300;font-family: comic sans ms,sand;">Ok, so it seems to be aimed at those with 2 or more SoE games, many ingame friends and a decent machine</span></p><p><span style="font-size: medium;color: #993300;font-family: Comic Sans MS;">What do those with only 1 or 2 SoE games, few-to-no ingame friends and/or a basic machine get out of it?</span></p>

Kri
11-26-2007, 08:39 AM
Is it still possible to run two EQ2 clients on the same machine or will the new launcher throw a hissy fit if you try it?

Daemhir
11-26-2007, 09:05 AM
Best thing IMHO with new launcher is that it can run in background always and keep your game(s) synchronized. You do not need to log into your puter from work to get that new LU downloaded before you come home! It does it automatically <img src="/smilies/3b63d1616c5dfcf29f8a7a031aaa7cad.gif" border="0" alt="SMILEY" /> That kind of things I was looking myself all the time.Pity it still doesn't work for Euro servers <img src="/smilies/9d71f0541cff0a302a0309c5079e8dee.gif" border="0" alt="SMILEY" />

Spyderbite
11-26-2007, 09:23 AM
<cite>DrkVsr wrote:</cite><blockquote><p><span style="font-size: medium;font-family: comic sans ms,sand;color: #993300;">Ok, so it seems to be aimed at those with 2 or more SoE games, many ingame friends and a decent machine</span></p><p><span style="font-size: medium;font-family: Comic Sans MS;color: #993300;">What do those with only 1 or 2 SoE games, few-to-no ingame friends and/or a basic machine get out of it?</span></p></blockquote>I only play EQ2.. and my machine is far from decent. P2.8 with 2 gigs of ram and low end nVidia knockoff card with 256megs of ram running Vista. I don't even have eIDE on the computer.As for what the average player gets out of it? Which I sort of feel like I am based on the above. <img src="/eq2/images/smilies/8a80c6485cd926be453217d59a84a888.gif" border="0" alt="SMILEY<img src="/smilies/8a80c6485cd926be453217d59a84a888.gif" border="0" alt="SMILEY" />" /> I can't chat because I'm on a PvP server and I only play EQ2. I like being exposed and the opportunity to get used to the new launcher which most likely will replace the classic one.. regardless of how much people kick and scream like a 6 year old in the toy isle at Walmart. <img src="/eq2/images/smilies/8a80c6485cd926be453217d59a84a888.gif" border="0" alt="SMILEY<img src="/smilies/8a80c6485cd926be453217d59a84a888.gif" border="0" alt="SMILEY" />" />The way I look at it.. better to get used to it now.. rather than asking "How do I use this thing?!" later, and sitting around waiting for an answer. <img src="/smilies/8a80c6485cd926be453217d59a84a888.gif" border="0" alt="SMILEY" />

Calthine
11-26-2007, 01:15 PM
<cite>[email protected] wrote:</cite><blockquote><cite></cite>The way I look at it.. better to get used to it now.. rather than asking "How do I use this thing?!" later, and sitting around waiting for an answer. <img src="/eq2/images/smilies/8a80c6485cd926be453217d59a84a888.gif" border="0" alt="SMILEY<img src="/smilies/8a80c6485cd926be453217d59a84a888.gif" border="0" alt="SMILEY" />" /></blockquote>LOL.My objection, believe it or not, is the chat function, which I need to play with a bit.  See, I have *lots of chats, and they're almost always off or I'm in lurk mode, because when I'm chatting, I'm not getting anything else done!  I want a little more control over that, but I admit that I haven't played with it much.

Spyderbite
11-27-2007, 01:43 AM
<cite>Calthine wrote:</cite><blockquote><cite></cite>My objection, believe it or not, is the chat function, which I need to play with a bit.  See, I have *lots of chats, <b>and they're almost always off or I'm in lurk mode</b>, because when I'm chatting, I'm not getting anything else done!  I want a little more control over that, but I admit that I haven't played with it much.</blockquote>Regarding the bold.. I KNOW!!! <img src="/smilies/69934afc394145350659cd7add244ca9.gif" border="0" alt="SMILEY" />Play with it Cal and lemme know what you find out.. all my ingame friends are on PvP servers and I am not allowed to chat with them with the new chat window. <img src="/smilies/9d71f0541cff0a302a0309c5079e8dee.gif" border="0" alt="SMILEY" />

DrkVsr
11-27-2007, 05:21 AM
<p><span style="font-size: medium;color: #993300;font-family: comic sans ms,sand;">It's not a case of 'getting used to (it)' as you put it but 'dealing with (it)' (which is what ah will end up doing)</span></p><p><span style="font-size: medium;color: #993300;font-family: Comic Sans MS;">But if people don't voice their concerns/complaints while something is still in beta/testing then you end up with whatever the DEVs decide to impliment without real* feedback (and who knows, maybe the DEVs might read this and give us the option to use the Big Bad All-Purpose Launcher or the individual launchers)</span></p><p><span style="font-size: medium;color: #993300;font-family: Comic Sans MS;">(* real feedback includes mentioning things you don't like, not just indicating bugs and areas that could be improved)</span></p>

