PDA

View Full Version : Do away with RAIDS altogether!


Tolerable
10-10-2007, 02:51 PM
My stupid RAID 0 raid lost both drives at the same time, thank goodness I had a backup. How much redundacy does one need to feel safe? p

Norrsken
10-10-2007, 02:53 PM
<cite>[email protected] wrote:</cite><blockquote>My stupid RAID 0 raid lost both drives at the same time, thank goodness I had a backup. How much redundacy does one need to feel safe? p</blockquote>RAID 0 doesnt increas error tolerance. If one drive dies, the information on both are lost.

Kordran
10-10-2007, 02:57 PM
Fortune cookie says: This thread will be moved to the off-topic forum in 3... 2... 1...

Tolerable
10-10-2007, 02:59 PM
<cite>[email protected] wrote:Oops sorry, meant to say RAID 1. <img src="/smilies/3b63d1616c5dfcf29f8a7a031aaa7cad.gif" border="0" alt="SMILEY" /></cite><blockquote><cite>[email protected] wrote:</cite><blockquote>My stupid RAID 0 raid lost both drives at the same time, thank goodness I had a backup. How much redundacy does one need to feel safe? p</blockquote>RAID 0 doesnt increas error tolerance. If one drive dies, the information on both are lost.</blockquote>

Kizee
10-10-2007, 03:00 PM
Haha. I was getting my flamethrower ready when I saw this thread.

Norrsken
10-10-2007, 03:03 PM
<cite>[email protected] wrote:</cite><blockquote>Haha. I was getting my flamethrower ready when I saw this thread.</blockquote>I bet a lot of others will come rollin in with the flamer fully loaded too. <img src="/smilies/8a80c6485cd926be453217d59a84a888.gif" border="0" alt="SMILEY" /> Made me giggle. <img src="/smilies/8a80c6485cd926be453217d59a84a888.gif" border="0" alt="SMILEY" />

Xelphneigh
10-10-2007, 03:07 PM
Reminds me to purchase 2 more 500g SATA drives for a RAID 1 of my RAID 0 Stripe.. Love the access times.. Hate the loss of data <img src="/smilies/9d71f0541cff0a302a0309c5079e8dee.gif" border="0" alt="SMILEY" />I was ready to read some massive flameage as well coming here, LOL <img src="/smilies/8a80c6485cd926be453217d59a84a888.gif" border="0" alt="SMILEY" />

interstellarmatter
10-10-2007, 03:17 PM
I thought that you used RAID to kill bugs?!?

Norrsken
10-10-2007, 03:39 PM
<cite>interstellarmatter wrote:</cite><blockquote>I thought that you used RAID to kill bugs?!?</blockquote>Well, when the disks fail you can build yourself a small trebuche and have some good nerd fun. <img src="/smilies/8a80c6485cd926be453217d59a84a888.gif" border="0" alt="SMILEY" />

Kenazeer
10-10-2007, 03:42 PM
Medieval weapons for $500 Alex.

Macross_JR
10-10-2007, 04:25 PM
if you are that scared of data loss, switch to a raid 5 set up. problem solved.

Norrsken
10-10-2007, 04:39 PM
<cite>[email protected] wrote:</cite><blockquote>if you are that scared of data loss, switch to a raid 5 set up. problem solved.</blockquote>Or raid 1+0

woolf2k
10-10-2007, 04:44 PM
that blows dude. But nothing beats a backup. mirrored raids are just meant to reduce downtime.one drive goes out? use the other other... and keep data loss at a minimum... although, as you've seen, you can lose it all... <img src="/smilies/9d71f0541cff0a302a0309c5079e8dee.gif" border="0" alt="SMILEY" />unfortunate both went out on ya... it's why I personally don't believe in mirrored raid... I go for the maximum performance RAID 0 gives ya and back up. <img src="/smilies/283a16da79f3aa23fe1025c96295f04f.gif" border="0" alt="SMILEY" />

Leatherneck
10-10-2007, 04:46 PM
<cite>[email protected] wrote:</cite><blockquote>if you are that scared of data loss, switch to a raid 5 set up. problem solved.</blockquote>Real-time offsite storage!

netglen
10-10-2007, 04:53 PM
If you want speed and redundancy, you want to setup a four drives in a RAID-0 consisting of two RAID-1 sets.                --- RAID-1 [Drive 0, Drive 1]RAID-0 ---|                --- RAID-1 [Drive 2, Drive 3]You get all the speed and if one of the sets in the RAID-0 dies, you won't loose any data since the remaining set is in RAID-1 configuration.

azekah
10-10-2007, 05:11 PM
No one suggested Tape backup???

Wingrider01
10-10-2007, 05:19 PM
<cite>[email protected] wrote:</cite><blockquote>Reminds me to purchase 2 more 500g SATA drives for a RAID 1 of my RAID 0 Stripe.. Love the access times.. Hate the loss of data <img src="/eq2/images/smilies/9d71f0541cff0a302a0309c5079e8dee.gif" border="0" alt="SMILEY<img src="/smilies/9d71f0541cff0a302a0309c5079e8dee.gif" border="0" alt="SMILEY" />" width="15" height="15" />I was ready to read some massive flameage as well coming here, LOL <img src="/eq2/images/smilies/8a80c6485cd926be453217d59a84a888.gif" border="0" alt="SMILEY<img src="/smilies/8a80c6485cd926be453217d59a84a888.gif" border="0" alt="SMILEY" />" width="15" height="15" /></blockquote>raid 0+1 for the win, striped volumes and mirrored, although I prefer raid 10, just means I need 6 drives instead to do 1 TB (2 data, 1 Parity + 2 data, 1 parity on the mirror)