Spyderbite
11-27-2007, 10:59 AM
<cite>DrkVsr wrote:</cite><blockquote><p><b><span style="font-size: medium;font-family: Comic Sans MS;color: #993300;">But if people don't voice their concerns/complaints while something is still in beta/testing then you end up with whatever the DEVs decide to impliment without real* feedback</span></b></p><p><span style="font-size: medium;font-family: Comic Sans MS;color: #993300;">(* real feedback includes mentioning things you don't like, not just indicating bugs and areas that could be improved)</span></p></blockquote>The bolded paragraph sends chills up my spine. The last game I played was absolutely ruined by player feedback. To the point that players were leaving in droves leaving only those with "quality" feedback to shape and form the game as they had the devs on the edge of their seats. /shuddersNow, of course, I'm not saying that your feedback isn't valid, nor mine for that matter. And, by no means would I be comfortable playing a game where the developers created the game <b>for</b> us without player opinion. But, there are times where a good portion of the player base will act like 3 year olds who just found a magic bottle and 3 wishes.. and next thing you know every player has a mountain Invulnerability Candy in the banks and neon colors are all the fashion rage. /shudders againSorry.. flashbacks. <img src="/smilies/9d71f0541cff0a302a0309c5079e8dee.gif" border="0" alt="SMILEY" />You're point is taken well however. And, I would suggest taking a peek at the Beta forum for the launcher. You might be surprised how much "constructive criticism" the developers are getting. If it seems a little "fanbois" here.. that's only because this thread was created to initiate participation. Not, a vote as to whether they should just shut the whole development project down or not. <img src="/smilies/8a80c6485cd926be453217d59a84a888.gif" border="0" alt="SMILEY" />

DrkVsr
11-28-2007, 06:14 AM
<span style="font-size: medium;color: #993300;font-family: comic sans ms,sand;">That is not mah intent, if you look at mah initial post on the subject ah just asked if it was possible to continue using the original/current individual launchers (personally ah don't like the new Launcher but will use as it will be the only way to play, put too much effort to throw it away over something so petty <img src="/smilies/283a16da79f3aa23fe1025c96295f04f.gif" border="0" alt="SMILEY" />)</span>

Spyderbite
11-28-2007, 06:29 AM
<cite>DrkVsr wrote:</cite><blockquote><span style="font-size: medium;font-family: comic sans ms,sand;color: #993300;">That is not mah intent, if you look at mah initial post on the subject ah just asked if it was possible to continue using the original/current individual launchers (personally ah don't like the new Launcher but will use as it will be the only way to play, put too much effort to throw it away over something so petty <img src="/eq2/images/smilies/283a16da79f3aa23fe1025c96295f04f.gif" border="0" alt="SMILEY<img src="/smilies/283a16da79f3aa23fe1025c96295f04f.gif" border="0" alt="SMILEY" />" />)</span></blockquote>Yup.. I've used the classic launcher instead of the beta without a problem. The beta launcher installs in to its own folder which I'm sure was intentional so that those that had problems with it would not be locked out of the game completely. <img src="/smilies/3b63d1616c5dfcf29f8a7a031aaa7cad.gif" border="0" alt="SMILEY" />

DrkVsr
11-28-2007, 07:03 AM
<span style="font-size: medium;color: #993300;font-family: comic sans ms,sand;">So we will still be able to use classic? Or is that just during Beta testing?</span>

Paladin776
11-28-2007, 07:23 AM
<cite>DrkVsr wrote:</cite><blockquote><span style="font-size: medium;color: #993300;font-family: comic sans ms,sand;">So we will still be able to use classic? Or is that just during Beta testing?</span></blockquote><p>Just during the beta testing, which will end sometime the first part of next year. When Station Launcher goes live, all current LaunchPads will be converted over to the new launcher.</p><p>And I would also suggest visiting the <a href="http://forums.station.sony.com/station/forums/list.m?category_id=42" rel="nofollow" target="_blank">Station Launcher beta forums</a> and providing any feedback, criticism or problems you're having with the new launcher. The devs working on the project acknowledge that there are some issues right now, and provide a lot of return feedback as to why they did something the way they did, or some feature that isn't completely supported right now (like predownloading in the background and applying updates when you start a game). And it's still relatively civilized at the moment.  <img src="/smilies/3b63d1616c5dfcf29f8a7a031aaa7cad.gif" border="0" alt="SMILEY" /></p>