UlteriorModem
10-10-2007, 05:21 PM
<p>Most original troll post of the day !</p>

g0thiC_iCe_cReaM
10-11-2007, 03:16 PM
<p>u need one of these:</p><p><img src="http://www.chicagonote.com/misc/nas.jpg" alt="" width="640" height="480" border="0" /></p><p><b><a href="http://www.aberdeeninc.com/abcatg/STIRLING-X633.htm" rel="nofollow" target="_blank">Terazilla</a></b></p>

netglen
10-11-2007, 03:52 PM
<cite>azekah wrote:</cite><blockquote>No one suggested Tape backup???</blockquote>Well now you can *always* setup a bunch of tape drives into some type of RAID level. I've never done it but I see the vendors trying to hawk tape raids.

netglen
10-11-2007, 03:54 PM
<cite>[email protected] wrote:</cite><blockquote><p>u need one of these:</p><p><img src="http://www.chicagonote.com/misc/nas.jpg" border="0" alt="" width="640" height="480" /></p><p><b><a rel="nofollow" href="http://www.aberdeeninc.com/abcatg/STIRLING-X633.htm" target="_blank">Terazilla</a></b></p></blockquote>Wow is that UPS big enough to handle all those drives spinning up all at once from a startup?!? It looks like it'salready sitting at 3/5 or 4/5 load.  <img src="/eq2/images/smilies/283a16da79f3aa23fe1025c96295f04f.gif" border="0" alt="SMILEY<img src="/smilies/283a16da79f3aa23fe1025c96295f04f.gif" border="0" alt="SMILEY" />" />

woolf2k
10-11-2007, 04:31 PM
too expensive...raid 0 with backup. most performance with least cost.

Macross_JR
10-11-2007, 04:33 PM
The reason raid5 or 10 is the best is if you have a hd fail, you just put in a new one and the raid will rebuild that hd. no loss of data.

netglen
10-11-2007, 04:45 PM
<cite>[email protected] wrote:</cite><blockquote>The reason raid5 or 10 is the best is if you have a hd fail, you just put in a new one and the raid will rebuild that hd. no loss of data.</blockquote>You forgot to add RAID-1 to your list.  Even so I've seen all those RAIDS fail when more then one drive decides to die. Chalk one up to bad batches of SCSI drives. I've seen that happen twice this year in other department servers. But for a non-RAID game computer, I usually just Ghost up a copy of the drive so it's a pretty painless if I need to recover a drive. Once just has to sit through whatever missing game updates.

Ealthina
10-11-2007, 04:57 PM
I like pie..

einar4
10-11-2007, 05:14 PM
<p> All this fuss over a raid wipe.  Happens all the time. </p>

UlteriorModem
10-11-2007, 05:15 PM
<cite>netglen wrote:</cite><blockquote><cite>[email protected] wrote:</cite>Wow is that UPS big enough to handle all those drives spinning up all at once from a startup?!? It looks like it'salready sitting at 3/5 or 4/5 load.  <img src="/eq2/images/smilies/283a16da79f3aa23fe1025c96295f04f.gif" border="0" alt="SMILEY<img src=" width="15" height="15" />"></blockquote>If the UPS is working correctly it shouldent have to start all the drives at once. But on a cold start they are staggered start to limit the inrush.

azekah
10-11-2007, 05:43 PM
<p>Amazingly I've never had one harddrive go bad on me...</p><p>Oh crap...WHERES SOME WOOD?!?!?!</p>

Norrsken
10-11-2007, 06:29 PM
<cite>azekah wrote:</cite><blockquote><p>Amazingly I've never had one harddrive go bad on me...</p><p>Oh crap...WHERES SOME WOOD?!?!?!</p></blockquote>I had my first one die on me a year ago. It was from 95. I had dropped it a fwe times on stone floors, forgotten I had it in my bag, which I slammed into multiple things and all kinds of stuff. The casing had DENTS in it and it still worked flawlessly. Until the discs finally gave in to the test of time, like discs do when they dont hold their charge as they should anymore. It was an old seagate disk, and it sounded much like a thrasher. <img src="/smilies/8a80c6485cd926be453217d59a84a888.gif" border="0" alt="SMILEY" />

g0thiC_iCe_cReaM
10-11-2007, 06:53 PM
<cite>UlteriorModem wrote:</cite><blockquote><cite>netglen wrote:</cite><blockquote><cite>[email protected] wrote:</cite>Wow is that UPS big enough to handle all those drives spinning up all at once from a startup?!? It looks like it'salready sitting at 3/5 or 4/5 load.  <img src="/eq2/images/smilies/283a16da79f3aa23fe1025c96295f04f.gif" border="0" alt="SMILEY<img src=" width="15" height="15" />"></blockquote>If the UPS is working correctly it shouldent have to start all the drives at once. But on a cold start they are staggered start to limit the inrush.</blockquote><p>there's about 8 servers on that UPS and it's at 75% load...that's just 1 of the 8 other servers on that UPS</p><p>have no problems cold starting all 8 of them at the same time, haven't figured out how long that UPS will last with a catastrophic power outtage tho...the building we're in has a 12 hour backup generator, so never had the power go out for more than 5 minutes...we have 4 of those UPSes and 2 older ones for about 22 servers, 30 switches, 4 routers, and our microwave ds3 and equipment for 6 t1s</p>